en	Min-seo
ko	민서

en	Akarsha
ko	아카샤

en	Ester
ko	에스터

en	"Yuki"
ko	"유키"

en	"Sakura"
ko	"사쿠라"

en	Dad
ko	아빠

en	Pratik
ko	프라틱

en	Amma
ko	아마

en	Chun-hua
ko	춘화

en	Ah-gong
ko	아공

en	???

en	Jun-seo
ko	준서

en	Hayden
ko	헤이든

en	npc
ko	NPC

en	npc2
ko	NPC 2

en	Global Warming
ko	지구온난화

en	9th grade
ko	9학년

en	Get up bitch! It's ready!
ko	일어나 이년아! 준비 다 됐어!

en	Finally! Outta the way, you'll get burned.
ko	드디어! 비켜, 데일라.

en	Akarsha gingerly pulls the molten chocolate cake from the oven.
ko	아카샤가 조심스럽게 오븐에서 초콜릿 케이크를 꺼낸다.

en	Thank god...It looks edible this time.
ko	신이시여 감사합니다... 이번엔 먹을수 있을 정도는 된거같아.

en	This is our second try. Diya ruined the first one by forgetting to add flour.
ko	이거로 두번째 시도다. 첫번째 케이크엔 디야가 밀가루를 안넣는 바람에 망쳐버렸다.

en	What're all those specks on it? It's like the batter wasn't properly mixed.
ko	저 뭉텅이들은 뭐야? 반죽이 제대로 안섞였나봐.

en	We worked so hard mixing it though?
ko	그렇게 힘들게 섞었는데도?

en	It's probably fine.
ko	괜찮겠지, 뭐.

en	Yeah, whatever. We don't have enough time to redo it at this point, anyway.
ko	뭐 어쨌든. 어차피 다시 구울 시간도 없어서 상관 없어.

en	All we gotta do now is write "Happy Birthday Noelle" on it.
ko	이제 위에 "생일 축하해 노엘" 이라고 적기만 하면 끝이야.

en	Yeah, yeah, naturally.
ko	그래 그래, 그렇겠지.

en	Akarsha pipes icing letters onto the cake as Min checks her phone.
ko	민이 핸드폰을 확인하는 동안 아카샤가 케이크에 아이싱으로 글씨를 써넣기 시작한다.

en	Hurry up, Diya says they'll be here any second.
ko	서둘러, 디야가 지금 당장이라도 도착할거래.

en	Easy. I'm done icing the first word already.
ko	진정해, 벌써 첫번째 글자를 다 써 놓았으니까.

en	Why the fuck did you write "Noelle" first!?
ko	넌 시발 도대체 왜 "노엘" 부터 써놓은건데!?

en	Aw shit, I got ahead of myself.
ko	아 젠장. 마음만 앞서버렸네.

en	I'm going to fucking kill you!
ko	시발, 너 죽여 버린다!

en	Akarsha frantically adds 'BIRTHDAY' to the cake.
ko	아카샤가 허둥대며 "버스데이" 를 적어 올린다.

en	Wait, what're you doing?
ko	야 잠깐, 너 지금 뭐하는거야?

en	If you hadn't done that, we could've salvaged this with "Noelle Happy Birthday"!
ko	그거 안 썼으면, "노엘 해피 버스데이" 로 만회 할수 있었잖아!

en	DON'T ASK ME! THAT'S WHAT YOU GET FOR RUSHING ME!!!
ko	{b}나한테 묻지 마!! 니가 날 재촉하니까 이렇게 된거 아니야!!!{/b}

en	What do we write now?! "Noelle Birthday Happy"???
ko	그럼 이제 뭐라고 적게?! "노엘 버스데이 해피"???

en	It's gonna look like we had a goddamn stroke icing this!
ko	글씨 쓰다가 빌어먹을 뇌졸중이라도 온줄 알겠다!

en	The doorbell rings. Min and Akarsha freeze.
ko	초인종이 울린다. 민과 아카샤는 자리에서 얼어붙는다.

en	It's them!
ko	왔다!

en	Gimme the icing bag! You're not allowed to have it anymore!!
ko	아이싱 내놔! 너 더 이상 손 대기만 해봐!!

en	Okay, fair. I don't trust myself anymore, either.
ko	그래, 그럴만도 해. 나도 이제 내가 못미더운걸.

en	I'll go stall them instead.
ko	내가 대신 시간을 끌게.

en	Yeah, keep Noelle outside. I just need like, five minutes to figure out how to fix this.
ko	그래. 가서 노엘이 못 들어오게 막아. 5분 정도만 있으면 이걸 고칠 방법을 생각 해낼수 있을거야.

en	Akarsha sprints to the front door and throws it open.
ko	아카샤가 정문으로 달려가 문을 활짝 열어 제낀다.

en	Brought her.
ko	데려왔어.

en	Well well well, if it isn’t fancy meeting what the cat finally decided to show up.
ko	이런, 이런, 이런, 이게 귀한곳에 누추한 분이 누구야?

en	...What on earth are you saying...
ko	... 도대체 무슨 소리를 하는거야...

en	Noelle narrows her eyes suspiciously at Akarsha, then tries to peer past her into the house.
ko	노엘이 의심스러운 눈초리로 아카샤를 노려보곤, 집 안을 살펴보려 한다.

en	Is this your house? Diya wouldn't explain why we were walking here.
ko	여긴 너네 집이야? 디야가 왜 여기까지 걸어가는지도 설명을 안해줬어.

en	Sure is. To be honest, Frenchman, we're here because... uh...
ko	물론이지. 솔직히 말하자면, 프렌치맨, 우리가 여기 모인 이유는... 어...

en	We're not ready to reveal the birthday cake yet. I gotta do something to distract her!
ko	아직 생일 케이크를 보여줄 준비가 안됐는데. 얼른 뭐라도 해서 주의를 분산 시켜야해!

en	Fake your own death
ko	죽는척 하기

en	Propose to her
ko	청혼하기

en	Ough! I've been poisoned!
ko	으억! 독에 당했다!

en	Akarsha theatrically collapses and lies facedown on the floor.
ko	아카샤가 마치 연극처럼 쓰러져, 바닥에 얼굴을 붙이고 눕는다.

en	???

en	........
ko	......

en	Used to Akarsha's antics, Diya and Noelle step over her motionless body without comment.
ko	아카샤의 장난에 익숙해진 디야와 노엘은, 누워있는 아카샤의 몸을 아무 말도 없이 걸어 넘어간다.

en	W-wait a minute!
ko	자, 잠깐만!

en	Akarsha crawls to Noelle on all fours and seizes her leg with shaking hands.
ko	아카샤는 노엘에게 기어가서 떨리는 손으로 다리를 잡는다.

en	LET GO OF MY LEG.
ko	{b}내 다리 당장 놔.{/b}

en	Wait. I seriously just threw up all over the floor in the kitchen.
ko	잠깐만. 나 진짜로 방금 부엌 바닥에 거하게 토했단 말야.

en	What?? Why?!
ko	뭐?? 왜?!

en	That's what I gotta do to get your attention?
ko	이제 나한테 관심이 좀 생겨?

en	I didn't even throw up.
ko	사실 안 토했어.

en	.........
ko	......

en	Noelle wrenches Akarsha off her leg, then wipes her hands on her shirt like she just touched a slug.
ko	노엘이 다리에 매달린 아카샤를 거칠게 끌어내고는, 마치 민달팽이라도 닿았다는듯 셔츠에 손을 닦아낸다.

en	You're gonna just ignore me?
ko	그래서 날 이렇게 무시하겠다고?

en	I'm throwing up again!
ko	다시 토할거같아!

en	Akarsha gets down on one knee. Noelle looks warily down at her.
ko	아카샤가 한쪽 무릎을 꿇는다. 노엘이 걱정스러운 눈으로 아카샤를 내려다본다.

en	Noelle, will you marry me?!
ko	노엘, 나랑 결혼해줄래?!

en	....??!
ko	...??!

en	What's wrong with you?!
ko	넌 도대체 뭐가 문제야?!

en	Akarsha grabs Noelle's hand and tries to force a rubber band onto her finger.
ko	아카샤는 노엘의 손을 잡고 억지로 손가락에 고무줄을 끼우려 해본다.

en	WHAT IS THAT?!?!
ko	{b}이건 또 뭔데?!?!{/b}

en	Your engagement ring!
ko	약혼반지!

en	I DIDN’T AGREE TO THIS! WE’RE NOT ENGAGED!
ko	{b}난 이 일에 동의하지 않았어! 우리는 약혼한게 아니야!{/b}

en	You didn’t say no!
ko	"아니요" 라고 말 안했잖아!

en	NO!
ko	{b}아니요!{/b}

en	Too late! You didn’t say it right after I asked you!
ko	늦었어! 청혼하고 바로 말 안했으니까!

en	THAT’S NOT HOW IT WORKS, YOU DOLT!
ko	{b}그런식으로 하는거 아니거든, 이 얼뜨기야!{/b}

en	Is that any way to address your future wife?
ko	미래의 와이프를 이렇게 대해도 되는거야?

en	Noelle flings the offending rubber band into the bushes.
ko	노엘이 문제의 고무줄을 덤불 안으로 튕겨 날려버린다.

en	.........
ko	......

en	Diya just stands there in confusion. Noelle suspiciously looks from her to Akarsha.
ko	디야는 가만히 서서 헷갈려하고 있다. 노엘은 수상쩍게 아카샤를 본다.

en	What's really going on?
ko	그래서, 진짜 용건이 뭔데?

en	There's no way you made me walk for an hour just to act out this inane skit.
ko	이런 쓰잘데기 없는 꽁트나 보여주려고 한시간이나 걷게 한건 아닐거 아니야.

en	It only took that long because you wouldn't run.
ko	네가 뛰지 않아서 그렇게 오래 걸린거야.

en	Once you run at least three miles without walking, you'll see how fun it is.
ko	한 3마일만 걷지 않고 뛰어보면 얼마나 재미있는지 알게 될걸.

en	I'm sorry, Diya, but that's never happening.
ko	미안한데 디야, 그런 일은 일어나지 않아.

en	SURPRISE!!!
ko	{b}서프라이즈!!!{/b}

en	Oh, we're doing this? The cake must be ready now!
ko	아, 지금 하는거야? 케이크 준비가 다 됐나보다!

en	Surprise! Happy Birthday Frenchman!
ko	서프라이즈! 생일 축하해, 프렌치맨!

en	Surprise.
ko	서프라이즈.

en	We put together a party for you.
ko	널 위해 다같이 파티를 준비했어.

en	Oh. You...{w=0.35}what?
ko	아. 너네가...{w=0.35}뭐?

en	Noelle is lost for words.
ko	노엘은 할 말을 잃었다.

en	You shouldn't have...
ko	안 그래도 됐는데...

en	Shut the fuck up! You're not the boss of me!
ko	시발 닥쳐! 나한테 이래라 저래라 하지 마!

en	It...{w=0.35}it's MY birthday, so shouldn't I have some say here?!
ko	아니...{w=0.35}내 생일이니까, 내 의견을 들어야 하는거 아니야?!

en	Anyway, I haven't said anything about not liking it.
ko	아무튼, 싫다는 말은 한적 없어.

en	She grimaces like there's something disgusting in her mouth.
ko	노엘은 마치 입 안에 역겨운 것을 머금고 있는것처럼 얼굴을 찡그린다.

en	I sincerely....{w=1.0}appreciate....{w=1.0}you all doing this.
ko	정말 진심으로...{w=1.0}이렇게 까지 해줘서...{w=1.0}고마워.

en	Oooh, I like this! Go on.
ko	우와, 이거 괜찮은데! 계속 해봐.

en	There's nothing more to "go on" to. That was all.
ko	"계속 해봐" 라고 해봤자 더 없어. 그게 다야.

en	It was nice while it lasted.
ko	있는 동안엔 좋았어.

en	Come inside. We baked you a cake!
ko	안으로 들어와, 케이크도 구웠어!

en	You did?
ko	네가?

en	Wha...{w=0.35}what kind of save was this...
ko	이...{w=0.35}이게 무슨 만회야...

en	What's that red squiggly under it? A heart monitor?
ko	저 밑에 빨간 꼬불이는 뭐야? 심전도?

en	Why does it look like it's flatlining toward the end?
ko	왜 끝쪽으로 가면 심장이 멈춘거 같이 보이는 건데?

en	It's hard to control the icing, okay?!
ko	아이싱 다루는게 얼마나 힘든지 알기나 해?!

en	And this was all Akarsha's fault in the first place.
ko	그리고 애초에 모든게 아카샤 잘못이란 말이야.

en	MY fault? All I did was drive the train off the rails. You were the one who crashed it!
ko	내 잘못이라고? 난 기차를 탈선시키기 밖에 안했어. 그걸 갖다 박아버린건 너고!

en	Driving off the rails still sounds like a pretty big mistake...
ko	탈선 시키는것도 꽤 지대한 실수 같은데...

en	Oh yeah?? Well, ultimately, this is Noelle's fault for being born. Who's the real culprit now???
ko	아 그러셔?? 그럼, 궁극적으론, 이 모든게 노엘이 태어나서 일어났으니까 노엘 탓이야. 이제 진짜 범인은 누구지???

en	Huh, good point. Okay, let's go with that.
ko	음. 맞는 말이네. 그래, 그거로 가자.

en	Good point?!
ko	맞는 말?!

en	We've won. Two against one.
ko	우리가 이겼어. 2대 1이야.

en	Democracy! U.S.A!
ko	민주주의 만세! 미합중국 만세!

en	Once everyone's had a slice of cake, Akarsha brings everyone to the living room.
ko	모두가 케이크 한조각을 먹은 뒤, 아카샤가 모두를 거실로 데려온다.

en	This was originally gonna be a sleepover, but I think some of your parents would've said no.
ko	원래는 자고 가라고 하려 했는데, 생각해보니 몇몇 부모님들이 안된다고 하실것 같았어.

en	Diya nods.
ko	디야가 고개를 끄덕인다.

en	My mom's never let me go to one before. She's worried it'll turn me lesbian.
ko	우리 엄마는 한번도 허락해 준적이 없었어. 날 레즈비언으로 만들어 버릴거라고 걱정하시거든.

en	Too bad for her, I already did.
ko	안타깝게도, 이미 내가 그랬지만.

en	Yeah...
ko	응...

en	Akarsha, I'm surprised your parents let us come over unsupervised at all.
ko	아카샤, 난 네 부모님이 아무런 감독도 없이 우리가 와서 노는걸 허락해 주신게 놀라워.

en	Eh, they trust me. They should be back any minute now, anyway.
ko	에, 날 믿으니까. 어차피 금방 돌아오실건데, 뭐.

en	They're in San Ramon watching my bro's red belt test for Taekwondo. It must be taking longer than they thought.
ko	지금 우리 동생 태권도 빨간띠 승단시험 본다고 산 라몬에 가있어. 생각보다 오래 걸리나봐.

en	Test? I didn't realize you had to pass formal examinations to advance in Taekwondo.
ko	시험? 태권도에서 승단 하려면 정식으로 시험을 봐야 한다는건 몰랐는데.

en	Ya, you gotta memorize forms and stuff. I've never seen them fail anyone, though.
ko	웅. 막 자세 같은것도 외우고 그래야 하더라. 근데 누굴 탈락 시키는건 한번도 본적 없긴 해.

en	Anyway, us being home alone means we can go BUCK WILD. We're about to throw the party of a LIFETIME, Frenchman!
ko	아무튼, 집에 우리 말곤 아무도 없다는건 완전 미친듯이 놀아도 된다는 뜻이야. 네 인생 최고의 파티로 만들어줄게, 프렌치맨!

en	Akarsha crouches at the foot of the TV and turns the GameCube on.
ko	아카샤가 텔레비전 밑에 쪼그려 앉아 게임큐브의 전원을 킨다.

en	Mario Golf, baby.
ko	마리오 골프, 베이비.

en	Golf? Are you sure Noelle will like that?
ko	골프? 노엘이 그런걸 좋아할게 확실해?

en	I don't know what you're talking about. Mario Golf is the best game in the world.
ko	무슨말을 하는건지 모르겠네. 마리오 골프는 세계최고의 게임이야.

en	I only have two controllers, though. I usually just play against my bro.
ko	보통은 내 남동생이랑만 해서 컨트롤러가 두개 밖에 없긴 해.

en	Noelle should get to play first because it's her birthday.
ko	노엘 생일이니까 노엘 먼저 하는게 맞는거 같아.

en	Yeah, and the rest of us should take turns playing against her.
ko	그치. 그리고 우리가 한명씩 노엘 상대로 플레이 하자.

en	Won't that feel like everyone ganging up against me?
ko	다들 합심해서 날 괴롭히는거처럼 느껴지는거 아니야?

en	Nonsense! You're getting the maximal amount of fun here, Frenchman.
ko	모르는 소리! 니가 여기서 최대치의 재미를 보는거라고, 프렌치맨.

en	Akarsha hands Noelle one of the controllers. Min grabs the other one and curls up on the couch with Diya.
ko	아카샤가 노엘에게 컨트롤러 하나를 건네준다. 민이 다른 하나를 잡고선 디야와 함께 소파에 눌러 앉는다.

en	Akarsha, this better not be like your copy of Melee.
ko	아카샤, 이게 니 멜리 같은 상태이기만 해봐.

en	You didn't even have any of the characters unlocked except Marth.
ko	마스 빼곤 캐릭터 해금이 하나도 안돼있었잖아.

en	Who needs "Falcon" or whatever when Captain Falcon is right there? Same thing, really...
ko	캡틴 팔콘이 이렇게 버젓이 있는데 누가 "팔콘" 인지 뭔지가 필요해? 그게 그거지, 뭐...

en	You mean {i}Falco{/i}?! There's no fucking character called Falcon!
ko	너 지금 {i}팔코{/i} 말하는거야?! 팔콘이라는 캐릭터는 시발 없거든?!

en	Jeez, calm yourself! I unlocked everything this time. See?
ko	아 진짜, 진정 좀 해! 이번엔 다 해금 해놨다고. 봐!

en	Min, choose Wario. We're team Wario.
ko	민, 와리오 골라. 우린 팀 와리오야.

en	Why should I?
ko	내가 왜?

en	Don't you trust me?
ko	날 믿지?

en	I guess, whatever...
ko	뭐... 그러시든가...

en	I suppose I'll be this pink princess.
ko	그렇다면 난 이 핑크 공주로 할게.

en	Akarsha glances over at Noelle. She's placed her controller flat on the sofa and is pressing down on the buttons like she's playing piano.
ko	아카샤가 노엘을 쳐다본다. 노엘은 자신의 컨트롤러를 소파에 내려놓고 마치 피아노를 치듯 버튼을 누르고 있다.

en	What're you doing???
ko	너 뭐하는거야???

en	Shut up! I can adjust the control stick with greater precision like this!
ko	닥쳐! 이렇게 해야 더 정밀하게 컨트롤러를 조종할수 있다고!

en	Noelle pinches the control stick between her thumb and index finger like a crab with a pebble between its pincers.
ko	노엘이 마치 집게로 조약돌을 주운 게처럼, 컨트롤 스틱을 엄지와 검지로 쥔다.

en	Ohhhh my godddd! Why are you like a grandma who's never seen a video game before?!
ko	세에에상에 맙소사아! 도대체 왜 이렇게 게임이란걸 태어나서 처음 본 할망구처럼 구는거야?!

en	Min selects a dark, lava-ridden course. An animation panning to the stage's first hole plays onscreen.
ko	민이 어두컴컴하고 용암으로 수놓인 코스를 고른다. 첫번째 홀로 이어지는 애니메이션이 재생된다.

en	Wait, that looks difficult. I don't even know how to play this yet!
ko	잠시만. 이거 어려워 보이는데. 나 이거 어떻게 플레이 하는지도 몰라!

en	Sink or sizzle, Frenchman.
ko	가라앉거나 타죽거나야, 프렌치맨.

en	That doesn't sound like something you should be saying to someone on her birthday.
ko	생일자한테 할 말로는 들리지 않는데.

en	Noelle hastily mashes buttons at random on her controller. Her character manages to hit the golf ball safely across a lava pit.
ko	노엘이 무턱대고 아무 버튼이나 눌러댄다. 노엘의 캐릭터는 무사히 골프공을 용암 너머로 안전하게 착지 시키는데 성공한다.

en	Oh, so it's just luck.
ko	아, 걍 운빨이네.

en	It's not luck. It's physics.
ko	운이 아니야. 물리지.

en	Big words from someone who was protesting she didn't know how play ten seconds ago.
ko	10초 전만 해도 어떻게 플레이 하는지 모른다고 시위하던 사람한테서 나오기엔 거창한 말이네.

en	After a few swings, Min successfully putts her golf ball into the first hole. The words "BOGEY" appear onscreen.
ko	몇번의 스윙 후, 민이 성공적으로 공을 첫 홀에 넣는다. "보기" 라는 단어가 화면에 뜬다.

en	The fuck is a "bogey"?
ko	"보기"가 시발 뭐야?

en	How should I know? Aren't you and Diya the sports enthusiasts here?
ko	나라고 알간? 너랑 디야가 우리중엔 스포츠 전문가 아니였어?

en	I like real sports, not fake old people sports like golf.
ko	난 진짜 스포츠가 좋은거지, 골프처럼 노인네나 좋아하는 짭스포츠가 좋은게 아니야.

en	Me too.
ko	나도.

en	Noelle finishes the hole with a triple bogey. Onscreen, Princess Peach collapses and shakes her head, devastated.
ko	노엘이 트리플 보기로 홀을 마친다. 화면에선 피치공주가 쓰러지고는, 절망에 빠져 머리를 흔든다.

en	HAHAH! LOSER!!!
ko	{b}하하하!!! 루저!!{/b}

en	YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH!!!
ko	{b}넌 그 입 다물어!!!{/b}

en	Min hands Diya the controller for the next hole, kissing her adoringly on the cheek as she does.
ko	민은 디아에게 다음 홀을 할수 있도록 컨트롤러를 건네주며, 사랑을 담아 볼에 키스한다.

en	Diya furrows her brows, considering her options...
ko	디야는 자신에게 주어진 선택지를 고심하며 눈썹을 찌푸린다.

en	.......
ko	......

en	Diya launches her ball straight into the lava.
ko	디야는 골프공을 곧장 용암 안으로 날려 버린다.

en	At last! My chance to make a comeback.
ko	마침내! 역전을 할 기회가 왔어.

en	I'm weaker today because I'm not Luigi.
ko	오늘은 내가 루이지가 아니라 약한거야.

en	If you insist.
ko	그렇다 치자.

en	Noelle immediately hits her ball into the lava, too.
ko	노엘 역시 골프공을 곧장 용암 안으로 날려버린다.

en	NGOOOHHGHH!!!
ko	{b}윽ㅇㄱ으아ㅇ아ㅏㅏㅏ!!!{/b}

en	I can't wait to see your face when we play Monopoly later.
ko	이따가 모노폴리 할때의 네 얼굴이 너무 기대된다.

en	We're playing {i}Monopoly?{/i} Why?
ko	{i}모노폴리{/i}를? 왜?

en	What, you don't like it?
ko	왜. 너 싫어해?

en	There's no skill involved! It's pure luck!
ko	실력이랑은 상관 없는, 운만 있으면 되는 게임이잖아!

en	Silence, demon! It's fun to fantasize about owning property someday!
ko	그 입 다물라, 악마여! 언젠가 자기 소유의 집을 마련할수 있다는 환상에 빠지는게 얼마나 재밌는데!

en	The game was not even designed to be fun!
ko	애초에 재미 있으라고 만들어진 게임도 아니야!

en	It was created to educate people on the dangers of capitalism!
ko	사람들에게 자본주의의 공포를 교육시키기 위해 만들어졌다고!

en	But I like collecting the deed cards...They're such nice colors.
ko	그치만 나 토지 카드를 모으는게 좋은데... 알록달록 예쁘잖아.

en	Noelle, let's make a deal. If you win the next hole against me, we won't play Monopoly.
ko	노엘, 거래를 하자. 네가 다음 홀에서 날 이길수 있다면, 모노폴리는 없던일로 할게.

en	How is that fair? You've played Mario Golf countless times before.
ko	이게 어떻게 공평한 거래야? 너 마리오 골프 엄청 많이 해봤잖아.

en	Hey, I've only tried this course once or twice! Honest!
ko	에이, 나 이 코스는 한두번 밖에 안해봤어! 진짜 솔직하게!

en	Noelle ponders this as Diya hits her golf ball straight into the lava for the third time.
ko	노엘은 디야가 세번째로 공을 용암에 날리는 동안 이 거래를 고민해본다.

en	...Fine. Deal.
ko	... 알겠어. 거래 성립이야.

en	Oh, no. I roasted my golf ball again.
ko	아 이런. 또 공을 태워버리고 말았어.

en	After countless attempts, Noelle manages to complete the hole first.
ko	셀수 없이 많은 시도 끝에, 노엘이 먼저 홀에 공을 넣는데 성공한다.

en	Yay. You win.
ko	야호. 네가 이겼어.

en	It's a good thing your athleticism doesn't translate to skill at sports games.
ko	네 운동실력이 게임실력에 비례하지 않아서 다행이야.

en	Diya putts the ball into the hole with her next swing. She passes the controller to Akarsha.
ko	디야가 다음 스윙에 공을 홀에 넣고, 아카샤에게 컨트롤러를 건넨다.

en	Your turn.
ko	네 차례야.

en	Diya totally just let Noelle win.
ko	디야 분명히 방금 노엘 이기게 해줬다.

en	Unfortunately for Frenchman, {i}I{/i} don't believe in going easy on the birthday girl.
ko	프렌치맨한텐 미안하지만, 난 아무리 생일 공주님이라도 봐주진 않을거야.

en	I'm pulling out all the stops!
ko	내 모든걸 다해 승부하겠어!

en	The words "Press A to skip" appear as the animation showing the next hole begins to play...
ko	다음 홀을 보여주는 애니메이션이 나오고, 화면엔 "A 버튼을 눌러 스킵하기" 라는 글이 나온다.

en	"Accidentally" press A as you take the controller
ko	컨트롤러를 넘겨 받으며 "실수"로 A 누르기

en	Akarsha presses A to skip the animation before it can reveal the hole's location.
ko	아카샤가 A 버튼을 눌러서, 다음 홀의 위치가 보이기 전에 애니메이션을 스킵 해버린다.

en	You cut it off early...
ko	스킵해버렸네...

en	Whoopsie daisy! I got too impatient.
ko	에구머니나! 너무 조급했네.

en	AKARSHA!!! WHERE'S THE HOLE!!
ko	아카샤!!! 홀 어디 있어!!

en	I wonder...
ko	글쎄에...

en	YOU WORTHLESS SCAMMER!!!
ko	{b}이 빌어먹을 사기꾼!!!{/b}

en	Akarsha smugly putts her ball, but it rolls smoothly into the lava.
ko	아카샤는 거들먹대며 공을 치지만, 공은 부드럽게 용암으로 굴러 들어간다.

en	NOO!!! NOOOO!! AAUAAGGH!!!
ko	{b}안돼!!! 안돼애애!!!!! 으앍악!!!!{/b}

en	Serves you right.
ko	꼴 좋다.

en	Noelle tries to set up a trick shot against a wall.
ko	노엘이 벽의 반사를 이용한 트릭샷을 준비한다.

en	Whoa! Geometry!
ko	우와! 기하학!

en	Be quiet. I'm concentrating.
ko	조용히 해. 집중하잖아.

en	Noelle hits the ball with a measured swing.
ko	노엘이 계산된 스윙으로 공을 친다.

en	Instead of glancing off the wall at the intended angle, it just ricochets back the way it came.
ko	하지만 예상했던 각도로 나아가긴 커녕, 시작했던 곳으로 튕겨돌아가 버린다.

en	Well done, Noelle! You're back where you started!
ko	잘 했어, 노엘! 처음 시작한곳으로 다시 돌아갔구나!

en	I HATE YOU! YOU SCUMBAG!!!
ko	{b}너 진짜 싫어! 이 쓰레기!!!{/b}

en	I STILL DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE THE HOLE IS!!!
ko	{b}난 아직 홀이 어딘지도 모른단 말이야!!!{/b}

en	Watch and learn, my friend.
ko	보고 배우게나, 나의 벗이여.

en	Akarsha expertly angles her shot so the golf ball rolls up a hill, then drops straight into the hole.
ko	아카샤는 전문가의 솜씨로, 공이 언덕을 올라가서 곧장 홀 안으로 떨어지도록 각도를 맞춰 친다.

en	That's how it's done.
ko	이렇게 하는거야.

en	My days playing this stage against my bro have finally paid off!
ko	동생 상대로 이 스테이지를 하던 나날들이 드디어 빛을 발하는구나!

en	Days?! You said you only played this stage once or twice!
ko	나날들?! 너 이 스테이지 한두번밖에 안해봤다며!

en	Noelle scowls, but Akarsha can tell from the way the corners of her mouth crinkle that she's fighting back a grin.
ko	노엘은 얼굴을 찌푸리지만, 아카샤는 노엘의 입꼬리가 구겨지는 모양새로 노엘이 웃음을 참고 있음을 알아챈다.

en	You liar! What do you have to say for yourself?!
ko	이 거짓말쟁이! 변명이라도 해보시지?!

en	Huh? Suddenly, I can't hear...My ears are failing!
ko	어라? 갑자기 아무것도 안들려... 귀가 떨어지나봐!

en	Hawwo? Hawwo?
ko	야부세요? 얍보세용?

en	AKARSHAAAAA!!!!!!
ko	{b}아카샤아아아!!!!!!!!{/b}

en	Wario slaps his butt as the words "PAR" appear onscreen.
ko	화면에 "PAR" 라는 글씨가 뜨며 와리오가 자신의 엉덩이를 찰싹 때린다.

en	See? This is why Mario Golf is the best game in the world.
ko	봤지? 이래서 마리오 골프가 세계최고의 게임인거야.

en	Noelle turns away so Akarsha can't see her face, but by now she's shaking with barely suppressed laughter.
ko	노엘은 아카샤가 얼굴을 보지 못하게 고개를 돌리지만, 이미 온몸이 숨겼다 하기도 힘든 웃음으로 떨리고 있다.

en	I win! I broke her!
ko	내가 이겼어! 내가 쟤를 깨트렸어!

en	I'M GOING TO BEAT THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF YOU!!!
ko	{b}너 진짜 죽도록 패버릴거야!!!{/b}

en	Akarsha yelps as Noelle pelts her with slaps.
ko	아카샤는 노엘이 아카샤를 찰싹이며 연신 때리자, 꺅꺅 비명을 지른다.

en	Halp! Murder! Murder!
ko	도와쥬세용!! 살인! 살이인!!

en	So, Monopoly?
ko	그래서, 모노폴리?

en	You got it.
ko	완벽해.

en	Ya HA! I got Boardwalk!
ko	아싸! 보드워크 먹었다!

en	Welcome to my Santa Cruz of Death. I'm using my entire savings to pile four houses on it.
ko	"죽음의 산타 크루즈"에 오신걸 환영합니다. 내 전 재산을 꼬라박아서 집 네채를 짓겠어.

en	Oh, no. If I land on it right now, I'll go broke.
ko	아 이런. 지금 저기 들어가면 파산 해버릴 텐데.

en	Well, chances are, you won't.
ko	뭐, 그럴 확률은 적지만 말야.

en	Unloading all your money on a single property is pure folly this early in the game.
ko	그렇게 게임 초반부에 토지 하나에 전 재산을 탕진하는건 바보같은 짓이야.

en	Diya rolls the dice and breathes a sigh of relief when she safely passes Akarsha's killer Boardwalk tile.
ko	디야가 주사위를 굴린다. 아카샤의 지옥-워크 칸을 무사히 건넌걸 보고는 안도의 한숨을 내쉰다.

en	After a few spaces, her dog token lands on Min's property. She begins to shell out the rent, but Min stops her.
ko	디야의 개 토큰은 몇칸 너머에 있는 민의 토지에 안착한다. 월세를 내려 지폐를 세는 디야를 민이 멈춰 세운다.

en	You don't have to pay me.
ko	월세 안내도 돼.

en	?!

en	I don't?
ko	안 내도 돼?

en	It's my house, so I'm in charge. You can stay there for free.
ko	내 집이니까 내 맘대로지. 넌 무료로 지내게 해줄게.

en	....
ko	...

en	Not so fast. That's not allowed!
ko	동작 그만. 그거 반칙이거든!

en	When you land on property owned by another player, the owner has to collect rent from you.
ko	타인 소유의 토지에 도착하면, 토지 주인은 월세를 필수로 걷어야해.

en	Akarsha flips open the rulebook and pretends to adjust an imaginary pair of glasses on her face.
ko	아카샤는 룰북을 펼치고선 허상의 안경을 고쳐 쓰는 시늉을 한다.

en	Actually, it says here...
ko	사실은, 여기 쓰여있는걸 보면...

en	"The owner may not collect the rent if he/she fails to ask for it before the second player following throws the dice."
ko	"토지 주인은 다음 순서의 플레이어가 주사위를 굴리기 전에 물어보지 않는다면, 월세를 걷어서는 안된다."

en	That's so confusingly worded.
ko	되게 헷갈리게 쓰여있다.

en	Basically, it's sayin' if the owner doesn't ask for rent, the renter doesn't have to pay it!
ko	그러니까, 대충 주인이 월세 내라고 안물어보면 월세 안내도 된다는거지!

en	Ha! So Diya CAN sleep at my house!
ko	하! 그럼 디야 우리집에서 자도 되는거네!

en	What kind of buffoon penned these rules?! If the renter and owner are in cahoots, the other players are at a disadvantage!
ko	뭔 머저리같은 인간이 이런 규칙을 집필한거야?! 세입자랑 토지 주인이 사기단 이라도 꾸리면 다른 플레이어들 한테 불이익이 가는거잖아!

en	Unless the odd ones out form an alliance to counter it, too.
ko	그 다른 플레이어들이 동맹으로 반격한다면 모르지.

en	HmmMMMMM...Wanna be in {i}cahoots{/i} with me, Frenchman?
ko	흐으으으으음... 프렌치맨이여, 저랑 {i}사기단{/i} 한번 꾸려보지 않으시렵니까?

en	Not a chance.
ko	어림도 없지.

en	Don't say I didn't ask ya.
ko	나중에 후회 하지나 마셔.

en	You'll be singing a different tune once you land on my Killer Boardwalk.
ko	내 "살인워크"에 들어오기만 해봐, 한 입으로 두 소리 하게 될걸.

en	Noelle's phone buzzes, and her face pales when she checks it.
ko	노엘의 핸드폰이 울리고, 확인을 하는 노엘의 얼굴이 새하얘진다.

en	Oh, great.
ko	아, 경사 났네.

en	What's wrong?
ko	무슨 일이야?

en	I told my mom I'd text her when I got to Akarsha's house.
ko	아카샤네 도착하면 엄마한테 연락 드리겠다고 했거든.

en	But I was having so much fun, it completely slipped my mind.
ko	근데 너무 신나게 놀아서 완전히 잊어버렸어.

en	Akarsha catches a glimpse of Noelle's phone screen. It's filled with panicked texts from her mom...
ko	아카샤가 노엘의 핸드폰 스크린을 훔쳐본다. 엄마에게서 온 다급한 문자로 화면이 가득 차 있다.

en	{nw}

en	12:29 PM

en	Are you having fun
ko	재밌게 놀고 있니

en	Hello
ko	노엘

en	1:00 PM

en	Hello Noelle how are you doting
ko	노엘 어떻게 괘가고 있니

en	I meant not doing not doting :)
ko	괘가고가 아니라 돼가고 있냐고 물어보려고 했어 ^^

en	2:30 PM

en	You may consider to call us when you can
ko	시간 될때 전화 주렴

en	2:51 PM

en	Is everything okay ?
ko	문제 없는거지?

en	Where are you? You said you would text us, It's been almost two hours
ko	너 지금 어디니? 연락 준다며 벌써 두시간이나 지났어

en	2:55 PM

en	How come you're not picking up your phone?
ko	왜 전화 안받는거니?

en	We're about to call the police
ko	경찰에 신고할거야

en	Jesus...
ko	미친...

en	There's four missed calls, too. I think we were all shouting so much, I didn't hear any of them.
ko	부재중 전화도 네 통이나 왔었어. 소리 지르느라 하나도 못들었나봐.

en	Diya jumps in surprise as her cell phone starts ringing.
ko	전화가 울리고, 디야는 깜짝 놀라 펄쩍 뛴다.

en	She stares at it with trepidation before fearfully pressing it to her good ear.
ko	디야는 벌벌 떨며 핸드폰을 쳐다보다가, 무서운듯이 잘 들리는 쪽의 귀로 갖다댄다.

en	........
ko	......

en	Diya frantically hands Noelle the phone like it's a hot potato.
ko	디야는 핸드폰이 뜨거운 감자라도 된 듯 노엘에게 황급히 건네준다.

en	Alright. I'll deal with it.
ko	알았어. 내가 해결할게.

en	Noelle answers the phone and leaves the room with a sigh. Akarsha can faintly hear her side of a frustrating conversation...
ko	노엘이 전화를 받고 한숨과 함께 방을 떠난다. 아카샤는 노엘 시점의 답답한 대화가 들려온다...

en	A few minutes later, she returns to the group, her face sour.
ko	몇분이 지나고, 노엘은 얼굴을 구긴채로 돌아온다.

en	We've cleared up the misunderstanding. I let them know I'll be here for a few more hours.
ko	오해는 풀었어. 몇시간 더 있겠다고 말씀 드렸고.

en	I'm sorry my mom called you, Diya. That was humiliating.
ko	엄마가 너한테 전화 걸게 해서 미안해, 디야. 너무 부끄럽다.

en	It's okay. Good thing she didn't report you missing yet.
ko	괜찮아. 실종신고 안넣으신게 어디야.

en	I know she means well, but it's honestly irritating how often she wildly overreacts to perfectly harmless situations.
ko	좋은 의도이신건 알지만, 이렇게 별 것도 아닌 일에 이렇게 오버 하는일이 하루 이틀이 아니라 너무 짜증나.

en	She has no friends or hobbies, so all her brain power is spent on obsessing over me.
ko	엄마는 친구도, 취미도 없어서 하루종일 나한테 집착하는데 모든 기력을 다 쓰시고.

en	Sorry we got you in trouble...
ko	곤란하게 만들어서 미안...

en	It's not your fault. You couldn't have known.
ko	네 잘못 아니야. 알 수도 없었는데.

en	I should've remembered to text her once I arrived at your house.
ko	내가 도착하자마자 문자 드리길 기억 했어야 했어.

en	Noelle's joints crick as she sits back down at the Monopoly board between Diya and Akarsha.
ko	디야와 아카샤 사이에 다시 앉는 노엘의 관절이 삐걱인다.

en	Is it just me, or are all the "cool" kids at our school just the ones whose parents let them do the most stuff?
ko	나만 그런건진 모르겠는데, 우리 학교에 있는 "쿨"한 애들, 그냥 부모님이 뭐 하지말라는 소리 안하는 애들인거 같지 않아?

en	Yeah, it's the girls who're allowed to wear make-up and hang out with their friends all the time.
ko	응, 화장 하고 다녀도 되고, 친구들이랑 맨날 놀러 다녀도 되는 여자애들 처럼.

en	That's not always true. My parents are pretty chill, but I'm still uncool.
ko	항상 그런건 아니더라. 우리 부모님도 꽤 자유로우신데, 난 쿨하지 않잖아.

en	I'm just unpopular cuz I'm weird.
ko	난 걍 이상해서 아싸인거고.

en	Don't forget perverted and annoying.
ko	변태에다 짜증나는 놈이라는거도 잊지 말고.

en	I would like to add that you're a compulsive liar.
ko	받고, 습관적 거짓말쟁이인것도 추가.

en	Geez, wow! I didn't realize everyone had their own theories for why I'm not popular...
ko	와! 너네들 내가 아싸인 이유를 다들 하나쯤은 생각해보고 있었구나! 전혀 몰랐네...

en	A few turns of Monopoly later, Akarsha moves her top hat token to the Reading Railroad.
ko	몇 턴 후, 아카샤는 자신의 실크모자 토큰을 리딩 기찻길에 올린다.

en	Whose is this?
ko	이거 누구 땅이야?

en	Mine.
ko	내거.

en	Diya, bromie, please...I have a starving family and eight children at home...
ko	디야, 내 친구여... 제발... 집에 굶어 죽어가는 가족이, 토끼같은 여덟명의 아이들이 있어...

en	$25. Hand it over.
ko	25달러. 내놓으시지.

en	You're murdering the babes, Diya! How about $24? Just one dollar can save a life...
ko	내 자식들을 죽일셈이야? 24달러는 어때, 단돈 1달러로 사람의 목숨을 구할수 있다구...

en	I like how since we found out it's possible to not pay rent, this turned into Akarsha begging and haggling with everyone to not charge her.
ko	월세를 안낼 방법이 있다는 사실이 밝혀지고 나서 부터 게임이 아카샤의 구걸 및 흥정쇼로 바뀐게 참 웃겨.

en	Wait, Diya, I'll roll you for it. Double or nothing.
ko	잠깐, 디야, 주사위에 모든걸 걸게. 면제, 아니면 두배로.

en	So now this is a casino?
ko	이젠 카지노야?

en	Diya assesses the thick stack of Monopoly money she's accumulated from not having to pay rent on Min's properties.
ko	디야는 민에게 내지 않은 월세 덕에 두툼해진 지폐더미를 살펴본다.

en	Okay. I'll try my luck.
ko	그래. 내 운을 시험해 볼게.

en	Diya shakes the dice in her hands and drops them onto the board with a clatter. She got...
ko	디야가 주사위를 손안에서 굴려 보드 위로 달그락 던진다. 주사위엔...

en	[diyaRandomNum].

en	[diyaRandomNum]...There's no way I'll lose to that!
ko	[diyaRandomNum]... 저거에 질리가 없어!

