Korean (Butterfly Soup2) - en to ko translation catalogue (2065 entries)

en: Min-seo
ko: 민서

en: Akarsha
ko: 아카샤

en: Ester
ko: 에스터

en: "Yuki"
ko: "유키"

en: "Sakura"
ko: "사쿠라"

en: Dad
ko: 아빠

en: Pratik
ko: 프라틱

en: Amma
ko: 아마

en: Chun-hua
ko: 춘화

en: Jun-seo
ko: 준서

en: Hayden
ko: 헤이든

en: npc
ko: NPC

en: npc2
ko: NPC 2

en: Global Warming
ko: 지구온난화

en: 9th grade
ko: 9학년

note: Speaker: Min
en: Get up bitch! It's ready!
ko: 일어나 이년아! 준비 다 됐어!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Finally! Outta the way, you'll get burned.
ko: 드디어! 비켜, 데일라.

en: Akarsha gingerly pulls the molten chocolate cake from the oven.
ko: 아카샤가 조심스럽게 오븐에서 초콜릿 케이크를 꺼낸다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Thank god...It looks edible this time.
ko: 신이시여 감사합니다... 이번엔 먹을수 있을 정도는 된거같아.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: This is our second try. Diya ruined the first one by forgetting to add flour.
ko: 이거로 두번째 시도다. 첫번째 케이크엔 디야가 밀가루를 안넣는 바람에 망쳐버렸다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What're all those specks on it? It's like the batter wasn't properly mixed.
ko: 저 뭉텅이들은 뭐야? 반죽이 제대로 안섞였나봐.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: We worked so hard mixing it though?
ko: 그렇게 힘들게 섞었는데도?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's probably fine.
ko: 괜찮겠지, 뭐.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, whatever. We don't have enough time to redo it at this point, anyway.
ko: 뭐 어쨌든. 어차피 다시 구울 시간도 없어서 상관 없어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: All we gotta do now is write "Happy Birthday Noelle" on it.
ko: 이제 위에 "생일 축하해 노엘" 이라고 적기만 하면 끝이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, yeah, naturally.
ko: 그래 그래, 그렇겠지.

en: Akarsha pipes icing letters onto the cake as Min checks her phone.
ko: 민이 핸드폰을 확인하는 동안 아카샤가 케이크에 아이싱으로 글씨를 써넣기 시작한다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Hurry up, Diya says they'll be here any second.
ko: 서둘러, 디야가 지금 당장이라도 도착할거래.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Easy. I'm done icing the first word already.
ko: 진정해, 벌써 첫번째 글자를 다 써 놓았으니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why the fuck did you write "Noelle" first!?
ko: 넌 시발 도대체 왜 "노엘" 부터 써놓은건데!?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Aw shit, I got ahead of myself.
ko: 아 젠장. 마음만 앞서버렸네.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I'm going to fucking kill you!
ko: 시발, 너 죽여 버린다!

en: Akarsha frantically adds 'BIRTHDAY' to the cake.
ko: 아카샤가 허둥대며 "버스데이" 를 적어 올린다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Wait, what're you doing?
ko: 야 잠깐, 너 지금 뭐하는거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: If you hadn't done that, we could've salvaged this with "Noelle Happy Birthday"!
ko: 그거 안 썼으면, "노엘 해피 버스데이" 로 만회 할수 있었잖아!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: DON'T ASK ME! THAT'S WHAT YOU GET FOR RUSHING ME!!!
ko: {b}나한테 묻지 마!! 니가 날 재촉하니까 이렇게 된거 아니야!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Min
en: What do we write now?! "Noelle Birthday Happy"???
ko: 그럼 이제 뭐라고 적게?! "노엘 버스데이 해피"???

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's gonna look like we had a goddamn stroke icing this!
ko: 글씨 쓰다가 빌어먹을 뇌졸중이라도 온줄 알겠다!

en: The doorbell rings. Min and Akarsha freeze.
ko: 초인종이 울린다. 민과 아카샤는 자리에서 얼어붙는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's them!
ko: 왔다!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Gimme the icing bag! You're not allowed to have it anymore!!
ko: 아이싱 내놔! 너 더 이상 손 대기만 해봐!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Okay, fair. I don't trust myself anymore, either.
ko: 그래, 그럴만도 해. 나도 이제 내가 못미더운걸.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'll go stall them instead.
ko: 내가 대신 시간을 끌게.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, keep Noelle outside. I just need like, five minutes to figure out how to fix this.
ko: 그래. 가서 노엘이 못 들어오게 막아. 5분 정도만 있으면 이걸 고칠 방법을 생각 해낼수 있을거야.

en: Akarsha sprints to the front door and throws it open.
ko: 아카샤가 정문으로 달려가 문을 활짝 열어 제낀다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Brought her.
ko: 데려왔어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Well well well, if it isn’t fancy meeting what the cat finally decided to show up.
ko: 이런, 이런, 이런, 이게 귀한곳에 누추한 분이 누구야?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...What on earth are you saying...
ko: ... 도대체 무슨 소리를 하는거야...

en: Noelle narrows her eyes suspiciously at Akarsha, then tries to peer past her into the house.
ko: 노엘이 의심스러운 눈초리로 아카샤를 노려보곤, 집 안을 살펴보려 한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Is this your house? Diya wouldn't explain why we were walking here.
ko: 여긴 너네 집이야? 디야가 왜 여기까지 걸어가는지도 설명을 안해줬어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Sure is. To be honest, Frenchman, we're here because... uh...
ko: 물론이지. 솔직히 말하자면, 프렌치맨, 우리가 여기 모인 이유는... 어...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We're not ready to reveal the birthday cake yet. I gotta do something to distract her!
ko: 아직 생일 케이크를 보여줄 준비가 안됐는데. 얼른 뭐라도 해서 주의를 분산 시켜야해!

en: Fake your own death
ko: 죽는척 하기

en: Propose to her
ko: 청혼하기

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ough! I've been poisoned!
ko: 으억! 독에 당했다!

en: Akarsha theatrically collapses and lies facedown on the floor.
ko: 아카샤가 마치 연극처럼 쓰러져, 바닥에 얼굴을 붙이고 눕는다.

[ctx: beginning_320efa19]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ........
ko: ......

en: Used to Akarsha's antics, Diya and Noelle step over her motionless body without comment.
ko: 아카샤의 장난에 익숙해진 디야와 노엘은, 누워있는 아카샤의 몸을 아무 말도 없이 걸어 넘어간다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: W-wait a minute!
ko: 자, 잠깐만!

en: Akarsha crawls to Noelle on all fours and seizes her leg with shaking hands.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘에게 기어가서 떨리는 손으로 다리를 잡는다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: LET GO OF MY LEG.
ko: {b}내 다리 당장 놔.{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wait. I seriously just threw up all over the floor in the kitchen.
ko: 잠깐만. 나 진짜로 방금 부엌 바닥에 거하게 토했단 말야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What?? Why?!
ko: 뭐?? 왜?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: That's what I gotta do to get your attention?
ko: 이제 나한테 관심이 좀 생겨?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I didn't even throw up.
ko: 사실 안 토했어.

[ctx: beginning_a41d9ab0]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: .........
ko: ......

en: Noelle wrenches Akarsha off her leg, then wipes her hands on her shirt like she just touched a slug.
ko: 노엘이 다리에 매달린 아카샤를 거칠게 끌어내고는, 마치 민달팽이라도 닿았다는듯 셔츠에 손을 닦아낸다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're gonna just ignore me?
ko: 그래서 날 이렇게 무시하겠다고?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm throwing up again!
ko: 다시 토할거같아!

en: Akarsha gets down on one knee. Noelle looks warily down at her.
ko: 아카샤가 한쪽 무릎을 꿇는다. 노엘이 걱정스러운 눈으로 아카샤를 내려다본다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Noelle, will you marry me?!
ko: 노엘, 나랑 결혼해줄래?!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: ....??!
ko: ...??!

[ctx: beginning_22b0498e]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What's wrong with you?!
ko: 넌 도대체 뭐가 문제야?!

en: Akarsha grabs Noelle's hand and tries to force a rubber band onto her finger.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘의 손을 잡고 억지로 손가락에 고무줄을 끼우려 해본다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: WHAT IS THAT?!?!
ko: {b}이건 또 뭔데?!?!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Your engagement ring!
ko: 약혼반지!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I DIDN’T AGREE TO THIS! WE’RE NOT ENGAGED!
ko: {b}난 이 일에 동의하지 않았어! 우리는 약혼한게 아니야!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You didn’t say no!
ko: "아니요" 라고 말 안했잖아!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: NO!
ko: {b}아니요!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Too late! You didn’t say it right after I asked you!
ko: 늦었어! 청혼하고 바로 말 안했으니까!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: THAT’S NOT HOW IT WORKS, YOU DOLT!
ko: {b}그런식으로 하는거 아니거든, 이 얼뜨기야!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Is that any way to address your future wife?
ko: 미래의 와이프를 이렇게 대해도 되는거야?

en: Noelle flings the offending rubber band into the bushes.
ko: 노엘이 문제의 고무줄을 덤불 안으로 튕겨 날려버린다.

[ctx: beginning_d11361e6]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .........
ko: ......

en: Diya just stands there in confusion. Noelle suspiciously looks from her to Akarsha.
ko: 디야는 가만히 서서 헷갈려하고 있다. 노엘은 수상쩍게 아카샤를 본다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What's really going on?
ko: 그래서, 진짜 용건이 뭔데?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: There's no way you made me walk for an hour just to act out this inane skit.
ko: 이런 쓰잘데기 없는 꽁트나 보여주려고 한시간이나 걷게 한건 아닐거 아니야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It only took that long because you wouldn't run.
ko: 네가 뛰지 않아서 그렇게 오래 걸린거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Once you run at least three miles without walking, you'll see how fun it is.
ko: 한 3마일만 걷지 않고 뛰어보면 얼마나 재미있는지 알게 될걸.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I'm sorry, Diya, but that's never happening.
ko: 미안한데 디야, 그런 일은 일어나지 않아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: SURPRISE!!!
ko: {b}서프라이즈!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh, we're doing this? The cake must be ready now!
ko: 아, 지금 하는거야? 케이크 준비가 다 됐나보다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Surprise! Happy Birthday Frenchman!
ko: 서프라이즈! 생일 축하해, 프렌치맨!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Surprise.
ko: 서프라이즈.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We put together a party for you.
ko: 널 위해 다같이 파티를 준비했어.

en: Noelle is lost for words.
ko: 노엘은 할 말을 잃었다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You shouldn't have...
ko: 안 그래도 됐는데...

note: Speaker: Min
en: Shut the fuck up! You're not the boss of me!
ko: 시발 닥쳐! 나한테 이래라 저래라 하지 마!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It...{w=0.35}it's MY birthday, so shouldn't I have some say here?!
ko: 아니...{w=0.35}내 생일이니까, 내 의견을 들어야 하는거 아니야?!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Anyway, I haven't said anything about not liking it.
ko: 아무튼, 싫다는 말은 한적 없어.

en: She grimaces like there's something disgusting in her mouth.
ko: 노엘은 마치 입 안에 역겨운 것을 머금고 있는것처럼 얼굴을 찡그린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I sincerely....{w=1.0}appreciate....{w=1.0}you all doing this.
ko: 정말 진심으로...{w=1.0}이렇게 까지 해줘서...{w=1.0}고마워.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oooh, I like this! Go on.
ko: 우와, 이거 괜찮은데! 계속 해봐.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It was nice while it lasted.
ko: 있는 동안엔 좋았어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Come inside. We baked you a cake!
ko: 안으로 들어와, 케이크도 구웠어!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You did?
ko: 네가?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wha...{w=0.35}what kind of save was this...
ko: 이...{w=0.35}이게 무슨 만회야...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What's that red squiggly under it? A heart monitor?
ko: 저 밑에 빨간 꼬불이는 뭐야? 심전도?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Why does it look like it's flatlining toward the end?
ko: 왜 끝쪽으로 가면 심장이 멈춘거 같이 보이는 건데?

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's hard to control the icing, okay?!
ko: 아이싱 다루는게 얼마나 힘든지 알기나 해?!

note: Speaker: Min
en: And this was all Akarsha's fault in the first place.
ko: 그리고 애초에 모든게 아카샤 잘못이란 말이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: MY fault? All I did was drive the train off the rails. You were the one who crashed it!
ko: 내 잘못이라고? 난 기차를 탈선시키기 밖에 안했어. 그걸 갖다 박아버린건 너고!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Driving off the rails still sounds like a pretty big mistake...
ko: 탈선 시키는것도 꽤 지대한 실수 같은데...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh yeah?? Well, ultimately, this is Noelle's fault for being born. Who's the real culprit now???
ko: 아 그러셔?? 그럼, 궁극적으론, 이 모든게 노엘이 태어나서 일어났으니까 노엘 탓이야. 이제 진짜 범인은 누구지???

note: Speaker: Min
en: Huh, good point. Okay, let's go with that.
ko: 음. 맞는 말이네. 그래, 그거로 가자.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Good point?!
ko: 맞는 말?!

note: Speaker: Min
en: We've won. Two against one.
ko: 우리가 이겼어. 2대 1이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Democracy! U.S.A!
ko: 민주주의 만세! 미합중국 만세!

en: Once everyone's had a slice of cake, Akarsha brings everyone to the living room.
ko: 모두가 케이크 한조각을 먹은 뒤, 아카샤가 모두를 거실로 데려온다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: This was originally gonna be a sleepover, but I think some of your parents would've said no.
ko: 원래는 자고 가라고 하려 했는데, 생각해보니 몇몇 부모님들이 안된다고 하실것 같았어.

[ctx: golf_5b580689]
en: Diya nods.
ko: 디야가 고개를 끄덕인다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: My mom's never let me go to one before. She's worried it'll turn me lesbian.
ko: 우리 엄마는 한번도 허락해 준적이 없었어. 날 레즈비언으로 만들어 버릴거라고 걱정하시거든.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Too bad for her, I already did.
ko: 안타깝게도, 이미 내가 그랬지만.

[ctx: golf_8050f8f8]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah...
ko: 응...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Akarsha, I'm surprised your parents let us come over unsupervised at all.
ko: 아카샤, 난 네 부모님이 아무런 감독도 없이 우리가 와서 노는걸 허락해 주신게 놀라워.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Eh, they trust me. They should be back any minute now, anyway.
ko: 에, 날 믿으니까. 어차피 금방 돌아오실건데, 뭐.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: They're in San Ramon watching my bro's red belt test for Taekwondo. It must be taking longer than they thought.
ko: 지금 우리 동생 태권도 빨간띠 승단시험 본다고 산 라몬에 가있어. 생각보다 오래 걸리나봐.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Test? I didn't realize you had to pass formal examinations to advance in Taekwondo.
ko: 시험? 태권도에서 승단 하려면 정식으로 시험을 봐야 한다는건 몰랐는데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ya, you gotta memorize forms and stuff. I've never seen them fail anyone, though.
ko: 웅. 막 자세 같은것도 외우고 그래야 하더라. 근데 누굴 탈락 시키는건 한번도 본적 없긴 해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Anyway, us being home alone means we can go BUCK WILD. We're about to throw the party of a LIFETIME, Frenchman!
ko: 아무튼, 집에 우리 말곤 아무도 없다는건 완전 미친듯이 놀아도 된다는 뜻이야. 네 인생 최고의 파티로 만들어줄게, 프렌치맨!

en: Akarsha crouches at the foot of the TV and turns the GameCube on.
ko: 아카샤가 텔레비전 밑에 쪼그려 앉아 게임큐브의 전원을 킨다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Mario Golf, baby.
ko: 마리오 골프, 베이비.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Golf? Are you sure Noelle will like that?
ko: 골프? 노엘이 그런걸 좋아할게 확실해?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I don't know what you're talking about. Mario Golf is the best game in the world.
ko: 무슨말을 하는건지 모르겠네. 마리오 골프는 세계최고의 게임이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I only have two controllers, though. I usually just play against my bro.
ko: 보통은 내 남동생이랑만 해서 컨트롤러가 두개 밖에 없긴 해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, and the rest of us should take turns playing against her.
ko: 그치. 그리고 우리가 한명씩 노엘 상대로 플레이 하자.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Nonsense! You're getting the maximal amount of fun here, Frenchman.
ko: 모르는 소리! 니가 여기서 최대치의 재미를 보는거라고, 프렌치맨.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Akarsha, this better not be like your copy of Melee.
ko: 아카샤, 이게 니 멜리 같은 상태이기만 해봐.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You didn't even have any of the characters unlocked except Marth.
ko: 마스 빼곤 캐릭터 해금이 하나도 안돼있었잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Who needs "Falcon" or whatever when Captain Falcon is right there? Same thing, really...
ko: 캡틴 팔콘이 이렇게 버젓이 있는데 누가 "팔콘" 인지 뭔지가 필요해? 그게 그거지, 뭐...

note: Speaker: Min
en: You mean {i}Falco{/i}?! There's no fucking character called Falcon!
ko: 너 지금 {i}팔코{/i} 말하는거야?! 팔콘이라는 캐릭터는 시발 없거든?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Jeez, calm yourself! I unlocked everything this time. See?
ko: 아 진짜, 진정 좀 해! 이번엔 다 해금 해놨다고. 봐!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Min, choose Wario. We're team Wario.
ko: 민, 와리오 골라. 우린 팀 와리오야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why should I?
ko: 내가 왜?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Don't you trust me?
ko: 날 믿지?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I guess, whatever...
ko: 뭐... 그러시든가...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I suppose I'll be this pink princess.
ko: 그렇다면 난 이 핑크 공주로 할게.

en: Akarsha glances over at Noelle. She's placed her controller flat on the sofa and is pressing down on the buttons like she's playing piano.
ko: 아카샤가 노엘을 쳐다본다. 노엘은 자신의 컨트롤러를 소파에 내려놓고 마치 피아노를 치듯 버튼을 누르고 있다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What're you doing???
ko: 너 뭐하는거야???

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Shut up! I can adjust the control stick with greater precision like this!
ko: 닥쳐! 이렇게 해야 더 정밀하게 컨트롤러를 조종할수 있다고!

en: Noelle pinches the control stick between her thumb and index finger like a crab with a pebble between its pincers.
ko: 노엘이 마치 집게로 조약돌을 주운 게처럼, 컨트롤 스틱을 엄지와 검지로 쥔다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Ohhhh my godddd! Why are you like a grandma who's never seen a video game before?!
ko: 세에에상에 맙소사아! 도대체 왜 이렇게 게임이란걸 태어나서 처음 본 할망구처럼 구는거야?!

en: Min selects a dark, lava-ridden course. An animation panning to the stage's first hole plays onscreen.
ko: 민이 어두컴컴하고 용암으로 수놓인 코스를 고른다. 첫번째 홀로 이어지는 애니메이션이 재생된다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Wait, that looks difficult. I don't even know how to play this yet!
ko: 잠시만. 이거 어려워 보이는데. 나 이거 어떻게 플레이 하는지도 몰라!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Sink or sizzle, Frenchman.
ko: 가라앉거나 타죽거나야, 프렌치맨.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That doesn't sound like something you should be saying to someone on her birthday.
ko: 생일자한테 할 말로는 들리지 않는데.

en: Noelle hastily mashes buttons at random on her controller. Her character manages to hit the golf ball safely across a lava pit.
ko: 노엘이 무턱대고 아무 버튼이나 눌러댄다. 노엘의 캐릭터는 무사히 골프공을 용암 너머로 안전하게 착지 시키는데 성공한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It's not luck. It's physics.
ko: 운이 아니야. 물리지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Big words from someone who was protesting she didn't know how play ten seconds ago.
ko: 10초 전만 해도 어떻게 플레이 하는지 모른다고 시위하던 사람한테서 나오기엔 거창한 말이네.

en: After a few swings, Min successfully putts her golf ball into the first hole. The words "BOGEY" appear onscreen.
ko: 몇번의 스윙 후, 민이 성공적으로 공을 첫 홀에 넣는다. "보기" 라는 단어가 화면에 뜬다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: The fuck is a "bogey"?
ko: "보기"가 시발 뭐야?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: How should I know? Aren't you and Diya the sports enthusiasts here?
ko: 나라고 알간? 너랑 디야가 우리중엔 스포츠 전문가 아니였어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I like real sports, not fake old people sports like golf.
ko: 난 진짜 스포츠가 좋은거지, 골프처럼 노인네나 좋아하는 짭스포츠가 좋은게 아니야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Me too.
ko: 나도.

en: Noelle finishes the hole with a triple bogey. Onscreen, Princess Peach collapses and shakes her head, devastated.
ko: 노엘이 트리플 보기로 홀을 마친다. 화면에선 피치공주가 쓰러지고는, 절망에 빠져 머리를 흔든다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: HAHAH! LOSER!!!
ko: {b}하하하!!! 루저!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: YOU SHUT YOUR MOUTH!!!
ko: {b}넌 그 입 다물어!!!{/b}

en: Min hands Diya the controller for the next hole, kissing her adoringly on the cheek as she does.
ko: 민은 디아에게 다음 홀을 할수 있도록 컨트롤러를 건네주며, 사랑을 담아 볼에 키스한다.

en: Diya furrows her brows, considering her options...
ko: 디야는 자신에게 주어진 선택지를 고심하며 눈썹을 찌푸린다.

[ctx: golf_7c22ccaa]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .......
ko: ......

en: Diya launches her ball straight into the lava.
ko: 디야는 골프공을 곧장 용암 안으로 날려 버린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: At last! My chance to make a comeback.
ko: 마침내! 역전을 할 기회가 왔어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'm weaker today because I'm not Luigi.
ko: 오늘은 내가 루이지가 아니라 약한거야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: If you insist.
ko: 그렇다 치자.

en: Noelle immediately hits her ball into the lava, too.
ko: 노엘 역시 골프공을 곧장 용암 안으로 날려버린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: NGOOOHHGHH!!!
ko: {b}윽ㅇㄱ으아ㅇ아ㅏㅏㅏ!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I can't wait to see your face when we play Monopoly later.
ko: 이따가 모노폴리 할때의 네 얼굴이 너무 기대된다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: We're playing {i}Monopoly?{/i} Why?
ko: {i}모노폴리{/i}를? 왜?

note: Speaker: Min
en: What, you don't like it?
ko: 왜. 너 싫어해?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Silence, demon! It's fun to fantasize about owning property someday!
ko: 그 입 다물라, 악마여! 언젠가 자기 소유의 집을 마련할수 있다는 환상에 빠지는게 얼마나 재밌는데!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: The game was not even designed to be fun!
ko: 애초에 재미 있으라고 만들어진 게임도 아니야!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It was created to educate people on the dangers of capitalism!
ko: 사람들에게 자본주의의 공포를 교육시키기 위해 만들어졌다고!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But I like collecting the deed cards...They're such nice colors.
ko: 그치만 나 토지 카드를 모으는게 좋은데... 알록달록 예쁘잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Noelle, let's make a deal. If you win the next hole against me, we won't play Monopoly.
ko: 노엘, 거래를 하자. 네가 다음 홀에서 날 이길수 있다면, 모노폴리는 없던일로 할게.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: How is that fair? You've played Mario Golf countless times before.
ko: 이게 어떻게 공평한 거래야? 너 마리오 골프 엄청 많이 해봤잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hey, I've only tried this course once or twice! Honest!
ko: 에이, 나 이 코스는 한두번 밖에 안해봤어! 진짜 솔직하게!

en: Noelle ponders this as Diya hits her golf ball straight into the lava for the third time.
ko: 노엘은 디야가 세번째로 공을 용암에 날리는 동안 이 거래를 고민해본다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...Fine. Deal.
ko: ... 알겠어. 거래 성립이야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Oh, no. I roasted my golf ball again.
ko: 아 이런. 또 공을 태워버리고 말았어.

en: After countless attempts, Noelle manages to complete the hole first.
ko: 셀수 없이 많은 시도 끝에, 노엘이 먼저 홀에 공을 넣는데 성공한다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yay. You win.
ko: 야호. 네가 이겼어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It's a good thing your athleticism doesn't translate to skill at sports games.
ko: 네 운동실력이 게임실력에 비례하지 않아서 다행이야.

en: Diya putts the ball into the hole with her next swing. She passes the controller to Akarsha.
ko: 디야가 다음 스윙에 공을 홀에 넣고, 아카샤에게 컨트롤러를 건넨다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Your turn.
ko: 네 차례야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Diya totally just let Noelle win.
ko: 디야 분명히 방금 노엘 이기게 해줬다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I'm pulling out all the stops!
ko: 내 모든걸 다해 승부하겠어!

en: The words "Press A to skip" appear as the animation showing the next hole begins to play...
ko: 다음 홀을 보여주는 애니메이션이 나오고, 화면엔 "A 버튼을 눌러 스킵하기" 라는 글이 나온다.

en: "Accidentally" press A as you take the controller
ko: 컨트롤러를 넘겨 받으며 "실수"로 A 누르기

en: Akarsha presses A to skip the animation before it can reveal the hole's location.
ko: 아카샤가 A 버튼을 눌러서, 다음 홀의 위치가 보이기 전에 애니메이션을 스킵 해버린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Whoopsie daisy! I got too impatient.
ko: 에구머니나! 너무 조급했네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: AKARSHA!!! WHERE'S THE HOLE!!
ko: 아카샤!!! 홀 어디 있어!!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I wonder...
ko: 글쎄에...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: YOU WORTHLESS SCAMMER!!!
ko: {b}이 빌어먹을 사기꾼!!!{/b}

en: Akarsha smugly putts her ball, but it rolls smoothly into the lava.
ko: 아카샤는 거들먹대며 공을 치지만, 공은 부드럽게 용암으로 굴러 들어간다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: NOO!!! NOOOO!! AAUAAGGH!!!
ko: {b}안돼!!! 안돼애애!!!!! 으앍악!!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Serves you right.
ko: 꼴 좋다.

en: Noelle tries to set up a trick shot against a wall.
ko: 노엘이 벽의 반사를 이용한 트릭샷을 준비한다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Whoa! Geometry!
ko: 우와! 기하학!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Be quiet. I'm concentrating.
ko: 조용히 해. 집중하잖아.

en: Noelle hits the ball with a measured swing.
ko: 노엘이 계산된 스윙으로 공을 친다.

en: Instead of glancing off the wall at the intended angle, it just ricochets back the way it came.
ko: 하지만 예상했던 각도로 나아가긴 커녕, 시작했던 곳으로 튕겨돌아가 버린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Well done, Noelle! You're back where you started!
ko: 잘 했어, 노엘! 처음 시작한곳으로 다시 돌아갔구나!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I HATE YOU! YOU SCUMBAG!!!
ko: {b}너 진짜 싫어! 이 쓰레기!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I STILL DON'T EVEN KNOW WHERE THE HOLE IS!!!
ko: {b}난 아직 홀이 어딘지도 모른단 말이야!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Watch and learn, my friend.
ko: 보고 배우게나, 나의 벗이여.

en: Akarsha expertly angles her shot so the golf ball rolls up a hill, then drops straight into the hole.
ko: 아카샤는 전문가의 솜씨로, 공이 언덕을 올라가서 곧장 홀 안으로 떨어지도록 각도를 맞춰 친다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: That's how it's done.
ko: 이렇게 하는거야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: My days playing this stage against my bro have finally paid off!
ko: 동생 상대로 이 스테이지를 하던 나날들이 드디어 빛을 발하는구나!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Days?! You said you only played this stage once or twice!
ko: 나날들?! 너 이 스테이지 한두번밖에 안해봤다며!

en: Noelle scowls, but Akarsha can tell from the way the corners of her mouth crinkle that she's fighting back a grin.
ko: 노엘은 얼굴을 찌푸리지만, 아카샤는 노엘의 입꼬리가 구겨지는 모양새로 노엘이 웃음을 참고 있음을 알아챈다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You liar! What do you have to say for yourself?!
ko: 이 거짓말쟁이! 변명이라도 해보시지?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Huh? Suddenly, I can't hear...My ears are failing!
ko: 어라? 갑자기 아무것도 안들려... 귀가 떨어지나봐!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hawwo? Hawwo?
ko: 야부세요? 얍보세용?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: AKARSHAAAAA!!!!!!
ko: {b}아카샤아아아!!!!!!!!{/b}

en: Wario slaps his butt as the words "PAR" appear onscreen.
ko: 화면에 "PAR" 라는 글씨가 뜨며 와리오가 자신의 엉덩이를 찰싹 때린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: See? This is why Mario Golf is the best game in the world.
ko: 봤지? 이래서 마리오 골프가 세계최고의 게임인거야.

en: Noelle turns away so Akarsha can't see her face, but by now she's shaking with barely suppressed laughter.
ko: 노엘은 아카샤가 얼굴을 보지 못하게 고개를 돌리지만, 이미 온몸이 숨겼다 하기도 힘든 웃음으로 떨리고 있다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I'M GOING TO BEAT THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF YOU!!!
ko: {b}너 진짜 죽도록 패버릴거야!!!{/b}

en: Akarsha yelps as Noelle pelts her with slaps.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘이 아카샤를 찰싹이며 연신 때리자, 꺅꺅 비명을 지른다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Halp! Murder! Murder!
ko: 도와쥬세용!! 살인! 살이인!!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So, Monopoly?
ko: 그래서, 모노폴리?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ya HA! I got Boardwalk!
ko: 아싸! 보드워크 먹었다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Welcome to my Santa Cruz of Death. I'm using my entire savings to pile four houses on it.
ko: "죽음의 산타 크루즈"에 오신걸 환영합니다. 내 전 재산을 꼬라박아서 집 네채를 짓겠어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Oh, no. If I land on it right now, I'll go broke.
ko: 아 이런. 지금 저기 들어가면 파산 해버릴 텐데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Well, chances are, you won't.
ko: 뭐, 그럴 확률은 적지만 말야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Unloading all your money on a single property is pure folly this early in the game.
ko: 그렇게 게임 초반부에 토지 하나에 전 재산을 탕진하는건 바보같은 짓이야.

en: Diya rolls the dice and breathes a sigh of relief when she safely passes Akarsha's killer Boardwalk tile.
ko: 디야가 주사위를 굴린다. 아카샤의 지옥-워크 칸을 무사히 건넌걸 보고는 안도의 한숨을 내쉰다.

en: After a few spaces, her dog token lands on Min's property. She begins to shell out the rent, but Min stops her.
ko: 디야의 개 토큰은 몇칸 너머에 있는 민의 토지에 안착한다. 월세를 내려 지폐를 세는 디야를 민이 멈춰 세운다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You don't have to pay me.
ko: 월세 안내도 돼.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I don't?
ko: 안 내도 돼?