en	[diyaRandomNum].

en	[diyaRandomNum]?! That's gonna be tough to beat...
ko	[diyaRandomNum]?! 저걸 이기긴 힘들겠는걸...

en	[diyaRandomNum].

en	Yee, [diyaRandomNum]'s not too bad. I got this!
ko	우왓, [diyaRandomNum]정도면 나쁘지 않은데. 할수 있다!

en	Roll the dice
ko	주사위 굴리기

en	Holding her breath, Akarsha rolls the dice...
ko	숨 쉬는것도 까먹은채 아카샤가 주사위를 굴린다...

en	[akarshaRandomNum]! WINNER!!!!
ko	{b}[akarshaRandomNum]! 이겼따아아아아아아!!!!{/b}

en	...

en	I live another day!
ko	이렇게 하루를 버는구나!

en	[akarshaRandomNum]...Alas.......
ko	[akarshaRandomNum]...이럴수가.......

en	!!
ko	!!!

en	$50. Fork it over.
ko	50달러. 내 놔.

en	I'll have you know little Timmy died of starvation last night 'cause of you.
ko	너 때문에 우리 소중한 아들 티미가 지난 밤에 굶어 죽었어.

en	His ghost is now haunting you...
ko	작은 티미의 유령이 널 괴롭힐거야...

en	Okay. Sure.
ko	그러시겠지.

en	OooOOooOoO...Why did you kill me when I'm only a small child?
ko	우우ㅜㅇㅇ우ㅜ우ㅜ... 저는 이렇게 작고 가녀린 아이일 뿐인데 왜 저를 죽이셨나요오오...

en	You're so annoying. I hope your next turn kills you.
ko	너 진짜 짜증나는거 알아? 다음 턴에 확 죽어버렸으면 좋겠네.

en	If I'm so annoying, why do you keep hanging out with me?
ko	내가 그렇게 짜증나면, 왜 계속 나랑 어울리는 건데?

en	Because I love to watch you fail.
ko	네가 실패하는 모습을 보는게 좋아서.

en	It's Noelle's turn. She rolls a 12.
ko	노엘 차례다. 주사위에서 12가 나온다.

en	Noelle only moves her iron token a couple spaces before she starts to lose it. That's how Akarsha knows she's landed on Boardwalk.
ko	노엘은 다리미 토큰을 몇칸 옮기다 얼굴상태가 급격히 안좋아진다. 그걸 본 아카샤는 노엘이 보드워크에 들어왔다는걸 알아차린다.

en	Uh oh...Spaghetti-O's...
ko	어쩜 세상에 이런일이 있나...

en	SHUT UP! YOU DON'T NEED TO RUB IT IN!!!!
ko	{b}닥쳐! 이미 알고 있거든!!!{/b}

en	She nearly knocks over all the houses Akarsha's piled up on the space as she slams her token down.
ko	노엘의 토큰을 아카샤의 토지에 쾅 내려치는 바람에 차곡차곡 쌓여있는 집들을 모조리 날려버릴뻔 한다.

en	How much is it?
ko	얼만데.

en	Oh, only $1700.
ko	단 돈 1700달러.

en	To Akarsha's amazement, Noelle dissolves into laughter on the couch — actual, honest-to-god laughter.
ko	아카샤의 예상을 깨고, 노엘은 크게 웃으며 소파 위로 녹아 내린다 – 진실한, 거짓없는 웃음소리를 내 뱉으며.

en	Dang! I gotta figure out how to do that again!
ko	젠장! 이거 다시 할 방법을 잘 떠올려 봐야겠어!

en	As Min rolls next, Akarsha hears the sound of the front door opening.
ko	민이 주사위를 굴리는 사이, 아카샤는 정문이 열리는 소리를 듣는다.

en	Oh, they're finally back from Taekwondo!
ko	아! 태권도 다 끝나고 돌아왔나보다!

en	Her little brother runs into the living room, wildly swinging his new red belt in the air like a whip.
ko	아카샤의 남동생이 새로 딴 빨간 띠를 공중에 채찍처럼 휘두르며 거실로 뛰어 들어온다.

en	HOWL, ZABIMARU!
ko	{b}울부짖어라, 자비마루!{/b}

en	He flails his red belt, whapping the floor, couch, and everything else within a three foot radius of him.
ko	자신의 빨간띠로 바닥, 소파, 그리고 반경 3피트 안에 있는 그 모든것을 철썩인다.

en	OW! OW!!!
ko	{b}앗, 아야!!!{/b}

en	This is my bro Pratik. He's basically me but a guy.
ko	요 꼬맹이는 내 남동생 프라틱. 내 남자 버전이라 보면 된다.

en	I see you passed your "test"...
ko	그 "시험" 을 통과 했나 보네...

en	A voice booms through the house from the garage.
ko	커다란 목소리가 차고 부터 집 안으로 울려 퍼진다.

en	{i}BETI!!!{/i} HELP CARRY GROCERIES IN!!!
ko	{b}{i}베티!!!{/i}짐 나르는거 도와줘!!!{/b}

en	WE STOPPED BY COSTCO AND BOUGHT NACHOS FOR THE PARTY!!
ko	{b}친구들이랑 나눠 먹으라고 코스트코에서 나쵸 사왔어!!{/b}

en	YEH!!!!
ko	{b}녜!!!!{/b}

en	Should we help?
ko	도와줄까?

en	Nah, he's talkin' to me. Be my guest!! Relax!!!
ko	아냐, 나 부르는거야. 너넨 손님이니까 편하게 있어!!

en	No, I insist. It is my birthday you're going through the trouble for.
ko	아니야, 괜찮아. 내 생일이라 이런 수고를 감내 하는거잖아.

en	Fine, hard to argue with that...Frenchman, let's go!
ko	참, 반박은 못하겠네... 가자, 프렌치맨!

en	Akarsha hastily stuffs her socked feet into her mom's sandals and waddles into the garage with Noelle in tow.
ko	아카샤는 허겁지겁 양말을 신은 발을 엄마의 쪼리에 집어넣고선, 뒤에 노엘을 데리고 뒤뚱거리며 차고로 걸어간다.

en	Is Pratik your only sibling?
ko	프라틱 말곤 다른 남매는 없어?

en	Naw, I have a big sis too.
ko	아, 언니도 한명 있어.

en	But she's like, way, way older. She's in medical school already.
ko	근데 나랑 나이 차이가, 좀, 완전 많이 나. 벌써 의대 들어갔어.

en	That {i}is{/i} a lot older.
ko	정말 {i}완전{/i} 많이 나네.

en	I was definitely an accident. But I think I was so awesome that it reminded my parents how cool kids are, and then they made my bro on purpose.
ko	난 분명 실수로 생긴 아이 일거야. 근데 완전짱짱 멋진 나를 본 우리 부모님이 아기란 정말 짱인 존재라는걸 다시금 깨닫고, 울 남동생을 계획해서 낳으신거지.

en	That. Is FAR too much information.
ko	너, 너무 많은 정보를 들어버렸는데.

en	So your sister intends to become a doctor?
ko	그래서 네 언니는 의사가 되려 하시는거야?

en	A {i}neurosurgeon{/i}.
ko	무려 {i}신경외과{/i}.

en	Like, good for her, but it's almost kinda frustrating how perfect she turned out. She's just as bad as you.
ko	아니, 뭐, 언니한텐 잘 된 일이지. 근데 너무 완벽한 인물상으로 자라나서 거의 짜증날 정도라니까? 진짜 너처럼.

en	I can't even say my parents have unrealistic expectations 'cause my sister actually met them.
ko	울 엄마아빠가 비현실적인 기대치를 갖고있다 할수도 없는게, 언니가 이미 기대치를 채웠으니까.

en	Akarsha's dad walks over from the trunk of the minivan with an armful of groceries.
ko	아카샤의 아빠가 미니밴의 트렁크에서 짐을 한아름 안고 걸어온다.

en	Oh god, what is he wearing?!
ko	아 맙소사, 왜 저런 옷을 입고 있는거야?!

en	Hoo hoo! So this is the birthday girl.
ko	오호! 이 친구가 생일자 아가씨구나.

en	Thanks god you are here.
ko	이렇게 와줘서 정말 구마워요.

en	My dad always says "Thanks god" instead of "Thank god". I dunno why...
ko	아빠는 항상 "고마워요" 대신 "구마워요" 라고 말해. 왠진 모르겠지만...

en	Well...It's my surprise party, so I don't have much choice in the matter.
ko	뭐... 서프라이즈 파티라, 딱히 선택지가 있었던건 아니지만요.

en	Akarsha said you don't like surprises, so you might go home already.
ko	아카샤는 친구가 서프라이즈 같은걸 안 좋아해서 이미 집에 갈수도 있다고 그러던데.

en	Like my co-worker Carrot last week. When we threw her a retirement party, she only stayed for half an hour.
ko	내 동료 캐럿처럼. 지난주에 정년 퇴직 축하 파티를 열어줬는데, 30분만 있다 가버렸어.

en	Your co-worker is called "Carrot"...?
ko	동료분 이름이… “캐럿”이라고요?

en	Dad, her name is {i}Karen.{/i} I really hope you weren't calling her that at the office.
ko	아빠, 캐럿이 아니라 {i}캐런{/i}. 회사에서도 그렇게 부르고 다닌건 아니지?

en	Akarsha's dad tries to clear a path through the heap of shoes by the garage door. Meanwhile, Akarsha and Noelle each grab a couple grocery bags from the trunk.
ko	아카샤의 아빠는 차고 문 앞에 가득 놓인 신발들 사이로 길을 내려 하고 있다. 그동안, 아카샤와 노엘은 각각 장바구니 몇개씩을 트렁크에서 꺼낸다.

en	Your dad looks very...patriotic.
ko	너네 아빠… 되게… 애국자시구나.

en	Yeah, he thinks being American is really cool so he likes to buy stuff with eagles and flags on it sometimes.
ko	어, 아빠는 미국인이 된다는게 엄청 쩐다고 생각해서 막 성조기나 독수리가 그려져 있는 물건들을 사는걸 좋아해.

en	I see...Is he really into politics?
ko	그래... 정치엔 관심이 많으셔?

en	No, my parents don't know anything about politics.
ko	아니. 울 엄마아빤 정치에 관해선 아무것도 몰라.

en	Every election they have one of them vote for the Republican candidate while the other votes for the Democrat, so they cancel each other out.
ko	선거날 마다 한명은 공화당을, 한명은 민주당을 투표해서 서로의 표를 상쇄시켜.

en	Why do they bother voting if they don't care who wins?
ko	누가 이기는지 상관을 안하시면 왜 굳이 가서 투표를 하시는거야?

en	They just wanna feel included, I guess? It's pretty silly.
ko	글쎄, 소속감을 느끼고 싶어서 일까? 쫌 웃기긴 해.

en	Akarsha's mom smiles at Noelle as she steps out from the passenger seat.
ko	아카샤의 엄마가 조수석에서 내리며 노엘에게 미소 짓는다.

en	Oh my god. She was sitting in the car the whole time fixing her hair and reapplying her lipstick...
ko	신이시여. 여태까지 차에서 뭐하나 했는데 립스틱 다시 바르고 머리 만지고 있었나봐...

en	No one cares, Mom!
ko	엄마, 아무도 신경 안써!

en	I'm sorry we're late. We thought we'd be back before everyone came.
ko	늦어서 미안해. 다들 오기 전에 도착할줄 알았어.

en	It's that stupid GPS's fault. It wanted us to go on all these strange routes.
ko	이게 다 멍청한 GPS 때문이야. 무슨 이상한 길들만 알려주고.

en	If you'd just followed its directions all the way, it probably would've been faster.
ko	GPS가 알려주는 길 그대로만 갔어도 아마 지금보단 빨리 도착 했을텐데.

en	No, I could predict there would be traffic on the 680. I would know, I've lived here for twenty years.
ko	아니, 680번 도로에 차가 막힐게 안봐도 뻔했다고. 여기 산지 20년째 인데 그정도는 알지.

en	Speaking of driving, I have a great idea for an invention.
ko	운전 얘기하니까 생각난건데, 기발한 발명품 아이디어가 떠올랐어.

en	Cars should zap bad drivers.
ko	운전 못하는 사람들을 지지는 자동차.

en	.......Zap? As in, with electricity?
ko	지지는..? 그러니까, 전기로?

en	Just through the steering wheel. Not enough to kill them, but enough to hurt.
ko	그냥 운전대로만. 죽일정도는 아니고, 아프기만 하게.

en	Steal my parking spot..."EeeeYAHHH!!!"
ko	내 주차자리를 뺏으면... {b}"아으으아아아아악!!!"{/b}

en	Akarsha's dad mimes being shocked with electricity.
ko	아카샤의 아빠는 전기에 지져지는 시늉을 한다.

en	..........
ko	......

en	Dad, oh my god! Stop it!
ko	아 진짜, 아빠 쫌!! 그만해!

en	With all due respect, that sounds like a terrible idea.
ko	말씀 이해는 가지만... 안좋은 발상 같네요.

en	But everyone would learn so fast.
ko	그치만 모두가 정말 빨리 배울텐데.

en	Hasn't Akarsha told you I'm a genius? Her smarts run in the family.
ko	아카샤가 내가 천재라고 말해준적 없니? 아카샤가 똑똑한건 다 유전이란다.

en	I should patent my car zapper along with my telephone idea.
ko	이 자동차 지짐이랑 같이 전화 발명품도 특허를 걸어야겠다.

en	Telephone idea?
ko	전화 발명품이요?

en	It's the same thing except the telephone shocks telemarketers.
ko	비슷한건데, 스팸전화 거 는사람들을 지지는 핸드폰.

en	I'm dubious the patent office will approve either of those.
ko	특허청에서 그런걸 통과 시켜줄지는 모르겠네요.

en	What, don't you think it's a great idea?
ko	왜, 기발한 아이디어라 생각하지 않아?

en	"Hello, will you buy our product? OOoouughh!!!"
ko	"안녕하세요, 김미영 팀장입니다아으아아악!!!"

en	Akarsha's dad shakes his arm as if being shocked again as he walks into the house.
ko	아카샤의 아빠는 다시 전기충격을 받은 마냥 팔을 떨며 집 안으로 들어간다.

en	What's wrong with you...
ko	도대체 뭐가 문제야...

en	Akarsha's mom follows him inside with an exasperated expression on her face.
ko	지친 얼굴을 한 아카샤의 어머니가 그 뒤를 따라 들어간다.

en	Finally they're gone! I thought I was gonna die of embarassment...
ko	아, 부끄러워 죽는줄 알았네! 드디어 갔다...

en	Noelle is still staring after Akarsha's dad, fascinated.
ko	노엘은 아직 아카샤의 아빠를 흥미롭다는듯 쳐다보고 있다.

en	Your dad is such a character. He's so outgoing.
ko	너네 아빠 개성 있으시다. 외향적이시고.

en	Oh yeah, he loves talking SO much. He never shuts up.
ko	아, 응. 말하는걸 너어무 좋아해. 닥치는 날이 없어.

en	I feel like this explains a lot about you...
ko	너에 대해 많은걸 설명하는거 같네...

en	Really? Like what?
ko	진짜? 예를 들면?

en	I see where you get your sense of humor from now.
ko	네 유머감각이 여기서 나왔구나.

en	Huh? No, my jokes are TOTALLY different!
ko	뭐? 아니, 난 완전 웃기잖아!!

en	You can't deny there are some similarities.
ko	비슷한 점이 있다는건 부정 못할걸.

en	From my observation, parents have a lot of influence on their kids' personalities.
ko	내 관찰에 따르면, 부모들은 자식의 성격에 많은 영향을 끼쳐.

en	No way, I'm way funnier than my dad!
ko	아 뭔 소리야, 난 아빠보다 훨씬 웃겨!

en	I'm an enigma. You'll never figure me out.
ko	난 복잡한 수수께끼야. 넌 날 평생 간파하지 못할걸.

en	Actually, I think I already have.
ko	이미 간파한거 같은데.

en	For instance, your worst fear is earnestly trying at something and failing.
ko	우선, 네가 제일 무서워 하는건 무언가에 진지하게 도전했다가 실패하는거야.

en	So even though you're perfectly intelligent, you use your goofy disposition to premptively make a fool of yourself on purpose.
ko	그래서 넌 이미 완벽하게 영리한데도, 일부러 우스꽝스러운 기질을 발휘해 자기방어적으로 광대노릇을 자처해.

en	I do not?? Give me an example.
ko	안그러거든?? 그랬던 예시라도 들어봐.

en	When we play Monopoly you sink all your funds into Boardwalk. When we play poker you eat your cards.
ko	넌 모노폴리를 할땐 네 전재산을 보드워크에 부어. 포커를 할땐 카드를 먹어버려.

en	When we play baseball you clutch your head and claim you're having a "psychic brain attack".
ko	야구를 할땐 머리를 붙잡고 "초능력 뇌공격" 을 받고 있다고 우겨.

en	Hey, I just like providing fun for the whole family.
ko	야, 그건 그냥 너네 웃기는게 좋아서 그런거고.

en	I doubt that's it. This extends to every facet of how you present yourself to the world.
ko	과연 그럴까? 이건 네가 이 세상에 너를 표출하는 모든 방식에도 해당되는 말이야.

en	You're insecure about your appearance, so you go out in this outlandish hairdo with this windbreaker and flip-flops outfit.
ko	넌 네 외모에 자신이 없어서, 이런 괴상한 머리스타일과 바람막이에 쪼리 차림으로 돌아다녀.

en	You're worried people won't like you, so you act like a circus clown.
ko	넌 사람들이 널 좋아하지 않을걸 걱정해서 서커스 삐에로처럼 굴어.

en	Rather than risk rejection, you set yourself up for failure to feel in control of the situation.
ko	거절을 감수하기보단, 넌 일부러 실패해서 모든 상황이 네 제어 아래 있다고 느끼려 해.

en	What the...I feel weirdly exposed??
ko	이씨... 뭔가 발가벗겨진 느낌인데??

en	You're one to talk about fear of failure, Miss "I Argue With the Teacher That My Multiple Choice Answer Was Technically ALSO Right".
ko	네가 거절에 대해 말할건 아니지 않아? {i}내객관식문제의정답도엄밀히따지면정답이라고선생님이랑말싸움을해요{/i} 씨?

en	I would contend that makes me more adept at sensing that trait in others.
ko	그렇기에 난 다른사람이 이 특성을 가지고 있다는걸 더 수월하게 감지하도록 발달한거라 주장하겠어.

en	Sweating profusely, Akarsha lets out a nervous laugh...
ko	땀을 뻘뻘 흘리며, 아카샤는 긴장어린 웃음을 흘린다.

en	Her read on me is scarily accurate?! No one's ever seen through me like this before!
ko	무서울 정도로 예리하게 날 읽어냈잖아?! 날 이렇게까지 꿰뚫어본 사람은 한번도 없었는데!

en	How much attention is she paying to me??
ko	도대체 나한테 얼마나 많은 관심을 쏟는거야??

en	Usually you don't watch someone that closely unless you like them.
ko	보통 누굴 좋아하는게 아닌 이상 이렇게까지 유심히 관찰하진 않아.

en	Unless...???
ko	아님...???

en	Akarsha watches Noelle closely as they haul the food inside.
ko	음식을 나르며 아카샤는 노엘을 유심히 지켜본다.

en	She can't help but grin as Noelle ascends the garage's concrete steps with the grace of a vacuum cleaner.
ko	마치 한마리의 진공청소기처럼 "우아"하게 차고의 콘크리트 계단을 오르는 노엘의 모습을 보며, 아카샤는 씨익 미소 짓는걸 참지 못한다.

en	Suddenly, Noelle turns to her and gives her an unreadable look.
ko	갑자기, 노엘은 아카샤에게 고개를 돌리더니 무슨 뜻인지 모를 표정을 짓는다.

en	......

en	What?
ko	뭔데?

en	Akarsha's heart skips a beat as Noelle reaches out to her windbreaker sleeve and plucks something from the fabric.
ko	노엘이 손을 뻗어 바람막이 소맷자락에 붙어있던 무언가를 떼내자, 아카샤의 심장은 한박자를 건너 뛴다.

en	There was a grain of rice stuck to your jacket. It was bothering me.
ko	쌀 한톨이 소매에 붙어있었어. 거슬려서.

en	Noelle holds up the offending grain of rice between her fingers.
ko	노엘으 그 쌀 한톨을 손가락으로 잡아 들어보인다.

en	Oh, that's an accessory. Put it back.
ko	아, 그거 내 악세사리야. 돌려줘.

en	Akarsha feels a jolt of euphoria as Noelle rolls her eyes and lets the corner of her mouth quirk up for the briefest moment.
ko	노엘이 눈알을 굴리며 입꼬리를 씰룩이는 찰나를 목격한 아카샤는 순간적인 희열을 느낀다.

en	Ah, shit...No...
ko	아, 젠장... 안돼...

en	Not this shit again...Nooooo.......
ko	또 이런 엿같은... 안돼애애애애애......

en	Monday, before school
ko	월요일, 등교전

en	Akarsha daydreams about Noelle as she uses one of the library's computers.
ko	아카샤는 도서관 컴퓨터를 쓰며 노엘 생각에 푹 빠져있다.

en	I'm so fucked. I can't stop thinking about her...
ko	나 존나 좆됐네. 노엘 생각을 멈출수가 없어...

en	We haven't even known each other for a whole year yet, but she already knows so much about me...
ko	우리 아직 채 1년도 못알고 지냈는데도 나에 대해 정말 많은걸 알고있어...

en	I bet we're closer than a lot of couples who really {i}are{/i} dating!
ko	우린 아마 찐으로 사귀고 있는 커플들보다도 더 사이가 가까울거야!

en	She can tell when I'm about to say something annoying before I even open my mouth.
ko	내가 뭔 짜증나는 말을 할거라는걸 입을 열기도 전에 알아채고.

en	She knows I have a big sister, which is like a rare Akarsha fact cuz she's so much older than me.
ko	언닌 나보다 나이가 한참 많아서 내 위로 언니가 있다는건 아는 사람이 없는데. 그런 울트라레어-아카샤-상식도 노엘은 알고 있어.

en	Heck, she's met my parents already...That's a couple-y thing, right??
ko	아니, 우리 부모님도 만났네... 그거 커플들이나 하는거 아니야?? 그치???

en	The heck are you doing?
ko	니 뭐하냐?

en	Gyah!
ko	으갹!

en	You scared me!
ko	놀랐잖아!

en	I said hi like, twice. You must really be out of it.
ko	너 두번 정도 불렀거든. 정신을 어따 팔고 다니는거야?

en	I-I was just focused on the computer!
ko	커, 컴퓨터에 엄청 집중했을 뿐이야!!

en	Akarsha points to the screen to try to sell her point.
ko	아카샤는 민을 설득해보려 스크린을 가르킨다.

en	I'm editing my report card in MS Paint. I intercepted it before my parents checked the mail yesterday.
ko	내 성적표를 그림판으로 조작하는 중이야. 어제 부모님이 메일을 확인하기 전에 가로챘어.

en	Watch this!
ko	봐봐!

en	On the computer, Akarsha photoshops her B+ in English into an A-.
ko	아카샤는 영어 성적을 B+에서 A-로 슬쩍 고친다.

en	A-? Why not just change it to an A+?
ko	A-? 기왕 바꾸는거 A+로 안바꿔?

en	Naw, A- is more realistic.
ko	놉. 이게 더 현실적이니까.

en	Now I just gotta print this out.
ko	이제 인쇄만 하면 돼.

en	Don't tell anyone I did this, okay?
ko	아무한테도 말하지 마, 알았지?

en	Who do you think I am? Noelle?
ko	내가 노엘이냐?

en	You're not even changing your actual grades, so you're not REALLY cheating.
ko	진짜 성적을 바꾸는것도 아니라 성적표만 조작하는거라 {i}진짜{/i} 반칙은 아니잖아.

en	You're right...I'm just cheating my parents' brains! Mind hack...
ko	네 말이 맞아... 난 그냥 부모님 뇌를 반칙하는거일 뿐이야! 마인드 핵...

en	Akarsha pulls her new and improved report card from the tray. It's still warm from the machinery, like fresh laundry.
ko	아카샤는 개선된 새 성적표를 트레이에서 꺼낸다. 갓 뽑은 용지는 갓 한 빨래처럼 따끈따끈하다.

en	I'll do your report card too if you give me $20.
ko	20달러 주면 니꺼도 해줄게.

en	Nah, can't be bothered. I don't care what my parents think.
ko	됐어, 귀찮기만 하고. 부모님이 뭐라 하든 상관 안해.

en	Wow. You're not worried about disappointing them?
ko	헐, 넌 부모님을 실망시킬까봐 걱정 안돼?

en	Why should I be? They don't seem that worried about disappointing ME.
ko	내가 왜? 그쪽은 {i}날{/i} 실망 시킬까봐 걱정 하는거같진 않던데.

en	Dude, that's deep...
ko	완전 심오하네...

en	Even though Min gets horrifying grades, she's pretty smart in some other ways.
ko	민은 비록 성적은 끔찍해도, 다른 방면으론 똑똑한거 같아.

en	She DID manage to get together with Diya, after all. Maybe she has tips for this kinda thing.
ko	결국 디야랑 엮이는데 성공하기도 했으니까. 어쩌면 이런 문제로 조언을 구할수 있을지도.

en	Actually...Can I ask you a question?
ko	그... 질문 하나 해도 돼?

en	Yeah, what?
ko	그래. 뭔데?

en	Hypothetically...if you had a crush on a friend, what would you do?
ko	만약에 말야... 네가 네 친구를 짝사랑하게 됐어. 그럼 어떡할거같아?

en	You have a crush?! Who is it?
ko	너 짝사랑해?! 누구?

en	I can't tell you, it's embarrassing!
ko	말 못해, 부끄럽단 말야!

en	Is it someone I know?
ko	내가 아는 사람이야?

en	Seriously, I'm not tellin' you! NO ONE can know.
ko	진짜 말 안할거야! {b}아무도{/b} 못알려줘.

en	Is it Diya??????
ko	디야야???????

en	WHAT???? No, I'm not trying to get my throat slit by you.
ko	뭐???? 아니거든? 너한테 목 따일일 있냐.

en	Is it me???
ko	나야???

en	No, but no more questions! I'm not exposing myself!
ko	아니라고! 이제 질문 끝! 난 밝히지 않겠어!

en	What happened to being a "love expert" or whatever when I was trying to kiss Diya?
ko	내가 디야랑 키스하려고 할땐 너 "연애고수" 라며? 그건 어떻게 된건데?

en	Why don't you just follow your own shitty advice?
ko	니 등신같은 조언은 왜 안따르고?

en	Admitedly, it's easier said than done...
ko	인정할게, 말은 실천보다 쉬워...

en	Look, it's exactly like what you guys said when I was on that date. Don't overthink it.
ko	야, 그때 내가 데이트 갔을때 너네가 말한 그대로야. 너무 깊게 생각하지마.

en	Just be straightforward and tell them how you feel.
ko	그냥 솔직하게 네가 어떻게 느끼는지를 말해.

en	You sure?? They don't feel the same way, this could end up destroying our friendship.
ko	확실해?? 걔가 나랑 같은 마음이 아니면 이 우정을 망가뜨릴수도 있어.

en	Yeah, just do it.
ko	응. 걍 질러.

en	You can even try one of the stupid fucking pickup lines you keep "practicing" on my girlfriend.
ko	니가 내 여자친구한테 "연습" 하던 그 좆같은 픽업라인 이라도 써보든가.

en	Okay, okay, I promise I'll stop doing that for real!
ko	그래, 그래, 그거 진짜 그만둔다고 약속할게!

en	I just feel like hitting on my crush directly is a massive risk though...
ko	그냥 그렇게 대놓고 걔한테 들이대는건 너무 큰 위험같아서 그래...

en	Well, it worked out for me. You'll never know unless you go for it.
ko	난 그렇게 하니까 되던데. 해보지 않으면 모르는거잖아.

en	What's the worst thing that could happen? They reject you?
ko	끽해야 거절밖에 더 하겠냐?

en	Getting rejected is a huge deal! It'll make everything so awkward!
ko	거절도 꽤 큰 문제야! 모든걸 어색하게 만들어 버릴거야!

en	I mean, yeah, but that's just a risk you gotta take.
ko	뭐, 그렇긴 한데, 그건 네가 감수해야 하는거고.

en	You don't get it, this isn't just me being paranoid. This has literally happened to me before.
ko	넌 내 맘 몰라. 이건 그냥 내가 지레 겁먹는게 아니야. 이런 상황 전에도 겪어봤단 말이야.

en	None of you went to the same middle school as me, so you don't know.
ko	너네중에 아무도 나랑 같은 중학교 다닌 사람이 없으니까 모르겠지만.

en	Not only did my crush start avoiding me, but she told the rest of our friend group and they stopped talking to me, too.
ko	내가 좋아하던 애가 날 피하는데서 그치지 않고, 다른 겹친구들 한테도 말하고 다녀서 걔네들도 나랑 말을 더이상 안섞었어.

en	What the? That sucks.
ko	뭐 그런? 개같네.

en	Yeah, no kidding. I try not to think about it much.
ko	응. 농담 아니야. 그때 생각은 최대한 안하려고 노력하고 있어.

en	Well, that wouldn't happen this time.
ko	뭐, 이번엔 그런 일 없을거야.

en	Even if it blows up in your face, you'd still have me, Diya, and Noelle.
ko	혹시 일이 잘못 돼도, 나랑 디야랑 노엘이 네 옆에 있을거니까.

en	Haha, right, obviously...
ko	아하하, 그럼, 당연하지...

en	The bell rings.
ko	종이 울린다.

en	Nah, being direct about it still feels too risky...
ko	아니, 돌직구는 아직 너무 위험한거같아.

en	I'm not even sure Noelle likes girls.
ko	노엘이 여자를 좋아하는지도 아직 모르겠고.

en	Heck, I've never seen her express any kind of attraction to anyone at all. Is she just hella repressed?
ko	아니, 여자가 아니더라도 타인에게 끌림 자체를 보인적이 없어. 그냥 존나 억압된걸까?

en	In any case, I don't wanna embarrass myself...
ko	어찌됐든, 창피할 일은 만들고 싶지 않아...

en	The only safe way to do this is to seduce Noelle so hard, she's compelled to confess to me first!
ko	가장 안전한 방법은 노엘을 완전 찐하게 유혹해서, 나한테 먼저 고백하게 만드는거야!

en	That way, if it doesn't work, I can write off all the flirting as a joke.
ko	그러면 이게 안먹혀도 내가 한 플러팅을 농담으로 넘길수도 있어.

en	There's no way this can go wrong.
ko	이게 잘못될 방법은 없어.

en	(Use the mouse to interact!)
ko	(마우스로 상호작용하자!)

en	Examine bookshelves
ko	책장 살펴보기

en	Look at desk
ko	책상 보기

en	Leave library
ko	도서관 나가기

en	Min crosses her arms as Akarsha browses through the shelves.
ko	민은 아카샤가 책장을 살펴보는동안 팔짱을 낀다.

en	I fucking hate libraries.
ko	도서관 존나 싫어.

en	Wh.......Wha?? What's there to hate about libraries?
ko	무...... 뭐?? 도서관이 뭐가 어때서?

en	It's free books?
ko	공짜 책이잖아?

en	Well, I guess the books are okay, but librarians are the worst.
ko	뭐 책은 괜찮은데, 사서들이 제일 싫어.

en	Why?
ko	왜?

en	This one time when I was like seven, I looked up a bunch of bad words on the school library's computer.
ko	내가 7살쯤 됐을때였나? 학교 도서관 컴퓨터에 나쁜말들을 잔뜩 찾아본적이 있어.

en	The librarian saw my search history and got me banned from there for a month!
ko	내 서치 히스토리를 사서가 보더니, 한달이나 도서관 입밴 먹었어!

en	What words did you look up??
ko	뭔 단어들을 찾아봤길래??

en	It was just a bunch of swears I was curious about! Like "damn" and "fuck".
ko	그냥 평소에 궁금했던 욕 몇단어 정도! "젠장" 이나 "시발" 같은거.

en	I remember I searched "middle finger" too.
ko	"중지" 도 찾아봤었어.

en	I love that you thought "middle finger" was a bad word.
ko	"중지" 를 욕이라고 생각한거 진짜 웃긴다.

en	Yeah, I was so innocent as a kid.
ko	어릴땐 나도 참 순수했었지.

en	Hrm...I'm not sure "innocent" is the right word.
ko	으허음... 그걸 "순수" 라고 부를수 있는건지는 잘 모르겠지만.

en	Is Noelle still fake-tutoring you to trick your parents into letting you out of the house?
ko	아직도 부모님 몰래 나가려고 노엘이랑 짭과외 하는중이야?

en	She actually tutors me for real sometimes.
ko	가끔은 진짜로 가르쳐줘.

en	Wow, really?
ko	헐, 진짜?

en	I haven't failed a single test since we started!
ko	시작한 뒤로, 시험에서 한번도 낙제를 받은적이 없어!

en	She looks so proud, but not getting an F is a super low hurdle...
ko	F 안받는게 그렇게 어려운 일은 아닌데, 저렇게 뿌듯한 모습이라니...

en	Alright, protect your hearing.
ko	알았어. 귀좀 막아봐.

en	Min nods and covers her ears as Akarsha walks through the library scanners by the door.
ko	민이 고개를 끄덕이곤 귀를 막는다. 아카샤는 출입구쪽에 있는 도난방지 센서를 통과해 지나간다.

en	The book scanner alarms go off!
ko	도서 도난방지 알람이 울려 퍼진다!

en	The librarian looks up, sees that it's Akarsha, and impatiently waves her through.
ko	사서가 고개를 들어 아카샤인걸 확인하곤 질린듯이 가라고 손짓한다.

en	That seriously happens every single time you walk through the scanners?
ko	진짜 알람 지나갈때마다 이러는거야?

en	Are you {i}sure{/i} you don't have any library books on you?
ko	도서관 책 안훔친거 진짜로 확실해?

en	Of course. There's even a photo of me taped by the door now because after the first few times they searched me, they confirmed I don't have any.
ko	당연하지. 처음 몇번은 걸릴때마다 가방을 뒤져봤는데, 매번 아무것도 안나온거 확인하고 나선 문 옆에다 내 사진도 붙여놨잖아.

en	It almost feels like my backpack is haunted by the ghost of a library book.
ko	내 가방에 뭔 도서관 책의 유령이라도 붙어있는건지.

en	How would that happen? Pissed off any books lately?
ko	어떻게? 최근에 책한테 미움받을 짓이라도 했어?

en	No...Unless maybe Noelle counts as a book...?
ko	아니..? 뭐 노엘을 책으로 친다면 모를까...

en	And because I annoy her daily the books are...mad at me...?
ko	그래서 내가 노엘을 맨날 괴롭히니까 책들이 나한테... 빡쳤나..?

en	Are you hearing how crazy you sound right now?
ko	니 지금 얼마나 미친 소리 하는건지는 알고 있냐?

en	Yeah, I'm embarrassed I even said that out loud.
ko	응. 육성으로 내 뱉었다는거 자체로 부끄러워.

en	It's probably just one of those things. Like my magic rosin.
ko	뭐, 이것도 그런 일들중에 하나겠지. 내 마법의 송진처럼.

en	Your what??
ko	마법의 뭐??

en	Never mind, forget I mentioned it.
ko	아냐. 아무것도. 잊어버려.

en	The librarian gives Akarsha a death glare from behind the counter as the alarms go off again.
ko	아카샤가 또다시 알람을 울리자 사서가 카운터 뒤에서 죽일듯이 째려본다.

en	Is that really necessary? It's not like I can help it!
ko	꼭 그래야 돼? 내가 뭐 어쩔수 있는것도 아니고!

en	Here goes nothing! Sorry, librarian lady!
ko	어쩔수 없지! 사서 언니, 죄송해요!

en	The book scanner alarms go off!
ko	도서 도난방지 알람이 울려 퍼진다!

en	The librarian leaves the counter and begins powerwalking at Min and Akarsha!
ko	사서가 카운터 뒤에서 나와 민과 아카샤에게로 성큼성큼 걸어온다!

en	Oh crap!
ko	아 썅!

en	We are SPEED!!! RUN!!!
ko	바람의윈드!!!! 토껴!!!

en	Akarsha and Min sprint out of the library in a panic.
ko	아카샤와 민은 다급히 도서관을 뛰쳐 나간다.

en	As they escape, Akarsha trips over her own flip-flops.
ko	탈출 도중, 아카샤가 신은 쪼리에 발이 걸려 넘어진다.

en	AAUUGH!!
ko	으아억!!

en	Akarsha throws her hands forward to break her fall onto the hard concrete.
ko	아카샤는 단단한 콘크리트와의 충격을 완화시켜보려 팔을 앞으로 뻗는다.

en	MAMA MIA!! OW!!
ko	{b}맘마미아!! 아야!!{/b}

en	This is SO typical! Why do these things always happen to me?
ko	어떻게 {b}이렇게{/b} 뻔하지?? 왜 나한테만 이런일이 일어나는거야?

en	Shit, dude. You okay?
ko	미친, 야, 너 괜찮아?

en	Akarsha stops sobbing for a second to assess the damage.
ko	아카샤는 잠시 흐느낌을 멈추고 대미지 판단을 해본다.

en	Oh. Actually, I'm fine.
ko	아. 사실은, 괜찮아.

en	Look at the locker room
ko	락커룸을 본다

en	Go to the bathroom
ko	화장실로 간다

en	Walk to the courtyard
ko	운동장으로 걸어간다

en	Return to the school library
ko	도서관으로 돌아간다

en	I don't have gym until later in the day. And the baseball club doesn't meet til after school.
ko	아직 체육시간은 멀었는데. 야구부도 방과후에나 만나고.

en	By the way, our baseball team is called...
ko	참고로, 우리 야구부 이름은...

en	The Bagels
ko	베이글스

en	The Chicken Nuggets
ko	치킨 너겟

en	The Death Bagels
ko	죽음의 베이글

en	Semes
ko	세메

en	{cps=0}By the way, our baseball team is called...{/cps}
ko	{cps=0}참고로, 우리 야구부 이름은...{/cps}

en	Bagels
ko	베이글스

en	That name was Diya's idea. We sound so friendly and tasty.
ko	디야가 낸 이름이였지. 되게 상냥하고 맛있는 이름이야.

en	Chicken Nuggets
ko	치킨 너겟

en	That name was Diya's idea. We sound so friendly and tasty.
ko	디야 아이디어였지. 되게 친절하고 맛있을거 같은 이름이야.

en	That name was Noelle's idea. I bet the more time passes, the scarier our team name will be.
ko	노엘이 제출한 이름이였지. 시간이 지날수록 점점 더 무시무시해 질거야.

en	Death Bagels
ko	죽음의 베이글

en	That name was Diya and Min's idea. Personally, I think it sounds pretty corny.
ko	디야랑 민이 낸 이름이야. 개인적으론 좀 진부한거 같지만.

en	That name was my idea. I'm glad our team is so cultured.
ko	내가 낸 이름이야. 우리 팀이 이렇게 교양적이라니 기뻐.

en	Right now, I need to go to first period and terrorize Noelle.
ko	지금은, 1교시로 가서 노엘을 괴롭혀야만해.

en	Ah, the public school girls restroom. Possibly the most disgusting place on earth.
ko	아, 공립 학교 여자 화장실. 분명 세상에서 가장 역겨운 장소일거야.

en	You're going back to the library? The alarms will go off again.
ko	도서관으로 돌아가게? 또 알람 울릴텐데.

en	So? I'm nothing if not an agent of chaos.
ko	그래서? 혼돈의 부하가 아닌 난 아무것도 아니야.

en	Ready or not, here I come!
ko	준비됐든 안됐든, 갑니다!

en	The book scanner alarms sound as Akarsha and Min reenter the libary.
ko	아카샤와 민이 도서관에 다시 들어가자 도난 방지 알람이 울려퍼진다.

en	Sounds like the library ghosts haunting me are alive and well.
ko	날 따라다니는 도서관 유령들은 안녕 하신가 보네.

en	Again? You're kidding.
ko	또? 농담이지.

en	I've never been more serious in my life.
ko	내 생애 이렇게 진지했던적이 없어.

en	The blare of the book scanner alarm announces Akarsha and Min's return to the library.
ko	도난 방지 알람의 우렁찬 소리가 아카샤와 민의 귀환을 알린다.

en	The librarian looks up, sees that it's Akarsha yet again, and slams her fist onto the countertop with surprising force.
ko	사서가 고개를 들어 이번에도 역시 아캬샤임을 보고선, 놀랄정도로 세게 카운터를 주먹으로 친다.

en	Oh, that librarian is definitely pissed now.
ko	음. 저 사서 100% 화났다.

en	My life will probably be in danger if I go back again.
ko	다시 들어가면 내 목숨을 장담 못해.

en	Maybe tomorrow.
ko	내일 다시 가보자.

en	Look outside the locker room
ko	락커룸 밖을 본다

en	Go to class
ko	교실로 간다

en	Aight, imma head to class now.
ko	그래, 슬슬 반으로 가야겠다.

en	Adios, bitch.
ko	아디오스, 썅년.

en	She's probably gonna go find Diya now.
ko	디야 찾으러 가는거겠지.

en	I feel like she's chilled out a lot since they started dating.
ko	둘이 사귀고 나서부터 많이 진정된거같아.

en	I guess knifing people is less exciting than kissing your girlfriend.
ko	아무래도 여자친구랑 키스하는게 사람을 칼로 푹찍하는거보단 훨씬 더 흥분되겠지.

en	Look at your reflection
ko	창문에 비춘 자신의 모습 보기

en	Eavesdrop on classmates
ko	반 애들 엿듣기

en	Enter classroom
ko	반으로 들어가기

en	How is it that everyone else has bomb-ass hair while mine's all sad and thin?
ko	왜 다들 존나 쩌는 머릿결을 갖고있는데 내 머리카락만 이렇게 서글프고 얇지?