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's my house, so I'm in charge. You can stay there for free.
ko: 내 집이니까 내 맘대로지. 넌 무료로 지내게 해줄게.

[ctx: monopoly_74a1a48c]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ....
ko: ...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Not so fast. That's not allowed!
ko: 동작 그만. 그거 반칙이거든!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: When you land on property owned by another player, the owner has to collect rent from you.
ko: 타인 소유의 토지에 도착하면, 토지 주인은 월세를 필수로 걷어야해.

en: Akarsha flips open the rulebook and pretends to adjust an imaginary pair of glasses on her face.
ko: 아카샤는 룰북을 펼치고선 허상의 안경을 고쳐 쓰는 시늉을 한다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Actually, it says here...
ko: 사실은, 여기 쓰여있는걸 보면...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: "The owner may not collect the rent if he/she fails to ask for it before the second player following throws the dice."
ko: "토지 주인은 다음 순서의 플레이어가 주사위를 굴리기 전에 물어보지 않는다면, 월세를 걷어서는 안된다."

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That's so confusingly worded.
ko: 되게 헷갈리게 쓰여있다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Basically, it's sayin' if the owner doesn't ask for rent, the renter doesn't have to pay it!
ko: 그러니까, 대충 주인이 월세 내라고 안물어보면 월세 안내도 된다는거지!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Ha! So Diya CAN sleep at my house!
ko: 하! 그럼 디야 우리집에서 자도 되는거네!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What kind of buffoon penned these rules?! If the renter and owner are in cahoots, the other players are at a disadvantage!
ko: 뭔 머저리같은 인간이 이런 규칙을 집필한거야?! 세입자랑 토지 주인이 사기단 이라도 꾸리면 다른 플레이어들 한테 불이익이 가는거잖아!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Unless the odd ones out form an alliance to counter it, too.
ko: 그 다른 플레이어들이 동맹으로 반격한다면 모르지.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Not a chance.
ko: 어림도 없지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Don't say I didn't ask ya.
ko: 나중에 후회 하지나 마셔.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You'll be singing a different tune once you land on my Killer Boardwalk.
ko: 내 "살인워크"에 들어오기만 해봐, 한 입으로 두 소리 하게 될걸.

en: Noelle's phone buzzes, and her face pales when she checks it.
ko: 노엘의 핸드폰이 울리고, 확인을 하는 노엘의 얼굴이 새하얘진다.

[ctx: monopoly_03e3ab03]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Oh, great.
ko: 아, 경사 났네.

[ctx: monopoly_a7740241]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: What's wrong?
ko: 무슨 일이야?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I told my mom I'd text her when I got to Akarsha's house.
ko: 아카샤네 도착하면 엄마한테 연락 드리겠다고 했거든.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: But I was having so much fun, it completely slipped my mind.
ko: 근데 너무 신나게 놀아서 완전히 잊어버렸어.

note: Speaker: cMom
en: Are you having fun
ko: 재밌게 놀고 있니

note: Speaker: cSame
en: Hello
ko: 노엘

note: Speaker: cMom
en: Hello Noelle how are you doting
ko: 노엘 어떻게 괘가고 있니

note: Speaker: cSame
en: I meant not doing not doting :)
ko: 괘가고가 아니라 돼가고 있냐고 물어보려고 했어 ^^

note: Speaker: cMom
en: You may consider to call us when you can
ko: 시간 될때 전화 주렴

note: Speaker: cMom
en: Is everything okay ?
ko: 문제 없는거지?

note: Speaker: cSame
en: Where are you? You said you would text us, It's been almost two hours
ko: 너 지금 어디니? 연락 준다며 벌써 두시간이나 지났어

note: Speaker: cMom
en: How come you're not picking up your phone?
ko: 왜 전화 안받는거니?

note: Speaker: cSame
en: We're about to call the police
ko: 경찰에 신고할거야

note: Speaker: Min
en: Jesus...
ko: 미친...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: There's four missed calls, too. I think we were all shouting so much, I didn't hear any of them.
ko: 부재중 전화도 네 통이나 왔었어. 소리 지르느라 하나도 못들었나봐.

en: Diya jumps in surprise as her cell phone starts ringing.
ko: 전화가 울리고, 디야는 깜짝 놀라 펄쩍 뛴다.

en: She stares at it with trepidation before fearfully pressing it to her good ear.
ko: 디야는 벌벌 떨며 핸드폰을 쳐다보다가, 무서운듯이 잘 들리는 쪽의 귀로 갖다댄다.

[ctx: momTexts_e629b0d2]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ........
ko: ......

en: Diya frantically hands Noelle the phone like it's a hot potato.
ko: 디야는 핸드폰이 뜨거운 감자라도 된 듯 노엘에게 황급히 건네준다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Alright. I'll deal with it.
ko: 알았어. 내가 해결할게.

en: A few minutes later, she returns to the group, her face sour.
ko: 몇분이 지나고, 노엘은 얼굴을 구긴채로 돌아온다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: We've cleared up the misunderstanding. I let them know I'll be here for a few more hours.
ko: 오해는 풀었어. 몇시간 더 있겠다고 말씀 드렸고.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I'm sorry my mom called you, Diya. That was humiliating.
ko: 엄마가 너한테 전화 걸게 해서 미안해, 디야. 너무 부끄럽다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's okay. Good thing she didn't report you missing yet.
ko: 괜찮아. 실종신고 안넣으신게 어디야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I know she means well, but it's honestly irritating how often she wildly overreacts to perfectly harmless situations.
ko: 좋은 의도이신건 알지만, 이렇게 별 것도 아닌 일에 이렇게 오버 하는일이 하루 이틀이 아니라 너무 짜증나.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: She has no friends or hobbies, so all her brain power is spent on obsessing over me.
ko: 엄마는 친구도, 취미도 없어서 하루종일 나한테 집착하는데 모든 기력을 다 쓰시고.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Sorry we got you in trouble...
ko: 곤란하게 만들어서 미안...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It's not your fault. You couldn't have known.
ko: 네 잘못 아니야. 알 수도 없었는데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I should've remembered to text her once I arrived at your house.
ko: 내가 도착하자마자 문자 드리길 기억 했어야 했어.

en: Noelle's joints crick as she sits back down at the Monopoly board between Diya and Akarsha.
ko: 디야와 아카샤 사이에 다시 앉는 노엘의 관절이 삐걱인다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah, it's the girls who're allowed to wear make-up and hang out with their friends all the time.
ko: 응, 화장 하고 다녀도 되고, 친구들이랑 맨날 놀러 다녀도 되는 여자애들 처럼.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm just unpopular cuz I'm weird.
ko: 난 걍 이상해서 아싸인거고.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Don't forget perverted and annoying.
ko: 변태에다 짜증나는 놈이라는거도 잊지 말고.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I would like to add that you're a compulsive liar.
ko: 받고, 습관적 거짓말쟁이인것도 추가.

en: A few turns of Monopoly later, Akarsha moves her top hat token to the Reading Railroad.
ko: 몇 턴 후, 아카샤는 자신의 실크모자 토큰을 리딩 기찻길에 올린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Whose is this?
ko: 이거 누구 땅이야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Mine.
ko: 내거.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Diya, bromie, please...I have a starving family and eight children at home...
ko: 디야, 내 친구여... 제발... 집에 굶어 죽어가는 가족이, 토끼같은 여덟명의 아이들이 있어...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: $25. Hand it over.
ko: 25달러. 내놓으시지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're murdering the babes, Diya! How about $24? Just one dollar can save a life...
ko: 내 자식들을 죽일셈이야? 24달러는 어때, 단돈 1달러로 사람의 목숨을 구할수 있다구...

note: Speaker: Min
en: I like how since we found out it's possible to not pay rent, this turned into Akarsha begging and haggling with everyone to not charge her.
ko: 월세를 안낼 방법이 있다는 사실이 밝혀지고 나서 부터 게임이 아카샤의 구걸 및 흥정쇼로 바뀐게 참 웃겨.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wait, Diya, I'll roll you for it. Double or nothing.
ko: 잠깐, 디야, 주사위에 모든걸 걸게. 면제, 아니면 두배로.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: So now this is a casino?
ko: 이젠 카지노야?

en: Diya assesses the thick stack of Monopoly money she's accumulated from not having to pay rent on Min's properties.
ko: 디야는 민에게 내지 않은 월세 덕에 두툼해진 지폐더미를 살펴본다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay. I'll try my luck.
ko: 그래. 내 운을 시험해 볼게.

en: Diya shakes the dice in her hands and drops them onto the board with a clatter. She got...
ko: 디야가 주사위를 손안에서 굴려 보드 위로 달그락 던진다. 주사위엔...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: [diyaRandomNum]...There's no way I'll lose to that!
ko: [diyaRandomNum]... 저거에 질리가 없어!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: [diyaRandomNum]?! That's gonna be tough to beat...
ko: [diyaRandomNum]?! 저걸 이기긴 힘들겠는걸...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Yee, [diyaRandomNum]'s not too bad. I got this!
ko: 우왓, [diyaRandomNum]정도면 나쁘지 않은데. 할수 있다!

en: Roll the dice
ko: 주사위 굴리기

en: Holding her breath, Akarsha rolls the dice...
ko: 숨 쉬는것도 까먹은채 아카샤가 주사위를 굴린다...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: [akarshaRandomNum]! WINNER!!!!
ko: {b}[akarshaRandomNum]! 이겼따아아아아아아!!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I live another day!
ko: 이렇게 하루를 버는구나!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: [akarshaRandomNum]...Alas.......
ko: [akarshaRandomNum]...이럴수가.......

[ctx: momTexts_7b89031a]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: !!
ko: !!!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: $50. Fork it over.
ko: 50달러. 내 놔.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'll have you know little Timmy died of starvation last night 'cause of you.
ko: 너 때문에 우리 소중한 아들 티미가 지난 밤에 굶어 죽었어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: His ghost is now haunting you...
ko: 작은 티미의 유령이 널 괴롭힐거야...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay. Sure.
ko: 그러시겠지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: OooOOooOoO...Why did you kill me when I'm only a small child?
ko: 우우ㅜㅇㅇ우ㅜ우ㅜ... 저는 이렇게 작고 가녀린 아이일 뿐인데 왜 저를 죽이셨나요오오...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You're so annoying. I hope your next turn kills you.
ko: 너 진짜 짜증나는거 알아? 다음 턴에 확 죽어버렸으면 좋겠네.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: If I'm so annoying, why do you keep hanging out with me?
ko: 내가 그렇게 짜증나면, 왜 계속 나랑 어울리는 건데?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Because I love to watch you fail.
ko: 네가 실패하는 모습을 보는게 좋아서.

en: It's Noelle's turn. She rolls a 12.
ko: 노엘 차례다. 주사위에서 12가 나온다.

en: Noelle only moves her iron token a couple spaces before she starts to lose it. That's how Akarsha knows she's landed on Boardwalk.
ko: 노엘은 다리미 토큰을 몇칸 옮기다 얼굴상태가 급격히 안좋아진다. 그걸 본 아카샤는 노엘이 보드워크에 들어왔다는걸 알아차린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Uh oh...Spaghetti-O's...
ko: 어쩜 세상에 이런일이 있나...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: SHUT UP! YOU DON'T NEED TO RUB IT IN!!!!
ko: {b}닥쳐! 이미 알고 있거든!!!{/b}

en: She nearly knocks over all the houses Akarsha's piled up on the space as she slams her token down.
ko: 노엘의 토큰을 아카샤의 토지에 쾅 내려치는 바람에 차곡차곡 쌓여있는 집들을 모조리 날려버릴뻔 한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: How much is it?
ko: 얼만데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, only $1700.
ko: 단 돈 1700달러.

en: To Akarsha's amazement, Noelle dissolves into laughter on the couch — actual, honest-to-god laughter.
ko: 아카샤의 예상을 깨고, 노엘은 크게 웃으며 소파 위로 녹아 내린다 – 진실한, 거짓없는 웃음소리를 내 뱉으며.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Dang! I gotta figure out how to do that again!
ko: 젠장! 이거 다시 할 방법을 잘 떠올려 봐야겠어!

en: As Min rolls next, Akarsha hears the sound of the front door opening.
ko: 민이 주사위를 굴리는 사이, 아카샤는 정문이 열리는 소리를 듣는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, they're finally back from Taekwondo!
ko: 아! 태권도 다 끝나고 돌아왔나보다!

en: Her little brother runs into the living room, wildly swinging his new red belt in the air like a whip.
ko: 아카샤의 남동생이 새로 딴 빨간 띠를 공중에 채찍처럼 휘두르며 거실로 뛰어 들어온다.

note: Speaker: Pratik
en: HOWL, ZABIMARU!
ko: {b}울부짖어라, 자비마루!{/b}

en: He flails his red belt, whapping the floor, couch, and everything else within a three foot radius of him.
ko: 자신의 빨간띠로 바닥, 소파, 그리고 반경 3피트 안에 있는 그 모든것을 철썩인다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: OW! OW!!!
ko: {b}앗, 아야!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: This is my bro Pratik. He's basically me but a guy.
ko: 요 꼬맹이는 내 남동생 프라틱. 내 남자 버전이라 보면 된다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I see you passed your "test"...
ko: 그 "시험" 을 통과 했나 보네...

en: A voice booms through the house from the garage.
ko: 커다란 목소리가 차고 부터 집 안으로 울려 퍼진다.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: WE STOPPED BY COSTCO AND BOUGHT NACHOS FOR THE PARTY!!
ko: {b}친구들이랑 나눠 먹으라고 코스트코에서 나쵸 사왔어!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: YEH!!!!
ko: {b}녜!!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Should we help?
ko: 도와줄까?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Nah, he's talkin' to me. Be my guest!! Relax!!!
ko: 아냐, 나 부르는거야. 너넨 손님이니까 편하게 있어!!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: No, I insist. It is my birthday you're going through the trouble for.
ko: 아니야, 괜찮아. 내 생일이라 이런 수고를 감내 하는거잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Fine, hard to argue with that...Frenchman, let's go!
ko: 참, 반박은 못하겠네... 가자, 프렌치맨!

en: Akarsha hastily stuffs her socked feet into her mom's sandals and waddles into the garage with Noelle in tow.
ko: 아카샤는 허겁지겁 양말을 신은 발을 엄마의 쪼리에 집어넣고선, 뒤에 노엘을 데리고 뒤뚱거리며 차고로 걸어간다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Is Pratik your only sibling?
ko: 프라틱 말곤 다른 남매는 없어?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Naw, I have a big sis too.
ko: 아, 언니도 한명 있어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But she's like, way, way older. She's in medical school already.
ko: 근데 나랑 나이 차이가, 좀, 완전 많이 나. 벌써 의대 들어갔어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That {i}is{/i} a lot older.
ko: 정말 {i}완전{/i} 많이 나네.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I was definitely an accident. But I think I was so awesome that it reminded my parents how cool kids are, and then they made my bro on purpose.
ko: 난 분명 실수로 생긴 아이 일거야. 근데 완전짱짱 멋진 나를 본 우리 부모님이 아기란 정말 짱인 존재라는걸 다시금 깨닫고, 울 남동생을 계획해서 낳으신거지.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That. Is FAR too much information.
ko: 너, 너무 많은 정보를 들어버렸는데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: So your sister intends to become a doctor?
ko: 그래서 네 언니는 의사가 되려 하시는거야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: A {i}neurosurgeon{/i}.
ko: 무려 {i}신경외과{/i}.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Like, good for her, but it's almost kinda frustrating how perfect she turned out. She's just as bad as you.
ko: 아니, 뭐, 언니한텐 잘 된 일이지. 근데 너무 완벽한 인물상으로 자라나서 거의 짜증날 정도라니까? 진짜 너처럼.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I can't even say my parents have unrealistic expectations 'cause my sister actually met them.
ko: 울 엄마아빠가 비현실적인 기대치를 갖고있다 할수도 없는게, 언니가 이미 기대치를 채웠으니까.

en: Akarsha's dad walks over from the trunk of the minivan with an armful of groceries.
ko: 아카샤의 아빠가 미니밴의 트렁크에서 짐을 한아름 안고 걸어온다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh god, what is he wearing?!
ko: 아 맙소사, 왜 저런 옷을 입고 있는거야?!