en	What happened??? Gene catastrophe...
ko	어쩌다 이런일이??? 유전자의 재난...

en	The other day I saw my side profile in a photo and was like, "wugh!"
ko	얼마 전에 내 옆모습이 찍힌 사진을 봤는데, 진짜, "으웩!"

en	I really go around looking like that all day?
ko	저딴 꼬라지로 돌아다닌단 말이야?

en	Wish I could get plastic surgery...
ko	성형이라도 받을수 있으면 좋을텐데...

en	Dat me.
ko	나님이다.

en	Male student
ko	남학생

en	Female student
ko	여학생

en	I hate how my parents yell at me for studying late at night.
ko	내가 밤샘공부 할때마다 부모님이 나한테 소리지르는거 너무 싫어.

en	If I slept early instead of cramming, I'd probably fail! And then I'd get yelled at for not studying.
ko	벼락치기 안하고 일찍 잤으면 낙제 했을거야! 그럼 공부 안했다고 또 잔소리 하겠지.

en	Ugh! That's so gay.
ko	으! 진짜 게이하다.

en	At our school, it's really popular to say "gay" when you mean "stupid" or "uncool".
ko	요즘 우리 학교에, "바보같다" 나 "멋지지 않다" 라는 말 대신 "게이하다" 라고 하는 유행이 돌고 있어.

en	So you hear it all the time. Whenever people don't like something, they go "that's so gay."
ko	맨날 들려. 사람들이 별로 안 좋아하는걸 보면, "게이같다" 라고 말하지.

en	Noelle and Diya aren't here yet.
ko	노엘이랑 디야는 아직 안왔어.

en	I managed to set up a special surprise the other day. Hopefully everything's still in place.
ko	얼마전에 특별한 서프라이즈를 준비했는데. 아직 제대로 작동 하면 좋겠다.

en	A few minutes later, Akarsha looks through the window. Outside, Noelle and Diya are approaching the classroom.
ko	몇분후, 아카샤는 창 밖을 본다. 밖에선, 노엘과 디야가 반으로 다가오고 있다.

en	Yes...Come, my here, my sweet...
ko	좋아... 어서 오렴, 우리 귀여운...

en	Suddenly, a water bottle whizzes through the open door and hits the floor with a loud smack!
ko	갑자기 물병 하나가 열린 문을 통해 쌩하고 날아 들어오더니 큰 소리와 함께 바닥을 강타한다!

en	It rolls across the classroom until it hits the wall.
ko	벽에 부딪힐때까지 교실 바닥을 구른다.

en	Uh?!
ko	에?!

en	So it's not saran wrap today...
ko	오늘은 비닐 랩이 아닌가보네...

en	Noelle peers suspiciously into the classroom from the doorway. She experimentally reaches one hand inside and feels along the doorframe, apparently searching for abnormalities.
ko	노엘은 복도에서 수상쩍은 눈으로 교실을 쳐다본다. 실험적으로 한손을 뻗어 문 틀을 만져보며, 이상한점이 없는지 수색한다.

en	What's wrong, Frenchman? Afraid to come in?
ko	무슨일이야 프렌치맨? 들어오기 무서워?

en	What did you do this time?
ko	너 이번엔 뭔 짓 했어?

en	What makes you think I did anything?
ko	내가 왜 뭔 짓을 했을거라 생각해?

en	Maybe the fact that you've done something every morning this month.
ko	네가 이번달 내내 매일 아침 뭔 짓을 했다는 사실 아닐까?

en	Two against one! Cheater! Cheater!!
ko	2대 1이다!! 반칙이야! 반칙!!

en	That's what you get! You worthless pest!
ko	꼴 좋다! 이 버러지 해충!

en	Diya retrieves the sacrificial water bottle.
ko	디야가 희생당한 물병을 줍는다.

en	Meanwhile, Noelle haltingly walks to her desk with an arm outstretched ahead of her, bracing for all manner of assault, whether it be liquid, solid, gaseous, or psychological in form.
ko	그동안, 액체든, 고체든, 기체든, 정신적이든, 그 모든 유형의 공격을 각오한 노엘은 주춤주춤 한팔을 앞으로 뻗은채 책상으로 걸어간다.

en	After thoroughly inspecting her desk, she apprehensively sits.
ko	책상을 꼼꼼히 수사한 다음에야, 노엘은 찝찝하게 자리에 앉는다.

en	.....
ko	......

en	.....
ko	......

en	After a few tense seconds, Noelle seems satisfied that the act of sitting down didn't trigger anything.
ko	긴장되는 몇초가 흐르고, 노엘은 자리에 앉는다는 행동이 아무 일도 일으키지 않았다는 사실에 안도한듯 하다.

en	Breathing a sigh a relief, she hefts a bulky laptop from her messenger bag.
ko	안도의 한숨을 내쉰 후, 노엘은 가방에서 두툼한 노트북을 꺼내 올린다.

en	Yes! She didn't notice the extra wireless mouse USB I plugged into her computer last Friday.
ko	아싸! 지난주 금요일에 내가 몰래 꽂아둔 무선 마우스는 아직 눈치를 못챘나봐.

en	I have the mouse hidden in my pocket.
ko	내 주머니에 숨어있는 그 무선 마우스.

en	Diya takes a thin plastic folder from her backpack and flops it back and forth so it makes a wopwopwopwop sound.
ko	디야가 얇은 플라스틱 폴더를 가방에서 꺼내곤, 앞 뒤로 흔들어 "우오우오우오우오우오우오" 소리를 낸다.

en	............
ko	.........

en	Did you work on the PowerPoint?
ko	파워포인트는 했어?

en	I added a slide on sharks and dolphins as another example of convergent evolution.
ko	수렴진화의 예시로 상어랑 돌고래를 추가하는 슬라이드를 하나 더 넣었어.

en	Noelle scrolls to the slide in question. It's a solid wall of text with no images.
ko	노엘이 그 슬라이드로 스크롤한다. 사진은 하나도 없이, 빽빽하게 글로만 가득 차있다.

en	This is gonna put everyone to sleep!
ko	이러면 모두를 재워버릴거야!

en	Noelle's so confident that she's good at public speaking, but she has zero charisma or self-awareness.
ko	노엘은 자기가 대중 연설을 잘한다고 생각하지만, 카리스마나 자의식은 전혀 없어.

en	She just drones on and on forever, oblivious that she lost the audience ten minutes ago.
ko	그래서 이미 10분 전에 사람들이 듣기 멈췄다는걸 깨닫지 못하고선 계속 말하고 말하지.

en	I love her...
ko	정말 사랑해...

en	Wait. I already made a slide about that. Swimming.
ko	잠시만. 그 내용은 이미 내가 넣어뒀어. 수영.

en	Diya scrolls to the previous slide.
ko	디야가 전 화면으로 스크롤한다.

en	It features a photo of dozens of fish and dolphins swimming in the ocean, cryptically captioned "Good shape".
ko	바닷속을 자유로이 수영하는 물고기와 돌고래의 사진 밑엔, 의미 모를 "좋은 모양" 이란 설명이 달려있다.

en	Good shape...
ko	좋은 모양...

en	I hate to break this to you, Diya, but literally no one but you is going to understand this.
ko	이런 말 해서 미안한데, 디야, 진짜 너 말곤 아무도 이 설명 이해 못해.

en	Neither of them are paying attention to me right now. Time to shine.
ko	아무도 날 신경쓰지 않고 있어. 빛을 발할 때가 왔도다.

en	Jiggle the cursor
ko	마우스 커서를 요리조리 움직인다

en	Close the PowerPoint presentation
ko	파워포인트를 닫는다

en	Akarsha jiggles the mouse in her pocket as Noelle tries to edit the slide.
ko	아카샤는 노엘이 슬라이드를 편집 하려는 사이, 마우스를 요리조리 움직인다.

en	........
ko	......

en	What was that?
ko	뭐지?

en	What was what?
ko	뭐지?

en	Didn't you see it? The cursor just jerked on its own.
ko	너도 봤잖아, 방금 커서가 지 맘대로 움직인거.

en	Maybe it's lag?
ko	마우스가 버벅이는거 아니야?

en	I bet it's 'cause you typed too many words on one slide.
ko	한 슬라이드에 그렇게 많은 단어들을 쑤셔 넣었으니까, 느려질만도 하지.

en	Even Bill Gates didn't see this coming.
ko	빌 게이츠도 이건 예상 못했을걸.

en	That can't be it. I've fit more words than this on one slide before.
ko	그럴리가. 전에 한 슬라이드에 이거보다 많은 단어들을 적어둔적이 있어.

en	...You have?
ko	... 이거보다 더?

en	Noelle moves the mouse again. This time Akarsha does nothing.
ko	노엘이 마우스를 다시 움직여본다. 아카샤는 가만히 있는다.

en	Looks fine to me.
ko	괜찮은거 같네.

en	How strange...
ko	이게 무슨 일인지...

en	While Noelle is busy typing an essay-length caption, Akarsha clicks another textbox so she's editing the wrong part of the slide.
ko	노엘이 에세이처럼 긴 설명을 타이핑하는 동안, 아카샤는 텍스트의 다른곳을 클릭해 노엘이 엉뚱한곳을 수정하게 만든다.

en	Akarsha swiftly moves the cursor to the X button and closes the document.
ko	아카샤가 민첩하게 커서를 x 버튼으로 옮겨 문서를 닫아버린다.

en	.........
ko	......

en	What was that?
ko	뭐야?

en	Think it crashed.
ko	오류 났나봐.

en	I bet it's 'cause you typed too many words on one slide, Noelle.
ko	한 슬라이드에 그렇게 많은 단어들을 써놔서 그런걸거야.

en	Even Bill Gates didn't see this coming.
ko	빌 게이츠도 이건 예상 못했을걸.

en	Noelle re-opens PowerPoint and squints suspiciously at the slide in question.
ko	노엘은 파워포인트를 다시 열어 그 문제의 슬라이드를 게슴츠레 쳐다본다.

en	That can't be it. I've fit more words than this on one slide before.
ko	그럴리가. 전에 한 슬라이드에 이거보다 많은 단어들을 적었을땐 괜찮았어.

en	...You have?
ko	... 이거보다 더?

en	Good thing we just saved. We didn't lose any significant progress.
ko	마침 저장 해둬서 다행이다. 써둔 문장들 대부분 무사해.

en	While Noelle is busy typing an essay-length caption, Akarsha quickly closes the program again.
ko	노엘이 에세이 분량의 설명을 적는동안, 아카샤는 재빨리 프로그램을 다시 한번 닫아버린다.

en	??!

en	SEE, THERE IT IS AGAIN! WHAT IS GOING ON?!
ko	{b}봤지?! 또 그러잖아!! 도대체 무슨 일이 일어나고 있는거야?!{/b}

en	You've been hacked, Noelle!
ko	노엘, 너 해킹 당했어!

en	Don't tell me...You fell for those pop-ups advertising hot single ladies in your area?!
ko	너 설마... "♥︎섹시한 아가씨들이 당신을 기다리고 있어요~~♥︎" 같은 광고 클릭 해버린거야?!

en	As if! Look, it's moving on its own again!
ko	설마 그랬겠냐! 봐, 또 자기 맘대로 움직이잖아!

en	Noelle clenches her mouse harder, as if that'll help her regain control of the rogue cursor.
ko	노엘은 마우스를 꽈악 움켜쥔다. 마치 그게 이 자유로운 커서를 다시 컨트롤 하는데 도움이 된다는듯.

en	Akarsha makes it drift toward the Control Panel...
ko	아카샤는 제어판으로 마우스를 옮긴다...

en	Heheheh...
ko	우헤헤...

en	Akarsha wiggles the mouse in her pocket. Diya's eyes flicker to the movement of fabric on Akarsha's windbreaker.
ko	아카샤가 마우스를 주머니 안에서 움직인다. 바람막이 천이 들썩이는 움직임이 디야의 눈에 띈다.

en	......

en	Oh shit! Oh no!!!
ko	아 썅, 안돼!!

en	Diya grabs Akarsha's wrist and yanks it out of the pocket, revealing the wireless mouse in her hand.
ko	디야가 아카샤의 손목을 주머니에서 낚아채, 그 손에 들린 무선 마우스를 보인다.

en	It was yoOOOUU!!!
ko	너여었{b}구우나아아아아!!!!!!{/b}

en	Wait, I just happened to have a mouse in my pocket! There's no proof this is connected at all!
ko	잠시만, 난 그저 우연히 마우스를 갖고있었을 뿐이야! 저기랑 연결 돼있단 증거도 없는걸!

en	Diya wrenches the mouse from Akarsha's hand, but not before Akarsha uses her precious final moments to click on the Control Panel and change the mouse speed to the slowest setting.
ko	디야가 아카샤의 손에서 마우스를 낚아 챘을땐, 이미 아카샤가 마지막 찬스를 놓치지 않고 잽싸게 설정에서 마우스 속도를 최저로 조정한 후였다.

en	Pathetic. I can revert your changes within moments.
ko	한심하군. 그 정도는 금방 되돌릴수 있어.

en	You sure about that? Why don't you go ahead and try it?
ko	정말로? 그러면 한번 해보든지.

en	Noelle tries to navigate back to the Control Panel. The cursor inches across the screen so slowly, the movement is barely perceptible...
ko	노엘이 설정을 바꾸려 해본다. 하지만 커서는 움직이고 있다는걸 알아채기도 힘들 정도로 천천히 움직인다...

en	AKARSHAAAAAAAA!!!
ko	{b}아카샤아아아아!!!!!!!!{/b}

en	The bell rings! This concludes Noelle and Akarsha's daily morning scream fest.
ko	종이 울린다! 이렇게 아카샤와 노엘의 일일 아침 비명 페스티벌은 막을 내린다.

en	Once everyone is seated, the morning announcements play over the intercom.
ko	모두가 자리에 앉은 뒤, 인터콤에선 아침 발표가 방송된다.

en	Morning announcements
ko	아침 방송

en	The first practice session for Senior Bhangra is today after school in the gym. Don't forget your t-shirt order forms.
ko	오늘 방과후, 첫 12학년 방그라 춤 연습시간이 체육관에서 진행됩니다. 티셔츠 주문서를 잊지말고 가져와 주시기 바랍니다.

en	Our school has this tradition where the seniors do a bhangra dance at the end of Multicultural Week.
ko	우리 학교엔 다문화 주간이 끝나면 12학년들이 방그라 춤을 추는 전통이 있어.

en	Guess that means we'll get to see Chryssa and Liz dance.
ko	그말은 즉, 크리사랑 리즈가 춤추는걸 볼수 있다는거네.

en	The Japan Club's first meeting is today after school in N6.
ko	일본부 첫 모임은 오늘 방과후, N6반에서 있습니다.

en	Unlike the Anime Club, besides discussing anime, we ALSO eat Japanese snacks and learn Japanese manners and language.
ko	애니부와는 다르게, 저흰 애니 얘기를 할 뿐만 아니라 일본 간식도 먹고, 일본어와 일본 문화도 배울 수 있습니다.

en	That doesn't sound like that significant of a difference...
ko	그렇게 의미있는 차이는 아닌거 같은데...

en	Our school may not have a football or baseball team anymore, but it does have hella new clubs popping up all the time.
ko	우리 학교에 축구팀이나 야구팀은 없어도, 신규 동아리들이 맨날맨날 짱 많이 튀어나와.

en	It's 'cause everyone wants to be able to put "founder and president" on their college apps.
ko	다들 대학교 지원서에 "동아리 창시자 및 회장" 을 적고 싶어 하니까.

en	Come to think of it...Didn't Chryssa and Liz start the baseball club during application season?
ko	그러고 보니까... 크리사랑 리즈도 대학 입시시즌에 야구부 창설하지 않았나?

en	No way...
ko	그럴리가...

en	Well, good for them. Even if they had ulterior motives, it's been fun.
ko	뭐, 그럴만도. 그런 흑심을 숨기고 있었다 하더라도, 재미만 있었으면 됐지.

en	This Valentine's Day, the Muslim Student Association is kicking off their annual rose fundraiser.
ko	올해 발렌타인 데이엔 무슬림 학생회의 연례 장미 판매 모금이 시작될 예정입니다.

en	For $5, we'll deliver a rose to your special someone with a message of your choice.
ko	5달러를 내면, 당신의 특별한 누군가에게 당신의 메세지와 장미 한송이를 배달해 드립니다.

en	You can even make it a bouquet for $20. Order forms will be distributed in 3rd period today.
ko	20달러를 내면 장미 꽃다발로 변경할수 있습니다. 오늘 3교시에 주문서를 나눠드릴 예정입니다.

en	Hah, like anybody's getting me one of those...
ko	흥, 그래봤자 난 장미따윈 못받겠지...

en	Akarsha surreptiously glances at Noelle, who's sitting beside her.
ko	아카샤는 옆에 앉아있는 노엘을 몰래 힐끔거린다.

en	To her surprise, Noelle is listening to the intercom as intently as if she were being graded on it.
ko	놀랍게도, 노엘은 시험이라도 볼것처럼 인터콤을 열심히 듣고있다.

en	Wait, maybe this is my chance!
ko	앗, 어쩌면 기회일수도!

en	I should act {i}really{/i} pitifully down about being single and drop hints that getting a rose would make me happy.
ko	솔로라서 {b}완전{/b} 불쌍하게 서글퍼하는 연기를 하고, 장미 한송이만 받으면 정말 행복할거란 힌트를 보내는거야.

en	After seeing the love of her life (me) in such a miserable state, Noelle will feel guilty that she hasn’t gotten me one!
ko	그리고 자기의 천생연분 (나) 이 그렇게 서글퍼 하는걸 본 노엘은, 나한테 장미를 안사줬다고 죄책감을 느낄거야!

en	Akarsha sighs heavily and slumps in her desk.
ko	아카샤는 깊은 한숨을 내쉬곤 책상에 풀썩 쓰러진다.

en	What's the matter with you?
ko	넌 또 뭐가 문제야?

en	I always feel the the worst about being single on holidays where I have no one to celebrate with.
ko	이런 특별한 기념일때마다 같이 축하할 애인이 없는 솔로라는 사실에 매번 절망해.

en	Like, Valentine's Day is supposed to be the happiest, most romantic time of the year, but it just reminds me of how no one's ever loved me...
ko	아니, 발렌타인 데이는 일년중 가장 행복하고 로맨틱한 날이여야 되잖아. 근데 나한테는 그냥 날 사랑하는 사람이 없다는걸 상기 시켜주는 날일 뿐이야...

en	I bet Diya's getting roses this year. Must be nice...
ko	디야는 올해 장미 받겠지. 좋겠네...

en	What is there to envy? Flowers serve no practical purpose.
ko	부러울게 뭐 있어? 꽃은 전혀 실용적이지 않아.

en	They wither up within days and wind up in the garbage. What a waste of money.
ko	며칠만에 시들어서 쓰레기가 되어버리지. 돈낭비일 뿐이야.

en	Of course you would think so, you uptight spoilsport...
ko	아 예, 그러시겠죠, 이 고지식한 헛똑똑이씨...

en	It's the thought that counts, though.
ko	마음이 중요한거야, 마음이.

en	I, personally, wish someone would send me a rose...
ko	개인적으론, 누가 나한테 장미를 보내줬으면 해...

en	Heh...
ko	헤에...

en	What? Did I say something funny?
ko	뭔데? 내가 이상한말 했어?

en	Not at all.
ko	전혀.

en	Noelle goes back to reading her metamathematics puzzle book.
ko	노엘은 다시 메타수학 퍼즐책으로 관심을 돌린다.

en	Hm. So that didn't go as expected...
ko	음. 계획이 좀 틀어졌군...

en	Time to revisit my tactics. Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.
ko	전략 수정이 필요하겠군. 해보고, 적응하고, 이겨낸다.

en	After the day's usual math lesson, the teacher brings out a stack of test papers.
ko	수학 수업이 끝나고, 선생님이 시험지 뭉치를 꺼내 든다.

en	Teacher
ko	선생님

en	Alright everyone, clear your desks.
ko	그럼, 책상 비워라.

en	!

en	Aw, what, a pop quiz?
ko	아 뭐야, 쪽지시험?

en	You know, I should've done that. But no, it's just a CAML today.
ko	쪽지시험을 했어도 좋았겠다만, 아쉽게도 CAML 시험일 뿐이야.

en	Oh, thank god.
ko	아, 다행이다.

en	The CAMLs are these Math League contests we do every few months.
ko	CAML 은 몇달에 한번씩 열리는 수학 경시대회다.

en	They're 30-minute tests consisting of weird problems that don't have much to do with our current course material.
ko	지금 진도랑 연관없는 이상한 문제들을 30분동안 풀면 된다.

en	It's just for fun, so they don't affect our grades or anything.
ko	걍 재미로 하는거라 우리 성적에 반영되진 않지만.

en	Akarsha scans the 6 problems on her test.
ko	아카샤는 시험지의 여섯 문제를 흝어본다.

en	Usually three of the problems are freebies you'll get right if you have a brain.
ko	보통 세개는 뇌만 있으면 맞출수 있는 공짜 문제야.

en	And then there's two you have to think about, and one hella tough one.
ko	두개는 좀 생각해봐야 풀수 있고, 하나가 존나 어려운 문제.

en	Better get to work...
ko	어디 보자...

en	On the way to lunch, Akarsha, Noelle, and Diya check notes on their answers.
ko	점심시간에 아카샤와 노엘, 그리고 디야는 답안지를 비교해본다.

en	What did you all get on the last question?
ko	마지막 문제 뭐라고 대답했어?

en	The one about the diagonal passing through the 2012 x 2015 unit grid.
ko	2012 x 2015 칸을 대각선으로 지나가는 문제.

en	I drew the whole grid the best I could. Guessed 3800 based on that.
ko	난 칸 전체를 그려서 풀었어. 3800쯤 되는거 같아서 그렇게 냈어.

en	Aghast, Noelle drops her lunchbox as she pulls it from her locker, but Diya manages to catch it before it hits the ground.
ko	그말을 들은 노엘은 깜짝 놀라 락커에서 꺼내던 도시락을 떨어뜨릴뻔 하지만, 디야가 떨어지기 전에 잡아낸다.

en	You DREW the grid?! There were thousands of units on each side!
ko	그 칸들을 {b}그려서{/b} 풀었다고?! 양쪽에 천칸 단위로 있었잖아!

en	Only roughly. I was running out of time.
ko	그냥 어림 잡아서 그렸어. 시간도 없었고.

en	Had one minute left and didn't know where to start.
ko	1분밖에 안 남았는데 어떻게 접근할지도 몰랐었거든.

en	The answer was 4026, right?
ko	그거 답 4026이였지?

en	The diagonal goes through the first square at (0,0), and then another 2014 squares horizontally and 2011 squares vertically.
ko	(0,0) 칸을 지나서, 가로로 2014칸에 세로로 2011칸을 지나가니까.

en	That's what I got too!
ko	같은 답이다!

en	Yes! If {i}you{/i} got that, it's gotta be right.
ko	아싸! 니가 그렇게 답했으면, 그게 정답이겠지.

en	Min gives them a weird look as she joins them.
ko	민이 합류하며 이상한 눈빛으로 쳐다본다.

en	The fuck's wrong with you...How excited can you get over a math problem?
ko	너넨 씨발 뭐가 문제길래 꼴랑 수학문제 갖고 그렇게 신나할수 있는거야?

en	Clearly you've never known the high of finding out you got the same answer as the smartest kid in the class.
ko	넌 반에서 제일 똑똑한 애랑 같은 답을 냈다는걸 알게되는 그 짜릿한 경험을 못해봐서 그렇게 말할수 있는거야.

en	Noelle preens a little at the compliment.
ko	노엘은 그 칭찬에 어깨가 살짝 올라간다.

en	That's an exaggeration.
ko	과대포장이야.

en	No, it's not.
ko	아니야, 그렇지 않아.

en	No one else in our class got all six right last time.
ko	우리 반에 6개 다 맞춘 사람은 너 말곤 없었어.

en	Wait, you got all six?!
ko	헐, 여섯 문제 다 맞췄다고?!

en	Don't they publish your name on a list or something online when that happens?
ko	그러면 막 온라인에 이름 발표하고 그러지 않아?

en	They do.
ko	그러지.

en	Dude, that's so impressive. The most I've ever managed was five.
ko	야, 너 완전 멋있다. 난 5개가 최대였는데.

en	Five is still perfectly respectable, though.
ko	5개도 잘한 거야.

en	It means you're better at math than the vast majority of high schoolers. And that's including all the way up to grade twelve, not just our grade.
ko	대다수의 고등학생들보다 수학을 잘한다는 거니까. 게다가 여기 12학년용 문제도 있어.

en	Yeah, I guess so...
ko	그래, 뭐…

en	It's seriously amazing that she's basically one of the smartest kids in the whole state.
ko	얘는 진짜 대단하지. 우리 주에 있는 애들 안에서 탑클래스 수준이잖아.

en	We're so different, but at the same time there's so many ways we're alike??
ko	나는 얘랑 진짜 다른데, 왜 이렇게 비슷한 부분도 많은 것 같지??

en	We're so compatible with each other...We're so perfect for each other...
ko	잘 맞기도 하고… 딱 맞는 퍼즐 조각처럼…

en	Min holds a door open for Diya as they walk over to their usual table.
ko	늘 앉던 테이블로 향하던 도중, 민은 디야가 들어갈 수 있게 문을 잡아준다.

en	After you, princess.
ko	먼저 가시죠, 공주님.

en	Thanks...
ko	고마워…

en	Hmm...Min always treats Diya like this even though Diya's strong enough to just smash a hole through the wall like the Kool-Aid Man.
ko	음… 쟨 디야한테 꼭 저러네. 디야 힘이면 원펀맨처럼 벽에 구멍도 뚫을텐데.

en	I guess Diya finds it romantic that Min is protective of her and stuff?
ko	디야는 저렇게 공주님 보호하는 기사처럼 구는 게 로맨틱한가?

en	Maybe if I try a move like that, Noelle'll fall for me!
ko	아, 혹시 내가 저러면 노엘도 나한테 빠지나?!

en	Once they've sat down, Noelle struggles to open her water bottle.
ko	두 사람은 앉고, 노엘은 물병과 힘겨루기를 하고 있다.

en	Ugh!
ko	끄윽!

en	Diya must not have opened it for her like usual this morning! This is my chance!
ko	맨날 하던 것처럼 디야가 열게 놔둘 순 없지! 기회다!

en	Here, I got this babe.
ko	자, 내가 열어줄게 베이비.

en	Akarsha snatches the bottle away from Noelle and tries to open it.
ko	아카샤는 노엘이 들고 있던 물병을 낚아채고 뚜껑을 잡은 손에 힘을 준다.

en	*grunts* Nrg! Shit!
ko	흐읍! 씨밯...!

en	Urk! This is surprisingly hard!
ko	아오! 왤케 안 열려!

en	And they say chivalry is dead.
ko	늙어 죽겠네.

en	You disgust me.
ko	개짜증나.

en	Whuh?! I was just tryin' to help!
ko	뭐?! 난 그냥 도와주려는 건데!

en	You were smirking condescendingly as you took the bottle from me!
ko	병 뺏어가면서 지 잘난 표정으로 실실대더니!

en	Was not!
ko	안 그랬거든!

en	Was too. You were smiling weird.
ko	그랬어. 너 진짜 이상하게 웃더라.

en	Wha...was I?!
ko	그… 그랬나?!

en	Noelle hands the water bottle to Diya with a huff.
ko	노엘은 짜증내며 디야에게 물병을 넘긴다.

en	Okay, that could've gone better.
ko	뭐, 됐어.

en	Luckily, I've got one last trick up my sleeve.
ko	아직 한 발 더 남았거든.

en	Before fifth period begins, Akarsha schemes at her desk.
ko	5교시가 시작되기 전, 아카샤는 음모를 꾸민다.

en	Acting sad 'cause no one was into me didn't work, so I should try the opposite tactic.
ko	슬픈 척 하고 있는 건 애들이 나한테 관심이 없어서 안 먹혔으니까, 전략을 반대로 짜야겠어.

en	I'll make Noelle think dudes are falling for me left and right.
ko	아카샤는 발에 채이는 게 남자구나! 하고 노엘이 착각하게 해야겠어.

en	So if she likes me, she'll feel pressured to take action or else I'll be stolen from right under her nose!
ko	그러다 내가 좋아지면, 코 앞에서 딴 놈한테 뺏길까봐 조바심 좀 나겠지!

en	I won't be on the market for long. I'm a limited time offer!
ko	한정수량이구요~! 이번이 마지막 기회거든요!

en	Akarsha goes over to annoy Noelle at her desk. Noelle puts down the thick tome she's reading to give Akarsha her undivided attention.
ko	아카샤는 노엘의 성질을 돋구러 노엘의 책상 쪽으로 간다. 노엘은 읽고 있던 크고 묵직한 책을 내려놓고 아카샤에게 시선을 준다.

en	Yes?
ko	왜?

en	Can I tell you something?
ko	얘기 좀 해도 돼?

en	...I'll allow it.
ko	…허가하마.

en	"I'll allow it"?? Who talks like that? What are you, a judge?
ko	"허가하마"?? 너 뭐 되세요? 판사에요?

en	I love you...
ko	나 너 좋아해…

en	So yesterday, I was RPing with one of my online pals, Xx_ChibiAzn_xX, on AnimeCrazy.net. And he asked me to be his forum GF!
ko	나 어제 AnimeCrazy.net 에서 내 넷친 Xx_ChibiAzn_xX 랑 역극하고 있었거든. 근데 걔가 자기 포럼 운영자 맡아달라는 거야!

en	I turned him down, of course.
ko	근데 당연 거절함.

en	But I'm so popular, this happens all the time!
ko	이 놈의 인기 때문에 피곤해 죽겠다!

en	...Never mind. Forget I asked.
ko	…그러시든가.

en	Huh?! She doesn't sound remotely interested!
ko	엥?! 완전 관심 없어 보이잖아!

en	Suddenly, a sharp tremor rattles Noelle's desk.
ko	갑자기, 노엘의 책상이 세차게 덜컹이며 흔들린다.

en	Quit shaking my desk.
ko	내 책상 흔들지 마.

en	But I'm NOT shaking it?
ko	나 아닌데?

en	Noelle and Akarsha look at one another, then at their violently shaking surroundings.
ko	노엘과 아카샤는 서로를 마주보다 격렬하게 흔들리는 주변 사물들로 시선을 옮긴다.

en	{big=+20}THERE'S A GHOST?!?{/big}
ko	{big=+20}귀신인가?!?{/big}

en	YOU MEAN {big=+20}{i}EARTHQUAKE???{/i}{/big}
ko	{big=+20}{i}지진이겠지!!!{/i}{/big}

en	Oh, yeah, earthquake!
ko	맞네! 지진이다!

en	There's a commotion as Diya and the others crawl under their desks for cover as taught by years of earthquake drills.
ko	디야와 다른 아이들은 다년간의 지진 대비 훈련에서 배운대로 책상 밑에 기어 들어가느라 한창 소란이다.

en	Without thinking, Akarsha dives under Noelle's desk, leaving Noelle sitting dumbly in her chair.
ko	깊이 생각하지 않고 아카샤는 노엘의 책상 밑으로 뛰어든다. 노엘은 멀뚱히 의자에 남겨둔 채로.

en	AKARSHA!!! WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO HIDE UNDER NOW??!
ko	아카샤!!! 난 어디 숨으란 거야??!

en	Oops! Why don't you squeeze under here, too?
ko	앗차! 그냥 여기 같이 껴있으면 안 돼?

en	Akarsha tries to make room for Noelle as she stiffly crawls under the desk.
ko	노엘이 어색하게 책상 아래로 기어들고 아카샤는 자리를 만들려 애쓴다.

en	Every single one of Noelle's joints pop as she crouches into place. They're so close, Akarsha can feel the heat radiating off Noelle's skin.
ko	웅크리며 들어오는 노엘의 관절 하나하나가 아카샤를 건드린다. 두 사람이 너무 가까워서, 아카샤는 노엘의 피부에서 흘러나오는 열기마저 느낄 수 있다.

en	Is it just me, or is this like, really romantic??
ko	나만 그런 거 아니지? 이거 로맨틱한 상황 맞지??

en	Nah, I'm just overthinking it...I gotta look at this objectively...
ko	아니다, 자의식 과잉이다… 이성적으로 생각하자…

en	Scowling, Noelle readjusts herself and brushes her hand against Akarsha's.
ko	문득, 노엘은 인상을 찌푸리고 자세를 고치더니 자기 손을 아카샤의 손에 부드럽게 문지른다.

en	No way...Does this mean what I think it means?!
ko	이거… 설마 내가 생각하는 그건가?!

en	She must've done that because she secretly likes me! Confirmed!!
ko	얘도 속으로는 몰래 날 좋아하고 있었구나! 그랬구나!!

en	.......
ko	……

en	.......
ko	……

en	I think it's stopped.
ko	멈췄나 봐.

en	Noelle clambers back to her feet in a hurry.
ko	노엘이 재빨리 일어난다.

en	I can't believe you!
ko	거짓말!

en	I could have perished because of your selfishness!
ko	난 방금 죽을 수도 있었어! 니가 이기적으로 구는 바람에!

en	But you didn't! Talk about a win-win situation.
ko	안 죽었잖아! 이게 바로 윈윈이지.

en	What're the odds of an earthquake happening right as we were talking to each other?
ko	어떤 사람이랑 대화하는 도중에 지진이 일어날 확률이 얼마나 될까?

en	Maybe it's a sign from the universe that we're soul mates!
ko	우리가 소울메이트라는 우주의 계시일수도!

en	I mean, think about it. What's more likely, that this was a coincidence? Or that the world revolves around me, and it's trying to tell me something?
ko	생각해 봐. 방금이 우연일 확률이 높겠어, 아님 나를 중심으로 돌고 있는 세상이 나한테 어떤 메시지를 보내고 있을 확률이 높겠어?

en	It's obviously the second one!
ko	당연히 두번째지!

en	Akarsha comes home giddy with the private conviction that Noelle likes her back.
ko	노엘도 자길 좋아한다는 지극히 개인적인 확신에 아카샤는 현기증을 느끼며 귀가한다.

en	In spurt of reckless courage, she boots up the family desktop in the computer room after dinner.
ko	저녁 식사 후, 근거 없는 용기에 찬 아카샤는 컴퓨터방에 들어가 가족 공용 컴퓨터를 켠다.

en	Okay...I'm gonna confess my love to her!
ko	좋아… 고백 갈겨!

en	I have a really good feeling about this!
ko	이번엔 진짜 잘 될 것 같다!

en	{nw}

en	hey
ko	야

en	do u have a minute
ko	시간 좀 있냐

en	Why is your display name "Certified Brain Genius"?
ko	'(공식)두뇌 천재'? 닉네임 왜 그래?

en	uh becuase i am one? duh
ko	사실이니까? 당연;

en	WHAT DIFFERENCE IS THERE BETWEEN A GENIUS AND A "BRAIN GENIUS"??
ko	'두뇌 천재'랑 그냥 천재랑 대체 뭐가 다른데??

en	IT'S A POINTLESS DISTINCTION!
ko	'두뇌'를 붙일 필요가 없잖아!

en	no no they're obviously different
ko	노노 그거랑 그거랑 완전 다른 말이지

en	Did you change it to this just to annoy me?!
ko	그냥 나 열받게 하려고 그래 놨지?!

en	idk what ur talking about and i dont appreciate u questioning my certification -_-
ko	몬솔? 내 공식 자격에 태클걸지 마시죠 -_-

en	we ladies need to uplift each other!!
ko	여자끼리 서로 돕지는 못할 망정!!

en	no point in having 2 queens fight
ko	우리끼리 싸우는 데 무슨 의미가 있소, 왕이여

en	QUEENS??
ko	왕??

en	RIGHT NOW I SEE YOU AS NOTHING BUT AN ENEMY TO BE OBLITERATED.
ko	지금 당신은 제거해야 할 나의 적으로밖에 보이지 않소.

en	ok can we circle back to this later?
ko	오키. 이건 이따 이어서 할게?

en	thats not why messaged you
ko	그것 땜에 연락한 게 아니라서

en	Why did you message me, then?
ko	그럼 왜 했는데?

en	i have to tell yuo something
ko	노한테 할 말이 있어서

en	What is it?
ko	뭔데?

en	i
ko	나

en	uh
ko	그

en	man this is hard to say
ko	아 쉽지 않네

en	^__^;;;;;;

en	i kinda have a crush on you
ko	나 너 좋아하는듯

en	Er...
ko	엥…

en	What?
ko	뭐?

en	You're joking, right?
ko	장난치는 거지?

en	Akarsha's stomach drops as Noelle's flat response flashes on the screen.
ko	노엘의 건조한 반응이 스크린에 뜨자 아카샤의 뱃속에 뭔가가 쿵 떨어진다.

en	Crap. That's not what I was expecting...
ko	아 씨. 이게 아닌데…

en	If she really liked me, she would've jumped at the chance to say she felt the same way!
ko	얘도 날 좋아하는 게 맞았으면 지금쯤 얼른 달려들어서 자기도 그렇다고 했겠지!

en	I know {i}I{/i} would've...
ko	{b}나{/b}라면 그랬단 거고…

en	Which means...I was overthinking all our interactions after all...
ko	아무래도… 자의식 과잉이 맞았나 보네…

en	I'm not a certified brain genius anymore. I've made a grave mistake!!
ko	공식 두뇌 천재 사임합니다. 망했으니까!!

en	Abort mission! Abort!!
ko	퇴각하라! 퇴각!!

en	uh
ko	엥

en	just kidding!!!
ko	뻥이지!!!

en	that was my brother xD
ko	남동생이 장난침ㅋㅋ

en	Your brother...?
ko	남동생…?

en	ya he took the keyboard and typed that as a joke
ko	어 키보드 가져가서 장난침

en	i cant believe he did that o.O
ko	왜 저러는지 ㅇㅅㅇ

en	like id ever say anything that crazeh! e_e
ko	내가 어디서 그런 소릴 한다고! ㅍ_ㅍ

en	I see...
ko	아 그래…

en	just forget this ever happened ok? my bros so random lolll
ko	걍 잊어버려 알앗지? 동생 진짜 짜증남ㅋㅋㅋ

en	i gtg now bye!!
ko	나 간다 빠이!!

en	Akarsha powers the family desktop off, her heart pounding a mile a minute.
ko	컴퓨터를 끄는 아카샤의 심장은 과속단속에 걸릴 지경이다.

en	That was a close one...I somehow salvaged that and escaped unscathed...
ko	큰일 날 뻔… 간신히 도망쳤네…

en	Apart from my heart being broken into a thousand smithereens, I mean...
ko	심장이 천 갈래로 찢기고 있는 것 빼곤 무사해…

en	Akarsha dramatically throws herself onto the sofa in the living room.
ko	아카샤는 비극의 주인공처럼 거실 소파 위에 몸을 던진다.

en	Used to this, her brother offers her a piece of candy.
ko	그런 아카샤가 익숙한 남동생은 그저 사탕을 건넨다.

en	Want a Hi-Chew?
ko	마이쮸 먹을래?

en	No, thanks.
ko	노. 괜찮.

en	Don't eat too many of those. They have dangerous oils in them.
ko	너무 많이 먹지 마라. 안 좋은 기름이 들어있어.

en	Okay, Dad...
ko	알았어 아빠…

en	Her mom goes into the room Akarsha just left to switch off the light.
ko	불을 켜지 않아 어두컴컴한 방 안에 엄마가 들어온다.

en	What is this — Diwali?!
ko	왜 이렇게 어두워. 지금 디왈리라도 하니?! (*디왈리[Diwali] : 어둠 속에서 기름등을 켜고 하는 인도의 전통 축제)

en	Oops. Sorry, I was having a meltdown and forgot...
ko	아, 미안. 녹아내리는 중이라 잊어버렸네…

en	Want to watch a funny movie with us? It'll make you feel better.
ko	같이 웃긴 영화 볼까? 기분 좀 나아지게.

en	What's the movie?
ko	무슨 영화?

en	She's the Man. We just need to wait two minutes, it starts on TV at seven.
ko	쉬즈 더 맨. 7시에 TV에서 한다니까 2분만 기다리면 돼.

en	The movie kicks off with the teenage heroine making out with her boyfriend.
ko	영화는 10대 여주인공이 남자친구와 키스를 하는 장면으로 시작한다.

en	Ew. Gross.
ko	으휴, 보기 싫어.

en	I dunno...{w=0.35}Wish that were me...
ko	왜지… {w=0.35}나는 저게 나였음 좋겠네…

en	We would've been so cute together......
ko	걔랑 나랑 진짜 잘 어울릴텐데……

en	We belong together! We should be dating!
ko	우린 완벽한 한 쌍이라고! 사귈 수밖에 없다고!

en	I was hoping so bad Noelle could see that, too.
ko	노엘도 좀 알았으면 좋겠다, 제발….

en	It just really hurts to know she doesn't feel the same way.
ko	걔가 나랑 같은 마음이 아니라니 상처가 너무 커.

en	Oh! This actress makes a very handsome boy.
ko	오! 저 배우 남자 분장하니까 되게 잘생겼네.

en	She would've tricked me.
ko	저러면 나도 속겠어.

en	She would've tricked you?!
ko	저걸 속는다고?!

en	Beti, do you know how to do this?
ko	베티 당신은 저렇게 되겠어?

en	Do what? Disguise myself as a guy?
ko	뭐가 돼? 남장하면 저렇게 되겠냐고?

en	What kind of question is that? You're so weird.
ko	그게 무슨 소리야? 하여간 이상한 사람이야.

en	It's a fun movie, but watching all the characters happily pair up after their wacky teen hijinks just makes Akarsha's chest ache even more.
ko	그냥 코미디 영화일 뿐이다. 하지만 좌충우돌 틴에이저 난리굿 이후, 모든 등장인물들은 행복하게 짝을 맺으면서 아카샤의 실연의 아픔을 강화시킨다.

en	Seeing the forlorn expression on her face, her dad pats her on the shoulder.
ko	그 쓸쓸한 표정을 본 아빠는 아카샤의 어깨를 토닥인다.

en	Cheer up.
ko	힘내.

en	If you really don't want to be a doctor, you can become a movie star instead.
ko	의사 되기가 그렇게 싫으면, 영화배우 하면 되지.

en	What are you saying?!
ko	그건 또 무슨 말이야?!

en	I think it will be cool if Akarsha becomes a famous movie star. If she's rich, we can live in the mountains.
ko	유명한 영화배우도 괜찮지 않아? 딸도 부자겠다, 우리는 산 속에서 살아도 되지.

en	We can be like, in the wild.
ko	'나는 자연인이다'처럼.

en	Why would we want that???
ko	굳이 그러고 살고 싶어???

en	You can do it, beti. I believe.
ko	당신도 할 수 있어, 베티. 남편 믿어.

en	My parents have such high hopes for me, but all I do is waste the opportunities they worked so hard to give me.
ko	엄마 아빤 나한테 너무 기대가 커. 둘이 기껏 뼈 빠지게 일해서 마련해주는 기회를 매번 걷어차기만 하는데.

en	I have literally nothing going for me...I'm legitimately such a waste of time and resources.
ko	이런 구제불능한테 투자해봤자… 시간 낭비에 자원 낭비라고.

en	How do people manage to have their first kiss in kindergarten and stuff?
ko	다른 사람들은 유치원 때 어떻게 뽀뽀같은 것도 해보고 그러지?

en	Why doesn't anyone wanna kiss {i}me{/i}?? Am I that unlikeable?
ko	왜 아무도 {b}나랑은{/b} 뽀뽀할 생각을 안 하지?? 내가 매력이 없나?

en	It feels like such a remote thing that I can't imagine it {i}ever{/i} happening to me.
ko	너무 낯설고 먼 일이라 상상도 안 되는 느낌이야.

en	I've never even held someone's hand or been in any kind of relationship.
ko	누구 손을 잡거나, 사귀는 거 비슷하게 돼본 적도 없고.

en	At this rate I'm gonna go through my entire life without ever getting kissed.
ko	이대로라면 난 평생 키스 한 번 못 해보고 살겠지.

en	What's even the point of me staying alive? There's nothing for me to look forward to.
ko	살아서 뭐하지? 뭐라도 잘 될거라는 기대도 없고.

en	Everything just feels so unattainable.
ko	애써봐야 달라질 게 없을 것 같은데.

en	Once the end credits roll, she dejectedly texts Min on her phone.
ko	엔딩 크레딧이 흐르기 시작하고, 아카샤는 풀 죽은 상태로 민에게 문자를 보낸다.

en	{nw}

en	i read online that its healthy to wallow in sadness
ko	인터넷에서 보니까 슬픔에 빠져 있는 게 건강에 좋대

en	for up to 1 hour a day
ko	하루 최대 1시간까지

en	and that hour begins nOW YAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko	1시간 시작 악아강강각아강강가악악악악악 악아악아강강가앙가아악

en	WTF
ko	왓더뻑

en	AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko	아아악아가아아아아아아아아아악아아아아아아ㅏ앙

en	SHUT UP
ko	닥쳐

en	AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko	아아아아아아아아아아아앙아ㅏ아아아아아아아아아아아아

en	what happened???????
ko	뭔 일 잇냐???????

en	I CONFESSED AND IT DIDNT GO WELL TT_____TT
ko	고백 차였어 ㅠㅠ______ㅠㅠ

en	o shit
ko	오 쒯

en	luckily the second i saw things were going south
ko	다행인 건 망한 거 바로 눈치 까고

en	i was able to backtrack n play it off as a joke
ko	바로 백스텝 밟고 장난이었던 척함

en	i said it was my brother pranking me
ko	남동생이 장난쳤다 했어

en	wait
ko	잠만

en	hold on
ko	기달

en	you did it thru TEXT???
ko	고백을 {b}톡으로{/b} 했다고???

en	ya
ko	ㅇㅇ

en	why???
ko	왜???

en	idk it seemed like a good idea at the time :(
ko	몰러 그땐 괜찮을 거 같았어 ㅇAㅇ

en	and that way I could say it wasnt me if i chickened out
ko	그래야 나 아니었다고 발 빼기도 쉽잖음

en	wtf
ko	머하냐

en	DO IT PROPERLY
ko	제대로 해 새꺄

en	IN PERSON
ko	얼굴 보고

en	and deal with the consequences of my actions??
ko	그러고 내 행동의 결과를 받아들이라고??

en	no thank u
ko	노 수고

en	well if your not sinsere about it, then what you get back isnt going to be real either
ko	니가 진심으로 안 하면 돌아오는 반응도 마찬가지겠지

en	your like someone who went to vegas, spent 1 penny and got spooked and left
ko	지금 너 라스베가스까지 가서 백원 잃었다고 놀라서 튀는 거야

en	You need to take risks if you wanna win anything
ko	진짜 원하는 게 있으면 위험도 감수해야지

en	too scawwy :(
ko	무쪄운뎅 ㅠAㅠ

en	coward
ko	겁쟁이새끼

en	whats the point? i know theyre not interested in me anyway
ko	뭐 어떡해? 어차피 걘 나한테 관심 없는데

en	weaksauce move
ko	약해빠진 새끼

en	and i cant even blame them
ko	나도 이해 돼

en	who'd wanna waste time with a loser like me ;___;
ko	나같은 루저한테 누가 시간 낭비하고 싶겠냐 TAT

en	what am i then motherfuker?? chopped liver?
ko	그럼 난 뭐냐 색꺄??

en	IM wasting time with yuo right now
ko	지금 니한테 시간 낭비 중인 거 {b}난데{/b}

en	but u like wasting time with diya MORE
ko	넌 디야랑 낭비하는 시간이 훨씬 많잖아

en	see??
ko	안 그래??

en	*is die*
ko	(죽음)

en	well its not a contest
ko	경쟁하는 게 아니잖아

en	ok but it kinda is??
ko	근데 약간 그렇지 않아??

en	idk like...having 1 person in the world think im worth loving would be nice
ko	그냥… 나를 사랑할만한 사람이라고 생각하는 사람이 세상에 단 한 명만 있음 좋겠어

en	i feel like i've spent my entire life wanting people and being rejected while nobodys ever felt anything for me
ko	내 평생 사람을 원해왔는데 계속해서 거절당하는 느낌이야. 아무도 나한테는 그런 감정을 느끼질 않아서

en	like am i really that ugly and boring that no one would ever fall in love with me
ko	너무 못생기고 재미없는 인간이라 아무도 안 좋아하는 건지

en	im just a waste of space
ko	난 핵폐기물이야

en	seriosly stop saying shit like that
ko	그딴 개소리 그만해라 진짜

en	i was just kidding XD im so random
ko	넝담넝담 >< 아카샤는 장난꾸러기

en	its not funny
ko	그게 농담이냐

en	xD
ko	><

en	dont xD me you son of a bitch
ko	좆같은 임티 그만 써라

en	i just wanna do normal high school things
ko	그냥 평범한 고딩으로 살고 싶어

en	like date and go to parties n stuff....
ko	데이트도 하고 모여서 놀고…

en	i feel like im missing out on this whole fun exp everyone else is having
ko	남들은 다 하는 재밌는 경험을 나만 놓치고 있는 느낌이야

en	look dumbass
ko	야 멍청아

en	theres probably like 3 couples in our entire grade including me and diya
ko	나랑 디야 포함하면 이 학교 통틀어서 커플이 셋이야

en	bunch of socially stunted fob nerds
ko	나머진 사회성 결여된 너드들

en	most of us arent even allowed to date until college anyways
ko	어차피 대부분은 대학 가기 전엔 데이트도 맘대로 못 해

en	great
ko	아 좋네

en	so not only am i an undesirable weirdo but im not even special
ko	내가 안 팔리는 괴짠 건 알았는데 특별할 것도 없다네

en	not special is good sometimes
ko	특별할 거 없는 게 가끔은 좋은 거임

en	if your not special it means your not alone
ko	혼자 힘든 게 아니란 뜻이니까

en	ok yeah yeah i get it
ko	웅웅 아랏어요

en	u right
ko	니 말이 다 맞아요

en	did you wanna play maplestory tonight?
ko	메이플 할래?

en	i need a distraction to stop thinking about my epic fail OTL
ko	내 장렬한 실패를 잊게 해줄 도피처가 필요함 ㅇ>-<

en	sry i cant
ko	먄 지금은

en	juns using the computer right now
ko	준이 컴퓨터 쓰는 중이라

en	:/
ko	ㅇAㅇ

en	how about we play through text then?
ko	그럼 톡으로 할까?

en	what do you mean through text
ko	톡으로 한다는 게 무슨 말이야

en	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ ‘-‘_@_

en	its a snail
ko	달팽이 가는 중

en	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ ‘-‘_@_

en	oh ok
ko	아 ㅇㅋ

en	attack
ko	공격

en	ninja star
ko	수리검

en	it's hitting you!!!!
ko	이 당신을 찔렀다!!!

en	-5 HP
ko	HP -5

en	HUH
ko	엥

en	WHY
ko	먼데

en	use emoticons like me
ko	나처럼 특수문자를 써야지

en	oh
ko	아

en	uh
ko	음

en	*
ko	＊

en	wuts that supposed to be
ko	그건 뭐야

en	your butthole??
ko	니 똥꼬??

en	WHY WOULD IT BE MNY BUTTHOLE?????
ko	똥꼬겠냐?????

en	ITS THE NINJA STAR
ko	수리검이잖아ㅡㅡ

en	SICKO
ko	ㅄ아

en	oh ok
ko	아 ㅇㅋ

en	22 damage
ko	데미지 22

en	*
ko	＊

en	25 damage
ko	데미지 25

en	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ ‘-‘_@_

en	ITS COMIG CLOSER AND CLOSER AGAIN
ko	다시 점점 더 가까워지는 중!

en	=O

en	thats my fist punching
ko	펀치 날린 거야

en	2 damage
ko	데미지 2

en	=O

en	4 damage
ko	데미지 4

en	-3 HP
ko	HP -3

en	what the..the snail should be dead by now
ko	뭐야 달팽이 왜 안 죽어

en	they dont have that much hp
ko	쟤네 원래 흐접인데

en	F9
ko	F9 (*역주 : 메이플 [전투분석] 창 단축키)

en	fine ur not damaged
ko	알았어 데미지 취소

en	($)
ko	(샤라랑)

en	ok great
ko	ㅇㅋ좋아

en	im gonna try doing the kerning city pq
ko	커닝시티 파퀘 하러 간다

en	yee good choice
ko	가보자고

en	Akarsha feels a bit better after talking to Min, but once she's logged off, the heartache in her chest returns.
ko	아카샤는 민과 대화하고 기분이 조금 나아지지만, 대화가 끝나자 가슴의 통증이 되돌아온다.

en	That night, Akarsha reads the entirety of Azumanga Daioh for the first time on an illegal manga scanlation site in an effort to forget about everything.
ko	그날 밤, 아카샤는 불법 만화 사이트에서 처음으로 아즈망가 대왕 전편을 정주행하면서 그날 있었던 일을 잊으려 애쓴다.

en	It doesn't work.
ko	잘 되진 않는다.

en	The next morning
ko	다음 날 아침

en	Diya's house
ko	디야네 집

en	Akarsha cracks a weak smile as Diya answers the door.
ko	디야가 문을 열자, 아카샤가 맥없는 웃음을 터트린다.

en	Ayyy...Ready to walk to school together?
ko	헤이~… 학교 갈 준비 됐어?

en	Diya gives her an odd look as they start heading down the sidewalk.
ko	둘은 함께 걷기 시작하고, 디야는 아카샤에게 이상한 시선을 보낸다.

en	Are you okay?
ko	괜찮아?

en	Y-yeah?? Why do you ask??
ko	어, 어? 왜??

en	You didn't send me a weird message this morning like usual.
ko	아침에 맨날 보내던 이상한 문자, 오늘은 안 보냈더라.

en	Also, your eyes are red.
ko	그리고 너 눈이 빨개.

en	Oh, that's nothing! I got shampoo in them while showering.
ko	아, 별 거 아냐! 샤워하다 샴푸 들어갔어.

en	You should get L’Oréal Kids. No tears.
ko	로레알 샴푸 써야겠네. 넌 소중하니까.

en	Are you making fun of me??
ko	놀리는 거야??

en	Yeah.
ko	응.

en	Oh. All your jokes are so deadpan it's hard to tell sometimes...
ko	글쿤. 농담할 때도 진지한 표정이라 가끔 헷갈린다구…

en	It must be nice to be pretty. I wish I didn't have to be funny all the time to get people to like me.
ko	예쁘면 좋겠다. 맨날 웃기려고 애쓰지 않아도 사람들이 좋아해주겠지.

en	It sucks being so pathetic that you fall hopelessly in love with anyone who pays even the slightest bit of attention to you.
ko	근데 난, 조금이라도 관심 주는 사람 있으면 바로 간절한 사랑에 빠져버리는 인간이고. 한심하게.

en	Especially unattainable straight girls. God, I'm stupid...
ko	그것도 멍청하게 헤녀들한테…

en	I can't believe I was so desperate that I convinced myself she liked me back. Literally delusional...
ko	걔도 나 좋아한다고 필사적으로 자기합리화 하던 건 또 어떻고. 망상 오졌다…

en	Sigh...
ko	하아…

en	At school, Akarsha nervously waits in the first period classroom before Noelle and Diya arrive.
ko	1교시가 열리는 교실, 아카샤는 아직 오지 않은 노엘과 디야를 초조하게 기다린다.

en	I wonder how facing Noelle again will go...
ko	노엘 얼굴을 어떻게 봐야 되냐…

en	A water bottle flies through the doorway and ricochets off the floor.
ko	그때 복도 쪽에서 물병 하나가 날아와 쿵하고 바닥에 떨어진다.

en	Coast is clear.
ko	이상 없음.

en	You don't need to keep doing that, y'know. I wouldn't reuse the same set-up twice.
ko	그런 거 안 해도 돼. 내가 두 번이나 같은 장난을 치겠어?

en	Noelle cautiously sticks a long twig through the doorframe, her eyes narrowed at Akarsha.
ko	긴 나뭇가지를 조심스레 문틀에 꽂은 노엘이 아카샤를 향해 눈매를 좁힌다.

en	Then what is it this time, you putrid worm?
ko	그럼 다른 거 뭐 해놨는데, 이 저질아.

en	Wouldn't you like to know?
ko	궁금해?

en	Phew...She's acting like nothing happened last night!
ko	휴… 다행히 아무 일 없었던 것처럼 나오네.

en	She must've believed what I said about my little brother sending the message.
ko	동생이 보냈단 말을 믿었나 봐.

en	Thank god. Sorry, Pratik.
ko	신이시여 감사합니다. 미안하다, 프라틱.

en	Now I just gotta ignore my feelings until they eventually die out.
ko	이제 죽어 없어질 때까지 내 감정들을 억압하기만 하면 되겠어.

en	I have a special present for you, Frenchman. Come closer...
ko	내가 특별히 준비한 선물이 있어, 프렌치맨. 이리 와 봐…

en	What? No, keep it to yourself.
ko	뭐를? 너나 가져.

en	Don't be shy! I know you want your very special present!
ko	부끄러워 하지 말고~. 다 알아. 특별 선물 궁금하잖아!

en	I DON'T WANT THIS "PRESENT"! DON'T COME NEAR ME!
ko	그 '선물' 안 받고 싶다고! 가까이 오지 마!

en	As Noelle enters the classroom suspiciously, she tries to give Akarsha a wide berth. Akarsha discreetly pulls her secret weapon out of her pocket...
ko	노엘이 의심스러워 하면서 아카샤와의 거리를 확보하며 교실에 들어온다. 아카샤는 주머니에서 슬그머니 비밀 무기를 꺼낸다.

en	HERE YOU GO!!!!
ko	받아라!!!

en	It's a spinning light toy Akarsha got from Disneyland in elementary school.
ko	빙글빙글 돌며 빛나는 장난감이다. 아카샤가 초등학교 때 디즈니랜드에서 사온 것이다.

en	Noelle recoils as its rubber arms repeatedly whack her face.
ko	장난감에 달린 고무 팔에 철썩철썩 얼굴을 맞으면서 노엘은 뒷걸음질친다.

en	GYAHHHH!!!!!!!
ko	아악!!!!!!!

en	THOUSAND ENERGY BEAMS ATTACK!!!
ko	사우전드 에너지 빔 어택!!!

en	I used to annoy my brother like this all the time.
ko	프라틱 짜증나게 할 때 자주 쓰던 무기지.

en	AKARSHAAAAAA!!! I HATE YOU!!!!
ko	아카샤!!! 너 진짜 싫어!!!

en	Akarsha gulps as Diya approaches the crime scene and towers over her.
ko	이 난장판에 디야가 다가와서 위압적인 모습으로 아카샤를 바라본다. 아카샤는 침을 꿀꺽 삼킨다.

en	.....
ko	……

en	C'maaahn, this isn't fair!
ko	좀 봐줘! 너무하네!

en	Just look! I'm so small, look how small I am compared to you!
ko	내가 너보다 한참 작잖아!

en	Noooo, it's also my birthday, you can't be mean on my birthday!
ko	아아, 그리고 오늘 내 생일인데. 생일인 사람 괴롭히면 안 되지!

en	............
ko	…………

en	Is that true?
ko	진짜?

en	She's lying. Her birthday isn't until April.
ko	거짓말이야. 쟤 생일 4월 아니야.

en	Akarsha yelps as Diya snatches the spinny toy out of her grasp.
ko	디야가 빙글빙글 움직이는 장난감을 손에서 낚아채자 아카샤는 비명을 지른다.

en	Seeing that Akarsha's unarmed, Noelle menacingly starts walking toward her.
ko	그의 무장해제를 확인한 노엘이 위협적으로 다가가기 시작한다.

en	Hey, calm down!
ko	야야, 진정해!

en	I was doin' you a favor, testing your reflexes for you! Like at the doctor!
ko	내가 반사신경 테스트 해준 거야! 의사들 하는 것처럼!

en	........
ko	……

en	F-free! Free reflex test!
ko	고, 공짜! 공짜 테스트!

en	Akarsha breaks into a run as Noelle chases after her.
ko	노엘이 달려든다. 아카샤는 줄행랑친다.

en	COME BACK HERE!! YOU CRETIN!!!
ko	이리 와!! 이 천치야!!!

en	Oh shit, baseball practice actually made her faster!
ko	망할, 쟤 야구 연습하더니 달리기가 빨라졌잖아!

en	Oh shit, she's catching up to me. Oh shit!!!
ko	망할, 따라잡힐 거 같아. 망하아아알!!!

en	When Akarsha comes to baseball practice, she hears whispering in the locker room.
ko	야구 연습이 있는 날, 아카샤는 누군가 락커룸에서 속닥이는 소리를 듣는다.

en	{i}(...So the plan is, we all pitch in?){/i}
ko	{i}(...그럼 다 같이 하자는 거지?){/i}

en	{i}(If we split it up eight ways, it's only $1.50 per person.){/i}
ko	{i}(8명이서 나누면, 1인당 1.50 달러만 내면 돼.){/i}

en	{big=+20}But I don't see why I should have to pay.{/big}
ko	{big=+20}근데 왜 꼭 돈을 내야 되는데?{/big}

en	{i}Shhh!{/i}
ko	{i}쉬이잇!{/i}

en	{i}(You have to pay because it'll be hilarious. She'll never guess who it is.){/i}
ko	{i}(재밌을 테니까. 걘 누구 짓인지 절대 모를걸.){/i}

en	{i}(And here I thought we were trying to do a good deed.){/i}
ko	{i}(난 또 무슨 좋은 일 하자고 모인 줄 알았네.){/i}

en	{i}(Do you ALWAYS have to be engaging in some kind of psychic mind battle with her?){/i}
ko	{i}(걔랑 꼭 그렇게 매일매일 정신력 소모를 해야겠어?){/i}

en	What're they scheming about? I want in.
ko	무슨 일을 꾸미는 거지? 나도 끼고 싶다.

en	Akarsha walks over to where the others are furtively huddled together. A hush falls over the team...
ko	모여서 수군대던 팀원들에게 다가가자, 갑자기 침묵이 감돈다.

en	.........
ko	………

en	Why, hello there, Akarsha!
ko	어머, 왔구나, 아카샤!

en	We were just talking about...
ko	그, 무슨 얘기 중이었더라…

en	...how Vampire Knight is getting an anime.
ko	…뱀파이어 나이트가 애니화 된대.

en	..............
ko	…………

en	We're acting so natural right now.
ko	우리 진짜 자연스럽다.

en	Okay, clearly they're up to something...
ko	분명 뭔가 꾸미고 있는데…

en	The question is, what?
ko	대체 뭐지?

en	After jogging around the track and stretching, [teamName!t] runs fielding drills.
ko	[teamName!t] 의 트랙 달리기와 스트레칭, 그리고 수비 훈련이 이어진다.

en	After jogging around the track and stretching, the [teamName!t] run fielding drills.
ko	[teamName!t] 의 트랙 달리기와 스트레칭, 그리고 수비 훈련이 이어진다.

en	While Akarsha takes a breather in the dugout, she watches Noelle haplessly flail about on the field.
ko	아카샤는 덕아웃에 들어가 한숨 돌리며, 운동장에서 힘겹게 팔랑이는 노엘을 지켜본다.

en	Within moments, the object of her affection misjudges the trajectory of a fly ball and gets bonked on the head.
ko	잠깐 사이에, 그의 짝사랑 상대는 플라이볼을 잡으려다, 궤도 판단 미스로 머리에 공을 맞는다.

en	Ow!!
ko	아!!

en	Baseball champion...
ko	야구 천재네…

en	I would do anything for you...If only you'd let me...
ko	허락만 한다면… 뭐든 다 해줄 수 있는데…

en	Akarsha lets out a wistful sigh as Noelle performs her signature move, throwing the ball almost directly into the ground.
ko	노린 것처럼 거의 직선으로 땅에 공을 꽂는 노엘 시그니처 동작이 펼쳐지는 동안, 아카샤는 쓸쓸한 한숨을 내쉰다.

en	It sucks having a sad hopeless crush...I just want gorlfriend...
ko	희망도 없고 슬프기만 한 개똥같은 짝사랑… 난 그냥 여치니가 갖고 싶다고…

en	So dramatic. Konnichiwhat's up?
ko	드라마 찍냐? 곤니치왓썹.

en	I'm just bummed 'cause I've never experienced love.
ko	연애해 본 적 없는 게 속상해서 그런다.

en	No one ever likes me back. I feel like I'm missing out on so much...
ko	짝사랑은 매번 실패하고. 나만 헛살고 있는 것 같아…

en	It's okay, being rejected is a part of life.
ko	뭐 어때, 까이는 것도 삶의 일분데.

en	You should learn to love yourself. It's a lie that people can only be happy when they're in a relationship.
ko	자기 자신을 사랑할 줄 알아야 해. 연애를 해야만 행복할 수 있다느니 그런 건 다 거짓말이야.

en	Ester glances up from the drawing she's scribbling on her sketchbook.
ko	에스터는 스케치북에 끄적이던 그림에서 눈을 떼고 흘긋 이쪽을 본다.

en	Those are surprisingly wise words coming from someone with zero love experience.
ko	모태솔로한테서 나온 말이라곤 믿기지 않는 명언이네.

en	I learned that life lesson from Card Captor Sakura.
ko	카드캡터 체리에서 배운 인생의 지혜란다.

en	The main character experiences unrequited love even though she's a great person. That means it can happen to anyone.
ko	엄청난 능력자인 주인공 체리도 기약 없는 짝사랑을 하잖아. 그러니까 누구나 겪을 수 있는 일이란 거야.

en	Even our sugoi Akarsha-chan.
ko	우리 스고이한 아카샤 짱이라도 말이지.

en	That does make me feel less alone. Thanks, senpai...
ko	그렇다니 좀 덜 외롭네. 고마워, 센빠이…

en	Ugh.
ko	으윽.

en	Ester vigorously erases something on her page, making countless grey eraser shavings rain down on the dirt beneath the bench.
ko	에스터가 스케치북에 그리던 걸 북북 지워버리자 벤치 아래 흙바닥에 엄청난 양의 지우개 똥이 쏟아진다.

en	Ester, what're you drawing?
ko	에스터, 뭐 그려?

en	A chapter title page for a webcomic I'm starting.
ko	웹툰 준비 중이라, 그 중간에 넣을 타이틀 페이지.

en	A webcomic? Like on SmackJeeves?
ko	웹툰? 네이버 만화 같은 데다?

en	Akarsha peers over at Ester's sketchbook, but she recoils, looking bashful.
ko	아카샤가 스케치북을 들여다보자, 에스터는 부끄러운 듯 감춘다.

en	Don't look, I'm not done yet!
ko	보지 마, 아직 미완성이야!

en	Akarsha manages to glimpse a spiky-haired character on the page before Ester angles her sketchbook away from prying eyes.
ko	에스터가 스케치북을 미처 숨기기 전, 아카샤는 그 위에 그려진 뾰족머리 캐릭터를 언뜻 본다.

en	She's pretty good though...If she posted that on DeviantArt I bet she'd get like, two hundred views.
ko	잘 그렸네… 픽시브에 올려도 조회수 200뷰는 나오겠다.

en	Is that from an anime?
ko	애니메이션 캐릭터야?

en	Ester frowns, aghast.
ko	에스터는 멈칫하더니 얼굴을 구긴다.

en	No, it's just a regular guy.
ko	아니, 그냥 남자.

en	It's like those iPod ads, see? He's wearing white earbuds, and I colored his silhouette in black.
ko	아이팟 광고랑 비슷한 거야. 봐봐. 양쪽 귀에 흰색 무선이어폰 낀 거. 실루엣은 검은색으로 칠했고.

en	Ester is the type of weeaboo who tries to hide the fact that she likes anime because she's embarrassed by it, but it's still super obvious.
ko	에스터, 오덕인 게 부끄러워서 애니 좋아하는 걸 숨기는 타입이구나. 뻔히 다 보이지만.

en	I hate to break it to you, but even from his silhouette you can tell it's an anime guy.
ko	뭐라 하는 건 아닌데, 실루엣만 봐도 애니 캐릭터 같아.

en	It's probably his hairdo. No real guys have bangs that go down to their chin.
ko	헤어스타일 때문인 듯. 현실 남자들은 앞머리를 턱까지 기르진 않잖아.

en	They should, though. Life would be way less boring.
ko	근데 좀 기르기도 해야 돼. 인생이 훨씬 덜 지루해질 듯.

en	Ugh. Guys with short hair are so hard to draw...
ko	으으. 짧은 머리 남자 그리는 거 너무 어려워…

en	Akarsha turns her attention back to the field, where Diya and Min are passionately kissing.
ko	아카샤가 다시 필드로 눈길을 돌리고, 그곳에선 디야와 민이 열정적으로 키스 중이다.

en	I think they're trying to keep their relationship a secret, but they keep forgetting.
ko	쟤네 사귀는 거 비밀로 하려던 것 같았는데, 계속 까먹나 보네.

en	Do you have to do that in front of us?
ko	그걸 꼭 우리 앞에서 해야겠어?

en	Just you watch. I'm gonna rub my gay hands all over her.
ko	구경이나 해. 지금부터 이 레즈 핸드를 디야한테 샅샅이 문지를 거니까.

en	..........
ko	………

en	I'm so jealous...I wanna be in love too...
ko	부럽다… 나도 하고 싶어 사랑…

en	Someday everyone else is gonna get married except me, and I'll be the one sad single friend.
ko	언젠가 다들 나 빼고 결혼해버리겠지. 난 '외로운 싱글 친구'를 담당하게 될 거고.

en	Me too...
ko	미투…

en	Me three...
ko	미쓰리…

en	If that happens, we should all pitch in to buy a mansion and live as otaku together.
ko	그렇게 되면, 우리 저택 하나 사서 오타쿠끼리 모여 살자.

en	That definitely doesn't sound like the kind of life my parents were envisioning for me when they immigrated here....
ko	우리 엄마 아빠는 여기 이민 올 때 오타쿠 저택보다 훨씬 더 찬란한 딸의 미래를 꿈꿨었는데. ……

en	But that sounds incredible.
ko	하지만 그런 건 불가능하지.

en	Doesn't it? We could put up all our anime prints and display our figurines with no shame.
ko	그치? 부끄러울 거 없이 애니 굿즈도 잔뜩 걸어놓고 피규어 전시도 해둘 수 있어.

en	Speak for yourself. I don't have any of that stuff, my room is normal.
ko	넌 그렇겠지만, 내 방엔 그런 물건 없어. 평범한 방이야.

en	You don't have anything?? You've never been to an anime convention before?
ko	진짜 없다고?? 만화 페어 같은 거 한 번도 안 가봤어?

en	Fanime is like, right there in San Jose...
ko	*패니메의 고장 산호세가 코앞인데… (역주 : Fanime는 캘리포니아 산호세의 애니메이션 페어. 매년 5월마다 4일 간 열린다)

en	Ooh, we should all go together this year! We can all cosplay the same series!
ko	아, 우리 올해 패니메 같이 가자! 작품 하나 정해서 다같이 코스프레 하고!

en	Yeah!! Maybe like, Soul Eater or Haruhi Suzumiya!
ko	좋아!! 소울 이터나 스즈미야 하루히 하자!

en	What, at Fanime? Admission is probably too expensive anyway.
ko	패니메를? 그런 덴 입장료가 너무 비싸겠지.

en	Ester scoffs like she's not interested before furtively writing something tiny on the side of her sketchbook page.
ko	에스터는 관심 없는 척 비웃으면서 작은 글씨로 스케치북 한쪽에 은근슬쩍 뭔가를 적고 있다.

en	She didn't write small enough...It says "Fanime"...
ko	'패니메'라고 쓴 거 다 보이는데…

en	She's probably gonna Google it later.
ko	나중에 구글링 하려나 보다.

en	Hey, all you slackers sitting down doing nothing! Get over here and practice!
ko	아니, 이 게으름뱅이들 아무 것도 안 하고 앉아있네! 이리 나와서 연습해!

en	Ya!!
ko	이얍!!

en	Upperclassman
ko	상급생

en	Valentine's Day
ko	발렌타인 데이

en	Akarsha scoffs as a few upperclassmen come in to deliver the goodies people ordered.
ko	상급생 몇 명이 부탁받은 선물을 전달하러 들어오자 아카샤가 비웃는다.

en	We should have a reverse Valentine's Day where we give annoying, terrible gifts to our enemies on purpose.
ko	왜 역 발렌타인 데이 같은 건 없지? 싫어하는 사람한테 개구린 선물 주는 날.

en	You mean, {i}what you already do to me every single day of my life?{/i}
ko	넌 그런 데이 없이도 {b}나한테{/b} 잘만 주잖아?

en	Oh, true...
ko	아, 그치…

en	A few of their classmates receive ribboned roses, but someone comes in holding an entire bouquet...
ko	같은 반 아이 몇몇이 리본 달린 장미꽃을 선물받고 있던 그때, 누군가 아예 부케 한 다발을 가지고 들어온다.

en	Are you Akarsha? This is yours.
ko	아카샤 맞지? 이거 네 거야.

en	Huh????
ko	엥????

en	Bewildered, Akarsha accepts the bouquet and notices there's a note tied to it with a ribbon.
ko	아카샤는 당황하며 부케를 받아들고, 리본에 묶인 쪽지를 발견한다.

en	It reads:
ko	쪽지에는 이렇게 써있다.

en	{i}Roses are red Violets are blue{/i}
ko	{i}장미는 붉고 제비꽃은 푸르며{/i}

en	{i}Love never crossed my mind Until the day I met you{/i}
ko	{i}사랑은 내 안을 스친 적 없다 당신을 만나기 전까지는{/i}

en	{i}-Your secret admirer{/i}
ko	{i}-당신의 비밀스런 흠모자가{/i}

en	Secret admirer? Who???
ko	비밀스런 흠모자? 그게 누군데???

en	I can't believe it...Is this some kinda joke??
ko	에이 설마… 누가 장난치는 건가??

en	Akarsha looks wildly around the room in case her paramour is watching her reaction from afar.
ko	부케를 받는 자신의 반응을 멀리서 애인 후보가 지켜보고 있지는 않을지 아카샤는 맹렬히 반을 둘러본다.

en	But no one seems to be acting out of the ordinary except Diya and Noelle, who are beside themselves with amusement.
ko	하지만 두 사람만 빼곤 다들 평소처럼 보인다. 디야랑 노엘은 재밌어 죽으려고 한다.

en	Someone sent {i}you{/i} flowers?
ko	너 지금 장미 받은 거야?

en	I told you I was a hot commodity! I charmed the pants off someone without even knowing it!
ko	인기 장난 아니라고 했지? 나도 모르게 한 명 또 홀린 거 봐!

en	What's the note say? Let me read it.
ko	그 쪽지는 뭐야? 읽어볼래.

en	Wh-why do you care? You jealous?
ko	니, 니가 왜? 질투나냐?

en	In your dreams.
ko	꿈 깨라.

en	I bet she won't show us because they misspelled her name as "Arkasha".
ko	쪽지 쓴 애가 자기 이름 잘못 써놔서 민망한가 봐. '아캬사' 같은 걸로.

en	Why're you so mean today?! I'm gonna tell the teacher you're bullying me!
ko	너 오늘 성격 왜 그래?! 학교폭력으로 쌤한테 이를 거야!

en	Maybe I can deduce who the sender is like a detective!
ko	꽃 보낸 애가 누군지 찾아내야겠어. 할머니의 이름을 걸고!

en	The poem is one hint. There's gotta be others.
ko	쪽지에 적힌 시 말고도 힌트가 있을 거야.

en	Akarsha flips the note over. It's blank...except for a small dark smudge on the back.
ko	아카샤는 쪽지를 뒤집는다. 아무것도 없는… 게 아니라 까맣고 작은 얼룩이 보인다.

en	Clue??
ko	단서인가??

en	Maybe it's from food? Like blackberries?
ko	뭘 먹다가 묻혔나? 블랙베리같은 걸?

en	Akarsha sniffs the note, but it's hard to single out any scent over the fragrance of the roses.
ko	아카샤는 냄새를 맡아보지만 장미 향기 말고 다른 냄새를 특정하기는 어렵다.

en	What're you doing.
ko	뭐 하는 거야?

en	Quiet, meanie!! I'm trying to crack the code!
ko	쉿, 조용히 해봐! 탐정님 일하시잖아!

en	You're interrupting my mind palace technique!!!
ko	셜록 못 봤어? 마인드 팰리스 들어가는 중인데!!!

en	There's only two possibilities here. Either someone is secretly in love with me...
ko	가능성은 두 가지야. 누군가 날 몰래 좋아하고 있었거나…

en	Or it's a prank. But it's kinda a lot of money to spend on a prank...?
ko	아님 장난이겠지. 근데 장난으로 쓰기엔 너무 큰 액수란 말이야…?

en	It's either fake or real.
ko	장난일 수도 있고, 진짜일 수도 있어.

en	You don't say? Thanks for narrowing it down for us.
ko	와, 정말? 너무 구체적이다.

en	B-be quiet!
ko	시, 시끄러!

en	Flustered, Akarsha scans the room one more time for good measure.
ko	혼란스러운 아카샤는 확인차 한 번 더 반을 둘러본다.

en	She catches Diya looking away a beat too late, smiling to herself.
ko	그러다, 한 박자 늦게 시선을 돌리고 혼자 웃는 디야를 발견한다.

en	...
ko	…

en	What're you smiling about?
ko	왜 웃어?

en	Nothing. Just happy for you.
ko	아냐. 너 좋아보여서.

en	3rd grade
ko	3학년

en	Diya, Min, and Jun wait at the horseshoe for their parents to pick them up from school.
ko	디야와 민, 그리고 준은 도로변에 서서 각자의 부모님을 기다린다.

en	Why does it always take Mom so long to get here?
ko	엄마는 왜 맨날 이렇게 늦을까?

en	I'm so hungry I would even eat a pizza with pineapple!
ko	너무 배고파서 파인애플 피자라도 먹겠다!

en	Mom should just let us walk home ourselves! It'd be way faster.
ko	차라리 그냥 걸어오라고 해주지! 그게 훨씬 빠르겠는데.

en	Especially if she buys us Heelys!
ko	힐리스 신발 사주면 더 빨라지지!

en	But if you did that, I'd have to wait for my mom alone. It'd be so boring.
ko	근데 너 가면 난 혼자서 우리 엄마 기다려야 되잖아. 그럼 너무 심심할 거야.

en	Oh, I thought of that already. We can chat on walkie-talkies while I'm rolling away on my Heelys.
ko	그것도 이미 생각해 놨지. 힐리스 타는 동안 너랑은 워키토키로 얘기하면 돼.

en	That sounds fun...
ko	재밌겠다…

en	The three of them peer down the horseshoe at the long line of cars, hoping to catch sight of their rides.
ko	세 사람은 집에 데려다줄 차가 와있는지 보려고 도로에 잔뜩 늘어선 차들을 내려다본다.

en	My mom's car is tan colored.
ko	우리 엄마 차는 갈색이야.

en	They should make cars in better colors like sky blue or pink.
ko	왜 차는 하늘색이나 분홍색 같이 예쁜 색으로 안 만드는지 모르겠어.

en	Yeah...I bet if they did, they'd sell a lot more.
ko	그러게… 그런 색이 훨씬 잘 팔릴 것 같은데.

en	It's 'cause adults are boring and have bad taste.
ko	어른들은 재미없고 취향도 구려서 그래.

en	They should sell cars with pictures of dolphins on them. Everyone would want one.
ko	돌고래 그림 붙여서 팔면 다들 갖고 싶어 할텐데.

en	Diya perks up as a beige Toyota drives into the horseshoe, but it's the wrong model.
ko	디야는 베이지색 도요타가 보도에 들어서자 번쩍 생기를 찾지만, 다른 차다.

en	.......
ko	……

en	Did you hear about Barry Bonds? He's in trouble because he did steroids!
ko	배리 본드 얘기 들었어? 스테로이드 맞았다고 난리 났는데!

en	What're "steroids"?
ko	스테로이드가 뭐야?

en	They're drugs that make you really buff. It's cheating.
ko	몸 펌핑시키는 약이야. 운동선수들이 쓰는 치트 같은 거.

en	I don't see why they don't let you use them. If they're so good, everyone should use steroids.
ko	왜 불법인지 모르겠어. 그렇게 좋은 거면 다같이 쓰면 되잖아.

en	Baseball would be more fun if everyone was super strong and super fast.
ko	다 개쎄고 개빠르면 야구도 훨씬 재밌을 거 아냐.

en	Suddenly, Min jolts upright and shouts as a silver sedan pulls up to the curb.
ko	민이 갑자기 벌떡 일어나 소리를 지른다. 은색 세단이 벽돌 도로에 정차했다.

en	I see our car! Bye Diya!
ko	우리 차 왔다! 잘 가, 디야!

en	Heat rushes to Diya's face as Min hugs her tightly before dashing off.
ko	민은 차로 달려들기 전 디야를 꼭 껴안는다. 디야의 얼굴에 열기가 오른다.

en	Bye...
ko	잘 가…

en	Wait, that car has a side thingy under the door that ours doesn't have!
ko	잠깐, 저 차 문 밑에 달린 부품이 우리 차랑 다른데?!

en	Min flings the car's passenger seat door open, revealing a stranger inside.
ko	민이 냅다 조수석 문을 열어젖히니, 모르는 사람이 앉아 있다.

en	{big=+20}WHO'RE YOU??!!{/big}
ko	{big=+20}뭐야 너??!!{/big}

en	Min hastily slams the car door shut and stomps back to Diya and Jun, who are both wheezing with laughter.
ko	민은 차 문을 쾅 닫고는, 웃느라 헐떡이는 디야와 준에게로 발을 쿵쿵 구르며 돌아간다.

en	THAT WAS THE WRONG CAR!
ko	{b}남의 차였어!{/b}

en	I told you!
ko	그렇다니까!

en	........
ko	………

en	Diya, I think your car is over there, though.
ko	근데 디야, 저기 너네 차 온 것 같아.

en	!

en	Thanks. Bye for real this time.
ko	고마워. 이번엔 진짜 잘 가.

en	See you tomorrow!!!
ko	내일 봐!!!

en	As Diya buckles up in her mom's sedan, she peers out the window, smiling a little when she sees Min waving frenetically at her outside.
ko	디야는 엄마 차에 올라타 안전벨트를 맨 뒤 창 밖을 내다본다. 그리고 미친듯이 손을 흔드는 민을 보며 작게 미소짓는다.

en	How was your day at school?
ko	학교는 어땠어?

en	Okay.
ko	괜찮았어.

en	We had to write about an invention we'd make in class today.
ko	수업시간에 만들 발명품을 주제로 글쓰기 했어.

en	What did you invent?
ko	디야는 발명품으로 뭘 만들었는데?

en	A better bed that makes it so your stuffed animals can never accidentally roll off it.
ko	봉제 인형이 굴러떨어지지 않는 침대.

en	I thought of it because last night while I was sleeping, Horny fell on the floor.
ko	어젯밤에 나 자는 동안 예쁜이가 바닥에 떨어졌길래 생각해냈어.

en	H-horny?? Who's that?
ko	예, 예쁜이? 그게 누군데?

en	My cow plushie. He's one of Snakey's older brothers.
ko	내 소 인형. 스네이키 형이야.

en	He was all cold and alone for hours and I didn't know.
ko	내가 모르는 사이에 차가운 바닥에 몇시간이나 혼자 널브러져 있었던 거야.

en	Maybe you should give "Horny" a different name, like Moo Moo.
ko	이름을 예쁜이 말고 메메 같은 걸로 지으면 좋겠다.