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Hoo hoo! So this is the birthday girl.
ko: 오호! 이 친구가 생일자 아가씨구나.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Thanks god you are here.
ko: 이렇게 와줘서 정말 구마워요.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: My dad always says "Thanks god" instead of "Thank god". I dunno why...
ko: 아빠는 항상 "고마워요" 대신 "구마워요" 라고 말해. 왠진 모르겠지만...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Well...It's my surprise party, so I don't have much choice in the matter.
ko: 뭐... 서프라이즈 파티라, 딱히 선택지가 있었던건 아니지만요.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Akarsha said you don't like surprises, so you might go home already.
ko: 아카샤는 친구가 서프라이즈 같은걸 안 좋아해서 이미 집에 갈수도 있다고 그러던데.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Like my co-worker Carrot last week. When we threw her a retirement party, she only stayed for half an hour.
ko: 내 동료 캐럿처럼. 지난주에 정년 퇴직 축하 파티를 열어줬는데, 30분만 있다 가버렸어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Your co-worker is called "Carrot"...?
ko: 동료분 이름이… “캐럿”이라고요?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Dad, her name is {i}Karen.{/i} I really hope you weren't calling her that at the office.
ko: 아빠, 캐럿이 아니라 {i}캐런{/i}. 회사에서도 그렇게 부르고 다닌건 아니지?

en: Akarsha's dad tries to clear a path through the heap of shoes by the garage door. Meanwhile, Akarsha and Noelle each grab a couple grocery bags from the trunk.
ko: 아카샤의 아빠는 차고 문 앞에 가득 놓인 신발들 사이로 길을 내려 하고 있다. 그동안, 아카샤와 노엘은 각각 장바구니 몇개씩을 트렁크에서 꺼낸다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Your dad looks very...patriotic.
ko: 너네 아빠… 되게… 애국자시구나.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, he thinks being American is really cool so he likes to buy stuff with eagles and flags on it sometimes.
ko: 어, 아빠는 미국인이 된다는게 엄청 쩐다고 생각해서 막 성조기나 독수리가 그려져 있는 물건들을 사는걸 좋아해.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I see...Is he really into politics?
ko: 그래... 정치엔 관심이 많으셔?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No, my parents don't know anything about politics.
ko: 아니. 울 엄마아빤 정치에 관해선 아무것도 몰라.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Every election they have one of them vote for the Republican candidate while the other votes for the Democrat, so they cancel each other out.
ko: 선거날 마다 한명은 공화당을, 한명은 민주당을 투표해서 서로의 표를 상쇄시켜.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Why do they bother voting if they don't care who wins?
ko: 누가 이기는지 상관을 안하시면 왜 굳이 가서 투표를 하시는거야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: They just wanna feel included, I guess? It's pretty silly.
ko: 글쎄, 소속감을 느끼고 싶어서 일까? 쫌 웃기긴 해.

en: Akarsha's mom smiles at Noelle as she steps out from the passenger seat.
ko: 아카샤의 엄마가 조수석에서 내리며 노엘에게 미소 짓는다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh my god. She was sitting in the car the whole time fixing her hair and reapplying her lipstick...
ko: 신이시여. 여태까지 차에서 뭐하나 했는데 립스틱 다시 바르고 머리 만지고 있었나봐...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: No one cares, Mom!
ko: 엄마, 아무도 신경 안써!

note: Speaker: Mom
en: I'm sorry we're late. We thought we'd be back before everyone came.
ko: 늦어서 미안해. 다들 오기 전에 도착할줄 알았어.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: It's that stupid GPS's fault. It wanted us to go on all these strange routes.
ko: 이게 다 멍청한 GPS 때문이야. 무슨 이상한 길들만 알려주고.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: If you'd just followed its directions all the way, it probably would've been faster.
ko: GPS가 알려주는 길 그대로만 갔어도 아마 지금보단 빨리 도착 했을텐데.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: No, I could predict there would be traffic on the 680. I would know, I've lived here for twenty years.
ko: 아니, 680번 도로에 차가 막힐게 안봐도 뻔했다고. 여기 산지 20년째 인데 그정도는 알지.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Speaking of driving, I have a great idea for an invention.
ko: 운전 얘기하니까 생각난건데, 기발한 발명품 아이디어가 떠올랐어.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Cars should zap bad drivers.
ko: 운전 못하는 사람들을 지지는 자동차.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: .......Zap? As in, with electricity?
ko: 지지는..? 그러니까, 전기로?

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Just through the steering wheel. Not enough to kill them, but enough to hurt.
ko: 그냥 운전대로만. 죽일정도는 아니고, 아프기만 하게.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Steal my parking spot..."EeeeYAHHH!!!"
ko: 내 주차자리를 뺏으면... {b}"아으으아아아아악!!!"{/b}

en: Akarsha's dad mimes being shocked with electricity.
ko: 아카샤의 아빠는 전기에 지져지는 시늉을 한다.

[ctx: momDad_e5b5e819]
note: Speaker: Mom
en: ..........
ko: ......

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Dad, oh my god! Stop it!
ko: 아 진짜, 아빠 쫌!! 그만해!

note: Speaker: Dad
en: But everyone would learn so fast.
ko: 그치만 모두가 정말 빨리 배울텐데.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Hasn't Akarsha told you I'm a genius? Her smarts run in the family.
ko: 아카샤가 내가 천재라고 말해준적 없니? 아카샤가 똑똑한건 다 유전이란다.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: I should patent my car zapper along with my telephone idea.
ko: 이 자동차 지짐이랑 같이 전화 발명품도 특허를 걸어야겠다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Telephone idea?
ko: 전화 발명품이요?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's the same thing except the telephone shocks telemarketers.
ko: 비슷한건데, 스팸전화 거 는사람들을 지지는 핸드폰.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I'm dubious the patent office will approve either of those.
ko: 특허청에서 그런걸 통과 시켜줄지는 모르겠네요.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: What, don't you think it's a great idea?
ko: 왜, 기발한 아이디어라 생각하지 않아?

note: Speaker: Dad
en: "Hello, will you buy our product? OOoouughh!!!"
ko: "안녕하세요, 김미영 팀장입니다아으아아악!!!"

en: Akarsha's dad shakes his arm as if being shocked again as he walks into the house.
ko: 아카샤의 아빠는 다시 전기충격을 받은 마냥 팔을 떨며 집 안으로 들어간다.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: What's wrong with you...
ko: 도대체 뭐가 문제야...

en: Akarsha's mom follows him inside with an exasperated expression on her face.
ko: 지친 얼굴을 한 아카샤의 어머니가 그 뒤를 따라 들어간다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Finally they're gone! I thought I was gonna die of embarassment...
ko: 아, 부끄러워 죽는줄 알았네! 드디어 갔다...

en: Noelle is still staring after Akarsha's dad, fascinated.
ko: 노엘은 아직 아카샤의 아빠를 흥미롭다는듯 쳐다보고 있다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Your dad is such a character. He's so outgoing.
ko: 너네 아빠 개성 있으시다. 외향적이시고.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh yeah, he loves talking SO much. He never shuts up.
ko: 아, 응. 말하는걸 너어무 좋아해. 닥치는 날이 없어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I feel like this explains a lot about you...
ko: 너에 대해 많은걸 설명하는거 같네...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Really? Like what?
ko: 진짜? 예를 들면?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I see where you get your sense of humor from now.
ko: 네 유머감각이 여기서 나왔구나.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Huh? No, my jokes are TOTALLY different!
ko: 뭐? 아니, 난 완전 웃기잖아!!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You can't deny there are some similarities.
ko: 비슷한 점이 있다는건 부정 못할걸.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: From my observation, parents have a lot of influence on their kids' personalities.
ko: 내 관찰에 따르면, 부모들은 자식의 성격에 많은 영향을 끼쳐.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No way, I'm way funnier than my dad!
ko: 아 뭔 소리야, 난 아빠보다 훨씬 웃겨!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm an enigma. You'll never figure me out.
ko: 난 복잡한 수수께끼야. 넌 날 평생 간파하지 못할걸.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Actually, I think I already have.
ko: 이미 간파한거 같은데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: For instance, your worst fear is earnestly trying at something and failing.
ko: 우선, 네가 제일 무서워 하는건 무언가에 진지하게 도전했다가 실패하는거야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: So even though you're perfectly intelligent, you use your goofy disposition to premptively make a fool of yourself on purpose.
ko: 그래서 넌 이미 완벽하게 영리한데도, 일부러 우스꽝스러운 기질을 발휘해 자기방어적으로 광대노릇을 자처해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I do not?? Give me an example.
ko: 안그러거든?? 그랬던 예시라도 들어봐.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: When we play Monopoly you sink all your funds into Boardwalk. When we play poker you eat your cards.
ko: 넌 모노폴리를 할땐 네 전재산을 보드워크에 부어. 포커를 할땐 카드를 먹어버려.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: When we play baseball you clutch your head and claim you're having a "psychic brain attack".
ko: 야구를 할땐 머리를 붙잡고 "초능력 뇌공격" 을 받고 있다고 우겨.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hey, I just like providing fun for the whole family.
ko: 야, 그건 그냥 너네 웃기는게 좋아서 그런거고.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I doubt that's it. This extends to every facet of how you present yourself to the world.
ko: 과연 그럴까? 이건 네가 이 세상에 너를 표출하는 모든 방식에도 해당되는 말이야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You're insecure about your appearance, so you go out in this outlandish hairdo with this windbreaker and flip-flops outfit.
ko: 넌 네 외모에 자신이 없어서, 이런 괴상한 머리스타일과 바람막이에 쪼리 차림으로 돌아다녀.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You're worried people won't like you, so you act like a circus clown.
ko: 넌 사람들이 널 좋아하지 않을걸 걱정해서 서커스 삐에로처럼 굴어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: What the...I feel weirdly exposed??
ko: 이씨... 뭔가 발가벗겨진 느낌인데??

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're one to talk about fear of failure, Miss "I Argue With the Teacher That My Multiple Choice Answer Was Technically ALSO Right".
ko: 네가 거절에 대해 말할건 아니지 않아? {i}내객관식문제의정답도엄밀히따지면정답이라고선생님이랑말싸움을해요{/i} 씨?

en: Sweating profusely, Akarsha lets out a nervous laugh...
ko: 땀을 뻘뻘 흘리며, 아카샤는 긴장어린 웃음을 흘린다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Her read on me is scarily accurate?! No one's ever seen through me like this before!
ko: 무서울 정도로 예리하게 날 읽어냈잖아?! 날 이렇게까지 꿰뚫어본 사람은 한번도 없었는데!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: How much attention is she paying to me??
ko: 도대체 나한테 얼마나 많은 관심을 쏟는거야??

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Usually you don't watch someone that closely unless you like them.
ko: 보통 누굴 좋아하는게 아닌 이상 이렇게까지 유심히 관찰하진 않아.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Unless...???
ko: 아님...???

en: Akarsha watches Noelle closely as they haul the food inside.
ko: 음식을 나르며 아카샤는 노엘을 유심히 지켜본다.

en: She can't help but grin as Noelle ascends the garage's concrete steps with the grace of a vacuum cleaner.
ko: 마치 한마리의 진공청소기처럼 "우아"하게 차고의 콘크리트 계단을 오르는 노엘의 모습을 보며, 아카샤는 씨익 미소 짓는걸 참지 못한다.

en: Suddenly, Noelle turns to her and gives her an unreadable look.
ko: 갑자기, 노엘은 아카샤에게 고개를 돌리더니 무슨 뜻인지 모를 표정을 짓는다.

[ctx: momDad_cce84401]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What?
ko: 뭔데?

en: Akarsha's heart skips a beat as Noelle reaches out to her windbreaker sleeve and plucks something from the fabric.
ko: 노엘이 손을 뻗어 바람막이 소맷자락에 붙어있던 무언가를 떼내자, 아카샤의 심장은 한박자를 건너 뛴다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: There was a grain of rice stuck to your jacket. It was bothering me.
ko: 쌀 한톨이 소매에 붙어있었어. 거슬려서.

en: Noelle holds up the offending grain of rice between her fingers.
ko: 노엘으 그 쌀 한톨을 손가락으로 잡아 들어보인다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, that's an accessory. Put it back.
ko: 아, 그거 내 악세사리야. 돌려줘.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Ah, shit...No...
ko: 아, 젠장... 안돼...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Not this shit again...Nooooo.......
ko: 또 이런 엿같은... 안돼애애애애애......

en: Monday, before school
ko: 월요일, 등교전

en: Akarsha daydreams about Noelle as she uses one of the library's computers.
ko: 아카샤는 도서관 컴퓨터를 쓰며 노엘 생각에 푹 빠져있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I'm so fucked. I can't stop thinking about her...
ko: 나 존나 좆됐네. 노엘 생각을 멈출수가 없어...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We haven't even known each other for a whole year yet, but she already knows so much about me...
ko: 우리 아직 채 1년도 못알고 지냈는데도 나에 대해 정말 많은걸 알고있어...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I bet we're closer than a lot of couples who really {i}are{/i} dating!
ko: 우린 아마 찐으로 사귀고 있는 커플들보다도 더 사이가 가까울거야!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She can tell when I'm about to say something annoying before I even open my mouth.
ko: 내가 뭔 짜증나는 말을 할거라는걸 입을 열기도 전에 알아채고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Heck, she's met my parents already...That's a couple-y thing, right??
ko: 아니, 우리 부모님도 만났네... 그거 커플들이나 하는거 아니야?? 그치???

note: Speaker: Min
en: The heck are you doing?
ko: 니 뭐하냐?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Gyah!
ko: 으갹!