en	Why? It'll be hard for him to get used to it.
ko	왜? 이름 바꾸면 적응하기 힘들어 해.

en	You must have the most loved stuffed animals in the entire world.
ko	디야가 사랑하는 인형들은 세상에서 가장 사랑받는 인형들이네.

en	What else did you do at school?
ko	학교에서 또 뭐 했어?

en	I tried to take an Accelerated Reader quiz on the Boxcar Children book I read.
ko	내가 퀴즈를 풀 차례였거든. 그래서 전에 읽었던 '어린이 화물차량 책' 퀴즈를 풀기로 했어.

en	But I accidentally clicked the wrong book. So it made me take the quiz of a book I never read before.
ko	근데 내가 실수로 다른 책을 클릭해버렸어. 그래서 한 번도 안 읽어본 책의 퀴즈를 풀어야 되는 거야.

en	It didn't let you quit out? What bad design.
ko	중단하고 나가는 버튼이 없었어? 설계가 잘못됐네.

en	Yeah. My classmates all tried to help me, though.
ko	응. 그래도 반 애들이 다들 도와주려고 했어.

en	Hayden read the book a year ago, but he could barely remember anything.
ko	그 책, 헤이든은 1년 전에 읽긴 했다는데 거의 기억을 못하더라구.

en	So even with everyone's help I got a 2/10.
ko	그래서 다들 도와줬는데 10점 만점에 2점밖에 못 받았어.

en	Oh no!
ko	에구, 저런!

en	Mr. Armstrong said he wouldn't count it for my grade, though.
ko	그래도 암스트롱 선생님이 성적에 반영은 안 하겠다고 하셨어.

en	That's a relief.
ko	그거 다행이네.

en	The boy waving at you earlier — was that Hayden? The classmate who helped you?
ko	아까 너한테 인사하던 남자애가 헤이든이야? 수업 때 도와줬다던?

en	You mean Min? She's not a boy.
ko	아, 민 말이야? 걔 남자애 아니야.

en	Huh? The one wearing a hoodie?
ko	뭐? 그 후드티 입고 있던 애가?

en	Yeah. She's a girl.
ko	응. 여자애야.

en	To Diya's surprise, her mom wrinkles her nose in disgust.
ko	엄마는 불쾌하다는 듯 콧잔등을 찌푸리고, 디야는 놀란다.

en	That was a girl?! She's a freak.
ko	여자애가 그러고 있다고?! 이상한 애네.

en	You should make friends with more normal girls.
ko	디야 너 평범한 친구 좀 사귀어야겠다.

en	Huh??
ko	엥??

en	That's not very nice.
ko	엄마 왜 그래.

en	But it's true, she looks like a boy. Stay away from her or you'll catch it, too.
ko	맞잖아. 순 남자애같던데. 걔랑은 좀 거릴 둬야지 안 그럼 너한테도 옮는다.

en	Catch what? It's not like she has a disease.
ko	옮다니? 무슨 병도 아니고.

en	You're too young to understand. Only freaks look like that.
ko	니가 아직 어려서 모르는 거야. 이상한 애들이나 그러고 다니지.

en	It's bad to judge people by what they look like.
ko	사람을 보이는 걸로 평가하는 건 안 좋은 거야.

en	You don't even know her. She's really nice to me.
ko	엄만 걔가 어떤 앤지도 모르잖아. 걔가 나한테 얼마나 잘해주는데.

en	I don't need to know her, there's clearly something wrong with her.
ko	더 알 필요가 없지. 딱 봐도 문제가 있는 앤데.

en	She's only acting nice because she has impure thoughts toward you.
ko	너한테 흑심이 있으니까 잘해주는 거야.

en	What's that supposed to mean?
ko	저게 대체 무슨 소리야?

en	Even if she has problems, I can tell her and she'll fix them.
ko	무슨 단점이 있더라도 내가 말하면 고칠 애야.

en	We're friends, so she'll listen to me.
ko	내 말에 귀 기울이는 내 친구라고.

en	You can't change people. Especially not weirdos like that.
ko	사람은 못 고쳐. 저렇게 별난 애들은 더해.

en	If they're bad, they're bad. It's a waste of time to try.
ko	안 되는 애들은 안 돼. 그런 애들한테 잘해줘봤자 시간낭비다, 너.

en	If you can't change people, then how can she change me into looking like a boy?
ko	사람을 못 고치는 거라면, 민이는 어떻게 날 남자애같이 만든다는 건데?

en	You can't have it both ways.
ko	하나만 하라고.

en	You're normal, so you have to stay away from weirdos like that.
ko	넌 정상인데 그런 애들하곤 거리를 좀 둬야지.

en	I don't care. She's my friend.
ko	됐어. 내 친구잖아.

en	No, you can't be friends with her anymore.
ko	안 돼. 이제 걔랑 놀지 마.

en	If I see you talking to her again, you're in big trouble.
ko	걔랑 어울리는 거 한 번만 더 눈에 띄면 진짜 혼날 줄 알아.

en	........

en	6 years later
ko	6년 후

en	After baseball practice
ko	야구 연습이 끝난 후

en	Min pushes Diya back against the locker room wall, kissing her again and again.
ko	민은 락커룸 벽으로 디야를 밀어놓고 몇번이고 키스를 한다.

en	JSFDAKJJJK??!! DFJSKJHFJ!!!!!
ko	ㅁ닝러ㅏㅇ??!! ㅁㄴㅇ리ㅏㅓㅁㄴㅇㄹ!!!!!

en	Wow!!! This is great!!!!!
ko	우와!!! 너무 좋아!!!!!

en	They break apart, both panting for air.
ko	둘은 숨을 헐떡이며 서로 떨어진다.

en	A pleasant shiver runs down Diya's spine as Min grins sharply at her.
ko	민이 갑작스레 미소 짓는다. 짜릿한 전율이 디야의 등줄기를 타고 흘러내린다.

en	Oh, you like this, don't you?
ko	이런 거, 좋아하지?

en	.......................

en	Diya is too embarrassed to admit it, so she just nods, her cheeks blazing.
ko	말로 인정하기엔 너무 부끄러워 디야는 그냥 끄덕인다. 얼굴이 화끈거린다.

en	You don't need to be shy.
ko	수줍어 할 필요 없어.

en	It's just me.
ko	여기 나밖에 없으니까.

en	I feel like I absolutely can't say it aloud though.
ko	나도 아는데 큰 소리로 말하기가 어려워.

en	Sorry...
ko	미안…

en	Min presses a kiss to her cheek and whispers in her ear, voice low. Diya can feel her smiling, her breath warm on her cheek.
ko	민은 디야의 뺨에 꾹 눌러 키스하더니, 귀에 대고 낮게 속삭인다. 민이 미소짓고 있다는 게 느껴진다. 뺨에 닿는 입김이 따뜻하다.

en	It's okay, you're so cute when you're like this. I almost can't stand it.
ko	괜찮아. 넌 그럴 때 너무 귀여워. 참기 힘들만큼.

en	................

en	It's so surreal dating a friend you've had a crush on forever.
ko	평생 짝사랑하던 친구랑 사귀고 있다는 거, 정말 비현실적인 느낌이야.

en	Sometimes I get scared that us getting together was just a dream, and when I wake up we'll just be friends again.
ko	가끔은 우리가 사귀게 된 게 꿈일 뿐이고, 꿈에서 깨면 그냥 친구 사이일까 봐 무서워.

en	But it's real! Somehow a miracle happened and now I'm her girlfriend!
ko	근데 이게 현실이야! 왠진 몰라도 기적이 일어나서 내가 얘 여자친구야!

en	Min holds Diya's hand as they wait for their rides home.
ko	민은 디야의 손을 잡고 집으로 데려가줄 차를 함께 기다린다.

en	No one knows about us except the baseball club. And maybe the workers at the dessert place we had our first date at.
ko	야구팀 애들을 제외하면 우리가 사귄다는 걸 아는 사람은 없다. 우리가 처음 데이트했던 그 디저트 가게 직원들도 빼고.

en	So we end up kissing in the locker room a lot because the lockers block the view, and you can hear if other people walk in.
ko	그래서 우린 꼭 락커로 시야가 차단되는 락커룸에서 키스를 한다. 누가 들어오면 소리가 들려서 우리가 먼저 알 수 있기도 하니까.

en	But it's still fun. I love spending time with Min...
ko	그래도 즐거워. 민이랑 같이 있는 게 너무 행복해…

en	She can almost even make me forget I have a presentation tomorrow in Biology.
ko	내일 생물학 발표 있는 걸 거의 까먹었을 정도로.

en	Assignments that make you talk in front of the class should be outlawed.
ko	사람들 앞에서 말하게 시키는 과제는 불법으로 지정해야 돼.

en	What's wrong? You look worried about something.
ko	왜 그래? 안 좋아 보이는데.

en	?!

en	You can tell?
ko	어떻게 알았어?

en	Of course I can. What kind of girlfriend would I be if I couldn't even tell if something was bothering you?
ko	당연히 알지. 너 상태 안 좋은 것도 눈치 못 채면 여친이라고 할 자격도 없잖아?

en	You're like a mind reader. Psychic.
ko	내 생각을 읽다니. 초능력자같아.

en	Nah, I just know you. You got all tense and quiet.
ko	그냥 널 잘 아는 거지. 왠지 긴장도 돼 보이고 조용했으니까.

en	So what's up?
ko	암튼, 무슨 일 있어?

en	If someone's bothering you, I'll kill them, no questions asked.
ko	누가 괴롭혀? 그럼 묻지도 따지지도 않고 내가 죽여버릴게.

en	You probably should at least ask one or two questions.
ko	그럴 땐 좀 물어보고 따져줘.

en	Killing people is wrong.
ko	사람은 죽이면 안 되니까.

en	Okay. Then if someone's bothering you, I'll...be really mean to them.
ko	알았어. 그럼 누가 너 괴롭히면… 걔한테 진짜 못되게 굴게.

en	So who is it?
ko	그래서 그게 누군데?

en	It isn't anyone.
ko	그런 사람 없어.

en	It's just that my group presentation is tomorrow. In Biology.
ko	그냥 내일 팀 발표를 해야 돼서 그래. 생물학 시간에.

en	Oh, that PowerPoint you've been working on with Akarsha and Noelle?
ko	아, 아카샤랑 노엘이랑 만들던 그 파워포인트?

en	Diya nods.
ko	디야가 끄덕거린다.

en	We're supposed to elaborate on what we put on our slides.
ko	우리가 슬라이드에 넣은 내용을 자세히 설명해야 돼.

en	But I get so nervous in front of everyone that I blank out.
ko	근데 난 사람들 앞에 서면 너무 긴장해서 머리가 하얘진단 말이야.

en	What's there to be nervous about? You know all the stuff, don't you?
ko	긴장할 게 뭐 있어? 너는 발표 내용 전부 다 확실히 알텐데.

en	Even if I know all the facts in my head, I can't improvise at all.
ko	머릿속엔 다 들어 있는데 말로 설명하려면 잘 안 돼.

en	It's hard to string words together on the spot.
ko	즉흥적인 상황에서 단어를 적절하게 엮어내는 게 어려워.

en	I always have to write out everything I'm going to say word-for-word beforehand, and memorize it.
ko	그래서 난 발표하기 전에 할 말들을 단어 하나하나 전부 다 적은 다음 외워버려.

en	Their conversation is abruptly cut short when a beige sedan turns the corner into the school.
ko	베이지색 세단이 모퉁이를 돌아 학교로 들어오는 게 보이자 두 사람의 대화가 끊긴다.

en	My mom's here!
ko	엄마다!

en	She picks me up after the baseball club if it ends late enough for her to be done with work.
ko	야구팀 연습이 엄마가 일을 끝내는 것보다 늦어지는 날엔, 엄마가 날 데리러 온다.

en	I'll hide!
ko	난 숨을게!

en	Bye!!!
ko	잘 가!!!

en	Min roughly pulls Diya close for one last kiss before dashing out of sight.
ko	민은 디야를 거칠게 끌어당겨 마지막 키스를 한 뒤 시야 밖으로 달려나간다.

en	!!!!!!!!

en	Diya tries to slow her shaky breathing to a normal pace.
ko	디야는 갑작스레 덜컥이는 호흡을 늦추려 애쓴다.

en	I'm calm...I need to look normal...
ko	나는 침착하다… 나는 평소랑 똑같다…

en	Diya gets uncharacteristically clumsy after making out with Min, like a dog who's still woozy after surgery.
ko	민과 키스한 직후의 디야는 평소답지 않게 어리버리해진다. 수술이 끝나고 마취 풀린 직후의 강아지처럼.

en	She staggers over to her mom's car as it pulls up to the curb.
ko	엄마 차가 벽돌 도로까지 올라오자 디야는 뚝딱거리며 다가간다.

en	I'm scared of how my mom will react if she finds out I'm talking to Min again. Let alone that I'm dating her...
ko	나랑 민이 다시 어울리는 걸 엄마가 알면 어떻게 반응할지 무섭다. 그것도 난 얘랑 사귀는데…

en	So it's a secret for now.
ko	그러니 지금은 비밀로 해야지.

en	Pop song
ko	팝송

en	Diya reaches for the door handle, misses, and slams her hand directly into the side of the car.
ko	디야가 차 손잡이로 손을 뻗다가 실수로 차 문에 손을 찧는다.

en	!!!

en	What's the matter with you?
ko	너 왜 그래?

en	Nothing.
ko	뭐가?

en	Diya hastily pulls the door open and gets into the passenger seat, trying to look natural.
ko	디야는 얼른 다시 문을 열고 조수석에 앉아 평소 같아 보이려고 애쓴다.

en	..........
ko	…………

en	..........
ko	…………

en	How was your day at school?
ko	학교는 어땠어?

en	Okay.
ko	괜찮았어.

en	..........
ko	……………

en	..........
ko	…………

en	On the radio, a woman sings to a catchy beat.
ko	라디오에서는 한 여성 가수가 흥겨운 비트에 맞춰 노래 부른다.

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I'm curious for you...Caught my attention... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 알고 싶어져... 궁금하게 하는 널... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I kissed a girl and I liked it! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 난 좋았어 여자랑 한 키스! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	What the...?? Did she really just say that?
ko	뭐야…?? 잘못 들은 거 아니지?

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} The taste of her cherry chapstick... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 체리 향 립스틱의 맛... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I kissed a girl just to try it! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 한 번 해봤어 여자랑 키스! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	Is she allowed to say that on the radio? It doesn't break any laws?
ko	라디오에서 저런 노래 틀어도 돼? 불법 아니야?

en	Diya shifts uncomfortably in her seat as her mom frowns at the lyrics.
ko	엄마가 가사에 눈살을 찌푸리자 디야는 불편해져 몸을 뒤척인다.

en	"I kissed a girl...?" What kind of terrible song is this?
ko	"여자랑 한 키스"…? 대체 무슨 헛소리야 이게?

en	Disgusted, Diya's mom changes the station.
ko	엄마는 불쾌해 하며 라디오 채널을 바꾼다.

en	............
ko	…………

en	...........
ko	…………

en	You know how in the movies, superheroes have to hide their identity to their families?
ko	영화에서 슈퍼히어로들이 가족들한테 자기 비밀을 숨기잖아?

en	I'm doing that in real life, all the time.
ko	난 그걸 매순간 현실에서 하고 있어.

en	............
ko	…………

en	............
ko	…………

en	The other day, I saw Akarsha and her mom at Safeway.
ko	얼마 전에 보니까 아카샤가 걔네 엄마랑 자전거 가게에 있더라.

en	She was so outgoing! She even told me about the Biology project you're working on together.
ko	걘 참 사회성이 좋다니까! 너랑 같이 하는 생물학 숙제가 어떻게 돼간다고 막 알려주더라.

en	I didn't even know you were doing a project until Akarsha said so.
ko	아카샤가 알려주기 전까지 엄만 니가 숙제가 있는 줄도 몰랐잖아.

en	Why can't you be more like her? I like knowing things about you.
ko	너는 왜 그렇게 싹싹하질 못할까? 난 우리 딸 얘기 좀 더 듣고 싶은데.

en	If Akarsha was her daughter, she'd disown her for being bi. Not that she'd know that.
ko	아카샤가 엄마 딸이었으면, 자기 딸이 바이라고 연 끊었을 거면서. 알아챘을 리도 없지만.

en	............
ko	………

en	............
ko	…………

en	I never really know how to fill the silence when I'm with my mom.
ko	엄마랑 있을 때 이렇게 정적이 흐르면 뭘 어떡해야 할지 모르겠어.

en	I don't know what I can talk about with her.
ko	엄마랑 할 수 있는 대화가 있기는 한지도.

en	She really loves me, but she comes from such a different time and culture that talking to her feels kind of unpredictable.
ko	엄마는 날 정말 사랑해줘. 하지만 나랑은 정말 다른 시대와 문화를 겪어온 사람이라, 대화하다 보면 말이 전혀 예상치 못한 데로 튀기도 해.

en	Sometimes, she'll surprise me by getting upset over something I didn't expect would cause problems at all.
ko	가끔은 내가 전혀 문제라고도 생각하지 않았던 부분에 화를 내서 놀라기도 해.

en	So my safest bet most of the time is just to stay quiet.
ko	그러니까 차라리 입 다물고 있는 게 낫지.

en	It's annoying how she's raised me to be afraid of talking, yet expects me to magically turn out like a child who was raised normally.
ko	짜증나. 말하는 걸 어려워하는 애로 키운 건 엄마잖아. 정상적인 가정에서 자란 딸을 원하면 요술봉이라도 휘둘러 달라고요.

en	That night, Diya tosses and turns in bed, anxious about her presentation the next day.
ko	그날 밤, 침대에 누운 디야는 내일 있을 발표를 떠올리며 불안감에 몸을 뒤챈다.

en	I wish I could time travel to this time tomorrow, after the Biology presentation is already over.
ko	내일 이 시간으로 타임워프 하고 싶다. 그럼 생물학 발표도 끝나 있을 텐데….

en	........
ko	……….

en	I need to stop thinking about this. It's making my mind race. I can't relax enough to sleep.
ko	그만 생각해야 돼. 온갖 생각이 다 드니까 긴장돼서 잠을 잘 수가 없잖아.

en	Diya checks her alarm clock.
ko	디야는 알람 시계를 확인한다.

en	It's midnight already. And I need to wake up at seven tomorrow!
ko	벌써 자정이네. 내일 7시에 일어나야 되는데!

en	I need to fall asleep right now! Or else I'll get less than seven hours of sleep.
ko	얼른 지금 자야 돼! 안 그럼 7시간도 못 자겠어.

en	Count sheep
ko	양을 센다

en	Take deep, calming breaths
ko	침착하게, 숨을 깊이 들이마신다

en	Imagine being hugged by Min
ko	민이 자신을 안아주는 상상을 한다

en	Diya squeezes her eyes shut and starts counting.
ko	디야는 눈을 꽉 감고 양을 세기 시작한다.

en	One...two...three...
ko	양 한 마리… 양 두 마리… 양 세 마리…

en	Four...five...six...
ko	네 마리… 다섯 마리… 여섯 마리…

en	Six...Giant pandas have six fingers...
ko	여섯… 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개입니다…

en	And their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures.
ko	이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다.

en	...Shoot, I was supposed to be counting sheep.
ko	…아 씨, 양 세고 있었는데.

en	What number was I on again?
ko	어디까지 셌더라?

en	Let's start over.
ko	그냥 처음부터 하자.

en	One...two...
ko	양 한 마리… 양 두 마리…

en	Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko	두… 새와 박쥐라는 두 개의 그룹은 각각 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…

en	Diya keeps trying to count without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko	딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 애쓰며 계속 양을 센지 1시간 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

en	I looked up some breathing exercises that're supposed to make you sleepier.
ko	잠 잘 오는 호흡법 몇개를 찾아놨었지.

en	Diya squeezes her eyes shut, inhaling slowly and steadily...
ko	디야는 눈을 꾹 감고, 천천히, 일정하게 숨을 들이마시면서…

en	Now I'll breathe out on a count of one...two...three...
ko	이제 숨을 참았다가… 하나… 둘… 셋…

en	Four...five...six...
ko	넷… 다섯… 여섯…

en	Six...Giant pandas have six fingers...
ko	여섯… 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개입니다…

en	And their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures...
ko	이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다….

en	Shoot, I started thinking about the presentation again.
ko	아, 또 발표 생각해버렸네.

en	Let's start over.
ko	다시 해보자.

en	One...two...
ko	하나… 둘…

en	Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko	둘… 새와 박쥐는 둘 다 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…

en	Diya keeps trying to breathe without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko	딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 애쓰며 1시간 동안 호흡한 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

en	Sometimes when I can't sleep, I fantasize that Min is hugging me and saying nice things to me.
ko	가끔 잠이 안 올 때, 날 안고 따뜻한 말을 해주는 민 상상을 하지.

en	Usually this works.
ko	잘 먹히는 방법이지.

en	Diya hugs herself with one arm and squeezes her eyes shut.
ko	디야는 한 팔로 자신을 껴안고 눈을 질끈 감는다.

en	Min is holding me really close, and telling me I'm going to fall asleep in her arms...
ko	나를 바짝 껴안은 민이 '이제 그만 자자' 고 한다…

en	And she's stroking my side with her hand...
ko	그러더니 손을 들어 내 옆구리를 쓰다듬는다…

en	Hands...Primates have hands, too...
ko	손… 영장류도 손이 있어요…

en	And their thumbs are opposable like pandas' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures...
ko	이들의 엄지는 판다의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다….

en	Shoot, I started thinking about the presentation again.
ko	아, 또 발표 생각해버렸네.

en	Forget the presentation! Just think about Min.
ko	발표 그만! 민 생각 하자.

en	Min is holding me really tight and saying nice things to me...
ko	나를 꽉 껴안은 민이 다정한 말을 한다….

en	And we're all alone together...It's just the two of us...
ko	그 곳엔 우리밖에 없다… 우리 둘 뿐이다…

en	Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko	둘… 새와 박쥐는 둘 다 비행이 가능하게 진화한 개별적인 그룹입니다…

en	Diya keeps trying to imagine Min comforting her without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko	민의 편안한 품을 상상하면서 딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 1시간 동안 애쓴 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

en	There's so much anxious energy pent up in my body, I feel like running a marathon.
ko	온 몸이 너무 긴장해 있어서 마라톤이라도 뛰고 있는 느낌이야.

en	Maybe if I release all that energy, I can finally doze off.
ko	밖으로 긴장을 내보내면 잠들 수 있을지도 모르지!

en	Diya frantically starts doing sit-ups in bed.
ko	디야는 냅다 윗몸일으키기를 시작한다.

en	After a few sets, she switches to doing jumping jacks in the middle of her room.
ko	몇세트 하고 나서 이번엔 방 한가운데서 점핑 잭을 한다.

en	Yeah! Become tired!!
ko	예! 피곤해져라!!

en	After several minutes of frenzied exercise, Diya lies back down in bed, her heart pounding...
ko	몇 분 간의 광란의 운동이 끝나고, 침대에 등을 대고 누우니 심장이 쿵쿵거린다…

en	Phew. Hopefully that didn't just make me even more awake.
ko	후. 방금 한 것 때문에 잠 더 깨면 안 되는데.

en	Diya wearily checks her clock again.
ko	낡고 지친 디야는 한 번 더 시계를 본다.

en	It's two in the morning! I need to fall asleep right now so I can at least get five hours of sleep!!!
ko	벌써 두 시라고?! 5시간이라도 자야 돼!!!

en	Diya ends up lying awake for a few more hours...
ko	디야는 결국 뜬 눈으로 몇시간을 더 지새우고…

en	Just as the sun begins coming up, she loses consciousness from sheer exhaustion...
ko	동이 트기 시작할쯤, 탈진해서 까무룩 정신을 잃는다.

en	After what feels like a few minutes of sleep, Diya's alarms go off.
ko	겨우 몇분 잔 것 같은데, 알람이 울린다.

en	....................
ko	………………

en	Diya hits all her alarms without even bothering to open her eyes.
ko	디야가 눈을 뜨지도 않은 채로 모든 알람을 끈다.

en	I don't feel rested at all...Barely got any sleep.
ko	결국 거의 못 잤어. 에너지가 하나도 안 찬 느낌이야….

en	Her morning routine includes lying in bed for ten minutes thinking about how tired she is.
ko	왜 이렇게 피곤한지 생각하며 10분 동안 누워있기는 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.

en	{cps=0}Her morning routine includes lying in bed for ten minutes thinking about how tired she is. {/cps}
ko	{cps=0}왜 이렇게 피곤한지 생각하며 10분 동안 누워있기는 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.{/cps}

en	Do it
ko	루틴을 실행한다

en	Nnnnnooooooooo...
ko	아아아아아아아아악…

en	I'm so anxious I feel like I'm gonna explode...
ko	긴장돼서 터질 것 같다…

en	I don't have Biology till fifth period. So I'm going to be stewing in this dread for hours...
ko	생물학은 5교시. 그러니까 몇시간 동안 이런 극도의 공포 속에 떨어야 한단 말이지…

en	Ugghhhhhghghhhghhh...Ggggggh...
ko	으으으으으으윽으으윽...으으으으거어아어ㅏ아...

en	Ten minutes pass like this.
ko	그렇게 10분이 흐른다.

en	Finally, Diya drags herself out of bed and steels herself for the terrifying day ahead.
ko	결국, 디야는 침대에서 몸을 끌어내면서 닥쳐올 오늘의 사건을 위해 굳게 마음 먹는다.

en	Akarsha messaged me. That normally means she's on her way to my house.
ko	아카샤가 톡 보냈네. 보통은 이리로 오고 있다는 내용이지.

en	Check your computer
ko	컴퓨터를 확인한다

en	{nw}

en	ay diya
ko	헤이 디야

en	:^)

en	{image=diyaTheHedgehog.png}

en	????

en	What is that
ko	뭐야 그게

en	i googled Diya the Hedgehog and thats what came up
ko	고슴도치 디야 라고 검색하니까 나옴

en	Diya has gone offline.
ko	디야 님이 나갔습니다.

en	..........
ko	………

en	How can she act so normal on a day like this?
ko	얘는 어떻게 발표 날도 똑같지?

en	I wish I was all outgoing and good at talking like her...
ko	나도 얘처럼 외향적이고 말도 잘하면 좋겠다….

en	Diya goes outside.
ko	디야는 밖으로 나간다.

en	Yo! Ready to blow everyone outta the water with our amazing group presentation?
ko	요! 우리의 어메이징한 팀 발표로 다 날려버릴 준비 됐나?

en	No......
ko	아니……

en	Diya nervously strides off, forcing Akarsha to jog to keep up with her.
ko	잔뜩 긴장한 디야가 먼저 성큼성큼 걸어가버리는 통에 아카샤는 따라잡으려고 뛰어야 했다.

en	Hey, hold your horses!
ko	아니, 누가 따라와?!

en	Slow down! Some of us have average-length legs, yanno!
ko	천천히 좀 가! 여기 다리 길이 평범한 사람도 있거든요!

en	........
ko	………

en	Miss long legs...
ko	롱다리 아가씨….

en	Or should I say Daddy Long Legs...
ko	아니면 키다리 아저씨….

en	Don't call me that.
ko	하지 마.

en	You're so cold to me, bro. I'm dyin' here...
ko	왜 이렇게 차가워, 브로. 얼어 죽겠어…

en	Why would you die if you can't call me Daddy Long Legs. Weirdo.
ko	키다리 아저씨라고 안 하면 죽을 일도 없잖아. 바보야.

en	So dark and cloudy today. Think it's gonna rain...
ko	하늘이 어두운데 구름까지 꼈어. 비 올 것 같네…

en	Ay Diya...
ko	야, 디야…

en	What do you think {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko	{incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …것 같아?

en	I wish real life had captions like on TV. No clue what anyone's ever saying to me.
ko	현실도 TV처럼 자막 좀 달려있음 좋겠다. 누가 뭐라고 할 때마다 알아듣기가 힘들어.

en	What?
ko	뭐라고?

en	What do {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko	{incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …같아?

en	What?
ko	뭐?

en	What do you think happens {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko	{incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …어떨 것 같냐구.

en	............
ko	………….

en	Oh wait, sorry. I forgot about your ear...
ko	아 맞다, 미안. 귀 안 좋았었지….

en	Akarsha switches to Diya's other side so she can hear her over the sound of traffic.
ko	아카샤는 자기 말소리가 차도 소리에 덮이지 않도록 디야의 반대 방향으로 옮겨 걷는다.

en	What do you think happens to a Teletubby when its screen gets destroyed?
ko	텔레토비 배에 있는 TV 화면이 부서지면 걔넨 어떻게 될 것 같아?

en	Nothing
ko	아무 일도 안 일어난다

en	It dies
ko	죽는다

en	Why...
ko	왜…

en	{cps=0}What do you think happens to a Teletubby when its screen gets destroyed?{/cps}
ko	{cps=0}TV 화면 부서지면 텔레토비는 어떻게 될 것 같아?{/cps}

en	Why would anything happen?
ko	꼭 무슨 일이 일어나야 돼?

en	It's not like it needs the screen to live.
ko	그 TV가 있어야 사는 것도 아닌데.

en	But the fact that it's called a Teletubby implies the television is part of its body, doesn't it?
ko	근데 이름부터 텔레토비면, 텔레비전이 걔네 몸의 일부라는 거 아냐?

en	That doesn't mean it needs it to live.
ko	그래도 생존에 꼭 필요한지는 모르잖아.

en	You could dye a bluebird pink and it'd still survive. It'd just be a pinkbird.
ko	파랑새가 분홍색으로 염색한다고 죽는 건 아니잖아. 그냥 분홍새 되는 거지.

en	If you get rid of a Teletubby's screen it just becomes a Tubby.
ko	그러니까 '텔레토비'에서 텔레비전 빼면 '그냥 토비'.

en	Destroying the screen is a way bigger change than changing something's color, though. It's like, built into its stomach.
ko	근데 TV 부서지는 건 색깔 바뀌는 수준이 아니잖아. 그것도 뱃속에 내장된 TV인데?

en	So? TV's not a living part with cells and stuff. More like hair or fingernails.
ko	그래봤자, TV는 세포같은 생물 부분이 아니잖아. 머리카락이나 손톱 같은 거지.

en	It's not painful to get haircuts.
ko	머리 자른다고 아프진 않잖아.

en	Speak for yourself. I've gotten some extremely catastrophic ones before.
ko	너어는 그랬나 본데. 난 머리 자르러 갔다가 익스트림 재앙을 겪은 적이 있다고.

en	Okay...But you can't die from it.
ko	그래… 아무튼 그것땜에 죽진 않는다는 거야.

en	...Or can I? Challenge accepted.
ko	…과연 그럴까? 그 도전 받아들이지.

en	That wasn't a challenge.
ko	도전 아니야.

en	It'd be like punching it in the heart or something.
ko	논리의 허점을 찌른 것 뿐이지.

en	Damn, that's dark.
ko	엥, 너무해.

en	You asked.
ko	먼저 물어봤으면서.

en	I dunno...Screens are so fragile, though.
ko	몰라… 암튼 TV 화면은 너무 깨지기 쉬운데,

en	If it's that important, you'd think the Teletubbies would've evolved a ribcage over it or something to protect it.
ko	거기가 중요한 부분이었으면 갈비뼈든 뭐든 어떤 신체부위가 거길 덮어서 보호하는 쪽으로 진화하지 않았을까?

en	But they can't. They couldn't see what's on the screens if they were covered.
ko	근데 그럼 안 되잖아. 화면이 덮이면 뭐가 나오는지 볼 수가 없으니까.

en	Must be like why our eyes don't have bones over them even though they're delicate.
ko	우리 눈도 예민한 부위인데 보호용 뼈는 없는 거랑 같은 이유겠지.

en	We wouldn't be able to see.
ko	앞을 볼 수가 없어지니까.

en	Whoa, you might be onto something.
ko	와, 너 쫌 한다.

en	You should become a scientist. A Teletubby scientist.
ko	연구원 해도 되겠다. 텔레토비 연구원.

en	I doubt the world really needs Teletubby scientists...
ko	이 세상에 그런 직업이 필요할지 모르겠는데….

en	Where is this even coming from.
ko	근데 대체 그런 질문은 왜 생긴 거야?

en	Have you been watching Teletubbies lately or something?
ko	요즘 텔레토비 정주행이라도 해?

en	What? No!
ko	엥? 아니!

en	It's called having a healthy curiosity about the world around us, my friend.
ko	이런 걸 두고 우릴 둘러싼 세계에 대한 건강한 궁금증이라고 한다네, 친구여.

en	Doesn't sound healthy to me. What kind of person thinks of destroying Teletubbies.
ko	건강한 궁금증은 아닌 것 같은데. 대체 어떤 사람이 텔레토비 부서지는 상상 같은 걸 해?

en	They're so colorful and friendly. Messed up.
ko	그렇게 귀염뽀짝하고 상냥한 애들을…. 큰일날 사람이네.

en	Wow, geez! I see you're not ready for my cutting-edge Dragon Tales theories, either.
ko	어랍쇼? *드래곤테일즈에 대한 내 최신 가설도 들려주려고 했는데 자네에겐 너무 이르겠구만. (*드래곤테일즈 : 영어로 된 어린이용 동화책. 만화로도 제작되었으며 한국에서는 EBS에서 "용용나라로 떠나요"라는 이름으로 방영되기도 했음)

en	As Diya and Akarsha arrive at school, Diya feels something cold and wet drop onto her shoulder.
ko	학교에 도착하자마자, 디야의 어깨에 뭔가 차갑고 축축한 것이 떨어진다.

en	It's raining!
ko	비 온다!

en	Gah! I'm heading inside.
ko	악! 나 먼저 간다.

en	Akarsha scurries off as the rain picks up. Soon, torrents of water are pelting the ground.
ko	빗방울이 떨어지기 시작하자 아카샤는 잰 걸음으로 달려나간다. 곧 있어 비가 억수같이 쏟아지며 땅을 뒤덮는다.

en	I still need to get my things from my locker.
ko	사물함에서 뭐 좀 챙겨가야 돼.

en	Use locker
ko	사물함을 확인한다

en	I need to get my stuff from the locker first.
ko	먼저 사물함에 들러서 챙겨야 할 물건들이 있어.

en	Noelle is hunched over in front of their shared locker and frowning at its contents.
ko	공용 사물함 앞에 몸을 구부린 노엘이 사물함 안쪽을 향해 눈살을 찌푸리고 있다.

en	Good morning.
ko	안녕.

en	We need to remove our books from the locker or they'll get soaked in the rain.
ko	우리 책 좀 사물함에서 빼내야겠어. 비에 다 젖겠다.

en	Oh, no.
ko	윽.

en	Won't the roof overhang block it?
ko	지붕에 있는 튀어나온 부분이 막아주지 않을까?

en	No, look at it. The wind's blowing the rain inward.
ko	아냐, 저기 봐. 바람 때문에 비가 안쪽으로 들이치고 있어.

en	Yeah...We're even getting damp standing here right now.
ko	그래… 여기 서있는 우리도 벌써 촉촉해지고 있지.

en	Diya takes a mini travel umbrella from her backpack and opens it.
ko	디야는 책가방에서 여행용 미니 우산을 꺼내 펼친다.

en	As Diya diligently holds it over the two of them, Noelle holds her daily water bottle out to her without looking.
ko	디야가 그걸 들고 우직하게 두 사람을 막고 있는 동안, 노엘은 디야에게 오늘의 물병을 노룩패스한다.

en	Also, can you open this water bottle?
ko	이것도 좀 따줄래?

en	Take the water bottle
ko	물병을 받아 든다

en	Diya holds the umbrella with one hand and grabs the water bottle with the other.
ko	디야는 우산을 들지 않은 손으로 물병을 받는다.

en	Don't have enough hands to open it...
ko	손이 없는데….

en	Diya carefully balances the water bottle on top of Noelle's head as she continues pulling her library books from their locker.
ko	디야가 조심스럽게 노엘의 머리 꼭대기에 물병을 세운다. 노엘은 계속 사물함에 있던 도서관 책들을 꺼낸다.

en	......
ko	…….

en	......
ko	…….

en	Diya grips the bottle's cap with her index finger and thumb while pressing the bottle down on Noelle's head with the rest of her hand.
ko	디야가 병을 노엘의 머리 쪽으로 누르면서 다른 손 엄지와 검지로 병뚜껑을 쥔다.

en	She manages to twist it open without spilling any of the water.
ko	디야는 단 한 방울도 흘리지 않고 물병을 여는 데 성공한다.

en	....!
ko	…!

en	I'm pretty proud of myself for pulling that off.
ko	이걸 성공하다니 나 자신이 자랑스럽다.

en	She closes the cap and gives it back to Noelle as she slots the last of her novels into her bookbag.
ko	노엘은 책가방에 소설책 마지막 한 권을 담고, 디야는 물병 뚜껑을 닫아 노엘에게 돌려준다.

en	Thank you.
ko	고마워.

en	I've finished rescuing all my water-sensitive items. It's your turn.
ko	내 것 중에 물 닿으면 안 되는 건 전부 구조했어. 네 차례야.

en	Diya peers into her and Noelle's shared locker.
ko	디야는 두 사람의 공유 사물함을 들여다본다.

en	Diya opens her and Noelle's shared locker.
ko	디야가 두 사람의 공유 사물함을 연다.

en	Get your school stuff
ko	자기 학용품을 꺼낸다

en	Look in Noelle's lunchbox
ko	노엘의 점심 도시락을 확인한다

en	Take Valentine's Day card
ko	발렌타인데이 카드를 가져간다

en	Look at rosin
ko	송진을 본다

en	Close locker door
ko	사물함 문을 닫는다

en	I'm ready to head to class when you are.
ko	난 준비 끝났어. 너도 다 챙겼으면 가자.

en	Wish I could just head home and go to bed...
ko	이대로 집에 가서 침대에 눕고 싶다….

en	Diya slips her books and binders into her backpack.
ko	디야는 책과 바인더들을 배낭 속으로 흘려넣는다.

en	This is rosin for string instruments.
ko	현악기용 송진이다.

en	The first time Noelle showed it to me,{w=0.10} I tried to eat it.
ko	노엘이 처음 보여줬을 때 내가 {w=0.10}먹으려고 했었지.

en	Why do you have this, anyway?
ko	근데, 이걸 왜 갖고 있는 거야?

en	You only play piano.
ko	넌 피아노만 치잖아.

en	It's the same kind Akarsha uses. She plays the cello in her orchestra class.
ko	아카샤가 쓰는 거랑 같은 거야. 걔가 오케스트라 클래스에서 첼로를 켜거든.

en	Whenever she drops and cracks the one she's using, she leaves it in her locker, and I secretly replace it with an identical copy.
ko	걔는 자기가 쓰던 송진이 떨어져서 깨지면 꼭 자기 사물함에 넣어놓는데, 그럼 내가 몰래 같은 걸로 바꿔놓는 거지.

en	.....?
ko	……?

en	How do you get it in her locker?
ko	네가 아카샤 사물함을 어떻게 열어?

en	I figured out her locker combination.
ko	걔 비번을 알아냈지.

en	Can't she tell it's just new rosin?
ko	새 걸로 바뀐 걸 눈치채지 않아?

en	No, I always scratch up the top and make it look worn, so it looks identical to the one she dropped.
ko	아니. 내가 닳은 것처럼 보이게 윗부분을 긁어놓거든. 걔가 떨어트린 거랑 완전 똑같이.

en	This is the third one.
ko	이게 세 번째 송진이야.

en	By now, she's convinced her rosin has self-healing abilities.
ko	걔는 이제 자기 송진에 자가치유 능력이 있다고 생각해.

en	Noelle goes to such lengths just to mess with Akarsha sometimes...
ko	노엘은 가끔 아카샤를 놀리기 위해 먼 길을 간다….

en	I don't really know what to make of it.
ko	왜 그렇게까지 하게 되는진 모르겠다.

en	This is rosin for string instruments.
ko	현악기용 송진이다.

en	It looks like you can eat it,{w=0.10} but you can't.
ko	먹을 수 있을 것처럼 생겼지만, {w=0.10}사실 아니다.

en	Out of curiosity, Diya checks what Noelle has for lunch today.
ko	디야는 호기심을 참지 못하고, 노엘의 오늘 점심메뉴를 확인한다.

en	Rice porridge. Noelle really likes this.
ko	쌀죽. 노엘이 정말 좋아하는 거다.

en	I shouldn't eat it. I don't have much of an appetite today, anyway.
ko	먹으면 안 되겠다. 어차피 오늘은 식욕도 그다지 없고.

en	Deeper in the lunchbox, there's also a Ziploc bag of neatly peeled apple slices.
ko	도시락 더 안쪽에는 깨끗이 깎인 사과 조각들도 지퍼백 안에 담겨 있다.

en	Thoughtful of your mom to do that.
ko	어머니가 신경 많이 써주셨네.

en	Do what?
ko	뭘?

en	Peel the apple and slice it.
ko	사과껍질 벗겨서 잘라주셨잖아.

en	Most people just eat them whole.
ko	보통은 그냥 통째로 먹는데.

en	I guess she has to show me she loves me somehow.
ko	날 사랑한다는 걸 그렇게라도 보여주려는 것 같아.

en	Since she lacks the emotional maturity to communicate it through words, she's left to express it through actions.
ko	말로 소통하기엔 정서적 성숙도가 부족해서 이런 행동으로 표현할 수밖에 없는 거지.

en	Funny, that sounds like someone else I know.
ko	웃기다. 내가 아는 누구랑도 비슷하네.

en	Are you insinuating I'm the same as her?
ko	지금 내가 우리 엄마랑 똑같다는 거야?

en	Maybe.
ko	그럴지도.

en	I wish I could deny it...
ko	아니라고 하고 싶네….

en	Does your mother do the thing too, where after you have an argument, instead of apologizing, she just silently leaves you a plate of fruit to eat?
ko	너희 엄마도 그래? 말다툼 한 뒤에 사과 대신 말없이 과일 한 접시 먹으라고 놔두고 가고?

en	!

en	I thought it was just my mom who did that.
ko	우리 엄마만 그러는 줄 알았어.

en	It must be an immigrant mother thing.
ko	이민 가족 엄마들은 다 그러나 봐.

en	This is waterproof, right?
ko	이거 방수 되는 거지?

en	If not waterproof, at least water-resistant.
ko	못해도 생활방수 정도는 될걸.

en	Okay. Just checking.
ko	오키. 그냥 물어봤어.

en	It's the Valentine's Day card Min made for me this year.
ko	올해 발렌타인데이에 민이 만들어준 카드다.

en	Every time I see it, I feel happy.
ko	볼 때마다 행복해져.

en	You still haven't taken that home?
ko	집에 아직 안 가져갔어?

en	I'm paranoid my parents will find it if I do.
ko	그랬다간 우리 모부님이 발견할까봐 걱정돼서 노이로제 올 거야.

en	Min said a lot of stuff in it...Even if she were a boy, I don't think they'd be okay with it.
ko	민이 많은 얘길 써놨는데… 걔가 남자애여도 엄마아빠가 가만 안 있을걸.

en	I see...
ko	그렇겠네….

en	Guess I have to move it out of the locker or it'll get soaked and wrinkly, though...
ko	그래도 푹 젖거나 구겨질 수도 있으니까 사물함에서 옮기긴 해야겠어….

en	Diya carefully slips it into her binder's inside pocket.
ko	디야는 조심스레 카드를 바인더 안쪽 포켓에 밀어넣는다.

en	Speaking of Valentine's Day. How's Akarsha's investigation of her secret admirer going.
ko	발렌타인데이 얘기가 나와서 말인데. 아카샤의 비밀 애인 조사는 어떻게 돼가?

en	Awful. And by that, I mean wonderful.
ko	엉망진창이야. 우리한텐 성공적이란 뜻이지.

en	She's utterly lost.
ko	완전 헤매고 있더라.

en	Her list of suspects includes a random guy in our History class, a sophomore she's never uttered a word to before...
ko	우리 역사 수업 때 본 웬 모르는 남자애나, 아카샤랑 대화 한 번 해본 적 없는 2학년생 같은 애들이 용의자 목록에 들어있던데.

en	...And even the lunch lady who once gave her two slices of pizza that were stuck together instead of one.
ko	...그리고, 피자는 원래 한 조각씩인데 피자 두 조각이 달라붙어 있어서 그냥 두 조각 준 적 있는 급식실 아주머니도.

en	Wow.
ko	헤엑.

en	We really can keep this up every Valentine's Day without her realizing it's us.
ko	우리 발렌타인 때마다 진짜 안 들키고 할 수 있겠다.

en	Yes, as long as we don't accidentally let it slip at some point.
ko	그러니까. 이상한 데서 실수하지만 않으면.

en	Diya loves the sound of rain when she's indoors, especially the drum of water on metal.
ko	디야는 실내에서 빗소리 듣는 걸 좋아한다. 특히 물이 금속을 두드리며 내는 경쾌한 소리를.

en	Unfortunately, today she's so consumed with dread over her presentation that she's totally unable to enjoy it.
ko	하지만 안타깝게도 오늘의 디야는 발표를 해야 한다는 두려움에 휩싸여 그 소리를 맘껏 즐기지 못한다.

en	Her next few hours pass in a sleep-deprived haze...
ko	이후 몇시간은 수면부족으로 인한 몽롱한 상태로 지나간다….

en	Diya's stomach churns with dread as she finally walks into her Biology class.
ko	마침내 생물학 수업에 들어서자, 디야는 두려움에 속이 뒤집힌다.

en	It's here...The period of doom...
ko	와버렸어… 멸망의 때가….

en	To her surprise, she finds Min leaning against her desk, waiting for her.
ko	그때 디야는 놀랍게도, 책상에 기댄 채 자신을 기다리는 민을 발견한다.

en	?

en	Why're you here?
ko	여기서 뭐해?

en	You're about to do your presentation, right?
ko	너 이제 곧 발표하잖아?

en	I thought I'd swing by and try to pump you up for it.
ko	들러서 응원 좀 해주려고 했지.

en	Oh. Thanks.
ko	아. 고마워.

en	How do you feel?
ko	기분은 어때?

en	I'm so nervous, my stomach hurts.
ko	너무 긴장돼. 배까지 아파.

en	I even forgot to eat my gummy vitamins this morning.
ko	아침에 비타민 젤리 먹는 것도 깜빡했을 정도야.

en	Each day, Diya looks forward to eating two gummy vitamins.
ko	디야는 매일매일 비타민 젤리 두 알 먹는 시간을 기다린다.

en	Min gives her hand a reassuring squeeze.
ko	민이 위안 어린 손길로 디야의 손을 꾹 잡는다.

en	It'll be okay! You're gonna kill it.
ko	걱정 마! 니가 다 씹어먹을 테니까.

en	You're so cute, there's no way the teacher can give you a bad grade.
ko	니가 이렇게 귀여운데 선생님이 점수를 어떻게 까?

en	If the teacher really graded like that he'd be in jail.
ko	점수 그런 식으로 매기면 선생님 잡혀가.

en	Well, if I were in charge, I'd give you an A.
ko	어쨌든, 우리가 선생이면 난 너한테 A 줬을 거야.

en	Anything I can do to help?
ko	내가 뭐 도와줄 거 있어?

en	Can I have a hug? And a kiss.
ko	안아줄 수 있어? 키스도 해주라.

en	Yeah! Of course!!!
ko	그럼 당연하지!!!

en	Won't people see, though?
ko	근데 딴 애들이 보지 않을까?

en	It's an emergency.
ko	긴급상황이야.

en	Min's face lights up, and she eagerly envelopes Diya in a tight, warm hug.
ko	민의 얼굴이 환해지고, 온 힘을 다해 강하고 따뜻하게 디야를 감싼다.

en	..........
ko	……….

en	..........
ko	……….

en	Min pulls her in for a kiss, but Diya rears back when she smells cigarette smoke on her breath.
ko	민이 키스하려고 디야를 가까이 당기는 순간 민의 숨결에서 담배 냄새를 맡은 디야가 물러난다.

en	Because Diya's so tall, when she doesn't want Min to kiss her, all she has to do is stand up straight.
ko	본인이 한참 크기 때문에, 민이 키스하길 원치 않으면 자세를 똑바로 펴기만 하면 된다.

en	Yuck. Were you smoking again?
ko	윽. 담배 다시 피는 거야?

en	Huh? Yeah...
ko	응? 어어….

en	You should stop.
ko	그만 피워.

en	It's bad for you. Didn't you ever see a D.A.R.E. presentation in elementary school?
ko	몸에 안 좋아. 초등학교 때 약물 남용 저항 교육 받았던 거 기억 안 나?

en	They came to my class, and it was so scary I pledged not to do drugs or peer pressure forever.
ko	우리 반에도 교육 왔었는데, 난 너무 무서워서 절대 약물 안 하고 안 시키겠다고 서약도 했었어.

en	You don't think it looks badass?
ko	근데 그런거 하면 멋있는 빌런 같아 보이지 않아?

en	No. Dare to resist drugs and violence.
ko	아니. 약물에 저항하고 폭력에 저항하기로 했어.

en	How'd you even start doing it?
ko	대체 어쩌다 하게 된 거야?

en	Back in Florida, I mostly hung out with a group of guys who smoked.
ko	플로리다 있을 때 나랑 노는 애들이 대부분 담배를 피웠거든.

en	And we'd set things on fire and do other dangerous stuff.
ko	뭐 갖다놓고 불 피우거나 위험한 짓도 좀 했고.

en	..........
ko	……….

en	I'm really glad she's over here with me now...
ko	지금은 나랑 여기 있어서 정말 다행이다….

en	But those guys aren't here anymore. So why keep doing it.
ko	이젠 걔네도 없잖아. 근데 왜 계속 피우는 거야.

en	It was a pain to get the cigarettes in the first place, since stores won't sell them to people under 18.
ko	처음엔 구하는 것부터가 어려워. 18살 미만한테는 가게에서 담배를 안 파니까.

en	So it feels like a waste not to use them.
ko	그러니까 외않되냐? 싶더라고.

en	And I thought it'd make me look hot.
ko	그리고 담배 피면 섹시해보이는 거 같길래.

en	You look hot when your hair's all messed up from kissing me.
ko	넌 나랑 키스하고 머리 다 헝클어졌을 때가 섹시해.

en	Not when your mouth tastes bad and I can't even kiss you.
ko	입에서 안 좋은 냄새 날 때 말고. 그럼 키스하기도 싫어.

en	Noelle scowls as she sits down at her desk.
ko	노엘이 자리에 와 앉으며 얼굴을 찌푸린다.

en	You're seriously still smoking?! You need to get your life in order.
ko	너 진심 담배를 아직도 펴?! 똑바로 좀 살자.

en	I don't need to hear it from you, too!
ko	너나 잘해!

en	I don't even do it that often!
ko	자주 피는 것도 아니거든!

en	Aren't you going to be tardy for your class? The bell's going to ring in about a minute.
ko	너 수업 지각 안 해? 1분 정도 있으면 벨 울리는데.

en	Oh, shit! I better run.
ko	오 쉣! 달려간다.

en	Go, I'll live. Probably.
ko	가. 난 살아남을 거야. 아마도.

en	Tell me how it goes later!
ko	어떻게 됐는지 이따 알려줘!

en	Min sprints off!
ko	민은 전속력으로 달려나간다!

en	Seconds later, the bell rings.
ko	그리고 곧, 벨이 울린다.

en	D'you think she made it?
ko	쟤 제때 도착할 거 같아?

en	I couldn't care less.
ko	노관심.

en	Min is so cool. But I hope she stops smoking...
ko	민 너무 멋있어. 그래도 담배는 그만 피웠음 좋겠다….

en	They say people don't change, but I hope that's not true.
ko	사람은 안 변한다는 말도 있지만, 틀린 말이면 좋겠어.

en	It's too sad if it is.
ko	만약 맞으면 속상할 테니까.

en	As another group starts presenting at the front of the class, Diya wipes her clammy palms on her hoodie.
ko	다른 조가 교실 앞에 나가 발표를 시작하고, 디야는 식은땀으로 끈적해진 손을 후드티에 닦는다.

en	We're gonna get called up any minute now...
ko	몇 분 후면 우리 조 발표하라고 부를 텐데….

en	Diya, please try not to panic.
ko	디야, 부탁이니까 패닉은 하지 마.

en	When you're not speaking, you can hide behind me if you have to. Just don't bolt off.
ko	도저히 말이 안 나오면 내 뒤에 숨어도 되니까, 도망치지만 마.

en	Okay.
ko	알았어.

en	Can I hide behind you too?
ko	나도 니 뒤에 숨어도 돼?

en	NO.
ko	아니.

en	No fair! How come Diya gets to, but not me?
ko	너무해! 왜 디야는 되고 나는 안 돼?

en	There's no reason for you to! We'll look like we're doing those dances where everyone's standing behind one person and waving their arms!
ko	넌 그럴 필요 없잖아! 너까지 숨으면 다같이 한 명 뒤에 서서 팔 웨이브하는 춤처럼 될 거 아냐!

en	And you'd better not do that horrendous British accent.
ko	그리고 너, 그 끔찍한 영국 억양 쓰지 마.

en	Why not? It'll be a hit.
ko	왜? 팔릴 것 같은데.

en	More like a hit on our grade. Accents aren't a proper example of divergent evolution.
ko	우리 점수를 팔아치우게 되겠지. 억양은 발산 진화의 적절한 예시도 아니잖아.

en	But we need stuff to spice our presentation up. It's drier than the Sahara Desert.
ko	근데 우리 발표엔 조미료가 좀 필요하다고. 지금처럼 했다간 너무 건조하고 차가워서 얼어죽겠어.

en	So? This is a Biology project, not a circus performance.
ko	뭐 어때서? 이게 생물학 과제지 서커스 무대는 아니잖아.

en	Before Noelle can press Akarsha any further, the first group finishes their presentation to scattered applause.
ko	노엘이 아카샤를 더 밀어붙이기도 전에, 첫번째 조가 발표를 마치고 박수가 쏟아진다.

en	Alright, it's our turn.
ko	됐네. 우리 차례다.

en	Come on, Diya, let's do this.
ko	이리 와, 디야. 나가자.

en	!!!!!!!!!!!

en	Diya feels like she's having an out-of-body experience as she follows Noelle and Akarsha to the front of the class.
ko	노엘과 아카샤 뒤를 따라 반 앞으로 나가는 동안 디야는 혼이 빠져나가는 느낌이다.

en	As Noelle brings up their PowerPoint on the computer, Diya hides behind her and nervously looks out at the class sitting before them...
ko	노엘이 컴퓨터에 파워포인트를 옮기고, 디야는 그 뒤에 숨어 앞에 앉은 반 아이들을 불안하게 둘러본다.

en	I should've worn clothes that blended in with the classroom better so no one can see me!
ko	교실 색깔이랑 똑같은 색 옷을 입을걸. 그랬으면 애들이 날 못 봤을 텐데!

en	Like beige colored! I should've thought of that earlier!
ko	베이지 색 같은 거! 이런 생각이 왜 이제야 나는 거야!

en	It's over...It's curtains for me...
ko	끝이야… 종말이다….

en	Hello, everyone. We've been tasked with reviewing the patterns of macroevolution.
ko	안녕하세요, 여러분. 저희 조 과제는 거시적 진화의 패턴을 조사하는 것이었습니다.

en	The audience begins to nod off as soon as Noelle flicks to a slide with an essay crammed onto it in ten point font.
ko	노엘이 10포인트짜리 글씨로 적힌 에세이가 가득 찬 슬라이드로 장을 넘기자 관객들은 고개를 꾸벅이기 시작한다.

en	Let's begin with the obvious question...What is macroevolution? To understand this, we must first consider...
ko	뻔한 질문으로 시작해보겠습니다… 거시적 진화란 뭘까요? 이것을 이해하기 위해 우리는 먼저 이 부분을…

en	By the time Noelle is done droning through her last tome of a slide, half the classroom is asleep.
ko	노엘이 방대한 발표 슬라이드의 마지막 장을 다 훑었을 때쯤, 교실의 반이 잠들어 있다.

en	Akarsha shakes her head and sighs as she clicks to her first slide. It opens with an illustration of a finch's head.
ko	아카샤는 고개를 젓고 한숨을 쉬며 자기 차례의 슬라이드 첫장을 클릭한다. 핀치 새의 머리가 그려진 그림이 열린다.

en	Aight. So, divergent evolution...
ko	네. 다음은, 발산 진화…

en	An explosion sound effect plays as five more finches with different beak shapes blast onto the screen, jolting their classmates back awake.
ko	그때 제각기 다른 부리 모양을 한 핀치 새 다섯 마리가 화면에 튀어나오며 폭발음이 터지고, 반 학생들이 깜짝 놀라 일어난다.

en	It's when populations from a common ancestor adapt to different pressures and become more different over time.
ko	공통 조상을 가진 집단들이 서로 다른 압력에 적응하면서, 시간이 지남에 따라 더욱 달라지는 시기입니다.

en	Just like how yer average New Yawker tawks like dis! Different from ova heah!
ko	당신네 뉴요커들이 이렇게 말하는 것춰뤔요우! 우리랑은 엄췅 달라욜!

en	She just switched it from a British accent to a New York one...
ko	영국 대신 뉴욕 억양 쓰고 있네….

en	Oh, well. Maybe the teacher will think it's funny.
ko	뭐, 선생님은 재밌다고 생각할지도 모르지.

en	...................
ko	…………….

en	You can let this slide, Noelle. Just hold it in until after the presentation's over.
ko	참아, 노엘. 발표 끝날 때까지만.

en	ACTUALLY, accents don't count as divergent evolution. New Yorkers aren't another species from us!
ko	사실, 억양은 발산 진화로 간주되지 않습니다. 뉴요커가 우리와 종이 다른 건 아니지요!

en	They're not so different they can't produce fertile offspring with other humans!
ko	적어도 다른 인간과 함께 가임 자손을 낳을 수 없을 정도로 다르지는 않습니다!

en	But if dey keep tings up at dis rate, dat might change.
ko	하쥐뫈 케속 이런 쉬기묜 또 모르죠우.

en	Dink about it. Would {i}you{/i} reproduce wit someone who tawks like dis??
ko	생각해 보세요우. 당신같으미욘 이뤄퀘 말하는 싸뢈과 번쉭을 할 수 있나요우?

en	Wh...what?! I don't see how that's relevant!
ko	뭐… 뭔 소리야?! 그거랑 대체 무슨 상관인데!

en	Just admit your example is invalid already!
ko	예시가 부적절했다고 인정이나 해!

en	Oh, yeah?
ko	오우, 그래요우?

en	Akarsha clicks the mouse. A stock photo of a gravestone appears on the slide with the pinwheel transition.
ko	아카샤는 마우스를 클릭한다. 바람개비 모양의 화면 전환 효과와 함께, 사진 스톡 사이트에서 구했을 묘비 사진이 슬라이드에 나타난다.

en	What if dat was your gravestone? What then?
ko	저게 탕신의 묘비롸면요우? 어뛀 궛 같나요우?

en	DID YOU ADD THIS TO THE POWERPOINT JUST TO USE AS A COMEBACK?!
ko	{b}너 나한테 반박하려고 우리 피피티에다 저걸 넣은 거야?!{/b}

en	The class giggles as Akarsha clowns through her slides, but Diya's stomach churns as they stare at the front of the room with renewed interest...
ko	아카샤가 슬라이드로 너스레를 떨자 반 학생들은 낄낄거리지만, 아이들이 흥미롭게 앞을 바라보기 시작하자 디야는 속이 좋지 않다….

en	I don't wanna be here...I wish I could time travel to 30 minutes from now...
ko	도망가고 싶다… 타임머신 타고 30분 후로 가버리고 싶어….

en	And wit dat, I pass tings ova to my buddy Diya.
ko	그뤔 이줴, 내 췬구 디야에게 바통 터치 하겠써요우.

en	.........!!!!
ko	………!!!!

en	When Diya doesn't move from her hiding spot behind Noelle, Noelle steps to the side, exposing her to the audience's view.
ko	디야가 노엘 뒤에 숨은 채로 나오지 않자, 디야가 보이도록 노엘이 옆으로 한 발 나와 선다.

en	Diya takes a deep shaky breath before quickly rattling off the speech she's mentally rehearsed hundreds of times over the past 24 hours.
ko	디야는 떨리는 숨을 깊이 들이쉬고는 지난 24시간 동안 머릿속에서 수백 번 반복했던 대사를 우다다 뱉어낸다.

en	{small}Convergent evolution is the independent evolution of similar traits in species that are only distantly related. For example, giant pandas have six fingers and their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures.{/small}
ko	{small}수렴 진화는 서로 관련성이 적은 종들이 각각 비슷한 특성을 보이며 진화하는 것입니다. 예를 들어, 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개이고 이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지처럼 다른 손가락과 맞댈 수 있습니다. 이렇게 특징이 비슷한 것을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다.{/small}

en	After barrelling through the slide in a matter of seconds, Diya quickly flips to the next one, her hands shaking from nerves.
ko	단 몇 초만에 한 슬라이드의 내용을 전부 주파하고, 디야는 긴장감에 손을 떨며 바로 다음 장으로 넘어간다.

en	{small}Another example of convergent evolution are birds and bats. Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...{/small}
ko	{small}수렴 진화의 또 다른 예시는 새와 박쥐입니다. 새와 박쥐라는 두 개의 그룹은 각각 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…{/small}

en	She manages to zoom through the rest of the presentation in about a minute flat.
ko	그렇게 PPT의 나머지 페이지도 1분 만에 주파해낸다.

en	After their classmates give them a tepid round of applause, Diya follows Noelle and Akarsha back to her seat in a daze...
ko	반 친구들이 미지근한 박수갈채를 보내고, 멍한 상태의 디야는 노엘과 아카샤를 따라 자리로 돌아간다….

en	Well, at least that's over with...
ko	뭐, 어쨌든 끝은 났네….

en	It's over!!! I'm free!!!!
ko	끝났다!!! 난 자유야!!!!

en	See? That wasn't so bad, was it?
ko	거봐. 생각보다 별로 안 힘들지?

en	Actually, it was.
ko	아니. 힘들었어.

en	Think I'll be quiet for the rest of the day to recover from that...
ko	회복하려면 남은 하루 동안은 조용히 있어야겠어…

en	After school
ko	방과 후

en	To Diya's relief, the weather clears up just in time for the baseball club meeting.
ko	디야에겐 다행스럽게도 야구부 회의 시간에 딱 맞춰 날씨가 개었다.

en	"Sakura" goes up to bat, and Diya readies herself to catch Min's next pitch.
ko	'사쿠라'가 타석에 서고, 디야는 민의 다음 투구를 잡을 준비를 한다.

en	Besides Min's signature knuckler, the only pitch she knows is a fastball.
ko	시그니처 너클볼 말고 민이 던질 수 있는 건 직구 뿐이야.

en	It's pretty mediocre compared to her knuckleball, so she rarely uses it except during practice like this.
ko	그 너클볼에 비하면 꽤 평범해서 이런 연습 때가 아니면 잘 안 던지지만.

en	Min hurls one of those fastballs to "Sakura"...
ko	민이 '사쿠라'에게 바로 그 직구를 던진다…

en	!

en	"Sakura" flinches as she gets drilled on the shoulder by the baseball.
ko	'사쿠라'가 공에 맞아 몸을 움츠린다.

en	Ow!
ko	으악!

en	Shit, oops...
ko	으앗, 씨…

en	You okay over there?
ko	괜찮아?

en	Yeah, I'm good. I don't think that broke anything.
ko	어, 괜찮아. 어디 부러진 것 같진 않아.

en	Walk it off!
ko	그래. 나아지게 좀 움직이면 돼!

en	At least if this were a game, you'd get to head over to first base as a consolation prize.
ko	진짜 시합에서는, 니가 데드볼을 맞은 거라 1루로 진루할 수 있어.

en	Wait...So getting hit is like a free pass to first base?
ko	잠깐… 얻어맞으면 1루까지 공짜 진출이라고?

en	It's not free. It hurts!
ko	공짜라니. 아프거든!

en	"Sakura" walks off, rubbing her shoulder. Akarsha eagerly takes her place at the plate.
ko	'사쿠라' 가 어깨를 문지르며 퇴장하고, 아카샤가 의욕 넘치게 홈플레이트에 자리를 잡는다.

en	Min throws a pitch her way...
ko	민이 그에게 공을 던진다…

en	But instead of swinging the bat, Akarsha purposefully leans in toward the ball!
ko	그런데 아카샤는 방망이를 휘두르는 대신, 일부러 공을 향해 몸을 기울인다!

en	?!

en	It narrowly misses her, and Diya manages to recover from her surprise in time to catch it.
ko	공은 아슬아슬하게 비껴나가고, 당황하던 디야가 곧 침착함을 되찾고 그 공을 받아낸다.

en	The fuck's wrong with you?!
ko	넌 애가 대체 왜 그러냐?!

en	I'm becoming a hit-by-pitch specialist.
ko	공 맞기 스페셜리스트가 되려고.

en	If I can master getting beaned as much as possible, it'll guarantee I always make it to first base.
ko	얻어맞기 마스터하면 1루 출루는 확정이잖아.

en	Why would you do that instead of just hitting the ball?
ko	왜 배트로 맞추는 대신 그 길을 택하는 거야?

en	Hitting the ball is so fun.
ko	공 때리는 거 재밌는데.

en	Hit me! I know you wanna!
ko	나한테 던져보시지! 맞추고 싶을 텐데!

en	Stop making this weird!
ko	이상한 짓 좀 그만해!

en	Homophobic hate crime...
ko	동성애 혐오하네….

en	What???
ko	뭐라고???

en	The B in LGBT stands for Baseball. Just sayin'...
ko	LGBT에서 B가 베이스볼(야구)이잖아. 그냥 말해봤어~.

en	Yeah??! WELL I THINK THE B IS FOR BITCH!!!
ko	아 그러냐??! 이 B친 새끼야!!!

en	Having lost her patience, Min beans Akarsha on purpose.
ko	이성의 끈이 끊긴 민이 아카샤의 몸 쪽으로 공을 던져버린다.

en	Owie!!!
ko	꺄악!!!

en	.........
ko	……….

en	If you keep this up, the B in LGBT is gonna stand for Broken Bones...
ko	니네, 계속하면 LGBT의 B는 'B 오는 날 먼지나게 처맞기'가 될 거야….

en	After practice, Diya slings a big equipment bag over each of her shoulders and hauls them to the locker room.
ko	연습이 끝난 후. 디야가 커다란 장비 가방을 어깨에 걸쳐메고 라커룸으로 나른다.

en	I'm being so helpful.
ko	나 일 진짜 잘하네.

en	I hope someone notices how many bags I'm carrying.
ko	이렇게 많이 옮기는 거 누가 알아보면 좋겠다.

en	Wow, Diya, you're carrying two bags at once!
ko	우와, 디야. 한 번에 두 개를 옮겨?!

en	Thank you for helping!
ko	잘해줘서 너무 고맙다!

en	.........
ko	……….

en	Diya happily heads up the hill with a spring in her step.
ko	행복해진 디야는 발걸음도 가볍게 언덕을 오른다.

en	Say, Diya, do you watch The Bachelor?
ko	근데 디야, '더 베첼러' 봤어?

en	Bewildered, Diya shakes her head.
ko	디야는 당황하며 고개를 젓는다.

en	What is that? A show?
ko	그게 뭐지? 티비 프로그램인가?

en	I don't watch much TV except sports, Animal Planet, and the Discovery Channel.
ko	난 스포츠랑 '애니멀 플래닛', 그리고 디스커버리 채널 말고는 TV를 잘 안 보니까.

en	So when people talk about movies and shows, I usually don't know any of them.
ko	영화나 티비 프로그램 얘기 나오면 잘 모르는 경우가 대부분이야.

en	You should try it, we need more people to talk about it with!
ko	너도 한 번 봐봐. 같이 보는 사람 좀 많아지게!

en	My mom and I started watching it this season and we're obsessed.
ko	엄마랑 이번 시즌부터 보기 시작했는데 우리 둘 다 완전 푹 빠졌어.

en	What's it about?
ko	무슨 내용이길래?

en	Basically, thirty women try to date the same guy at the same time.
ko	주 내용은 여자 30명이 남자 1명이랑 다 같이 데이트를 하는 거야.

en	Each week, the guy eliminates some of them until finally, he proposes to the last one standing.
ko	한 주마다 남자가 여자 중에 몇명을 떨어트리고, 마지막에 남은 단 한 사람한테 청혼을 해.

en	My mom would definitely never watch that with me. She'd be so scandalized.
ko	우리 엄만 절대 나랑 같이 안 보겠다. 너무 품위 없어진다고.

en	Your mom likes watching shows like this?
ko	너희 어머닌 그런 프로그램 보는 거 좋아하셔?

en	Yeah, she's the one who got into it first.
ko	응. 엄마가 먼저 보기 시작했어.

en	She spread it to us like a virus and now we're infected too.
ko	여기저기 바이러스처럼 전염시키더니 나까지 전염시켰어.

en	The way you put that makes it sound like a zombie apocalypse...
ko	무슨 좀비 아포칼립스물처럼 말하네….

en	Wish I had something like that with my parents.
ko	나도 부모님이랑 그런 거 있음 좋겠다.

en	I feel like I have nothing in common with them.
ko	엄마아빠랑은 공통점이 하나도 없는 것 같아.

en	They don't try to get you into the things they like?
ko	본인들이 좋아하는 거 같이 하자고 안 하셔?

en	Not really.
ko	응, 안 해.

en	For instance, I initially got into baseball 'cause my dad is...well...
ko	나같은 경우에는 부모님 따라 야구를 시작한 거거든. 우리 아빠는… 음…

en	Alright, there's no nice way to put this. My dad's really weird.
ko	에휴, 좋게 말할 방법이 없네. 우리 아빤 너무 괴짜야.

en	There definitely could've been a nicer way to put that.
ko	그것보다 좋게 말할 방법이 없진 않을 텐데….

en	Whenever he drives, he makes us listen to radio broadcasts of Mariners games.
ko	아빠가 운전할 땐 가족들 다 무조건 마리너스 팀 라디오 경기 들어야 돼.

en	The Mariners? You're not even from Seattle.
ko	마리너스? 너넨 원래 시애틀 출신도 아니잖아.

en	Ichiro is an incredible player, though.
ko	이치로가 엄청난 선수긴 하지.

en	But he's a weirdo...The guy only decided to stay in Seattle because his dog told him to.
ko	우리 아빠 진짜 이상하다니까… 지금도 우리집 강아지가 시애틀에 더 있자고 해서 그러고 있는 거래.

en	So? I would stay in Seattle if my dog told me to, too.
ko	그게 왜? 나도 내 강아지가 그러라면 남아있을 건데.

en	He does grow on you. They're all such strange lil' guys.
ko	세상에 이상한 강아지가 정말 많구나. 우리 아빠가 너 좋아하겠다.

en	I think that's just your Stockholm Syndrome speaking.
ko	너 스톡홀름 증후군 같은데.

en	Who knows, maybe it is.
ko	그런 걸지도 모르고.

en	As for my mom, her thing is Madonna CDs. I could sing every word of True Blue since kindergarten.
ko	반면에 엄마가 운전하면 무조건 마돈나 CD. 난 유치원생 때부터 '트루 블루' 수록곡을 한 글자도 빠짐없이 부를 수 있었어.

en	Isn't the first song about a teenage girl not wanting to get an abortion?!
ko	그거 첫 곡이 임신중절 하기 싫다는 십대 여자애 얘기 아니었어?!

en	I didn't say I {i}understood{/i} every word.
ko	한 글자도 빠짐없이 '이해했다' 곤 안 했다.

en	Maybe listening to all that Madonna did something to you as a little kid.
ko	니가 어릴 때 마돈나 노랠 그렇게 들어서 지금 이런가 보다.

en	Excuse me? What was that?
ko	저기요? 무슨 뜻이죠?

en	I take it back! I take it back!
ko	취소할게! 취소!

en	I have no clue what kind of music my mom likes. All I know are which songs she hates on the radio.
ko	난 우리 엄마가 어떤 노래를 좋아하는지 전혀 몰라. 아는 거라곤 엄마가 라디오에서 들리는 걸 싫어하는 노래 정도지.

en	And she doesn't know what kind of music I like, either. Or my favorite movie, or favorite color, anything like that.
ko	엄마도 내가 어떤 노래를 좋아하는지 몰라. 내 최애 영화도, 좋아하는 색깔도, 전부 다.

en	I've known her my whole life and we still don't even know basic facts about each other.
ko	태어나서 평생 엄마랑 같이 살았는데 우린 서로에 대해서 기본적인 것조차 몰라.

en	That's so sad. I wanna have a good relationship with my parents, too...
ko	속상하다. 나도 부모님이랑 사이 좋았으면 좋겠어…

en	Diya listens to her teammates chat as she changes out of her baseball uniform.
ko	야구복을 갈아입던 디야는 팀 동료들의 대화를 듣게 된다.

en	Kyaaa! Don't look at my hairy legs!
ko	꺄아악! 내 다리 부숭부숭하니까 보지 마!

en	I haven't shaved for like, two days.
ko	안 민지 이틀 됐어.

en	You shave that often? I just do it when it starts looking gnarly.
ko	그렇게 자주 밀어? 난 좀 심해질 때만 미는데.

en	Your hair's not all coarse and gross like mine.
ko	넌 나처럼 굵고 징그럽게 안 나서 그래.

en	I have to do it every other day or I start looking like a gorilla.
ko	난 이틀에 한 번씩 안 밀면 고릴라 돼.

en	Girls are supposed to shave...??!
ko	여자들은 털을 미는 거였어...??!

en	????????????????????

en	I've always wondered why no one's leg hair is really obvious except for mine.
ko	왜 나만 남들이랑 다르게 다리털이 있나 궁금했었는데.

en	That must be the secret...
ko	그런 거였구나….

en	Good thing I'm wearing long pants that cover up my legs.
ko	다리 다 덮이는 긴 바지 입고 있어서 다행이다.

en	Suddenly self-conscious, Diya inspects her arm hair...
ko	갑작스레 자기 모습이 의식되기 시작한 디야는 팔에 있는 털도 관찰한다….

en	Even my arm hair is pretty obvious. My hair's just all really thick and dark...
ko	팔 털도 엄청 잘 보이네. 난 털이 굵고 색도 짙어….

en	There's even hair on my fingers...Is that normal?!
ko	손가락에도 털이 있네… 원래 이런가?!

en	Maybe everyone's secretly judging me when they see it...
ko	다들 속으로 안 좋게 보고 있었을지도 몰라….

en	After the club meeting, Diya gets into her mom's car with renewed determination.
ko	팀 회의가 끝나고, 디야는 새로운 결심과 함께 엄마 차에 올라탄다.

en	How was your day at school?
ko	학교는 어땠어?

en	Okay.
ko	괜찮았어.

en	Did the presentation go well?
ko	발표는 잘 했어?

en	Think so. Just glad it's over.
ko	그런 것 같아. 그냥 끝나서 좋아.

en	When I grow up I'm going to find a job where I never have to talk to people.
ko	난 나중에 크면 사람들이랑 대화 안 해도 되는 직업 가질 거야.

en	Diya's mom smiles knowingly and shakes her head.
ko	디야의 엄마는 안다는 듯 미소 지으며 고개를 끄덕인다.

en	I'm the same way. I'm embarrassed of my accent, and it makes phone calls so scary.
ko	엄마도 그러고 싶어. 어색한 발음이 민망해서 통화하기도 불편하고.

en	Talking to workers in stores makes me so nervous, too.
ko	가게 점원들이랑 대화할 때도 긴장되지.

en	Me, too. I wish we could write questions on a piece of paper and they have to write their answer back, too.
ko	나도. 우리가 종이에 궁금한 거 적어서 넘기면 상대방이 답변 적어서 돌려주면 좋겠어.

en	Yes! It'd be the best if you could slip the paper through an opening in the wall, so they don't even know what you look like.
ko	맞아! 사람들이 우릴 못 보면 제일 좋고. 벽에 난 구멍에 종이를 그냥 밀어넣게 해서.

en	Wow...I'm enjoying talking to my mom!
ko	와… 엄마랑 하는 대화가 재밌다니!

en	I guess it's only natural that we have some things in common. I forget that sometimes.
ko	우리한테 공통점이 있는 건 당연한 거겠지. 가끔 그걸 잊어버리지만.

en	She used to do long-distance running in India, and she always encouraged me to play sports because it was good for my health.
ko	엄마는 인도에서 장거리 달리기를 했었고, 내가 스포츠 하는 것도 건강에 좋다고 응원해줬었어.

en	Maybe I can ask her about something else that's been bothering me.
ko	내가 가진 고민을 좀 더 나눠도 될지도 몰라.

en	Emboldened by her success, Diya speaks up as they sit at a red light.
ko	엄마와의 성공적인 대화 덕에 디야는 대담해진다. 차가 빨간 불에 멈춰있는 동안 말을 꺼낸다.

en	Can you get razors next time you go shopping?
ko	다음에 쇼핑 갈 때 면도기 좀 사다줄 수 있어?

en	Razors?! What for?
ko	면도기를?! 왜?

en	To shave. My leg hair is really long.
ko	면도하려고. 나 다리털이 너무 길어.

en	Diya's heart sinks as her mom wrinkles her nose with distaste.
ko	엄마가 불쾌하게 인상을 찌푸리는 모습에 디야의 심장이 가라앉는다.

en	Don't do it. Shaving will make the hair grow back thicker and darker.
ko	하지마. 털 밀면 더 두껍고 시꺼매져.

en	That doesn't sound true. Pretty sure that's a myth.
ko	에이, 그건 미신 같은데.

en	No, it's true. Shaving is a terrible idea.
ko	아니, 진짜야. 면도하면 안 좋다, 너.

en	But all the other girls at school are doing it.
ko	우리 학교 애들은 다 하는데.

en	That's because it's Christian culture. Our family doesn't follow those rules.
ko	걔들은 기독교라 그렇지. 우리집은 그런 거 안 한다.

en	Why do you want to shave so bad, anyway?
ko	왜 그렇게 면도를 하고 싶어 해, 근데?

en	Are you trying to show yourself off to boys?
ko	남자애들한테 잘 보이려고 그래?

en	??? No...
ko	아니…???

en	You're too young. Who is it for?
ko	아직 한참 어린 애가. 대체 누굴 보여주려고?

en	Do you have a boyfriend?!
ko	남자친구 생겼어?!

en	No.
ko	아니야.

en	Are you sure?? Look at me.
ko	정말이야?? 엄마 봐봐.

en	Good thing I can actually answer this honestly.
ko	적어도 이건 솔직하게 대답할 수 있어서 다행이네.

en	I'm not lying. I don't have a boyfriend.
ko	거짓말 아냐. 남자친구 없어.

en	Her mom scrutinizes Diya's face for a moment before turning away, seemingly satisfied.
ko	잠시 디야의 얼굴을 뜯어본 엄마는 안심한 듯 고개를 돌린다.

en	Good, because you need to focus on school. The right time to date is in college.
ko	잘됐네. 넌 지금 학업에 집중할 때니까. 연애는 대학 가서 하면 돼.

en	That's when you'll be able to find a nice boy who meets all the requirements.
ko	대학만 가면 조건 딱 맞는 괜찮은 남자애 사귈 수 있어.

en	...Requirements? What requirements.
ko	…조건이라니? 무슨 조건.

en	You know, just the regular ones.
ko	알잖아. 그냥 당연한 것들.

en	Someone who's Hindu like us, doesn't smoke, and has high income.
ko	우리처럼 힌두교인이고, 담배 안 피고, 돈 잘 버는 사람이어야지.

en	...Yeah, I definitely can't tell her about Min.
ko	…역시 민 얘긴 절대 못하겠네.

en	What if I wanted to date someone different? Like a non-Indian person?
ko	내가 그 조건에 안 맞는 사람이랑 사귀고 싶다면? 인도인이 아니라든지?

en	No, a white person wouldn't understand our culture.
ko	안 돼. 백인들은 우리 문화 이해 못해.

en	Plus, whites do drugs and don't know how to save money.
ko	마약이나 하고, 저금할 줄도 모르는 인간들인데.

en	Just remember no BMWs. No Blacks, Muslims, or Whites.
ko	기억해 놔. "흑무백 금지". 흑인 금지, 무슬림 금지, 백인 금지.

en	That's so racist...I don't even wanna know what she thinks of Korean people.
ko	인종차별 엄청나네… 한국인은 어떻게 생각하는지 알고 싶지도 않다.

en	What you want is unrealistic.
ko	너무 비현실적인 희망이잖아.

en	How can you immigrate to a country where we're less than 1%% of the population and then expect me to marry the way you did in India?
ko	인도인이 인구의 1%도 안 되는 나라로 이민 와놓고서 어떻게 나까지 엄마가 인도에서 했던 식으로 결혼하길 바랄 수 있어?

en	It's not unrealistic, my friend Himaja's daughter did it.
ko	비현실적이긴, 엄마 친구 히마자네 딸도 그렇게 했어.

en	You're not any less pretty or smart than she is! You can find a way too.
ko	니가 걔에 비해 얼굴이 빠지길 해, 머리가 빠지길 해? 너도 하면 되지.

en	It's not that easy. I can't control who I fall in love with.
ko	그게 그런 게 아니잖아. 사랑할 사람을 어떻게 머리로 택해.

en	If I fall in love with someone who doesn't match your criteria, I'm not going to turn them away just for you.
ko	엄마 기준에 안 맞는 사람이랑 사귀게 돼도 엄마 맘 편하라고 헤어지진 않을 거야.

en	No, that's not right. If you marry a waste fellow, what will other people think?
ko	얘가 왜 이래. 변변찮은 놈이랑 결혼하면 사람들이 뭐라고 생각하겠어?

en	Wh...Why does it matter what "other people" think?
ko	대체… 다른 사람들 생각이 왜 그렇게 중요한데?

en	My opinion should be the most important one.
ko	내 의견이 가장 중요해야 하잖아.

en	No, this is bigger than just you. You have to consider how it affects everyone, like your parents.
ko	결혼은 너 혼자 하는 게 아니야. 엄마아빠랑 주변 사람들한테 미칠 영향까지 생각을 해야지.

en	If you marry a white man, everyone will think you're a self-hating Indian, and your parents didn't raise you with correct values.
ko	백인이랑 결혼하잖아, 사람들 다 니가 인도인인 걸 자기혐오한다고 생각해. 부모가 잘못 키워서 가치 판단도 못한다고.

en	It already looks bad enough that we let you quit Carnatic music because you wanted to play baseball.
ko	*카르나틱 음악 관두고 야구 하게 뒀다고 벌써 네 부모 나쁘게들 볼텐데. {small}*카르나틱 음악 : 인도 고전 음악 장르 중 하나.{/small}

en	So you're asking me to give up my whole life in exchange for ten seconds of approval from some aunties??
ko	그럼 이모들이 해줄 그 잠깐의 인정을 위해 내 평생을 포기하라는 거야?

en	I had to marry within my parents' requirements too.
ko	엄마도 할머니 할아버지가 말씀하시는 조건에 맞춰서 결혼했어.

en	Just because you put up with mistreatment from them doesn't mean I should put up with the same thing from you.
ko	엄마가 두 분한테 부당한 일을 당했다고 나까지 같은 일을 당해야 하는 건 아니잖아.

en	{i}Mistreatment?{/i} I turned out perfectly fine, how can it be mistreatment?
ko	{b}부당해?{/b} 엄만 지금 이렇게 잘 지내는데, 그게 어떻게 부당해?

en	I don't think you turned out fine at all...
ko	어딜 봐서 잘 지낸다는 거야…

en	Your way of thinking about this, that's the way of thinking from Christian countries.
ko	너 지금 하는 얘기, 기독교 나라에서나 하는 생각이야.