[ctx: reportCard_8f4abf06]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You scared me!
ko: 놀랐잖아!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I-I was just focused on the computer!
ko: 커, 컴퓨터에 엄청 집중했을 뿐이야!!

en: Akarsha points to the screen to try to sell her point.
ko: 아카샤는 민을 설득해보려 스크린을 가르킨다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm editing my report card in MS Paint. I intercepted it before my parents checked the mail yesterday.
ko: 내 성적표를 그림판으로 조작하는 중이야. 어제 부모님이 메일을 확인하기 전에 가로챘어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Watch this!
ko: 봐봐!

en: On the computer, Akarsha photoshops her B+ in English into an A-.
ko: 아카샤는 영어 성적을 B+에서 A-로 슬쩍 고친다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: A-? Why not just change it to an A+?
ko: A-? 기왕 바꾸는거 A+로 안바꿔?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Naw, A- is more realistic.
ko: 놉. 이게 더 현실적이니까.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Now I just gotta print this out.
ko: 이제 인쇄만 하면 돼.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Don't tell anyone I did this, okay?
ko: 아무한테도 말하지 마, 알았지?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Who do you think I am? Noelle?
ko: 내가 노엘이냐?

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're not even changing your actual grades, so you're not REALLY cheating.
ko: 진짜 성적을 바꾸는것도 아니라 성적표만 조작하는거라 {i}진짜{/i} 반칙은 아니잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're right...I'm just cheating my parents' brains! Mind hack...
ko: 네 말이 맞아... 난 그냥 부모님 뇌를 반칙하는거일 뿐이야! 마인드 핵...

en: Akarsha pulls her new and improved report card from the tray. It's still warm from the machinery, like fresh laundry.
ko: 아카샤는 개선된 새 성적표를 트레이에서 꺼낸다. 갓 뽑은 용지는 갓 한 빨래처럼 따끈따끈하다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'll do your report card too if you give me $20.
ko: 20달러 주면 니꺼도 해줄게.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Nah, can't be bothered. I don't care what my parents think.
ko: 됐어, 귀찮기만 하고. 부모님이 뭐라 하든 상관 안해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wow. You're not worried about disappointing them?
ko: 헐, 넌 부모님을 실망시킬까봐 걱정 안돼?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why should I be? They don't seem that worried about disappointing ME.
ko: 내가 왜? 그쪽은 {i}날{/i} 실망 시킬까봐 걱정 하는거같진 않던데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Dude, that's deep...
ko: 완전 심오하네...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Even though Min gets horrifying grades, she's pretty smart in some other ways.
ko: 민은 비록 성적은 끔찍해도, 다른 방면으론 똑똑한거 같아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Actually...Can I ask you a question?
ko: 그... 질문 하나 해도 돼?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, what?
ko: 그래. 뭔데?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hypothetically...if you had a crush on a friend, what would you do?
ko: 만약에 말야... 네가 네 친구를 짝사랑하게 됐어. 그럼 어떡할거같아?

note: Speaker: Min
en: You have a crush?! Who is it?
ko: 너 짝사랑해?! 누구?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I can't tell you, it's embarrassing!
ko: 말 못해, 부끄럽단 말야!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Is it someone I know?
ko: 내가 아는 사람이야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Seriously, I'm not tellin' you! NO ONE can know.
ko: 진짜 말 안할거야! {b}아무도{/b} 못알려줘.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Is it Diya??????
ko: 디야야???????

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: WHAT???? No, I'm not trying to get my throat slit by you.
ko: 뭐???? 아니거든? 너한테 목 따일일 있냐.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Is it me???
ko: 나야???

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No, but no more questions! I'm not exposing myself!
ko: 아니라고! 이제 질문 끝! 난 밝히지 않겠어!

note: Speaker: Min
en: What happened to being a "love expert" or whatever when I was trying to kiss Diya?
ko: 내가 디야랑 키스하려고 할땐 너 "연애고수" 라며? 그건 어떻게 된건데?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why don't you just follow your own shitty advice?
ko: 니 등신같은 조언은 왜 안따르고?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Admitedly, it's easier said than done...
ko: 인정할게, 말은 실천보다 쉬워...

note: Speaker: Min
en: Look, it's exactly like what you guys said when I was on that date. Don't overthink it.
ko: 야, 그때 내가 데이트 갔을때 너네가 말한 그대로야. 너무 깊게 생각하지마.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Just be straightforward and tell them how you feel.
ko: 그냥 솔직하게 네가 어떻게 느끼는지를 말해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You sure?? They don't feel the same way, this could end up destroying our friendship.
ko: 확실해?? 걔가 나랑 같은 마음이 아니면 이 우정을 망가뜨릴수도 있어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, just do it.
ko: 응. 걍 질러.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You can even try one of the stupid fucking pickup lines you keep "practicing" on my girlfriend.
ko: 니가 내 여자친구한테 "연습" 하던 그 좆같은 픽업라인 이라도 써보든가.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Okay, okay, I promise I'll stop doing that for real!
ko: 그래, 그래, 그거 진짜 그만둔다고 약속할게!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I just feel like hitting on my crush directly is a massive risk though...
ko: 그냥 그렇게 대놓고 걔한테 들이대는건 너무 큰 위험같아서 그래...

note: Speaker: Min
en: Well, it worked out for me. You'll never know unless you go for it.
ko: 난 그렇게 하니까 되던데. 해보지 않으면 모르는거잖아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What's the worst thing that could happen? They reject you?
ko: 끽해야 거절밖에 더 하겠냐?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Getting rejected is a huge deal! It'll make everything so awkward!
ko: 거절도 꽤 큰 문제야! 모든걸 어색하게 만들어 버릴거야!

note: Speaker: Min
en: I mean, yeah, but that's just a risk you gotta take.
ko: 뭐, 그렇긴 한데, 그건 네가 감수해야 하는거고.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You don't get it, this isn't just me being paranoid. This has literally happened to me before.
ko: 넌 내 맘 몰라. 이건 그냥 내가 지레 겁먹는게 아니야. 이런 상황 전에도 겪어봤단 말이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: None of you went to the same middle school as me, so you don't know.
ko: 너네중에 아무도 나랑 같은 중학교 다닌 사람이 없으니까 모르겠지만.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Not only did my crush start avoiding me, but she told the rest of our friend group and they stopped talking to me, too.
ko: 내가 좋아하던 애가 날 피하는데서 그치지 않고, 다른 겹친구들 한테도 말하고 다녀서 걔네들도 나랑 말을 더이상 안섞었어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, no kidding. I try not to think about it much.
ko: 응. 농담 아니야. 그때 생각은 최대한 안하려고 노력하고 있어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Well, that wouldn't happen this time.
ko: 뭐, 이번엔 그런 일 없을거야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Even if it blows up in your face, you'd still have me, Diya, and Noelle.
ko: 혹시 일이 잘못 돼도, 나랑 디야랑 노엘이 네 옆에 있을거니까.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Haha, right, obviously...
ko: 아하하, 그럼, 당연하지...

en: The bell rings.
ko: 종이 울린다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Nah, being direct about it still feels too risky...
ko: 아니, 돌직구는 아직 너무 위험한거같아.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I'm not even sure Noelle likes girls.
ko: 노엘이 여자를 좋아하는지도 아직 모르겠고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Heck, I've never seen her express any kind of attraction to anyone at all. Is she just hella repressed?
ko: 아니, 여자가 아니더라도 타인에게 끌림 자체를 보인적이 없어. 그냥 존나 억압된걸까?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: In any case, I don't wanna embarrass myself...
ko: 어찌됐든, 창피할 일은 만들고 싶지 않아...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: The only safe way to do this is to seduce Noelle so hard, she's compelled to confess to me first!
ko: 가장 안전한 방법은 노엘을 완전 찐하게 유혹해서, 나한테 먼저 고백하게 만드는거야!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That way, if it doesn't work, I can write off all the flirting as a joke.
ko: 그러면 이게 안먹혀도 내가 한 플러팅을 농담으로 넘길수도 있어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: There's no way this can go wrong.
ko: 이게 잘못될 방법은 없어.

en: Examine bookshelves
ko: 책장 살펴보기

en: Look at desk
ko: 책상 보기

en: Leave library
ko: 도서관 나가기

en: Min crosses her arms as Akarsha browses through the shelves.
ko: 민은 아카샤가 책장을 살펴보는동안 팔짱을 낀다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I fucking hate libraries.
ko: 도서관 존나 싫어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wh.......Wha?? What's there to hate about libraries?
ko: 무...... 뭐?? 도서관이 뭐가 어때서?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's free books?
ko: 공짜 책이잖아?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Well, I guess the books are okay, but librarians are the worst.
ko: 뭐 책은 괜찮은데, 사서들이 제일 싫어.

[ctx: lookShelves_21776c72]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Why?
ko: 왜?

note: Speaker: Min
en: This one time when I was like seven, I looked up a bunch of bad words on the school library's computer.
ko: 내가 7살쯤 됐을때였나? 학교 도서관 컴퓨터에 나쁜말들을 잔뜩 찾아본적이 있어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What words did you look up??
ko: 뭔 단어들을 찾아봤길래??

note: Speaker: Min
en: It was just a bunch of swears I was curious about! Like "damn" and "fuck".
ko: 그냥 평소에 궁금했던 욕 몇단어 정도! "젠장" 이나 "시발" 같은거.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I remember I searched "middle finger" too.
ko: "중지" 도 찾아봤었어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I love that you thought "middle finger" was a bad word.
ko: "중지" 를 욕이라고 생각한거 진짜 웃긴다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, I was so innocent as a kid.
ko: 어릴땐 나도 참 순수했었지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hrm...I'm not sure "innocent" is the right word.
ko: 으허음... 그걸 "순수" 라고 부를수 있는건지는 잘 모르겠지만.

note: Speaker: Min
en: She actually tutors me for real sometimes.
ko: 가끔은 진짜로 가르쳐줘.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wow, really?
ko: 헐, 진짜?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I haven't failed a single test since we started!
ko: 시작한 뒤로, 시험에서 한번도 낙제를 받은적이 없어!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Alright, protect your hearing.
ko: 알았어. 귀좀 막아봐.

en: Min nods and covers her ears as Akarsha walks through the library scanners by the door.
ko: 민이 고개를 끄덕이곤 귀를 막는다. 아카샤는 출입구쪽에 있는 도난방지 센서를 통과해 지나간다.

en: The librarian looks up, sees that it's Akarsha, and impatiently waves her through.
ko: 사서가 고개를 들어 아카샤인걸 확인하곤 질린듯이 가라고 손짓한다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: That seriously happens every single time you walk through the scanners?
ko: 진짜 알람 지나갈때마다 이러는거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Are you {i}sure{/i} you don't have any library books on you?
ko: 도서관 책 안훔친거 진짜로 확실해?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Of course. There's even a photo of me taped by the door now because after the first few times they searched me, they confirmed I don't have any.
ko: 당연하지. 처음 몇번은 걸릴때마다 가방을 뒤져봤는데, 매번 아무것도 안나온거 확인하고 나선 문 옆에다 내 사진도 붙여놨잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It almost feels like my backpack is haunted by the ghost of a library book.
ko: 내 가방에 뭔 도서관 책의 유령이라도 붙어있는건지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No...Unless maybe Noelle counts as a book...?
ko: 아니..? 뭐 노엘을 책으로 친다면 모를까...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: And because I annoy her daily the books are...mad at me...?
ko: 그래서 내가 노엘을 맨날 괴롭히니까 책들이 나한테... 빡쳤나..?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Are you hearing how crazy you sound right now?
ko: 니 지금 얼마나 미친 소리 하는건지는 알고 있냐?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, I'm embarrassed I even said that out loud.
ko: 응. 육성으로 내 뱉었다는거 자체로 부끄러워.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's probably just one of those things. Like my magic rosin.
ko: 뭐, 이것도 그런 일들중에 하나겠지. 내 마법의 송진처럼.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Your what??
ko: 마법의 뭐??

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Never mind, forget I mentioned it.
ko: 아냐. 아무것도. 잊어버려.

en: The librarian gives Akarsha a death glare from behind the counter as the alarms go off again.
ko: 아카샤가 또다시 알람을 울리자 사서가 카운터 뒤에서 죽일듯이 째려본다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Is that really necessary? It's not like I can help it!
ko: 꼭 그래야 돼? 내가 뭐 어쩔수 있는것도 아니고!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Here goes nothing! Sorry, librarian lady!
ko: 어쩔수 없지! 사서 언니, 죄송해요!

[ctx: leaveLibrary_77784f5f_1]
en: The book scanner alarms go off!
ko: 도서 도난방지 알람이 울려 퍼진다!

en: The librarian leaves the counter and begins powerwalking at Min and Akarsha!
ko: 사서가 카운터 뒤에서 나와 민과 아카샤에게로 성큼성큼 걸어온다!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh crap!
ko: 아 썅!

en: Akarsha and Min sprint out of the library in a panic.
ko: 아카샤와 민은 다급히 도서관을 뛰쳐 나간다.

en: As they escape, Akarsha trips over her own flip-flops.
ko: 탈출 도중, 아카샤가 신은 쪼리에 발이 걸려 넘어진다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: AAUUGH!!
ko: 으아억!!

en: Akarsha throws her hands forward to break her fall onto the hard concrete.
ko: 아카샤는 단단한 콘크리트와의 충격을 완화시켜보려 팔을 앞으로 뻗는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: MAMA MIA!! OW!!
ko: {b}맘마미아!! 아야!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: This is SO typical! Why do these things always happen to me?
ko: 어떻게 {b}이렇게{/b} 뻔하지?? 왜 나한테만 이런일이 일어나는거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Shit, dude. You okay?
ko: 미친, 야, 너 괜찮아?

en: Akarsha stops sobbing for a second to assess the damage.
ko: 아카샤는 잠시 흐느낌을 멈추고 대미지 판단을 해본다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh. Actually, I'm fine.
ko: 아. 사실은, 괜찮아.

en: Look at the locker room
ko: 락커룸을 본다

en: Go to the bathroom
ko: 화장실로 간다

en: Return to the school library
ko: 도서관으로 돌아간다

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I don't have gym until later in the day. And the baseball club doesn't meet til after school.
ko: 아직 체육시간은 멀었는데. 야구부도 방과후에나 만나고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: By the way, our baseball team is called...
ko: 참고로, 우리 야구부 이름은...

en: The Bagels
ko: 베이글스

en: The Chicken Nuggets
ko: 치킨 너겟

en: The Death Bagels
ko: 죽음의 베이글

en: Semes
ko: 세메

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: {cps=0}By the way, our baseball team is called...{/cps}
ko: {cps=0}참고로, 우리 야구부 이름은...{/cps}

en: Bagels
ko: 베이글스

[ctx: lookLockerRoom_7af4c5fb]
note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That name was Diya's idea. We sound so friendly and tasty.
ko: 디야가 낸 이름이였지. 되게 상냥하고 맛있는 이름이야.

en: Chicken Nuggets
ko: 치킨 너겟

[ctx: lookLockerRoom_7af4c5fb_1]
note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That name was Diya's idea. We sound so friendly and tasty.
ko: 디야 아이디어였지. 되게 친절하고 맛있을거 같은 이름이야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That name was Noelle's idea. I bet the more time passes, the scarier our team name will be.
ko: 노엘이 제출한 이름이였지. 시간이 지날수록 점점 더 무시무시해 질거야.

en: Death Bagels
ko: 죽음의 베이글

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That name was Diya and Min's idea. Personally, I think it sounds pretty corny.
ko: 디야랑 민이 낸 이름이야. 개인적으론 좀 진부한거 같지만.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That name was my idea. I'm glad our team is so cultured.
ko: 내가 낸 이름이야. 우리 팀이 이렇게 교양적이라니 기뻐.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Right now, I need to go to first period and terrorize Noelle.
ko: 지금은, 1교시로 가서 노엘을 괴롭혀야만해.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Ah, the public school girls restroom. Possibly the most disgusting place on earth.
ko: 아, 공립 학교 여자 화장실. 분명 세상에서 가장 역겨운 장소일거야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're going back to the library? The alarms will go off again.
ko: 도서관으로 돌아가게? 또 알람 울릴텐데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: So? I'm nothing if not an agent of chaos.
ko: 그래서? 혼돈의 부하가 아닌 난 아무것도 아니야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ready or not, here I come!
ko: 준비됐든 안됐든, 갑니다!

en: The book scanner alarms sound as Akarsha and Min reenter the libary.
ko: 아카샤와 민이 도서관에 다시 들어가자 도난 방지 알람이 울려퍼진다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Sounds like the library ghosts haunting me are alive and well.
ko: 날 따라다니는 도서관 유령들은 안녕 하신가 보네.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Again? You're kidding.
ko: 또? 농담이지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I've never been more serious in my life.
ko: 내 생애 이렇게 진지했던적이 없어.

en: The blare of the book scanner alarm announces Akarsha and Min's return to the library.
ko: 도난 방지 알람의 우렁찬 소리가 아카샤와 민의 귀환을 알린다.

en: The librarian looks up, sees that it's Akarsha yet again, and slams her fist onto the countertop with surprising force.
ko: 사서가 고개를 들어 이번에도 역시 아캬샤임을 보고선, 놀랄정도로 세게 카운터를 주먹으로 친다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, that librarian is definitely pissed now.
ko: 음. 저 사서 100% 화났다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: My life will probably be in danger if I go back again.
ko: 다시 들어가면 내 목숨을 장담 못해.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Maybe tomorrow.
ko: 내일 다시 가보자.

en: Look outside the locker room
ko: 락커룸 밖을 본다

en: Go to class
ko: 교실로 간다

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Aight, imma head to class now.
ko: 그래, 슬슬 반으로 가야겠다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Adios, bitch.
ko: 아디오스, 썅년.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She's probably gonna go find Diya now.
ko: 디야 찾으러 가는거겠지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I feel like she's chilled out a lot since they started dating.
ko: 둘이 사귀고 나서부터 많이 진정된거같아.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I guess knifing people is less exciting than kissing your girlfriend.
ko: 아무래도 여자친구랑 키스하는게 사람을 칼로 푹찍하는거보단 훨씬 더 흥분되겠지.

en: Look at your reflection
ko: 창문에 비춘 자신의 모습 보기

en: Eavesdrop on classmates
ko: 반 애들 엿듣기

en: Enter classroom
ko: 반으로 들어가기

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: How is it that everyone else has bomb-ass hair while mine's all sad and thin?
ko: 왜 다들 존나 쩌는 머릿결을 갖고있는데 내 머리카락만 이렇게 서글프고 얇지?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: What happened??? Gene catastrophe...
ko: 어쩌다 이런일이??? 유전자의 재난...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: The other day I saw my side profile in a photo and was like, "wugh!"
ko: 얼마 전에 내 옆모습이 찍힌 사진을 봤는데, 진짜, "으웩!"

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I really go around looking like that all day?
ko: 저딴 꼬라지로 돌아다닌단 말이야?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Wish I could get plastic surgery...
ko: 성형이라도 받을수 있으면 좋을텐데...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Dat me.
ko: 나님이다.

en: Male student
ko: 남학생

en: Female student
ko: 여학생

note: Speaker: NPC
en: I hate how my parents yell at me for studying late at night.
ko: 내가 밤샘공부 할때마다 부모님이 나한테 소리지르는거 너무 싫어.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: If I slept early instead of cramming, I'd probably fail! And then I'd get yelled at for not studying.
ko: 벼락치기 안하고 일찍 잤으면 낙제 했을거야! 그럼 공부 안했다고 또 잔소리 하겠지.

note: Speaker: NPC2
en: Ugh! That's so gay.
ko: 으! 진짜 게이하다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: At our school, it's really popular to say "gay" when you mean "stupid" or "uncool".
ko: 요즘 우리 학교에, "바보같다" 나 "멋지지 않다" 라는 말 대신 "게이하다" 라고 하는 유행이 돌고 있어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: So you hear it all the time. Whenever people don't like something, they go "that's so gay."
ko: 맨날 들려. 사람들이 별로 안 좋아하는걸 보면, "게이같다" 라고 말하지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Noelle and Diya aren't here yet.
ko: 노엘이랑 디야는 아직 안왔어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I managed to set up a special surprise the other day. Hopefully everything's still in place.
ko: 얼마전에 특별한 서프라이즈를 준비했는데. 아직 제대로 작동 하면 좋겠다.

en: A few minutes later, Akarsha looks through the window. Outside, Noelle and Diya are approaching the classroom.
ko: 몇분후, 아카샤는 창 밖을 본다. 밖에선, 노엘과 디야가 반으로 다가오고 있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Yes...Come, my here, my sweet...
ko: 좋아... 어서 오렴, 우리 귀여운...

en: Suddenly, a water bottle whizzes through the open door and hits the floor with a loud smack!
ko: 갑자기 물병 하나가 열린 문을 통해 쌩하고 날아 들어오더니 큰 소리와 함께 바닥을 강타한다!

en: It rolls across the classroom until it hits the wall.
ko: 벽에 부딪힐때까지 교실 바닥을 구른다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Uh?!
ko: 에?!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: So it's not saran wrap today...
ko: 오늘은 비닐 랩이 아닌가보네...

en: Noelle peers suspiciously into the classroom from the doorway. She experimentally reaches one hand inside and feels along the doorframe, apparently searching for abnormalities.
ko: 노엘은 복도에서 수상쩍은 눈으로 교실을 쳐다본다. 실험적으로 한손을 뻗어 문 틀을 만져보며, 이상한점이 없는지 수색한다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What's wrong, Frenchman? Afraid to come in?
ko: 무슨일이야 프렌치맨? 들어오기 무서워?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What did you do this time?
ko: 너 이번엔 뭔 짓 했어?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What makes you think I did anything?
ko: 내가 왜 뭔 짓을 했을거라 생각해?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Maybe the fact that you've done something every morning this month.
ko: 네가 이번달 내내 매일 아침 뭔 짓을 했다는 사실 아닐까?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Two against one! Cheater! Cheater!!
ko: 2대 1이다!! 반칙이야! 반칙!!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That's what you get! You worthless pest!
ko: 꼴 좋다! 이 버러지 해충!

en: Diya retrieves the sacrificial water bottle.
ko: 디야가 희생당한 물병을 줍는다.

en: Meanwhile, Noelle haltingly walks to her desk with an arm outstretched ahead of her, bracing for all manner of assault, whether it be liquid, solid, gaseous, or psychological in form.
ko: 그동안, 액체든, 고체든, 기체든, 정신적이든, 그 모든 유형의 공격을 각오한 노엘은 주춤주춤 한팔을 앞으로 뻗은채 책상으로 걸어간다.

en: After thoroughly inspecting her desk, she apprehensively sits.
ko: 책상을 꼼꼼히 수사한 다음에야, 노엘은 찝찝하게 자리에 앉는다.

[ctx: enterClass_7cb501c7]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: .....
ko: ......

[ctx: enterClass_079b08de]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: .....
ko: ......

en: After a few tense seconds, Noelle seems satisfied that the act of sitting down didn't trigger anything.
ko: 긴장되는 몇초가 흐르고, 노엘은 자리에 앉는다는 행동이 아무 일도 일으키지 않았다는 사실에 안도한듯 하다.

en: Breathing a sigh a relief, she hefts a bulky laptop from her messenger bag.
ko: 안도의 한숨을 내쉰 후, 노엘은 가방에서 두툼한 노트북을 꺼내 올린다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Yes! She didn't notice the extra wireless mouse USB I plugged into her computer last Friday.
ko: 아싸! 지난주 금요일에 내가 몰래 꽂아둔 무선 마우스는 아직 눈치를 못챘나봐.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I have the mouse hidden in my pocket.
ko: 내 주머니에 숨어있는 그 무선 마우스.

en: Diya takes a thin plastic folder from her backpack and flops it back and forth so it makes a wopwopwopwop sound.
ko: 디야가 얇은 플라스틱 폴더를 가방에서 꺼내곤, 앞 뒤로 흔들어 "우오우오우오우오우오우오" 소리를 낸다.

[ctx: enterClass_6e8840cd]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ............
ko: .........

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Did you work on the PowerPoint?
ko: 파워포인트는 했어?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I added a slide on sharks and dolphins as another example of convergent evolution.
ko: 수렴진화의 예시로 상어랑 돌고래를 추가하는 슬라이드를 하나 더 넣었어.

en: Noelle scrolls to the slide in question. It's a solid wall of text with no images.
ko: 노엘이 그 슬라이드로 스크롤한다. 사진은 하나도 없이, 빽빽하게 글로만 가득 차있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: This is gonna put everyone to sleep!
ko: 이러면 모두를 재워버릴거야!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Noelle's so confident that she's good at public speaking, but she has zero charisma or self-awareness.
ko: 노엘은 자기가 대중 연설을 잘한다고 생각하지만, 카리스마나 자의식은 전혀 없어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She just drones on and on forever, oblivious that she lost the audience ten minutes ago.
ko: 그래서 이미 10분 전에 사람들이 듣기 멈췄다는걸 깨닫지 못하고선 계속 말하고 말하지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I love her...
ko: 정말 사랑해...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Wait. I already made a slide about that. Swimming.
ko: 잠시만. 그 내용은 이미 내가 넣어뒀어. 수영.

en: Diya scrolls to the previous slide.
ko: 디야가 전 화면으로 스크롤한다.

en: It features a photo of dozens of fish and dolphins swimming in the ocean, cryptically captioned "Good shape".
ko: 바닷속을 자유로이 수영하는 물고기와 돌고래의 사진 밑엔, 의미 모를 "좋은 모양" 이란 설명이 달려있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Good shape...
ko: 좋은 모양...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I hate to break this to you, Diya, but literally no one but you is going to understand this.
ko: 이런 말 해서 미안한데, 디야, 진짜 너 말곤 아무도 이 설명 이해 못해.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Neither of them are paying attention to me right now. Time to shine.
ko: 아무도 날 신경쓰지 않고 있어. 빛을 발할 때가 왔도다.

en: Jiggle the cursor
ko: 마우스 커서를 요리조리 움직인다

en: Close the PowerPoint presentation
ko: 파워포인트를 닫는다

en: Akarsha jiggles the mouse in her pocket as Noelle tries to edit the slide.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘이 슬라이드를 편집 하려는 사이, 마우스를 요리조리 움직인다.

[ctx: enterClass_320efa19]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ........
ko: ......

[ctx: enterClass_9ca460a6]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: What was that?
ko: 뭐지?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What was what?
ko: 뭐지?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Didn't you see it? The cursor just jerked on its own.
ko: 너도 봤잖아, 방금 커서가 지 맘대로 움직인거.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Maybe it's lag?
ko: 마우스가 버벅이는거 아니야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I bet it's 'cause you typed too many words on one slide.
ko: 한 슬라이드에 그렇게 많은 단어들을 쑤셔 넣었으니까, 느려질만도 하지.

[ctx: enterClass_de12e604]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Even Bill Gates didn't see this coming.
ko: 빌 게이츠도 이건 예상 못했을걸.

[ctx: enterClass_bfc3fcab]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That can't be it. I've fit more words than this on one slide before.
ko: 그럴리가. 전에 한 슬라이드에 이거보다 많은 단어들을 적어둔적이 있어.

[ctx: enterClass_b87430c1]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...You have?
ko: ... 이거보다 더?

en: Noelle moves the mouse again. This time Akarsha does nothing.
ko: 노엘이 마우스를 다시 움직여본다. 아카샤는 가만히 있는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Looks fine to me.
ko: 괜찮은거 같네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: How strange...
ko: 이게 무슨 일인지...

en: While Noelle is busy typing an essay-length caption, Akarsha clicks another textbox so she's editing the wrong part of the slide.
ko: 노엘이 에세이처럼 긴 설명을 타이핑하는 동안, 아카샤는 텍스트의 다른곳을 클릭해 노엘이 엉뚱한곳을 수정하게 만든다.

en: Akarsha swiftly moves the cursor to the X button and closes the document.
ko: 아카샤가 민첩하게 커서를 x 버튼으로 옮겨 문서를 닫아버린다.

[ctx: enterClass_a41d9ab0]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: .........
ko: ......

[ctx: enterClass_e88d1310]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What was that?
ko: 뭐야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Think it crashed.
ko: 오류 났나봐.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I bet it's 'cause you typed too many words on one slide, Noelle.
ko: 한 슬라이드에 그렇게 많은 단어들을 써놔서 그런걸거야.

[ctx: enterClass_de12e604_1]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Even Bill Gates didn't see this coming.
ko: 빌 게이츠도 이건 예상 못했을걸.

en: Noelle re-opens PowerPoint and squints suspiciously at the slide in question.
ko: 노엘은 파워포인트를 다시 열어 그 문제의 슬라이드를 게슴츠레 쳐다본다.

[ctx: enterClass_bfc3fcab_1]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That can't be it. I've fit more words than this on one slide before.
ko: 그럴리가. 전에 한 슬라이드에 이거보다 많은 단어들을 적었을땐 괜찮았어.

[ctx: enterClass_b87430c1_1]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...You have?
ko: ... 이거보다 더?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Good thing we just saved. We didn't lose any significant progress.
ko: 마침 저장 해둬서 다행이다. 써둔 문장들 대부분 무사해.

en: While Noelle is busy typing an essay-length caption, Akarsha quickly closes the program again.
ko: 노엘이 에세이 분량의 설명을 적는동안, 아카샤는 재빨리 프로그램을 다시 한번 닫아버린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: SEE, THERE IT IS AGAIN! WHAT IS GOING ON?!
ko: {b}봤지?! 또 그러잖아!! 도대체 무슨 일이 일어나고 있는거야?!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You've been hacked, Noelle!
ko: 노엘, 너 해킹 당했어!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: As if! Look, it's moving on its own again!
ko: 설마 그랬겠냐! 봐, 또 자기 맘대로 움직이잖아!

en: Akarsha makes it drift toward the Control Panel...
ko: 아카샤는 제어판으로 마우스를 옮긴다...