en	Indians aren't like that. They're not so selfish.
ko	인도 사람들은 그렇게 이기적이지 않아.

en	Well, this isn't India. I'm American.
ko	근데 여긴 인도가 아니잖아. 난 미국 사람이고.

en	What, you think you're white?
ko	그럼 니가 백인이라는 거야?

en	It doesn't matter where you are, you're still Indian. You have to honor your culture.
ko	어딨든 간에 넌 인도 사람이야. 인도 문화를 존중해야지.

en	Why do I have to follow the rules of a country I've never lived in before?
ko	살아본 적도 없는 나라 규칙을 어떻게 따르라는 거야?

en	As long as you're under our roof, you will. This is an Indian household.
ko	엄마 집에 사는 한은 따라야지. 우리 집안은 인도 집안이니까.

en	...............
ko	………….

en	Could it be that my mom thinks people don't change...because SHE doesn't change?
ko	‘사람 안 변한다’는 말… 엄마 얘기였어?

en	It's like her opinions are frozen in time, from twenty years ago when she left India.
ko	20년 전 인도 떠날 때 그대로 생각이 딱딱하게 굳어버렸는데.

en	And they never shifted to match the world around her. They're just stuck.
ko	환경이 변해도 바뀌질 않았어. 자기 세계에 갇혀서.

en	They spend the rest of the drive home in stony silence.
ko	두 사람은 집으로 가는 남은 길을 굳은 침묵 속에 보냈다.

en	The next day
ko	다음 날

en	.......!!!!!

en	Diya hits her alarms and flops back in bed.
ko	디야는 알람시계를 끄고 다시 침대로 쓰러진다.

en	Her morning routine includes lying in bed for 10 minutes thinking about how tired she is.
ko	침대에 10분 정도 누운 채 너무너무 피곤하다고 생각하는 게 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.

en	{cps=0}Her morning routine includes lying in bed for 10 minutes thinking about how tired she is. {/cps}
ko	{cps=0}침대에 10분 정도 누운 채 너무너무 피곤하다고 생각하는 게 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다. {/cps}

en	Ugghhhhhghghhhghhh...Ggggggh...
ko	으어엉허어ㅓㅎ어어어어...으으으으...

en	Suddenly, her bedroom door squeaks open.
ko	그때 갑자기 침실 문이 삐걱 하고 열린다.

en	I need to head out early today.
ko	엄마 오늘 일찍 나가야 돼.

en	Here, I'll put your lunch into your backpack.
ko	자, 네 점심. 책가방에 넣어둘게.

en	Diya's blood runs cold as her mom unzips her backpack.
ko	엄마가 책가방을 여는 순간 디야는 피가 식는 느낌이다.

en	!!!

en	She'll see the Valentine's Day card!
ko	발렌타인 카드를 들키겠어!

en	Diya bolts upright and snatches the backpack from her mom's grasp.
ko	디야는 번개처럼 튀어올라 엄마 손에서 책가방을 낚아챈다.

en	I'll put it in myself.
ko	내가 넣을게.

en	Why are you being so secretive?
ko	왜 그렇게 숨기는 게 많아?

en	I can't even look in my own child's backpack anymore?
ko	이젠 내 자식 책가방도 못 보게 해?

en	I'm not a baby. I should get to have privacy, too.
ko	어린애도 아니고. 나도 사생활이 있어.

en	Diya's mom sighs as Diya puts her bagged lunch into her backpack.
ko	디야가 자기 책가방에 점심거리를 넣자 엄마가 한숨을 쉰다.

en	You know, it's really hurtful that you hide everything from me.
ko	너 그거 알아? 뭐든 그렇게 숨기려고 하는 거 나한테는 상처야.

en	You're so quiet. I wish you would talk to me like my friends’ kids talk to them.
ko	이런저런 얘기도 좀 해 봐. 엄마 친구네 애들은 엄마랑 잘만 대화한다는데 부럽더라.

en	My friend’s son even tells them about the girls he likes. He tells them everything!
ko	한 친구네 아들은 좋아하는 여자애들 얘기도 하고 그런다더라. 안 하는 얘기가 없어.

en	It makes me sad. I wish we had that kind of relationship.
ko	자꾸 그러면 속상해. 엄마도 디야 너랑 그렇게 좀 지내고 싶어.

en	You think I wanted it to be like this?
ko	나는 이러고 싶었을 것 같아?

en	I didn't just decide not to talk to you all on my own.
ko	엄마랑 얘기하지 말자고 나 혼자 결정한 게 아니야.

en	What're you going on about?
ko	그게 무슨 말이야?

en	How are you not able to put two and two together??
ko	무슨 말인지 정말 모르겠다고?

en	I want to be able to talk to you, too.
ko	나도 엄마랑 대화할 수 있으면 좋겠어.

en	But I don’t feel like I can. Every time I open up to you, I regret it.
ko	근데 할 수가 없어. 내가 엄마한테 뭘 털어놓을 때마다 후회할 일이 생겨.

en	You always have some bad reaction to something I say.
ko	엄만 내가 무슨 말만 하면 부정적으로 반응하잖아.

en	Huh? Like what?
ko	뭘 어떤 식으로?

en	Like...like the time I told you about my friend, and you said I wasn't allowed to talk to her anymore.
ko	예를 들면... 내가 친구 얘길 하면 엄마는 걔랑 놀지 말라고 했다고 하잖아.

en	What are you talking about? That never happened.
ko	무슨 소리야? 그런 적이 없는데.

en	Yes, it did. After school, when I was in third grade.

en	Third grade?! You really go through life collecting pointless grudges from years ago?

en	How can you use something I don't even remember to argue against me?

en	How can two people perceive the same conversation so differently?

en	To me, it was one of the worst memories of my life, one that still affects how I act around her every day.

en	But to her, it was an uneventful car ride.

en	I need to give a different example.

en	You didn't only make mistakes in the past, you never changed.

en	Like yesterday, I asked you to buy razors for me and you lectured me about dating.

en	I'm your mom, I'm supposed to say no when you want something that's bad for you.

en	If your own parents won't tell you when you're doing something wrong, who will?

en	Of course you're supposed to stop me from doing really bad things.

en	But I feel like you think your only job as a parent is to lecture me every chance you see.

en	Sometimes I just want to have a normal, not-negative conversation.

en	What do you want me to do, just keep my opinion to myself and agree with everything you say?

en	If I were your friend, sure, I could do that.

en	But that's not my role. I'm your mother, I'm supposed to help you.

en	Tears well up in Diya's eyes from frustration.

en	Oh, great. Not now!

en	I hate how I can't argue with anyone without crying.

en	You think you're helping me, but all you do is give me anxiety.

en	I feel like every time I speak to you honestly, I'm punished for it.

en	So me speaking my mind is "punishing" you?

en	How can you not allow me to say what I think? How do you think that makes {i}me{/i} feel?

en	Both of them freeze as the doorbell rings.

en	It's Akarsha!

en	I can't let her see me like this!

en	Yo...

en	Diya flings open the door and darts past Akarsha.

en	Whoa!

en	Homie, wait up!

en	Diya ignores her and sprints down the sidewalk.

en	The frenetic slap of flip-flops on concrete behind her gets louder and louder until suddenly, a hand grabs her forearm!

en	*Wheeze* Gotcha!

en	!!!!

en	Diya reluctantly slows to a stop and lets Akarsha catch her breath.

en	*Gasp* *Wheeze*

en	....HA....HAH.....

en	............

en	What's with you today? Usain Bolt...

en	Got in a fight with my mom...

en	Diya wipes her tear-streaked face with a sniffle.

en	She gave up her whole life for me. I'm the person she loves the most in the world.

en	But we can't even have a normal conversation without hurting each other.

en	It's just sad.

en	It takes a few seconds for Akarsha to recover enough to choke out a response.

en	Bro...that sucks.

en	........................

en	Do your parents know you're bi?

en	Sorta?

en	We haven't really had that conversation yet, but they definitely know I'm a lil funky.

en	How do you think they'll react when you tell them?

en	I dunno...But they're pretty open-minded, so I think they'll get over it.

en	Lucky...

en	My parents will freak out if I come out.

en	But I feel like a bad gay person for hiding it.

en	Why?

en	Instead of trying to educate them, I'm living a lie.

en	Dude, it's not your job to educate your parents if it'll ruin your life.

en	The gays aren't gonna come arrest you.

en	It's not bad to, like, worry about surviving first.

en	................

en	Sooner or later we're gonna get caught, though. We're so bad at keeping things secret.

en	And if I wanna live with Min someday, that's going to be impossible to hide.

en	Especially since we're gonna move really far away.

en	Huh? Where are you going?

en	Don't know yet. But somewhere far from her parents, so she doesn't have to see them unless she wants to.

en	When we do that, my parents will notice I'm gone, too.

en	Ya, but by then you'll be an adult. They won't be able to stop you from doing anything.

en	But they'll still be really upset, and I don't want that either.

en	They'll get over it eventually.

en	Dealing with desi parents is like the five stages of grief. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

en	You don't know that. My parents aren't like yours.

en	Do your parents really love you?

en	Yes.

en	Then it's still the same. It might take ages, but they'll get over it eventually.

en	Like...in baseball speak, you're not tryin' to hit a home run off a single pitch. It's more like a nine inning baseball game.

en	You gotta be in it for the long haul and wear them down over time.

en	................

en	Is that the best I can hope for, though?

en	I wish I were closer to my mom.

en	But it's hard to feel loved by someone who doesn't really know you.

en	It's like our relationship was built on air. There's nothing there, because she's always loved a version of me that doesn't exist.

en	When they're waiting at a crosswalk, Diya takes the chance to dig a tissue out of her pocket and blow her nose.

en	It's not even like my parents are as bad as Min's.

en	They're not violent or abusive, and they try to support my interests.

en	My mom was never trying to hurt me. She just doesn't know any better.

en	In the grand scheme of things, I'm spoiled. I live in a nice house and my mom cooks me delicious food every day.

en	But it still hurts to think about the kind of parents I COULD have had.

en	Akarsha smacks Diya on the back as they near the school.

en	C'mon, dude, cheer up.

en	10,000 gay people are born every second.

en	In the time since we left your house, three million gay people drew their first breath.

en	That can't be right...

en	If people were born that fast, the population would grow by billions every month.

en	Where'd you get those numbers from.

en	I made them up for dramatic effect.

en	.............

en	Hey, Diya...

en	Do you think it's possible for a baseball player to mold her hair into a huge bowl shape, and use it to catch the ball?

en	{cps=0}Do you think it's possible for a baseball player to mold her hair into a huge bowl shape, and use it to catch the ball?{/cps}

en	Diya nods!

en	Why not.

en	Right??

en	It'd make fielding grounders way easier. We'd just have to lie facedown on the dirt and wait for the ball to roll in.

en	Maybe our whole team should grow our hair out and try this.

en	I feel like between this, the gene doping, and Min's steroids idea, the sport of baseball isn't ready for us.

en	Diya shakes her head.

en	Why not?

en	What do you mean why not. It'd look so dumb.

en	But it'd be convenient!

en	How would they fit the batting helmet over it?

en	They can mold their hair into the batting helmet shape when they're on offense.

en	What kind of weirdo would do that.

en	Akarsha grimaces as they reach the school campus.

en	I have this huge cramp from chasin' you earlier...

en	I'm all sweaty now too...

en	Not my fault. Get in shape.

en	I'm gonna go wash up and take a tinkle.

en	...Can you not say it like that........

en	Not say it like what?

en	The "tinkle" thing.

en	Too descriptive.

en	Unfortunately, Akarsha is already out of earshot and saunters off without answering.

en	I need to get my stuff from the locker first.

en	As she opens her locker, Min comes up behind her.

en	Good morning!

en	{font=tamil.ttf}காலை வணக்கம்!{/font}

en	{font=korean.ttf}사랑해...{/font}

en	........

en	Min taught me that phrase a long time ago. It means "hi" in Korean.

en	Maybe she's touched that I still remember it?

en	Diya laces their hands together.

en	I like teaching each other all these phrases.

en	It's like a secret code.

en	Yeah! We can even say romantic stuff without other people knowing.

en	Like spies.

en	Min brings Diya's hand to her lips and presses a kiss to her knuckles.

en	KGHSFDH?? FGFJH!!!

en	Min is so romantic...She's like a prince...

en	Suddenly, Diya realizes how close of a view Min is getting of her hand.

en	I have hair on my hands and fingers! She's going to see it!

en	Diya frantically wrenches her hand out of Min's grip.

en	Huh???

en	What's wrong?

en	...........

en	I guess Min likes me so much, nothing bad's gonna happen if I tell her.

en	There's hair on my hands...I didn't want you to see...

en	Min looks utterly dumbfounded.

en	...What???

en	They're hairy. My arms, too. When I wear short sleeves, you can even see it from far away.

en	Really? I never noticed.

en	??!

en	I thought Min of all people would've noticed. She spends so much time staring at me.

en	I'll show you, my leg hair is even worse.

en	Diya nervously rolls up one of her leggings to reveal her hairy legs.

en	I mean, yeah, I see it now...But it's just hair.

en	I'm glad you're not grossed out by it.

en	But it still might make me feel better to shave it.

en	I won't stop you, but you really don't have to...

en	You're drop-dead gorgeous with or without it.

en	Like, think about those poodles you like. The ones with curly hair.

en	!!!

en	Carpet dogs.

en	Yeah, whatever you wanna call them.

en	They have fur all over their legs, don't they?

en	Doesn't it look so bad and weird when people shave their legs bare?

en	Yeah...

en	How's your leg hair any different? It's just a normal part of you, it doesn't make you any less cute.

en	I guess that kinda makes sense.

en	It makes total sense! It's the other way around that doesn't make sense!

en	It really pisses me off when I notice all the crap the world tries to force on girls.

en	Min gets really fired up when she talks about this stuff.

en	Like this leg and armpit shaving shit, and making them think they have to like pink and have long hair.

en	If you have a brother like I do, the difference is really obvious.

en	It's all fake.

en	Min is so smart...

en	Thanks. I feel a little better now.

en	Good.

en	If anyone makes fun of you for it, I'll kill...I mean, be really, really mean to them.

en	No one's around right now...I really wanna kiss her...

en	Diya leans in, and Min catches her lips in a fierce kiss.

en	When they break apart, Min looks very proud of herself.

en	Notice anything different?

en	That was a really nice kiss? But I have no idea what she's talking about...

en	I got rid of the rest of my cigarettes!

en	You threw them away?

en	No way, I sold them to some junior for fifteen bucks.

en	That's not good...

en	Well, at least it's not me smoking them anymore.

en	That's true...Was it hard to quit?

en	I mean, it's not like I was addicted, so it wasn't that bad.

en	I was a little worried she wouldn't listen, but now that she did, I almost feel guilty.

en	Thanks...

en	...But I feel a bit bad I made you change just for me.

en	Huh?

en	You didn't make me do anything. I decided to quit 'cause I figured it'd make me happier if I got to kiss you more.

en	Noelle kept sending me these annoying as fuck studies gloating that she was gonna live longer than me, too.

en	Honestly, it was worth it just to make her shut up about it.

en	But still...If you weren't dating me, you wouldn't have quit.

en	I guess not?

en	But isn't that what people mean when they say a couple's good for each other?

en	Like, they bring out the best in each other.

en	Oh.

en	I guess people do say that too.

en	I'm happy you quit. Think I'm just not used to being listened to like this.

en	I mean, I'd be a pretty shitty girlfriend if I didn't care when something was bothering you.

en	I know you'd do the same for me.

en	That's true.

en	I can't believe that worked. I'm glad I said something.

en	........

en	But isn't it common sense? That you can't change people.

en	Huh? That sounds so cynical.

en	But sometimes it does happen. Sometimes you want someone to change, and they won't.

en	I mean, I guess it's TECHNICALLY true. You can't change people.

en	All you can do is tell them how they make you feel, and then it's up to them to change.

en	Some people will make that leap for you, but others won't.

en	Yeah...

en	I think I just need to make my peace with that.

en	I'll always make that leap for you!

en	Even if it was from a car to a truck while they're still driving really fast, like in The Matrix.

en	...That sounds scary. I hope that never happens.

en	But I wouldn't get hurt at all, and I'd look really badass doing it.

en	You already look badass doing normal stuff like pitching. Why this.

en	Diya's heartrate quickens with excitement as Min pulls her into another kiss.

en	Diya shudders as Min slips a hand up her shirt, sliding her warm palm across the small of her back.

en	GFKJGJK;LKK????????

en	Is this okay?

en	................

en	Min's hand is hot against her bare skin.

en	Once you get over the initial shock of it, it feels nice...

en	Want me to stop?

en	Diya shakes her head, hiding her burning face in the crook of Min's neck.

en	Min withdraws her hand, looking uncertain.

en	I'm not gonna do it unless you say you want me to.

en	I just need to spit it out...It's not fair to always make her guess whether I'm having fun or not.

en	Even if she's good at it, I need to help her out sometimes...

en	It's just Min, nothing bad's gonna happen...

en	...Please don't stop...

en	A wicked grin crosses Min's face, sending a rush of heat through Diya's body.

en	Good. Then I won't.

en	May I PLEASE get my textbooks?

en	You're blocking the locker.

en	!!! Sorry.

en	That evening, Diya is doing her homework when her bedroom door opens.

en	.............

en	.............

en	Her mom silently places a bowl of sliced mango on Diya's desk and leaves the room.

en	Diya nibbles on the fruit and continues working on her assignment.

en	.............

en	4th grade

en	Florida

en	Don't get too close to the water!

en	Oh, c'mon! What's the point of a field trip to a bayou if we don't even get to splash around in it a little?

en	I mean, there might be alligators in there...It's probably dangerous.

en	Min sullenly trudges along the edge of the bayou with the rest of her classmates.

en	I miss California...

en	We just moved here a couple months ago.

en	Before, the only white people I knew were Hayden and my teachers.

en	But now, everyone single kid in our class is white except me and Jun.

en	I can't believe Hayden was right! Our school in California really {i}wasn't{/i} anything like the rest of America.

en	This bayou has a lot of biodiversity. Does anyone know what that means?

en	Jun-seo raises his hand. Their teacher pauses awkwardly before nodding to him.

en	Er, sorry, how do you pronounce your name again?

en	Jun-seo.

en	Can you repeat that?

en	Yeah, Jun-seo.

en	She nods with her brows furrowed, still looking lost.

en	Uh...Is it okay if I call you John instead?

en	...Okay...

en	Okay??!

en	Looking embarrassed, Jun ignores her and answers the question like nothing happened.

en	Biodiversity is when there's a lot of different kinds of plants and animals living somewhere.

en	That's right, John!

en	A variety of animals thrive in this habitat...Let's see which ones we can spot from here.

en	Yes, Sarah?

en	Classmate

en	I see a fish in the water!

en	Min hisses to her twin under her breath as the lesson continues.

en	What was that?! Now the teacher's gonna think it's ok to call me Minnie or something!

en	If people start calling me Minnie Mouse, that'll be the absolute worst!

en	I don't think that's gonna happen...

en	It better not, I hate Minnie Mouse! She's weak and wimpy looking.

en	I bet if someone punched her in the gut, she'd just DIE.

en	I'll go make the teacher call you the right name.

en	No, don't! I don't wanna make a huge deal out of it.

en	But you SHOULD make a huge deal out of it! It's your name!

en	It's fine, John's close enough...

en	It looks like the Ant Walk is ready for us now. Everyone, follow me!

en	Their class continues down the trail, passing a group from another school. Many of the kids gawk at her and Jun with unabashed curiosity as they pass by.

en	One boy pulls his eyes into slits with his fingers as his friends giggle.

en	Random Boy

en	Herro!

en	Me no speak Engrish...

en	WHAT THE...

en	You wanna go, dickhead!? FIGHT ME!

en	Oh, he's mad! Me no rikey!

en	I DON'T SOUND LIKE THAT! BITCH!!!

en	Enraged, Min punches the kid in the face!

en	He topples backward! There's a huge splash as he lands on his butt in the shallows of the bayou.

en	Oof!

en	Min seizes his head before he can get up and dunks it into the muddy water.

en	Get him, gators!!!

en	Min, stop it!

en	Hey, get off him!

en	Half an hour later

en	Min sits seething in the backseat as her dad drives her and Jun home.

en	WHAT'S WRONG WITH YOU!? ARE YOU BRAIN DAMAGED??

en	Now look, I have to pick you up in the middle of work because you couldn't behave yourself!

en	I was good...I don't see why {i}I{/i} have to be punished, too.

en	I didn't do anything wrong either!

en	Your teacher said you tried to drown a boy!

en	HUH?? THAT'S A LIE!!!

en	I was only holding him underwater so the alligators would bite him!

en	That's not any better...

en	Their dad curses and lays down the horn as a Honda changes into their lane.

en	{font=korean.ttf}개새끼{/font} = Son of a bitch

en	{font=korean.ttf}개새끼!{/font} HE CUT ME OFF!

en	The car lurches forward with squealing tires. Her dad is racing to catch up to the offending Honda, his eyes wild.

en	What's he doing?! He's gone nuts!

en	A horrible cold wash runs down Min's spine as her dad maintains his breakneck speed beside the Honda and lays down the horn.

en	AaaAAAH!

en	Jun screams as their dad violently swerves into the Honda, threatening to collide with them. The other driver is forced to veer off the road to avoid crashing.

en	What's wrong with you?!

en	He was at fault! I wasn't going to let him get away with it!

en	What're you, crazy?! You could've crashed!

en	IT'S YOUR FAULT FOR MAKING ME SO MAD IN THE FIRST PLACE!

en	IT'S BULLSHIT! HOW COME NO ONE ELSE HAS KIDS AS BRAIN DAMAGED AS YOU?!

en	Disrespect me again and I'll really make you regret it!

en	Min remembers the time her dad threw a three pound paperweight at her head because she cut her hair short, and goes quiet.

en	Fuming, her dad pulls over on the side of the road so he can focus on yelling at them.

en	Tomorrow at school, you say sorry to your teacher for causing so much trouble!

en	WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO APOLOGIZE?! I DIDN'T DO ANYTHING WRONG!

en	That jerk was asking for it! He was being racist and saying we didn't know English!

en	It doesn't matter what he said! What's gonna happen, you'll lose an arm if you don't hit him?!

en	Don't go crazy when things like that happen!

en	What about what YOU just did?! You just went ballistic five minutes ago!

en	Can't you be more like your brother?

en	Jun is so well-behaved.

en	You don't understand! You weren't there!

en	You think you're the only one who's had a hard time in the world?!

en	People wouldn't even hire me because of my accent! Who wants a manager who's an immigrant?

en	When I got rejected from job after job, what was I gonna do? Complain? Cry like a baby?

en	Why do I have to sit through this lecture, too? I didn't even do anything...

en	Be quiet, it's an important life lesson. Just listen.

en	If I got mad like Min-seo and beat up all the people who rejected me, you know what would've happened?

en	I would've landed in jail and you'd all starve to death!

en	But that's not what happened. Instead I just worked harder.

en	I got certifications, studied day and night, and got rid of my accent.

en	And then I was so much more qualified than all the white guys, companies were forced to see how skilled I was.

en	See? You have to be smart.

en	Wasting time whining about it is never going to solve anything.

en	This is you, whining!

en	Min's dad imitates her in a high-pitched voice.

en	"Wah, so unfair! No fair!"

en	"Wah! Wahhh! Crybaby!"

en	Someday I'm going to kill you...{w=0.35}Someday I'm going to kill you...

en	At home, Min and Jun hold an emergency meeting in their room.

en	This is an emergency meeting of the "I Hate Dad" Club.

en	Club President and Strike Force Commander Min will read out our agenda today.

en	Our agenda today is, COMPLAIN ABOUT HOW MUCH DAD SUCKS!!!!!

en	If he's so good at not getting mad at work, how come he gets mad at {i}us{/i} all the time?!

en	I mean...I feel like it's all connected.

en	Whaddya mean?

en	Maybe he bottles up all his bad feelings at work, so when we do anything, he blows up on us.

en	In his head, maybe it's okay for him to yell at us because he's our dad.

en	Well, he's not allowed to yell at me for getting mad when he's not any better!

en	I can't believe he sided with the teacher instead of me! Coward!!

en	I hate racists! They should all die!

en	I feel like he had a point about the fight you got into, though...

en	WHAT?!! You're demoted!

en	You can't demote me! I'm the Chief Demoter, remember?

en	Screw that! You're my own twin and you're betraying me?!

en	You were there too! You of all people should get how I feel!

en	It's your fault I got in trouble!

en	Dad's right that we shouldn't react like that to bullies. We should try to be the bigger person.

en	NO!!! THEY HAVE TO DIE!!!

en	If other people are bad, we should get to be just as bad.

en	Didn't you learn anything today?! We don't {i}get{/i} to be bad!

en	It'll just get us in trouble!

en	And when you talk back to Dad, it just makes him go crazy! When're you gonna learn?

en	He's just like Mom. How come no one will stand up against him except me?

en	What's your idea then, genius? Be a wimpy loser like him??

en	I dunno...

en	Maybe if we just laugh along, the other kids will wanna be our friends.

en	...........

en	5 years later

en	California

en	Min. Can you act?

en	I guess. Why?

en	Can you be in a video we're making? For English.

en	Sure, what's the video?

en	Diya reties her ponytail, but most of her short hair immediately falls out of the elastic and ends up framing her face.

en	Min gently tucks a curly lock behind Diya's ear, making her girlfriend blush as her fingertips brush her skin.

en	We have to make a video about current events.

en	So we chose saving the gray wolves.

en	Who's "we"?

en	Us and Noelle.

en	How come you guys keep getting these three person group projects?

en	My teachers usually do groups of four.

en	They {i}are{/i} four person projects. It's just that usually, no one else wants to be in our group.

en	Oh.

en	That's why we need more people to act out the skit we wrote.

en	Actually, if we just made a few simple cuts to the script, three people would be more than enough.

en	Your feelings on the subject matter are distorting your judgement.

en	No. We need three people for the wolf family alone.

en	There's no point in showing an entire family of wolves! Just a single wolf will suffice!

en	No. It's more sad if there's also a mommy and daddy.

en	Yeah, stop censoring our artistic vision!

en	I've never seen you two gang up on Noelle like this before.

en	It's because she's wrong about this.

en	If we're gonna make a video, it's our chance to create a masterpiece!

en	We can make it so funny!

en	...Funny? That doesn't sound like the same thing Diya's going for.

en	I want it to be like How to be Ninja.

en	What's that?

en	You haven't seen it?

en	No?

en	You have to watch it!

en	It's the funniest video I've ever seen! I found it on this website called YouTube yesterday.

en	I even converted it to mp4 online so I could watch it on my iPod!

en	Narrator

en	Second boy in video

en	Min puts in one of Akarsha's earbuds so she can hear the video. Akarsha takes the other.

en	In a living room, two teenage boys do cartwheels and kip ups to the song "Kung Fu Fighting".

en	Oh, they're both Asian? They look about our age.

en	Hey you! Wanna learn how to defend yourself?

en	Aren't you tired of bullies picking on you all the time?

en	Well, then...How To Be Ninja is the DVD for you.

en	Boy in video

en	A boy in the video bows.

en	Herro everyone....My name is Hanete wakuso shiseo tadashite teriyaki suzuki honda civic.

en	Herro...My name is Bob.

en	I dunno if I've ever seen two Asian kids like me starring in anything before.

en	And they're being funny and everything!

en	The first {i}resson{/i} in being a ninja...

en	Already, Akarsha is cracking up so hard at the kid's line delivery, the iPod is quaking in her hands.

en	Is to make loud, unnecessary sounds when you hit things.

en	Hoo! Kikiki YAH! Wah! Hooooo!

en	I've never seen a video like this my whole life! It's hilarious!

en	You must be able to transform into anything.

en	An animal...a tree...a fag...You must be able to imitate ANYONE!

en	After a kung-fu battle that culminates in one of the kids resorting to using fake gun, the bloopers play.

en	And we will be teaching {i}youuuuuuu...{/i}

en	The boys repeatedly dissolve into laughter over the accent they're doing.

en	They look like they had so much fun making this.

en	Right? It's so inspirational!

en	They're, like, our age, and they made such an awesome video.

en	If they can create something that iconic, so can we!

en	Must I remind you that this is a school assignment? That we're being GRADED on?

en	We're still following the grading rubric.

en	Are you? I didn't see "gun for an Academy Award" on there.

en	The script you two have written is wildly overambitious.

en	Nyeh!

en	Under the table, Akarsha immobilizes one of Noelle's feet by sandwiching it between two of her own feet like tongs.

en	Gotchu. Captured.

en	I'm not captured!

en	Noelle wriggles her foot free. When Akarsha tries to trap it again, Noelle retaliates by pinning one of Akarsha's feet against the leg of the table.

en	No fair, I'm wearing flip-flops while you have real shoes. You gotta go easy on me.

en	YOU CHOSE THE BATTLEGROUND! YOU DON'T GET TO COMPLAIN!

en	What the hell? They always act so demented around each other.

en	When you're done playing footsies, can we talk about what you guys actually need from me?

en	Akarsha and Noelle freeze, looking embarrassed.

en	What?

en	Hello? Because I'm acting in your project?

en	Can you meet us at the park this weekend?

en	Ya, that's where we're filming. There's a kinda woodsy lookin' spot at the edge of it.

en	Do I need to bring anything?

en	No, just you.

en	We're still working on the script, so we'll give it to you there.

en	We'll take care of the costumes, too.

en	"Sakura" and "Yuki" have a ton of stuff we can use, so they're gonna bring it all.

en	Cool, I'll be there.

en	The park

en	When Min gets there, she spots Akarsha waiting in the shade under a tree.

en	Where is everyone?

en	Noelle said Diya's mom just picked her up.

en	It's so annoying how Diya's mom has always been fine with Noelle but not me.

en	And "Sakura" and "Yuki" are running late 'cuz they couldn't find a hat they wanted to bring.

en	We don't need Chryssa and Liz til the fourth scene or so, so I told them they could show up whenever.

en	Wait, they're acting in it, too?

en	Ya, we pretty much ended up summoning the entire baseball club to help.

en	Min joins Akarsha under the shade.

en	So any progress on your crush?

en	Didn't I already tell you I got rejected?

en	You told me you half-assed a confession through fucking TEXT before chickening out and passing it off as a joke.

en	Well, I was flirting pretty hard before that happened. So either way, they should've gotten the message, at least subliminally.

en	Subliminally?!

en	Have you been listening to a thing I've been saying?! Go big or go home!

en	I literally can't even tell who it was you were flirting with.

en	Okay, I know, I know...

en	What's next? Confessing to them on April Fool's Day?

en	Actually, that's not a bad idea...

en	You've got to be kidding me...

en	When Diya and Noelle show up, Min runs over and presses a kiss to Diya's cheek.

en	...!

en	I love you.

en	{font=korean.ttf}사랑해.{/font}

en	I told Diya that phrase meant "Hi" a really long time ago.

en	Maybe I should come clean about it now that we're actually dating.

en	I don't want her to stop saying, it, though...

en	Noelle wearily hands Min her script.

en	While we're waiting for the others, you can at least familiarize yourself with your lines.

en	It's unseasonally hot out, so Min fans Diya with the script.

en	Who am I playing?

en	The Evil Hunter.

en	Whoa, sick!

en	So what do I do?

en	Are you illiterate? Just read the script.

en	I will, just gimme the SparkNotes version first.

en	To summarize, gray wolves are set to be removed from the Endangered species list.

en	I'll be playing a reporter. First, I'll interview an environmentalist, Diya.

en	Next, I'll interview you, an Evil Hunter.

en	Lastly, I'll interview a...family of wolves on their opinion.

en	During this last interview, the Evil Hunter kills the Wolf Pup, played by Akarsha.

en	You {i}really{/i} don't like this script, huh?

en	It's clearly biased.

en	It doesn't make sense to extend special treatment to wolves just because they're "cute" and "fuzzy".

en	It makes sense in my heart.

en	From an objective, numerical standpoint, their populations have recovered enough that these protections are no longer needed.

en	Humans have a thriving population, too. Does that mean aliens are allowed to hunt us for sport?

en	Min reads the script as they argue. It's physically battered and marked with edits.

en	They must've been fighting over this for hours.

en	Guys, wait, I have another idea.

en	I just saw a video of a guy setting a pile of leaves on fire, and it exploded.

en	Can we try to work that into the video too?

en	NO.

en	Diya slips her hand into Min's as Akarsha and Noelle argue.

en	.........

en	Looks like we have some time to kill before everyone else arrives.

en	Min looks around the park...

en	Throw rocks at dead tree stump

en	Look at dead tree stump

en	Search for rocks

en	Look at picnic table

en	Look at the dog

en	Look at playground

en	There's just sand here. No rocks.

en	I'm sad we're too big for playgrounds now. They should make playgrounds for teens and adults.

en	Yeah, all the scenarios we'd come up with while playing pretend were so fun!

en	My favorite was the one where we pretended we were runaways starting our own clan.

en	That one was so popular, some of the kids joining in weren't even our friends.

en	Sucks that the teachers made us stop because everyone was digging huge holes in the ground and making stuff out of mud.

en	Was that why? I thought it was because it got too big.

en	I remember like, thirty of us were doing it.

en	Maybe it was a combination of both? I dunno.

en	I didn't even dig anything. My house was just a bunch of pine needles I arranged in a circle shape.

en	You mean OUR house? We were married.

en	In the pretend world, I mean.

en	?????

en	We were?

en	I saved you from being kidnapped by bandits and I made you marry me as a reward.

en	You did the exact same thing as the bandits then.

en	No, I didn't! The bandits wanted you for bad reasons, but I wanted you for nice reasons ONLY.

en	And didn't you say this game was your favorite? You must've liked it.

en	...............

en	Realizing that Min's right, Diya is so embarrassed that she doesn't respond.

en	Dog Owner

en	Min scours the ground for rocks. Meanwhile, Diya is almost in tears watching a dog run in circles round the park.

en	Diya is almost in tears watching the dog run in circles round the park.

en	He looks like a banana dipped in chocolate and he doesn't even know it.

en	God, the way you think is so fucking cute...

en	The dog catches a frisbee with its mouth and brings it to its owner.

en	Bucket! Good boy!

en	Bucket...

en	Want me to ask if we can pet it?

en	No, I think I can do it. Thanks.

en	Oh, sure. Go for it!

en	Don't worry, I'll take over if they don't let you pet it.

en	Diya nods and hesitantly approaches the dog's owner.

en	She stands about a foot behind him, unnoticed.

en	....

en	.........

en	She must be psyching herself up to do it.

en	............

en	.....................

en	Can I pet your dog?

en	Wugh!

en	You scared me!

en	Sure, you can pet him.

en	Bucket happily rolls over on his back, exposing his belly.

en	!!!!!

en	Diya gives the dog a hearty belly rub as he blissfully writhes around in the grass.

en	Sweetheart/darling; used between lovers

en	{font=korean.ttf}자기야.{/font}

en	Do you wanna pet it too.

en	She's talking to me!

en	Pet the dog

en	Don't pet the dog

en	Min rubs the dog's belly with both hands. His rough fur is a little smelly.

en	When she stops, the dog looks up at her expectantly.

en	He's asking for more.

en	You're still petting him, too! He really wants a whole crew massaging him at once?

en	It's okay. I'm happy just watching you.

en	Diya keeps rubbing Bucket's belly with both hands, but he keeps looking up at Min expectantly.

en	He's asking you to join.

en	You're already petting him! He really wants a whole crew massaging him at once?

en	After a solid five minutes, Bucket still hasn't had enough pets.

en	It's okay, you can stop...I don't wanna keep you guys all day...

en	Oh, okay. Thanks.

en	Wait, have you seen any huge rocks around here?

en	Uh...How about the one over there?

en	He points at a slab of rock lying in the dirt.

en	Yeah, perfect!

en	Now we just need to find a rock for me, too.

en	This one's for me?

en	This one's for you.

en	Min squeezes Diya's hand as the guy walks off with his dog.

en	You did good talking to that guy!

en	I'm trying to get better at it.

en	Used to think I was just awkward because of my ear, but I think I partially picked it up from my mom.

en	She's old and still scared of answering the phone and talking to strangers.

en	I wanna be different.

en	Oh, I get that feeling. I don't want to be like my dad, no matter what.

en	That's why I'll never have kids. I'd never wanna do the things he did to me, to someone else.

en	You wouldn't be like him. You're not a bad person.

en	But I'm worried it's easy to do it by accident...

en	Min scours the ground for rocks. Meanwhile, Diya watches the dog running around.

en	I don't see any more rocks around here.

en	We should look somewhere else.

en	If I were in charge of naming that dog, I'd name him "Banana Dipped in Chocolate".

en	That's way too long!

en	His first name can be Banana. Middle name Diptin, last name Chocolate.

en	That's still the exact same length!

en	There's a decently big slab lying in the dirt.

en	We both have rocks now!

en	Let's go throw them at the tree stump!

en	Okay.

en	This rock'll work!

en	Now we just need to find one for me, too.

en	This one's for me?

en	This one's for you.

en	It's a dead husk of a tree stump.

en	Diya! Let's throw rocks at this tree stump!!!

en	I bet we can knock the bark off of it!!!

en	Okay.

en	They survey the ground for rocks to throw, but there's only dirt and twigs.

en	We should look around for big rocks.

en	Good idea.

en	It's a dead husk of a tree stump.

en	We don't have enough rocks to throw at this yet.

en	Diya and I each need one, otherwise it's not fair.

en	We still need to find some big rocks to throw at it.

en	Ester is seated at the bench, fiddling with a camcorder.

en	Oh, you're here too?

en	Yeah, I'm being the cameraman.

en	Akarsha kept insisting I'd be good at it 'cause I'm "artsy", so...

en	Did she do something to her hair? It looks way different than usual.

en	Wow, your hair's so flat today.

en	........Thanks...???

en	Ester gives her a weird look.

en	Meanwhile, Diya searches the ground for big rocks.

en	Ester raises her eyebrows as Diya and Min search the ground for big rocks.

en	Ester's playing with the camcorder settings.

en	What're you doing?

en	Looking for rocks.

en	Have you seen any.

en	There's a pretty big one over there.

en	Ester points to a large stone on the ground.

en	!!!

en	Thanks.

en	This one's as big as my fist!!!

en	Yeah, this'll work!

en	Work for what...??

en	YAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!

en	Min hurls a rock at the dead stump!

en	It hits it with a {i}thwack{/i}, causing a small piece of dry bark to fly off.

en	!!

en	Cool.

en	Yeah...She's so impressed by me!

en	I bet she wants to kiss me so bad.

en	Diya follows Min's lead and fires a rock at the stump!

en	It slams into the stump so hard, its top half explodes in a shower of bark shards.

en	WHOA!!!!!

en	THAT WAS SO BADASS!

en	Thanks.

en	She's the most perfect girl in the world!

en	Min has to hold herself back from grabbing Diya and kissing her senseless.

en	I wish we didn't have to hide that we're dating.

en	I get why we have to. But I wish I could just shout it from the mountaintops, that you're my girlfriend.

en	It's still true even if you can't say it.

en	But it'd be nice to say it so everyone knows.

en	Yeah...I know what you mean.

en	I wish we could go on more dates. I want to go everywhere with you.

en	The aquarium, PetSmart...Home Depot lights section...Airplane...

en	Airplane?? Why, do you like flying?

en	Not really. I like looking out the window and eating the pretzel packet.

en	And Southwest gives you a little stirrer with your drink that's shaped like a heart. But that's it.

en	We haven't done it together before though, so I think it'd be fun.

en	I wanna see how you react to it.

en	Me, too. I want to see your face when they give you the heart-shaped stirrer thing.

en	We should each ask for a different free beverage and share, so I get to try two drinks instead of just one.

en	Imagining it makes Min's heart feel like it's going to explode.

en	Forgetting her surroundings, Min surges forward to kiss her just as Diya does the same, causing their mouths to crash together unexpectedly hard.

en	Ough!

en	Sorry. Got too excited.

en	That was the worst kiss ever.

en	Let's redo it.

en	Wait, won't people see us?

en	Oops. I forgot.

en	Maybe we should lie down in the grass.

en	Huh? Why?

en	That way, it'll look like we're just wrestling.

en	Diya lies down, and Min gets on top of her and starts making out with her. It doesn't look anything like wrestling.

en	Diya clutches at Min's back as Min presses kiss after kiss to her lips.

en	..........

en	You're so cute. Do you know that?

en	Maybe a little...

en	Diya goes still underneath her, suddenly looking uncomfortable.

en	What's wrong?

en	A bug crawled under my shirt.

en	Diya sits up and unsuccessfully gropes around under her hoodie for the bug.

en	Every neuron in Min's brain misfires as Diya hikes her hoodie all the way up over her bra, exposing her bare torso.

en	Oohhhhhh........

en	I'm looking respectfully...I'm looking respectfully...

en	Don't know where it went...

en	Min is so distracted that it takes her a few seconds to notice the bug crawling on Diya's chest.

en	Oh, it's just a beetle. I got it.

en	She grabs hold of it just as Akarsha and Noelle come jogging up to them.

en	Everyone has arrived. We should get in costume now.

en	...!!!

en	Diya frantically pulls her hoodie back on.

en	Uh...Whoa...

en	I was just helping her, a bug crawled up her shirt.

en	...Where was it gonna crawl next? Down her pants??

en	What the fuck? That's not what was happening!

en	Look, the bug's right here!

en	Min raises her hand to show it to them, but it's gone.

en	............

en	It must've flown off.

en	I mean, I'm not judging. If I had a ticket to Boobs City I know what I'd be doing too...

en	But literally HERE, in broad daylight? Really??

en	Oh, for fuck's sake! We literally weren't doing anything!

en	Diya's face is still flushed pink as they walk over to the others, hand in hand.

en	..........

en	Hey, was she making you uncomfortable?

en	I can make her stop.

en	...No, it's okay.

en	Thanks for asking. I feel pampered with you.

en	Good, 'cause you deserve to be pampered.

en	The group gathers around "Sakura" and "Yuki" as they haul a pile of clothes and props out of a duffel bag.

en	Sorry we're late, I was turning my closet upside down trying to find everything.

en	Any objections if I play music from my phone?

en	Are you gonna play anime openings?

en	.........Maybe.........

en	Then yes.

en	How about K-Pop?

en	I just discovered this amazing group called Super Junior.

en	I don't know what that is. You can play ONE song.

en	Yosh!

en	She plays a song from her phone speakers and tries to untangle a Nerf gun from a coat belt.

en	K-Pop song

en	The people around me tell me...