[ctx: enterClass_231e821a]
note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Heheheh...
ko: 우헤헤...

en: Akarsha wiggles the mouse in her pocket. Diya's eyes flicker to the movement of fabric on Akarsha's windbreaker.
ko: 아카샤가 마우스를 주머니 안에서 움직인다. 바람막이 천이 들썩이는 움직임이 디야의 눈에 띈다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh shit! Oh no!!!
ko: 아 썅, 안돼!!

en: Diya grabs Akarsha's wrist and yanks it out of the pocket, revealing the wireless mouse in her hand.
ko: 디야가 아카샤의 손목을 주머니에서 낚아채, 그 손에 들린 무선 마우스를 보인다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It was yoOOOUU!!!
ko: 너여었{b}구우나아아아아!!!!!!{/b}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wait, I just happened to have a mouse in my pocket! There's no proof this is connected at all!
ko: 잠시만, 난 그저 우연히 마우스를 갖고있었을 뿐이야! 저기랑 연결 돼있단 증거도 없는걸!

en: Diya wrenches the mouse from Akarsha's hand, but not before Akarsha uses her precious final moments to click on the Control Panel and change the mouse speed to the slowest setting.
ko: 디야가 아카샤의 손에서 마우스를 낚아 챘을땐, 이미 아카샤가 마지막 찬스를 놓치지 않고 잽싸게 설정에서 마우스 속도를 최저로 조정한 후였다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Pathetic. I can revert your changes within moments.
ko: 한심하군. 그 정도는 금방 되돌릴수 있어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You sure about that? Why don't you go ahead and try it?
ko: 정말로? 그러면 한번 해보든지.

en: Noelle tries to navigate back to the Control Panel. The cursor inches across the screen so slowly, the movement is barely perceptible...
ko: 노엘이 설정을 바꾸려 해본다. 하지만 커서는 움직이고 있다는걸 알아채기도 힘들 정도로 천천히 움직인다...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: AKARSHAAAAAAAA!!!
ko: {b}아카샤아아아아!!!!!!!!{/b}

en: The bell rings! This concludes Noelle and Akarsha's daily morning scream fest.
ko: 종이 울린다! 이렇게 아카샤와 노엘의 일일 아침 비명 페스티벌은 막을 내린다.

en: Once everyone is seated, the morning announcements play over the intercom.
ko: 모두가 자리에 앉은 뒤, 인터콤에선 아침 발표가 방송된다.

en: Morning announcements
ko: 아침 방송

note: Speaker: NPC
en: The first practice session for Senior Bhangra is today after school in the gym. Don't forget your t-shirt order forms.
ko: 오늘 방과후, 첫 12학년 방그라 춤 연습시간이 체육관에서 진행됩니다. 티셔츠 주문서를 잊지말고 가져와 주시기 바랍니다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Our school has this tradition where the seniors do a bhangra dance at the end of Multicultural Week.
ko: 우리 학교엔 다문화 주간이 끝나면 12학년들이 방그라 춤을 추는 전통이 있어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Guess that means we'll get to see Chryssa and Liz dance.
ko: 그말은 즉, 크리사랑 리즈가 춤추는걸 볼수 있다는거네.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: The Japan Club's first meeting is today after school in N6.
ko: 일본부 첫 모임은 오늘 방과후, N6반에서 있습니다.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: Unlike the Anime Club, besides discussing anime, we ALSO eat Japanese snacks and learn Japanese manners and language.
ko: 애니부와는 다르게, 저흰 애니 얘기를 할 뿐만 아니라 일본 간식도 먹고, 일본어와 일본 문화도 배울 수 있습니다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That doesn't sound like that significant of a difference...
ko: 그렇게 의미있는 차이는 아닌거 같은데...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It's 'cause everyone wants to be able to put "founder and president" on their college apps.
ko: 다들 대학교 지원서에 "동아리 창시자 및 회장" 을 적고 싶어 하니까.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Come to think of it...Didn't Chryssa and Liz start the baseball club during application season?
ko: 그러고 보니까... 크리사랑 리즈도 대학 입시시즌에 야구부 창설하지 않았나?

[ctx: enterClass_22e2f25c]
note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: No way...
ko: 그럴리가...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Well, good for them. Even if they had ulterior motives, it's been fun.
ko: 뭐, 그럴만도. 그런 흑심을 숨기고 있었다 하더라도, 재미만 있었으면 됐지.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: For $5, we'll deliver a rose to your special someone with a message of your choice.
ko: 5달러를 내면, 당신의 특별한 누군가에게 당신의 메세지와 장미 한송이를 배달해 드립니다.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: You can even make it a bouquet for $20. Order forms will be distributed in 3rd period today.
ko: 20달러를 내면 장미 꽃다발로 변경할수 있습니다. 오늘 3교시에 주문서를 나눠드릴 예정입니다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Hah, like anybody's getting me one of those...
ko: 흥, 그래봤자 난 장미따윈 못받겠지...

en: Akarsha surreptiously glances at Noelle, who's sitting beside her.
ko: 아카샤는 옆에 앉아있는 노엘을 몰래 힐끔거린다.

en: To her surprise, Noelle is listening to the intercom as intently as if she were being graded on it.
ko: 놀랍게도, 노엘은 시험이라도 볼것처럼 인터콤을 열심히 듣고있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Wait, maybe this is my chance!
ko: 앗, 어쩌면 기회일수도!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I should act {i}really{/i} pitifully down about being single and drop hints that getting a rose would make me happy.
ko: 솔로라서 {b}완전{/b} 불쌍하게 서글퍼하는 연기를 하고, 장미 한송이만 받으면 정말 행복할거란 힌트를 보내는거야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: After seeing the love of her life (me) in such a miserable state, Noelle will feel guilty that she hasn’t gotten me one!
ko: 그리고 자기의 천생연분 (나) 이 그렇게 서글퍼 하는걸 본 노엘은, 나한테 장미를 안사줬다고 죄책감을 느낄거야!

en: Akarsha sighs heavily and slumps in her desk.
ko: 아카샤는 깊은 한숨을 내쉬곤 책상에 풀썩 쓰러진다.

[ctx: enterClass_9abcface]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What's the matter with you?
ko: 넌 또 뭐가 문제야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I always feel the the worst about being single on holidays where I have no one to celebrate with.
ko: 이런 특별한 기념일때마다 같이 축하할 애인이 없는 솔로라는 사실에 매번 절망해.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Like, Valentine's Day is supposed to be the happiest, most romantic time of the year, but it just reminds me of how no one's ever loved me...
ko: 아니, 발렌타인 데이는 일년중 가장 행복하고 로맨틱한 날이여야 되잖아. 근데 나한테는 그냥 날 사랑하는 사람이 없다는걸 상기 시켜주는 날일 뿐이야...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I bet Diya's getting roses this year. Must be nice...
ko: 디야는 올해 장미 받겠지. 좋겠네...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What is there to envy? Flowers serve no practical purpose.
ko: 부러울게 뭐 있어? 꽃은 전혀 실용적이지 않아.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: They wither up within days and wind up in the garbage. What a waste of money.
ko: 며칠만에 시들어서 쓰레기가 되어버리지. 돈낭비일 뿐이야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Of course you would think so, you uptight spoilsport...
ko: 아 예, 그러시겠죠, 이 고지식한 헛똑똑이씨...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's the thought that counts, though.
ko: 마음이 중요한거야, 마음이.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I, personally, wish someone would send me a rose...
ko: 개인적으론, 누가 나한테 장미를 보내줬으면 해...

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Heh...
ko: 헤에...

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What? Did I say something funny?
ko: 뭔데? 내가 이상한말 했어?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Not at all.
ko: 전혀.

en: Noelle goes back to reading her metamathematics puzzle book.
ko: 노엘은 다시 메타수학 퍼즐책으로 관심을 돌린다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Hm. So that didn't go as expected...
ko: 음. 계획이 좀 틀어졌군...

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Time to revisit my tactics. Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.
ko: 전략 수정이 필요하겠군. 해보고, 적응하고, 이겨낸다.

en: After the day's usual math lesson, the teacher brings out a stack of test papers.
ko: 수학 수업이 끝나고, 선생님이 시험지 뭉치를 꺼내 든다.

en: Teacher
ko: 선생님

note: Speaker: NPC
en: Alright everyone, clear your desks.
ko: 그럼, 책상 비워라.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Aw, what, a pop quiz?
ko: 아 뭐야, 쪽지시험?

note: Speaker: NPC
en: You know, I should've done that. But no, it's just a CAML today.
ko: 쪽지시험을 했어도 좋았겠다만, 아쉽게도 CAML 시험일 뿐이야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh, thank god.
ko: 아, 다행이다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: The CAMLs are these Math League contests we do every few months.
ko: CAML 은 몇달에 한번씩 열리는 수학 경시대회다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: They're 30-minute tests consisting of weird problems that don't have much to do with our current course material.
ko: 지금 진도랑 연관없는 이상한 문제들을 30분동안 풀면 된다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It's just for fun, so they don't affect our grades or anything.
ko: 걍 재미로 하는거라 우리 성적에 반영되진 않지만.

en: Akarsha scans the 6 problems on her test.
ko: 아카샤는 시험지의 여섯 문제를 흝어본다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Usually three of the problems are freebies you'll get right if you have a brain.
ko: 보통 세개는 뇌만 있으면 맞출수 있는 공짜 문제야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: And then there's two you have to think about, and one hella tough one.
ko: 두개는 좀 생각해봐야 풀수 있고, 하나가 존나 어려운 문제.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Better get to work...
ko: 어디 보자...

en: On the way to lunch, Akarsha, Noelle, and Diya check notes on their answers.
ko: 점심시간에 아카샤와 노엘, 그리고 디야는 답안지를 비교해본다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What did you all get on the last question?
ko: 마지막 문제 뭐라고 대답했어?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: The one about the diagonal passing through the 2012 x 2015 unit grid.
ko: 2012 x 2015 칸을 대각선으로 지나가는 문제.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I drew the whole grid the best I could. Guessed 3800 based on that.
ko: 난 칸 전체를 그려서 풀었어. 3800쯤 되는거 같아서 그렇게 냈어.

en: Aghast, Noelle drops her lunchbox as she pulls it from her locker, but Diya manages to catch it before it hits the ground.
ko: 그말을 들은 노엘은 깜짝 놀라 락커에서 꺼내던 도시락을 떨어뜨릴뻔 하지만, 디야가 떨어지기 전에 잡아낸다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You DREW the grid?! There were thousands of units on each side!
ko: 그 칸들을 {b}그려서{/b} 풀었다고?! 양쪽에 천칸 단위로 있었잖아!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Only roughly. I was running out of time.
ko: 그냥 어림 잡아서 그렸어. 시간도 없었고.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Had one minute left and didn't know where to start.
ko: 1분밖에 안 남았는데 어떻게 접근할지도 몰랐었거든.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: The answer was 4026, right?
ko: 그거 답 4026이였지?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: The diagonal goes through the first square at (0,0), and then another 2014 squares horizontally and 2011 squares vertically.
ko: (0,0) 칸을 지나서, 가로로 2014칸에 세로로 2011칸을 지나가니까.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That's what I got too!
ko: 같은 답이다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yes! If {i}you{/i} got that, it's gotta be right.
ko: 아싸! 니가 그렇게 답했으면, 그게 정답이겠지.

en: Min gives them a weird look as she joins them.
ko: 민이 합류하며 이상한 눈빛으로 쳐다본다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: The fuck's wrong with you...How excited can you get over a math problem?
ko: 너넨 씨발 뭐가 문제길래 꼴랑 수학문제 갖고 그렇게 신나할수 있는거야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Clearly you've never known the high of finding out you got the same answer as the smartest kid in the class.
ko: 넌 반에서 제일 똑똑한 애랑 같은 답을 냈다는걸 알게되는 그 짜릿한 경험을 못해봐서 그렇게 말할수 있는거야.

en: Noelle preens a little at the compliment.
ko: 노엘은 그 칭찬에 어깨가 살짝 올라간다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: That's an exaggeration.
ko: 과대포장이야.

[ctx: lunch_6505de42]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: No, it's not.
ko: 아니야, 그렇지 않아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: No one else in our class got all six right last time.
ko: 우리 반에 6개 다 맞춘 사람은 너 말곤 없었어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wait, you got all six?!
ko: 헐, 여섯 문제 다 맞췄다고?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Don't they publish your name on a list or something online when that happens?
ko: 그러면 막 온라인에 이름 발표하고 그러지 않아?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: They do.
ko: 그러지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Dude, that's so impressive. The most I've ever managed was five.
ko: 야, 너 완전 멋있다. 난 5개가 최대였는데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Five is still perfectly respectable, though.
ko: 5개도 잘한 거야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It means you're better at math than the vast majority of high schoolers. And that's including all the way up to grade twelve, not just our grade.
ko: 대다수의 고등학생들보다 수학을 잘한다는 거니까. 게다가 여기 12학년용 문제도 있어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah, I guess so...
ko: 그래, 뭐…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It's seriously amazing that she's basically one of the smartest kids in the whole state.
ko: 얘는 진짜 대단하지. 우리 주에 있는 애들 안에서 탑클래스 수준이잖아.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We're so different, but at the same time there's so many ways we're alike??
ko: 나는 얘랑 진짜 다른데, 왜 이렇게 비슷한 부분도 많은 것 같지??

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We're so compatible with each other...We're so perfect for each other...
ko: 잘 맞기도 하고… 딱 맞는 퍼즐 조각처럼…

en: Min holds a door open for Diya as they walk over to their usual table.
ko: 늘 앉던 테이블로 향하던 도중, 민은 디야가 들어갈 수 있게 문을 잡아준다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: After you, princess.
ko: 먼저 가시죠, 공주님.

[ctx: lunch_35d02abf]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Thanks...
ko: 고마워…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Hmm...Min always treats Diya like this even though Diya's strong enough to just smash a hole through the wall like the Kool-Aid Man.
ko: 음… 쟨 디야한테 꼭 저러네. 디야 힘이면 원펀맨처럼 벽에 구멍도 뚫을텐데.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I guess Diya finds it romantic that Min is protective of her and stuff?
ko: 디야는 저렇게 공주님 보호하는 기사처럼 구는 게 로맨틱한가?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Maybe if I try a move like that, Noelle'll fall for me!
ko: 아, 혹시 내가 저러면 노엘도 나한테 빠지나?!

en: Once they've sat down, Noelle struggles to open her water bottle.
ko: 두 사람은 앉고, 노엘은 물병과 힘겨루기를 하고 있다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Ugh!
ko: 끄윽!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Diya must not have opened it for her like usual this morning! This is my chance!
ko: 맨날 하던 것처럼 디야가 열게 놔둘 순 없지! 기회다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Here, I got this babe.
ko: 자, 내가 열어줄게 베이비.

en: Akarsha snatches the bottle away from Noelle and tries to open it.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘이 들고 있던 물병을 낚아채고 뚜껑을 잡은 손에 힘을 준다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: *grunts* Nrg! Shit!
ko: 흐읍! 씨밯...!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Urk! This is surprisingly hard!
ko: 아오! 왤케 안 열려!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: And they say chivalry is dead.
ko: 늙어 죽겠네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You disgust me.
ko: 개짜증나.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Whuh?! I was just tryin' to help!
ko: 뭐?! 난 그냥 도와주려는 건데!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You were smirking condescendingly as you took the bottle from me!
ko: 병 뺏어가면서 지 잘난 표정으로 실실대더니!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Was not!
ko: 안 그랬거든!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Was too. You were smiling weird.
ko: 그랬어. 너 진짜 이상하게 웃더라.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wha...was I?!
ko: 그… 그랬나?!

en: Noelle hands the water bottle to Diya with a huff.
ko: 노엘은 짜증내며 디야에게 물병을 넘긴다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Okay, that could've gone better.
ko: 뭐, 됐어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Luckily, I've got one last trick up my sleeve.
ko: 아직 한 발 더 남았거든.

en: Before fifth period begins, Akarsha schemes at her desk.
ko: 5교시가 시작되기 전, 아카샤는 음모를 꾸민다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Acting sad 'cause no one was into me didn't work, so I should try the opposite tactic.
ko: 슬픈 척 하고 있는 건 애들이 나한테 관심이 없어서 안 먹혔으니까, 전략을 반대로 짜야겠어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I'll make Noelle think dudes are falling for me left and right.
ko: 아카샤는 발에 채이는 게 남자구나! 하고 노엘이 착각하게 해야겠어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: So if she likes me, she'll feel pressured to take action or else I'll be stolen from right under her nose!
ko: 그러다 내가 좋아지면, 코 앞에서 딴 놈한테 뺏길까봐 조바심 좀 나겠지!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I won't be on the market for long. I'm a limited time offer!
ko: 한정수량이구요~! 이번이 마지막 기회거든요!

en: Akarsha goes over to annoy Noelle at her desk. Noelle puts down the thick tome she's reading to give Akarsha her undivided attention.
ko: 아카샤는 노엘의 성질을 돋구러 노엘의 책상 쪽으로 간다. 노엘은 읽고 있던 크고 묵직한 책을 내려놓고 아카샤에게 시선을 준다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Yes?
ko: 왜?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Can I tell you something?
ko: 얘기 좀 해도 돼?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...I'll allow it.
ko: …허가하마.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: "I'll allow it"?? Who talks like that? What are you, a judge?
ko: "허가하마"?? 너 뭐 되세요? 판사에요?