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} {font=korean.ttf}주변 사람들은 말해{/font} {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	I’m too aggressive...

en	{font=times.ttf}♫{/font} {font=korean.ttf}내가 너무 적극적{/font} {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

en	............

en	Oh, this isn't so bad.

en	Isn't it great? Korean guys are so much better than American guys.

en	How so?

en	They're all so beautiful and kind-hearted. Not smelly pervs like the guys here.

en	I need to find myself an Oppa...

en	This is weird...Should I say something?

en	I guess she doesn't mean any harm by it...She's trying to appreciate the culture.

en	Here, Min, this trenchcoat's yours.

en	It's my brother's Yoite costume. It's supposed to have a hat too, but I think he lost it.

en	Yo-eeteh...? The fuck is that?

en	From the amazing series Nabari no Ou, duh.

en	Wait a minute...Is this all anime stuff?!

en	I believe the correct term is "cosplay".

en	WHAT?!

en	Akarsha! I thought you meant normal costumes! Like Halloween costumes!!

en	You didn't ask, so...

en	WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU WEARING?

en	My baby wolf costume.

en	How do I look?

en	Like someone wearing cat ears. Is this really gonna come across as "wolf"?

en	Yuki, this would've been more convincing if you had fursuits.

en	Fursuits are so expensive, though. I might become a doctor just to be able to afford them someday.

en	Also, you guys don't have to call me Yuki anymore.

en	I realized a few days ago that going by a Japanese name in real life is kinda weird if you're not actually Japanese.

en	Me too, actually. Even if we love anime, it's a bit much.

en	It took you all the way til now to realize that...?

en	Well, better late than never. Thank god.

en	So what {i}are{/i} your names?

en	Grace

en	Sayeeda

en	Grace.

en	Grace?! What the...

en	And my real name is Sayeeda.

en	At least that one sounds {i}kinda{/i} like Sakura.

en	Akarsha, what does your outfit have to do with being a wolf?

en	You only need the ears and paws to get the point across.

en	So you're saying I should be naked?

en	NO, I'M NOT!

en	Diya holds up her "environmentalist" costume.

en	Where do I change?

en	I used the restroom over there. It's just the one family room, so you'll all have to take turns getting changed.

en	Unless, y'know, you want Min to "get more bugs off you"...

en	YOU FREAK WHORE!!! YOU'RE DERANGED IF YOU THINK I'M FUCKING HER IN A PARK BATHROOM!!!

en	One way ticket to Boobs City...

en	WHA— STOP CALLING MY GIRLFRIEND "BOOBS CITY"??!

en	WHY'RE YOU SO OBSESSED WITH THAT PHRASE NOW?

en	...I'll go now...

en	In the meantime, Min, can you help me pitch this tent? It's going to be the setting of your first scene.

en	Ugh, fine.

en	I can help, too. Since I don't need to get in costume.

en	Min helps Ester and Noelle carry the box with the tent in it.

en	I don't understand why Akarsha keeps making those crass jokes about you two.

en	It's not as if two girls can actually have sexual relations.

en	...What the hell are you talking about? Yes they can?

en	Are you dense? Humans weren't evolved for that.

en	The anatomy makes it impossible.

en	How's it impossible? You can use other body parts, like your fingers.

en	Fingers?! You must be mistaken.

en	Are we really having this conversation right now?!

en	No, it's true. I mean, girls' love manga is a thing...

en	...What...?

en	Did you think lesbians gave up sex for life???

en	....................

en	Is she serious?! How sheltered is she??

en	Noelle is so shocked that she doesn't speak for a while.

en	Ester wipes sweat off her brow and points at a clearing in the dry grass.

en	That spot over there might look nice on film.

en	Isn't it a bit close to the ravine, though? There's a steep downhill slope right behind it.

en	So? It's not like the tent's gonna teleport backwards after we've nailed it down.

en	Yeah, unless a typhoon blows us over I think it'll be fine.

en	Alright, I see that I'm outnumbered.

en	But don't say I didn't warn you.

en	Min hears rustling behind her. She turns around and sees Akarsha making a leaf pile.

en	Heheheh...

en	Wait, is she trying the exploding leaf thing?

en	AKARSHA!!! THAT'S NOT ALLOWED!!!

en	As Noelle chases after Akarsha, Min and Ester lay out their tent in the spot they picked.

en	She's so friggin' anal. She's probably sexually attracted to laws.

en	I bet she loses her mind whenever she sees jaywalkers.

en	She DOES!

en	It's like she thinks someone's gonna go "Good job Noelle, you're the best at following the rules!" and give her a gold star for it.

en	Min squints in confusion at the steps to set up the tent.

en	I can't picture this shit...Where do the poles go?

en	They criss-cross in the middle, see?

en	Here, just hold that end and stick it through the metal ring.

en	Like magic, the tent pops out into the third dimension.

en	Holy shit. You're like a camping progidy.

en	I mean, all I did was follow the instructions...

en	Now we just have to drive the stakes into the ground.

en	Min pounds each stake into the dirt with a large stone, enthralled that hitting something is actually constructive for once.

en	Fuck yeah!!!

en	Meanwhile, Ester takes her sketchbook out of her backpack and starts writing in it.

en	What're you doing?

en	Ester stops, looking embarrassed.

en	I'm writing down what you said earlier as inspiration for my webcomic. Like, for character dialogue.

en	I've started doing this whenever something interesting happens so I can remember later.

en	Huh? What'd I say that was interesting?

en	You said I was a camping "progidy." Y'know, instead of a "prodigy."

en	What's so special about that? They're pretty much the same anyway.

en	I dunno, I just thought it was a neat detail.

en	Obviously I'll only use it if you're okay with it, though!

en	I mean, sure, I don't really care.

en	What's it for, again? A comic?

en	Yep.

en	What, like Garfield?

en	Huh?? No, it's nothing like that.

en	It's still a work in progress, but basically...it's about a bunch of teenagers who have the power to shift into alternate dimensions.

en	It's kinda sci-fi-y, I guess.

en	Oh, so like a superhero comic?

en	No, there's no supervillains or anything. All their problems come from the way they use their own powers.

en	Like, while you're in the parallel universe, you're gone from your original universe, right?

en	But what if you get tied up with something while there, and can't come back?

en	That'd suck ass.

en	I wouldn't get to see Diya or my friends anymore.

en	Exactly! No one from the world you left behind would know why you disappeared, and you'd become a missing person there.

en	I always get so stressed out about that when reading Narnia and time travel stories.

en	I've never heard her talk this much before.

en	She must really be hyped about her webcomic.

en	...Anyway, a lot of miscommunication happens between the characters because of issues like that.

en	No offense, but I can't stand stories that revolve around misunderstandings.

en	It's so frustrating when the whole problem is literally just people being bad at talking.

en	If you hurt someone, it should be on purpose.

en	But those kinds of problems are the most realistic.

en	In real life, people hurt each other by accident all the time.

en	Like how?

en	You know how before our school became 93%% Asian, it used to have a football team?

en	They died 'cause Asians don't care about football, right? Same as the real baseball team.

en	Yeah. No one would go to the games.

en	As a last-ditch effort to help them last year, my math teacher offered us two points of extra credit for coming to a football game.

en	So I went, to help my grade.

en	But as soon as I got home, my dad yelled at me for going to a game instead of studying.

en	He didn't get that we had the exact same goal, me getting good grades.

en	Wait, what ethnicity are you?

en	Huh? I'm Black and Chinese.

en	And your dad's the Black one?

en	Uh...Yeah, he is?

en	I didn't know Black people cared about grades.

en	.......That's like...pretty racist of you to say...

en	Bewildered, Min completely misses the tent stake she was trying to hit.

en	Huh?! How is it racist??

en	Why would you assume Black people don't care about their grades?

en	I didn't mean it as a diss or anything.

en	{i}I{/i} don't care about grades either, it's not like I was looking down on them.

en	But...but why even bring my race into it like that??

en	I was just asking a question!

en	Didn't {i}you{/i} bring up race first? You were talking about Asians!

en	I'm Asian so I'm allowed to say that!

en	Sure, whatever. If I knew you'd be so fucking sensitive about it, I wouldn't have asked in the first place.

en	Wow...So instead of saying sorry, you're insulting me?

en	Wh—Why the hell should I apologize?

en	I wasn't even trying to be offensive! It's not like I purposefully called you the N word or something.

en	WOW, THANKS FOR NOT CALLING ME THE N WORD????

en	I'm just saying you're overreacting!

en	There's REAL racist people out there who hate minorities, and you're calling ME racist just because I accidentally made one little mistake?!

en	It's not just one little mistake! You say weird, ignorant stuff like this all the time!

en	No, I don't! Like what?

en	Like when you randomly told me my hair was flat!

en	What was I even supposed to say to that?? "Yours too"???

en	GET A GRIP! THAT'S NOT EVEN REAL RACISM!!!

en	You're seriously trying to explain what racism is to ME? A Black and Chinese person???

en	Look, I'm a minority too! Us even fighting is so dumb!

en	You being Asian doesn't mean you're not racist!

en	The worst racism I've EVER seen was when I went to China!

en	God, you're being so stupid!

en	Ester throws her stake down and storms off!

en	Dumbfounded, Min just stands there with her heart racing a mile a minute.

en	How did it blow up like this?! I wasn't even trying to start something!

en	Shit! Did anyone else hear us fighting?

en	Min nervously looks around, paranoid that her friends heard what happened.

en	It's hard to tell if they did...

en	Min frantically hammers the last stake in place, her stomach churning with a mixture of shame and panic.

en	She hears footsteps behind her, and nearly has a heart attack when she turns to see Chryssa walking over.

en	OH FUCK!!!

en	What if Ester told Chryssa I'm racist against Black people? She's Black too!

en	I don't want her to hate me! She might even kick me off the team!

en	Need any help with the tent?

en	Nah, I'm good.

en	I guess you could say it's...not tent to be.

en	I should be extra careful not to offend her...

en	Ha...ha...Great joke...

en	Thank you! I feel like not enough people appreciate my puns.

en	Having donned her "reporter" costume, Noelle returns to place a sleeping bag inside the tent.

en	Min, it's your turn to get changed.

en	Where did Ester go? We're about to start shooting.

en	I can't tell her Ester left because she thinks I'm racist!

en	Uh......She just randomly walked off.

en	What? How come?

en	Who knows? She's so weird.

en	In the park's restroom, Min quickly changes into her "Evil Hunter" get-up.

en	I'm going to be sweating buckets wearing all this in this weather.

en	Thank god they couldn't find the hat, or it would've been even worse.

en	Diya perks up when Min rejoins the group.

en	You look cool.

en	You should get a coat like that for real.

en	Normally, this would send Min over the moon, but she feels so sick to her stomach, she can't properly appreciate it.

en	Thanks...

en	It's me, your racist girlfriend...

en	Diya definitely wouldn't want to be with me anymore if she found out I was racist...

en	Do I look okay?

en	You look so cute in glasses.

en	Is this a character from something? It does kinda give off "nerdy animal lover" energy.

en	No idea.

en	Ester, I like your hair.

en	Oh yeah? Thanks.

en	Bun buddies.

en	Bun buddies...

en	They begin shooting the first scene in front of some trees.

en	Reporter

en	This is the Channel 2 News, reporting from Boise, Idaho.

en	Environmentalists have been in an uproar ever since the Obama Administration approved the delisting of gray wolves from the Endangered Species list...

en	Even replaying the conversation in her mind is getting Min worked up again.

en	I can't believe Ester had the nerve to call me racist!

en	When we were in Florida, kids used to call me and my brother Chinks, and tried to beat us up!

en	Why would I be racist when I hate racists more than anyone?! It doesn't make sense!

en	I wasn't even trying to insult her!

en	Like, good luck going through life getting offended by every tiny thing you see.

en	Right?! Are my standards just totally messed up or something?

en	Min stomps on a random twig and crushes it into tiny pieces beneath her combat boots.

en	.............

en	What's wrong?

en	Ugh. I'm just having a weird day...

en	Do you think I'm racist?

en	...??

en	No...?

en	How come?

en	You're good to me, and curious about other cultures.

en	Why?

en	No reason. Just checking...

en	Okay, we got it. Let's move on to the next shot.

en	Diya goes over to stand in front of the camera.

en	Ma'am, can you introduce yourself?

en	Environmentalist

en	{small}I'm an environmentalist with a degree in wildlife ecology. My research has led me to believe that...{/small}

en	Bro, can you speak up a little?

en	After a few takes, they manage to capture a halfway audible clip of Diya talking. They move on to the next scene...

en	Soon, it's time for the Evil Hunter's interview. Min reviews her lines before getting into place.

en	Okay, I'm set up. Action.

en	Next, I'm interviewing a hunter who's camped out in the Idaho wilderness.

en	Hello there. How do you feel about the removal of gray wolves from the Endangered Species list?

en	Ester could straight up ruin my whole life if she said something right now...

en	Evil Hunter

en	I...Uh...

en	...Yes?

en	Gimme a minute, I just woke up.

en	...It's the afternoon.

en	The sleeping bag I was sleeping on was full of rocks.

en	.......

en	Anyway, I feel ecstatic about the delisting!

en	I can't wait to kill tons of wolves!!!

en	Hold up, cut!

en	Ya skipped a line.

en	What line?

en	The part about how the delisting removed protections for wolves from hunters.

en	Oh, right.

en	Hello there. How do you feel about the removal of gray wolves from the Endangered Species list?

en	I feel ecstatic! The delisting removed protections for wolves in Idaho and...and...

en	Sweating profusely, Min tries to focus and remember her line...

en	.............

en	...Ma'am? Hello?

en	Don't call me ma'am.

en	Wha...Why not?!

en	I don't like it. I'm not a woman or something.

en	Are we talking about your character, or in real life?!

en	Cut! C'mon, don't break the fourth wall.

en	After Min botches their tenth try, Noelle looks about ready to explode.

en	Are you even trying right now? We're going to be stuck here all day because of you!

en	Shut up! I am too trying!

en	Why don't we take a little break? It'll probably help us all reset.

en	Yeah, let's go stare at the lake or something.

en	We can hide all our backpacks and stuff in the tent.

en	I guess it can't hurt...

en	The group trudges over to the lake. Diya sits down with Min by the water's edge...

en	Look at the lake

en	Study your lines again

en	Glance over at Ester

en	Ugh...I hate nature-y lakes like this.

en	Why?

en	It's nice here.

en	It just reminds me of shit that happened to me in Florida.

en	What happened?

en	I mean, it's pretty much the same as the other stories I told you.

en	I was just on a field trip that got ruined by racists.

en	So now places like this are cursed.

en	..........

en	What did you mean earlier? About not being a woman.

en	Do you mean age-wise?

en	Oh...It's hard to explain.

en	I've never really told this to anyone before. It's probably going to be confusing.

en	That's okay.

en	I don't really like being thought of as a girl.

en	But I'm not 100%% removed from it, if that makes sense?

en	Being called a woman or a lady is way worse. Like, disgusting.

en	I definitely don't want strangers seeing me to think "Oh, that's a woman."

en	...What do you want them to think?

en	...I dunno...

en	I'm still figuring that part out.

en	Diya tilts her head, perplexed.

en	............

en	Don't get me wrong, "girl" is my favorite gender! Like, you're a girl, and you're the best thing that ever happened to me.

en	I just only feel any connection to {i}being{/i} a girl in really specific situations.

en	No, I know.

en	Sorry. Just trying to wrap my head around it.

en	...Can I still call you my girlfriend?

en	Yeah! I like being your girlfriend.

en	And I like being lesbian. I'm not that into the "being a girl" part, but I relate super hard with the "no interest in men" part.

en	It's more stuff like being called "ma'am" or "Mrs." that really skeeves me out.

en	I know it doesn't make that much sense. Like, gender's not real in the first place, so...

en	No, it makes sense.

en	Feel like I already knew that before you said it.

en	You're okay with it?

en	To Min's relief, Diya nods.

en	It's very you.

en	It's kind of cool. You're like a gender outlaw.

en	Yeah! That's me.

en	I'm so lucky to have the sweetest, kindest, purest girlfriend in the world who has to be protected at all costs...

en	I definitely can't let her find out about the racist thing...

en	Min continues watching the clear, rippling water.

en	All of a sudden, Noelle yelps and turns indignantly to Akarsha.

en	Did you just throw a rock at me?!

en	Nope? Maybe it was the water.

en	The WATER threw a rock at me??

en	It was just a lil pebble, right? I bet the waves could've picked it up.

en	She definitely threw the rock at her.

en	Chryssa sighs from the bench she and Liz are sitting on.

en	Why is it that wherever we go, we end up babysitting people?

en	Do you think it's firstborn child syndrome?

en	You might be onto something.

en	My siblings are pretty immature, so it's usually up to me to make sure the house doesn't burn down.

en	What if we started acting really immature too? Then someone else'll be forced to pick up the slack.

en	How do you propose we do that?

en	I dunno...Maybe we should just start talking with no filter.

en	Instead of thinking about what we say, we just say whatever pops into our minds first.

en	Very interesting...

en	Min rereads the script.

en	When she reaches the end of the packet, she flips it over to make sure there's nothing on the back.

en	To her horror, the backside is covered with a dense array of numbers and numerical operations.

en	The heck is this?! It looks like a serial killer wrote on it.

en	Oh, it's just a puzzle I made up.

en	Using the digits 1, 2, 5, and 7 only once each, you create expressions using any operations that result in each integer from 0 to 100.

en	What in the actual hell would possess you to do that?

en	It's called curiosity.

en	When I look at a clock, I like to make the numbers do this.

en	When I look at a clock, it's 'cause I wanna know what time it is.

en	God, you're fucked in the head.

en	Ester is sitting with Grace and Sayeeda on a nearby log.

en	Should I try to talk to her?

en	That might piss her off even worse. I probably shouldn't.

en	I wish my hair would go prematurely grey. Having white hair would be so cool.

en	Me too...

en	Even though no one else would see it?

en	That's not true, I can show my hair to my family and other girls.

en	It's true, she used to charge other girls $20 to see her hair in the girls bathroom.

en	How'd you know? Did you pay to see it?

en	Yup.

en	If you're interested, Ester, I'll let you see it for a special discount of $10.

en	I'll pass.

en	You sure? Limited time offer.

en	Why's it limited time? Your hair's always gonna be there.

en	For all you know, I could be dyeing it a crazy new color every day.

en	It could be blue, purple, pink...And you'll never know unless you check!

en	Oh, crap. Maybe I should pay to see it again...

en	You're seriously falling for that?!

en	After the brief break, the group gets back to filming.

en	Take 11. Action.

en	Hello, how do you feel about the removal of gray wolves from the Endangered Species list?

en	I feel ecstatic! The delisting removed protections for wolves in Idaho and Montana.

en	Now it's legal for me to hunt them. I can't wait to kill tons of wolves!

en	When they finally get through the whole scene, Diya rewards Min with a quick peck on the cheek.

en	Good job.

en	I'm all sweaty and nasty right now, you don't have to do that.

en	You're not nasty. I don't mind it.

en	Noelle grumbles as she sits next to Akarsha at the picnic table and takes a sip of water.

en	I still can't believe you threw a rock at my face.

en	Hey, that is a GROSS exaggeration.

en	Wait, so you admit it was you who threw it now?

en	First of all, I LOBBED it. Second of all, I lobbed it at her neck, not her face.

en	WELL, IT HIT MY FACE!!!

en	Intent matters here! You're makin' it sound way worse than it really was!

en	Yeah, intent does matter! I didn't mean to hurt Ester's feelings either!

en	Min uneasily glances over at Ester. She's reviewing the footage on the camcorder.

en	..........

en	I wish the whole thing never happened...

en	Okay, we're good to start the wolf family interview.

en	Yiss!!!

en	I call being the Wolf Mom!

en	Wait, I wanted to be the mommy, too.

en	Well, I definitely don't want to be the dad.

en	It can be two moms. Adopted.

en	Wolf Mom and Wolf Mom #2.

en	Wolf Mom #2 definitely sounds like the inferior one, though.

en	There's gotta be a way to make them sound equal.

en	Like how there's always two versions of Pokemon, like Diamond and Pearl.

en	Does this really matter??

en	Hey, this is the scene where I kill Akarsha, right?

en	Aren't I supposed to have a gun?

en	Oh, I brought a Nerf gun you can use.

en	It's in the tent with the other stuff.

en	Okay, I'll go get it.

en	Min rummages through the duffel bag of costumes in search of the Nerf gun.

en	Wait, Min-seo, is the microphone in there too?

en	I dunno, look for it yourself.

en	Noelle sneezes as she steps into the dusty tent.

en	Achoo!

en	Shut up.

en	Shut up???

en	Noelle joins Min by the duffel bag.

en	Suddenly, Noelle frowns at her.

en	.........

en	What? You got a problem or something?

en	For one heart-stopping moment, Min's sure she's been exposed as racist somehow, but she soon realizes Noelle is just glaring at the dirt that she tracked into the tent.

en	You wore your boots inside?! You're getting dirt everywhere!

en	Oh, that's it?

en	It's barely anything!

en	You got a leaf on the sleeping bag already. See?

en	So brush it off! Who cares?!

en	I care! You were the one responsible, so {i}you{/i} should be the one to brush it off!

en	It's just one fucking leaf! Stop splitting hairs over nothing!

en	You're the one being difficult here! Just apologize and get the leaf off!

en	YOU REALLY WANT ME TO GET THAT LEAF OFF!? TAKE THIS!!!

en	Min grabs one end of the sleeping bag and swings it at Noelle!

en	It whaps Noelle in the torso!

en	HEY! I'M TELLING ON YOU!!!

en	{big=+20}GO AHEAD AND TRY IT, TURBONERD!!!!{/big}

en	Noelle seizes a handful of the sleeping bag as Min tries to land another blow!

en	YOU GORMLESS BRUTE!!!

en	THE FUCK YOU MEAN I'M WORMLESS??? TAKE THAT BACK!

en	Min yanks on the sleeping bag, hard! It slips from Noelle's grasp, sending Min hurtling backwards.

en	WHOA!!

en	Min loses her balance completely and falls backwards into the wall of the tent.

en	She hits the ground butt-first, pinning the fabric of the tent down with her weight.

en	The tent collapses, blanketing its occupants in nylon. Min feels herself sliding backwards down a slope...

en	THE TENT'S ROLLING DOWN THE HILL!

en	Min and Noelle blindly tumble down the hill with their limbs wrapped in tent, screaming all the way.

en	Min and Noelle

en	AAAAGHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

en	Eventually, they crash into a large bush at the bottom of the ravine.

en	Min crawls out of the tangled mess, spitting dirt and twigs out of her mouth.

en	Pwah! Pwah!

en	Oh, how I despise you...

en	Noelle gathers the tent into her arms and tries to trudge back up to the park in her socks.

en	What happened to your shoes?

en	I took them off before coming into the tent, like a civilized person.

en	See, this is why keeping them on is better.

en	I win.

en	No, you don't! This situation would never arise under normal circumstances.

en	Look how much faster I'm walking than you.

en	See? Loser.

en	Min looks back and sees how far behind Noelle is.

en	She looks pretty pathetic dragging the tent through the dirt...

en	...........

en	Min reluctantly goes back and yanks the tent away from her.

en	...........

en	What's the matter with you today?

en	What?

en	Generally speaking, you strike me as someone who can't take criticism.

en	But you haven't blown up on me like this for months.

en	Did something happen between you and Ester?

en	WHAT?

en	NO, WHY?

en	During our scene, you kept eyeing her like she was going to bite you.

en	Oh, hell. If even fucking NOELLE can tell, I might as well be wearing a neon sign around saying what happened.

en	We sorta got in a fight.

en	She got all offended by something I said.

en	What did you say?

en	...I don't even wanna say it...It's so fucking embarrassing...

en	I kinda was like...I didn't know Black people cared about grades...

en	What?! Why???

en	I don't know...None of my classes ever had Black people in them...

en	So I felt like I was learning something new from the story she was telling me. I was just trying to express that.

en	So you decided to TELL HER you held a bigoted belief that only changed after a random anecdote she shared???

en	I wasn't thinking, okay?! It's easy to pick apart now in hindsight, but the whole thing happened in like five seconds!

en	I didn't even have anything against her! Or Black people in general!

en	C'mon, you know me. When I hate someone, I let them know!!!

en	Yes, I'm well aware of that.

en	So it should've been obvious I didn't mean anything bad by it!

en	When people do Asian accents or say weird stuff about Koreans, {i}I{/i} don't flip out!

en	You don't...?

en	That time we were walking around and got Konnichiwa'd, you were furious.

en	That was coming from a white creep, and it was clearly hateful.

en	But if it's just a joke, or something worded insensitively, it doesn't always mean the person ACTUALLY hates Asians.

en	I'm not sure I follow your logic here...

en	Are you saying that as long as something's not {i}intentionally{/i} hateful racism, it doesn't bother you?

en	Yeah, it doesn't. 'Cause I'm not a sensitive crybaby.

en	But if you had a choice, wouldn't you rather they not say those things?

en	Well, duh. If you could press a button and magically no one ever said that stuff again, that'd be cool.

en	...Then it {i}does{/i|} bother you?

en	Okay, yeah, maybe it would bother me a little, but I wouldn't make a huge stink about it.

en	If it bothers you, doesn't it make sense to complain about it?

en	If I were some weakass sissy, sure. But I'm not, so I don't sweat that kinda small stuff.

en	But we just established that you {i}are{/i} bothered by it.

en	You just deny it because in your eyes, it's weakness to admit you're hurt. Because of the tough guy act you have going on.

en	Noelle's got this insufferably smug expression on her face, like she's discovered a misprint in an exam that no one else has found yet.

en	I think I understand now.

en	Understand what?? You weren't even there.

en	You think Ester is overreacting because in similar situations, you do nothing.

en	When she told you your response was racist, you became enraged by her audacity to complain about things you suffered through in silence.

en	Admitting that you genuinely hurt her feelings would require the admission that you've been hurt before, too.

en	And your fragile ego cannot allow that.

en	...................

en	Shit...Maybe she's onto something...

en	In conclusion, Ester's right, you're wrong, and you're racist.

en	This sucks so bad.....

en	Covered in dirt and twigs, Min struggles to put the tent back up.

en	?!

en	Are you okay.

en	Not really. I feel like absolute dogshit.

en	Oh no.

en	I just wanna hide what I did.

en	I wanna dig a hole and bury the terrible truth where no one will ever find it.

en	What happened?

en	I don't really wanna talk about it.

en	............

en	At a loss for how to handle the situation, Diya quietly helps her pitch the tent.

en	...?

en	Oh no...

en	Huh?
ko	왜?

en	Look.
ko	이것 좀 봐.

en	Diya points to a malformed looking butterfly clinging to the tent fabric.
ko	디야가 텐트 천 부분에 붙어있는 괴상하게 생긴 나비를 가리킨다.

en	Oh, ew.
ko	우웩.

en	What's wrong with its wing? It's all crinkled.
ko	날개가 왜 저래? 쭈글쭈글하네.

en	Think it's stuck like that...That's so sad.
ko	상태가 안 좋은가 봐... 불쌍해.

en	Maybe it's because of the false spring.
ko	가짜 봄 때문에 그럴지도 몰라.

en	False spring?
ko	가짜 봄?

en	It's when it's super warm, but it's still winter.
ko	지금은 겨울인데 봄처럼 느껴질 정도로 따뜻하잖아.

en	It messes up a lot of animals because they think it's spring when it's not.
ko	사실은 봄이 아닌데 그렇게 느껴지니까 많은 동물들이 이상해지는 거야.

en	Maybe the weird environment messed it up while it was forming.
ko	이런 이상기후 때문에 나비가 변태 과정에서 망가진 걸 수도 있어.

en	Diya tries to get the deformed butterfly to crawl onto a twig. It's hard to watch.
ko	디야는 변형된 나비가 나뭇가지를 오르게 하려고 한다. 보고 있기 힘들다.

en	Is that what I'm like? Because I grew up with racists and got taught the worst lessons ever?
ko	나랑 닮은 것 같지 않아? 얘도 그저 타고난 걸로 차별하는 놈들 때문에 온갖 험한 꼴은 다 봤을 것 같은데.

en	I feel like I went through hell and came out the other side in the most monumentally fucked shape.
ko	나는 그 지옥을 겪는 바람에 내가 될 수 있는 가장 궁극적으로 좆같은 형태가 된 느낌이야.

en	?

en	What do you mean?
ko	무슨 뜻이야?

en	Diya...You wouldn't ever break up with me, right?
ko	디야... 넌 나랑 절대 안 헤어질 거지?

en	? No.
ko	? 그럼.

en	What if I did something bad?
ko	혹시 내가 나쁜 짓을 했다면?

en	I mean like, really bad.
ko	그니까, 엄청 나쁜 짓.

en	What did you do?
ko	무슨 짓을 한 거야?

en	Are you SURE you wouldn't break up with me, though?
ko	진ㅡ짜 나랑 안 헤어질 거지?

en	What. Did. You. Do.
ko	무슨. 짓. 했냐구.

en	Min tells Diya what happened, bracing herself for the worst...
ko	민은 디야에게 있었던 일을 사실대로 말합니다. 벌어질지도 모르는 최악의 사태에 대비해 마음을 다잡으며...

en	...And that's why Ester is mad at me...
ko	...그래서 에스터가 나한테 화 난 거야...

en	............

en	That wasn't very nice of you.
ko	잘했다고 하긴 힘드네.

en	Sounds like something racist my mom would say.
ko	우리 엄마나 할 법한 인종차별 발언이야.

en	Yeah, I know...
ko	응, 나도 알아...

en	Poor Ester. Her comic sounds cool, too.
ko	에스터가 불쌍해. 걔 만화 얘기도 난 멋진데.

en	Do you hate me now?
ko	이제 내가 싫어졌어?

en	I mean...It was bad. But at least you realize it.
ko	음... 넌 나쁜 짓을 했어. 그래도 그랬다는 걸 스스로 깨닫고 있고.

en	Everyone makes mistakes.
ko	누구든 실수는 해.

en	Not everyone makes RACIST mistakes.
ko	인종차별 발언을 하는 실수를 모두가 하는 건 아니잖아.

en	But it's not like people are born knowing things, either?
ko	그래도 옳은 행동이 어떤 건지 모두가 날 때부터 아는 건 아니잖아?

en	Everyone has blind spots.
ko	누구라도 미처 생각지 못하는 지점이 있지.

en	How come you've never offended someone like I did, then?
ko	너는 나처럼 다른 사람한테 상처 준 적 없잖아.

en	I don't talk to people very much...
ko	난 남한테 말을 많이 하는 편이 아니라서 그래...

en	So most of the mistakes just happen in my mind.
ko	대부분의 실수가 내 머릿속에서 일어났던 거지.

en	Well...then how come Noelle doesn't offend people??
ko	그럼... 노엘은 어떻게 다른 사람들한테 상처를 안 주는 건데?

en	I mean...she was pretty ignorant about gay people before we started dating.
ko	음... 노엘은 우리가 사귀기 전엔 동성애자들한테 거의 무관심했어.

en	When people said the narrator of {i}The Great Gatsby{/i} was gay in our English class, she got all scandalized and argued against it.
ko	영어 시간에 '위대한 개츠비'의 화자가 동성애자라는 얘기가 나왔는데, 노엘은 절대 아니라면서 그 얘길 꺼내는 애들한테 전부 반박하고 다녔어.

en	She kept insisting there had to be another explanation. But I think she just was grossed out by the thought of it.
ko	반드시 다른 해석이 있을 거라면서. 근데 내 생각에, 노엘은 그냥 그 나레이터가 동성애자라고 생각하기가 불편했던 것 같아.

en	That's not as bad as insulting someone's entire race, though.
ko	그래도, 남의 인종 자체를 비난한 나보단 낫네.

en	Not trying to say she messed up worse.
ko	누구 잘못이 더 크거나 작다는 말은 아냐.

en	My point is she got better about it. She wouldn't do that anymore.
ko	내 말은, 노엘이 그 이후로 더 나아졌다는 거지. 더 이상 그런 말은 하지 않는다는 거.

en	So I don't hold it against her. Just because you were ignorant about something doesn't mean you're bad forever.
ko	그러니까 노엘이 그랬던 때가 있어도 난 괜찮은 거야. 네가 어떤 대상을 대할 때 무지했다고 해서 네가 영원히 나쁜 사람인 건 아니니까.

en	I dunno...It doesn't undo the fact that I was racist to Ester already, and now she hates me.
ko	모르겠어... 내가 에스터한테 인종차별을 했다는 건 바꿀 수 없는 사실이고, 이제 에스터는 날 싫어하잖아.

en	Did you say sorry?
ko	사과는 했어?

en	.........No.....
ko	.........아니.....

en	She might not forgive you. But you should at least tell her.
ko	받아주지 않을지도 몰라. 그렇지만 적어도 사과는 해야 돼.

en	Min feels such anguish upon hearing Diya's suggestion that it takes her a moment to sputter something out.
ko	민은 디야의 말에 너무 고통스러워 다음 말을 내뱉기까지 오랜 시간이 걸린다.

en	But...But...No one ever apologized to ME!
ko	근데... 그치만... 아무도 나한텐 사과 안 했다고!

en	To Min's horror, her eyes fill up with tears.
ko	상처 어린 외침과 동시에 민의 눈에는 눈물이 차오른다.

en	So many people did way worse things to me, and THEY never said sorry!
ko	나한테 그렇게 심한 소리 한 새끼들, 아무도 나한테 사과한 적 없어!

en	None of my racist bullies ever said sorry. My dad never said sorry.
ko	인종차별한 쓰레기들 그 누구도 사과한 적 없어. 내 아빠도 나한테 사과한 적 없어.

en	Why is it only ME who has to say sorry, when what I did wasn't even as bad?
ko	왜 나만 사과해야 되는 거야? 내가 그 놈들만큼 나쁜 짓을 한 것도 아닌데?

en	It's not fair!
ko	불공평하잖아!

en	Diya pulls her into her arms and hugs her very tightly, as if trying to squeeze all the grief out of her body.
ko	디야는 민을 품 속으로 당겨 꽉 끌어안는다. 민의 몸 속에 들어찬 모든 슬픔을 밖으로 밀어내려는 듯이.

en	Min leans into her warmth, letting her familiar touch and the steady rhythm of her heartbeat calm her down.
ko	민은 그 따뜻함에 기댄 채, 디야의 편안한 손길과 심장 박동을 느끼며 진정을 되찾는다.

en	What happened to you wasn't fair.
ko	맞아. 너한테 일어난 일은 불공평해.

en	But that doesn't mean you should be unfair, too. Or you'll just continue the cycle.
ko	그렇다고 너까지 불공평해지진 마. 안 그럼 같은 악순환을 반복하게 되는 거야.

en	You can apologize even if they don't.
ko	그 사람들은 사과하지 않았지만, 너는 할 수 있어.

en	But it's not fair...
ko	그래도 불공평하다구...

en	I want them to suffer. I want them to die.
ko	그 놈들이 고통받았으면 좋겠어. 죽었으면 좋겠어.

en	If I just forget about them, that means they got away with everything.
ko	내가 그 자식들이 한 짓을 잊어버리면, 그 놈들은 아무 일도 없는 채로 잘 살 거 아니야.

en	That means they won, and I lost.
ko	걔네가 이기고, 나는 지는 거야.

en	........

en	But isn't it losing {i}worse{/i} to let people you hate keep controlling your life?
ko	네가 싫어하는 사람들이 네 인생을 좌우하는 것보다, 지는 게 {b}더{/b} 싫어?

en	It's like that saying. If you seek revenge, dig two graves.
ko	이런 말이 있어. '복수하고자 한다면, 두 개의 무덤을 준비하라'.

en	Is it worth it? To hurt yourself in the name of fairness.
ko	'공평함'에 너 자신마저 다치게 할만한 가치가 있을까?

en	....................

en	Is that what I'm doing?
ko	그런 건가?

en	Crashing the car just to get back at them?
ko	복수하려는 마음 때문에 내가 양날의 검을 휘두르고 있는 건가?

en	...The two graves are you and the person you got revenge on, by the way.
ko	...참고로, '무덤 두 개'는 너랑 네가 복수하려는 사람 거 하나씩을 말하는 거야.

en	Not two different people you killed.
ko	네가 각각 다른 두 명을 죽인단 뜻이 아니라.

en	No, I got that.
ko	그건 알아.

en	You're right...
ko	네 말이 맞아…

en	Why should I let those pieces of shit keep controlling me even years later?!
ko	왜 그 개새끼들이 날 몇년이고 휘두르게 놔뒀지?!

en	If nothing they did mattered, that'll show them!!
ko	아무 의미도 없는데. 이렇게 뻔한데!!!

en	Yeah.
ko	맞아.

en	Yeah!!!!!
ko	맞아!!!!!

en	Min dashes off and finds Ester setting up the next scene.
ko	민은 그러고 튀어나가다 다음 씬을 세팅하고 있던 에스터를 발견한다.

en	What took you so long?
ko	왜 이렇게 오래 걸렸어?

en	Everyone's ready to do the wolf death scene.
ko	다들 늑대의 죽음 씬을 찍을 준비가 되어 있다.

en	Can we talk first?
ko	그 전에 얘기 좀 할 수 있냐?

en	Ester gives her a guarded look.
ko	에스터는 경계하는 시선을 보낸다.

en	That depends...
ko	들을만한 내용이라면…

en	Sorry I was an asshole earlier.
ko	내가 좆같았어. 미안하다.

en	I shouldn't have said that racist stuff about Black people, and the weird stuff about your hair.
ko	그렇게 인종차별적인 소릴 하면 안 되는 거였어. 흑인 얘기도, 네 머리 얘기도.

en	Yeah, you shouldn't have.
ko	그래. 안 됐지.

en	You're right, I should've known better.
ko	맞아. 잘 알지도 못하면서.

en	I know how much it sucks looking different from everyone else.
ko	남들이랑 달라 보이는 게 얼마나 개똥같은진 나도 알아.

en	Ester lets out a sigh, looking exhausted.
ko	에스터는 지친 표정으로 한숨을 내쉰다.

en	You'd think people would know, but they don't...
ko	그렇게들 말해. 자기도 안다고. 근데 사실 남들은 몰라…

en	It's like being kicked on both sides. I go through all the same stuff as everyone else at this school, but no one sees me as one of them.
ko	양쪽에서 채이는 기분이야. 이쪽 일도 겪고 저쪽 일도 겪는데, 이 학교에 내가 속할 곳은 없는 거야.

en	Everyone thinks because I'm not "pure" Asian, I'm not as smart or I don't study as much.
ko	난 다른 애들처럼 똑똑하지도, 그렇다고 남들처럼 공부를 열심히 하는 것도 아니니까. 쟤는 '진짜' 아시아인이 아니라고들 생각하지.

en	Don't worry, I don't think that.
ko	걱정 마. 난 안 그래.

en	I learned my lesson. I'm not racist anymore.
ko	이번에 배웠으니까. 이제 인종차별주의자 아니야.

en	Uh...Yeah, you are?
ko	어... 아니, 맞는데?

en	Huh......??????
ko	뭐……??????

en	You're literally still racist, all you did was apologize for one specific thing.
ko	아직 인종차별주의자 맞다고. 방금은 잘못한 거 딱 하나 사과한 거잖아.

en	But...What else am I supposed to do then?!
ko	그럼… 뭘 어떡해야 되는데?!

en	Try to educate yourself and not say random crap about other ethnicities?
ko	많이 좀 배우고, 다른 인종들에 대해선 함부로 잡소리 지껄이지 않기?

en	And say sorry the next time you're racist instead of being all rude and defensive.
ko	그리고 다음에 또 인종차별적인 소릴 했을 땐 무례하게 굴거나 방어적으로 굴지 않기.

en	Next time?! That makes it sound like this is gonna happen again.
ko	다음에 또? 내가 또 그럴 거란 소리야?!

en	Honestly, it probably will.
ko	응. 솔직히 그럴걸.

en	So...you're saying I'll ALWAYS be racist no matter what I do?!
ko	그럼… 어떻게 노력하든 결국 난 계속 인종차별주의자일 거란 말이야?!

en	Min looks so horrified that Ester gives her a pitying look.
ko	공포에 질린 민의 얼굴에 에스터는 딱한 눈길을 보낸다.

en	I mean, literally everyone on earth is ignorant to some degree about SOMETHING.
ko	그게 아니라, 말 그대로 지구상의 모든 인간들은 무언가에 대해선 반드시 어느 정도는 무지하다는 거야.

en	For my webcomic, I tried to research albinos and double amputees the best I could, but I'm still not sure I portrayed everything right.
ko	나도 웹툰에 알비노나 양다리가 절단된 사람에 대한 내용을 그리면서 최선을 다해 관련 정보를 찾아봤지만, 묘사가 얼마나 적절히 됐는지는 확신할 수가 없단 말이야.

en	Double amputee...? What the fuck is going on in her comic?
ko	양다리 절단…? 대체 만화에서 뭔 일이 일어나는 거야?

en	No one's perfect. You just gotta do your best and learn from your mistakes.
ko	완벽한 사람은 없어. 매번 최선을 다하는 거고, 실수로부터 교훈을 얻는 거지.

en	Oh...okay...
ko	그… 그래….

en	But I hate thinking I'm gonna make a DIFFERENT mistake at some point and have to apologize again.