[ctx: earthquake_e6dd7ed8]
note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I love you...
ko: 나 너 좋아해…

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: So yesterday, I was RPing with one of my online pals, Xx_ChibiAzn_xX, on AnimeCrazy.net. And he asked me to be his forum GF!
ko: 나 어제 AnimeCrazy.net 에서 내 넷친 Xx_ChibiAzn_xX 랑 역극하고 있었거든. 근데 걔가 자기 포럼 운영자 맡아달라는 거야!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I turned him down, of course.
ko: 근데 당연 거절함.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But I'm so popular, this happens all the time!
ko: 이 놈의 인기 때문에 피곤해 죽겠다!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...Never mind. Forget I asked.
ko: …그러시든가.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Huh?! She doesn't sound remotely interested!
ko: 엥?! 완전 관심 없어 보이잖아!

en: Suddenly, a sharp tremor rattles Noelle's desk.
ko: 갑자기, 노엘의 책상이 세차게 덜컹이며 흔들린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Quit shaking my desk.
ko: 내 책상 흔들지 마.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But I'm NOT shaking it?
ko: 나 아닌데?

en: Noelle and Akarsha look at one another, then at their violently shaking surroundings.
ko: 노엘과 아카샤는 서로를 마주보다 격렬하게 흔들리는 주변 사물들로 시선을 옮긴다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: {big=+20}THERE'S A GHOST?!?{/big}
ko: {big=+20}귀신인가?!?{/big}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: YOU MEAN {big=+20}{i}EARTHQUAKE???{/i}{/big}
ko: {big=+20}{i}지진이겠지!!!{/i}{/big}

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, yeah, earthquake!
ko: 맞네! 지진이다!

en: There's a commotion as Diya and the others crawl under their desks for cover as taught by years of earthquake drills.
ko: 디야와 다른 아이들은 다년간의 지진 대비 훈련에서 배운대로 책상 밑에 기어 들어가느라 한창 소란이다.

en: Without thinking, Akarsha dives under Noelle's desk, leaving Noelle sitting dumbly in her chair.
ko: 깊이 생각하지 않고 아카샤는 노엘의 책상 밑으로 뛰어든다. 노엘은 멀뚱히 의자에 남겨둔 채로.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: AKARSHA!!! WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO HIDE UNDER NOW??!
ko: 아카샤!!! 난 어디 숨으란 거야??!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oops! Why don't you squeeze under here, too?
ko: 앗차! 그냥 여기 같이 껴있으면 안 돼?

en: Akarsha tries to make room for Noelle as she stiffly crawls under the desk.
ko: 노엘이 어색하게 책상 아래로 기어들고 아카샤는 자리를 만들려 애쓴다.

en: Every single one of Noelle's joints pop as she crouches into place. They're so close, Akarsha can feel the heat radiating off Noelle's skin.
ko: 웅크리며 들어오는 노엘의 관절 하나하나가 아카샤를 건드린다. 두 사람이 너무 가까워서, 아카샤는 노엘의 피부에서 흘러나오는 열기마저 느낄 수 있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Is it just me, or is this like, really romantic??
ko: 나만 그런 거 아니지? 이거 로맨틱한 상황 맞지??

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Nah, I'm just overthinking it...I gotta look at this objectively...
ko: 아니다, 자의식 과잉이다… 이성적으로 생각하자…

en: Scowling, Noelle readjusts herself and brushes her hand against Akarsha's.
ko: 문득, 노엘은 인상을 찌푸리고 자세를 고치더니 자기 손을 아카샤의 손에 부드럽게 문지른다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: No way...Does this mean what I think it means?!
ko: 이거… 설마 내가 생각하는 그건가?!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She must've done that because she secretly likes me! Confirmed!!
ko: 얘도 속으로는 몰래 날 좋아하고 있었구나! 그랬구나!!

[ctx: earthquake_1478c377]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: .......
ko: ……

[ctx: earthquake_117be23f]
note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: .......
ko: ……

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I think it's stopped.
ko: 멈췄나 봐.

en: Noelle clambers back to her feet in a hurry.
ko: 노엘이 재빨리 일어난다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I can't believe you!
ko: 거짓말!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I could have perished because of your selfishness!
ko: 난 방금 죽을 수도 있었어! 니가 이기적으로 구는 바람에!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But you didn't! Talk about a win-win situation.
ko: 안 죽었잖아! 이게 바로 윈윈이지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: What're the odds of an earthquake happening right as we were talking to each other?
ko: 어떤 사람이랑 대화하는 도중에 지진이 일어날 확률이 얼마나 될까?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Maybe it's a sign from the universe that we're soul mates!
ko: 우리가 소울메이트라는 우주의 계시일수도!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I mean, think about it. What's more likely, that this was a coincidence? Or that the world revolves around me, and it's trying to tell me something?
ko: 생각해 봐. 방금이 우연일 확률이 높겠어, 아님 나를 중심으로 돌고 있는 세상이 나한테 어떤 메시지를 보내고 있을 확률이 높겠어?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It's obviously the second one!
ko: 당연히 두번째지!

en: Akarsha comes home giddy with the private conviction that Noelle likes her back.
ko: 노엘도 자길 좋아한다는 지극히 개인적인 확신에 아카샤는 현기증을 느끼며 귀가한다.

en: In spurt of reckless courage, she boots up the family desktop in the computer room after dinner.
ko: 저녁 식사 후, 근거 없는 용기에 찬 아카샤는 컴퓨터방에 들어가 가족 공용 컴퓨터를 켠다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Okay...I'm gonna confess my love to her!
ko: 좋아… 고백 갈겨!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I have a really good feeling about this!
ko: 이번엔 진짜 잘 될 것 같다!

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: hey
ko: 야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: do u have a minute
ko: 시간 좀 있냐

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: Why is your display name "Certified Brain Genius"?
ko: '(공식)두뇌 천재'? 닉네임 왜 그래?

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: uh becuase i am one? duh
ko: 사실이니까? 당연;

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: WHAT DIFFERENCE IS THERE BETWEEN A GENIUS AND A "BRAIN GENIUS"??
ko: '두뇌 천재'랑 그냥 천재랑 대체 뭐가 다른데??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: IT'S A POINTLESS DISTINCTION!
ko: '두뇌'를 붙일 필요가 없잖아!

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: no no they're obviously different
ko: 노노 그거랑 그거랑 완전 다른 말이지

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: Did you change it to this just to annoy me?!
ko: 그냥 나 열받게 하려고 그래 놨지?!

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: idk what ur talking about and i dont appreciate u questioning my certification -_-
ko: 몬솔? 내 공식 자격에 태클걸지 마시죠 -_-

note: Speaker: cSame
en: we ladies need to uplift each other!!
ko: 여자끼리 서로 돕지는 못할 망정!!

note: Speaker: cSame
en: no point in having 2 queens fight
ko: 우리끼리 싸우는 데 무슨 의미가 있소, 왕이여

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: QUEENS??
ko: 왕??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: RIGHT NOW I SEE YOU AS NOTHING BUT AN ENEMY TO BE OBLITERATED.
ko: 지금 당신은 제거해야 할 나의 적으로밖에 보이지 않소.

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ok can we circle back to this later?
ko: 오키. 이건 이따 이어서 할게?

note: Speaker: cSame
en: thats not why messaged you
ko: 그것 땜에 연락한 게 아니라서

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: Why did you message me, then?
ko: 그럼 왜 했는데?

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i have to tell yuo something
ko: 노한테 할 말이 있어서

[ctx: failedConfession_4d722a60]
note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: What is it?
ko: 뭔데?

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i
ko: 나

[ctx: failedConfession_a82300be]
note: Speaker: cSame
en: uh
ko: 그

note: Speaker: cSame
en: man this is hard to say
ko: 아 쉽지 않네

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i kinda have a crush on you
ko: 나 너 좋아하는듯

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: Er...
ko: 엥…

[ctx: failedConfession_16eac652]
note: Speaker: cSame
en: What?
ko: 뭐?

note: Speaker: cSame
en: You're joking, right?
ko: 장난치는 거지?

en: Akarsha's stomach drops as Noelle's flat response flashes on the screen.
ko: 노엘의 건조한 반응이 스크린에 뜨자 아카샤의 뱃속에 뭔가가 쿵 떨어진다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Crap. That's not what I was expecting...
ko: 아 씨. 이게 아닌데…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: If she really liked me, she would've jumped at the chance to say she felt the same way!
ko: 얘도 날 좋아하는 게 맞았으면 지금쯤 얼른 달려들어서 자기도 그렇다고 했겠지!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I know {i}I{/i} would've...
ko: {b}나{/b}라면 그랬단 거고…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Which means...I was overthinking all our interactions after all...
ko: 아무래도… 자의식 과잉이 맞았나 보네…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I'm not a certified brain genius anymore. I've made a grave mistake!!
ko: 공식 두뇌 천재 사임합니다. 망했으니까!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Abort mission! Abort!!
ko: 퇴각하라! 퇴각!!

[ctx: failedConfession_6c898b58]
note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: uh
ko: 엥

note: Speaker: cSame
en: just kidding!!!
ko: 뻥이지!!!

note: Speaker: cSame
en: that was my brother xD
ko: 남동생이 장난침ㅋㅋ

note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: Your brother...?
ko: 남동생…?

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ya he took the keyboard and typed that as a joke
ko: 어 키보드 가져가서 장난침

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i cant believe he did that o.O
ko: 왜 저러는지 ㅇㅅㅇ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: like id ever say anything that crazeh! e_e
ko: 내가 어디서 그런 소릴 한다고! ㅍ_ㅍ

[ctx: failedConfession_3779265e]
note: Speaker: cNoelle
en: I see...
ko: 아 그래…

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: just forget this ever happened ok? my bros so random lolll
ko: 걍 잊어버려 알앗지? 동생 진짜 짜증남ㅋㅋㅋ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i gtg now bye!!
ko: 나 간다 빠이!!

en: Akarsha powers the family desktop off, her heart pounding a mile a minute.
ko: 컴퓨터를 끄는 아카샤의 심장은 과속단속에 걸릴 지경이다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: That was a close one...I somehow salvaged that and escaped unscathed...
ko: 큰일 날 뻔… 간신히 도망쳤네…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Apart from my heart being broken into a thousand smithereens, I mean...
ko: 심장이 천 갈래로 찢기고 있는 것 빼곤 무사해…

en: Akarsha dramatically throws herself onto the sofa in the living room.
ko: 아카샤는 비극의 주인공처럼 거실 소파 위에 몸을 던진다.

en: Used to this, her brother offers her a piece of candy.
ko: 그런 아카샤가 익숙한 남동생은 그저 사탕을 건넨다.

note: Speaker: Pratik
en: Want a Hi-Chew?
ko: 마이쮸 먹을래?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No, thanks.
ko: 노. 괜찮.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Don't eat too many of those. They have dangerous oils in them.
ko: 너무 많이 먹지 마라. 안 좋은 기름이 들어있어.

note: Speaker: Pratik
en: Okay, Dad...
ko: 알았어 아빠…

en: Her mom goes into the room Akarsha just left to switch off the light.
ko: 불을 켜지 않아 어두컴컴한 방 안에 엄마가 들어온다.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: What is this — Diwali?!
ko: 왜 이렇게 어두워. 지금 디왈리라도 하니?! (*디왈리[Diwali] : 어둠 속에서 기름등을 켜고 하는 인도의 전통 축제)

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oops. Sorry, I was having a meltdown and forgot...
ko: 아, 미안. 녹아내리는 중이라 잊어버렸네…

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Want to watch a funny movie with us? It'll make you feel better.
ko: 같이 웃긴 영화 볼까? 기분 좀 나아지게.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What's the movie?
ko: 무슨 영화?

note: Speaker: Dad
en: She's the Man. We just need to wait two minutes, it starts on TV at seven.
ko: 쉬즈 더 맨. 7시에 TV에서 한다니까 2분만 기다리면 돼.

en: The movie kicks off with the teenage heroine making out with her boyfriend.
ko: 영화는 10대 여주인공이 남자친구와 키스를 하는 장면으로 시작한다.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: Ew. Gross.
ko: 으휴, 보기 싫어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I dunno...{w=0.35}Wish that were me...
ko: 왜지… {w=0.35}나는 저게 나였음 좋겠네…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We would've been so cute together......
ko: 걔랑 나랑 진짜 잘 어울릴텐데……

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: We belong together! We should be dating!
ko: 우린 완벽한 한 쌍이라고! 사귈 수밖에 없다고!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I was hoping so bad Noelle could see that, too.
ko: 노엘도 좀 알았으면 좋겠다, 제발….

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It just really hurts to know she doesn't feel the same way.
ko: 걔가 나랑 같은 마음이 아니라니 상처가 너무 커.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Oh! This actress makes a very handsome boy.
ko: 오! 저 배우 남자 분장하니까 되게 잘생겼네.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: She would've tricked me.
ko: 저러면 나도 속겠어.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: She would've tricked you?!
ko: 저걸 속는다고?!

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Beti, do you know how to do this?
ko: 베티 당신은 저렇게 되겠어?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Do what? Disguise myself as a guy?
ko: 뭐가 돼? 남장하면 저렇게 되겠냐고?

note: Speaker: Mom
en: What kind of question is that? You're so weird.
ko: 그게 무슨 소리야? 하여간 이상한 사람이야.

en: It's a fun movie, but watching all the characters happily pair up after their wacky teen hijinks just makes Akarsha's chest ache even more.
ko: 그냥 코미디 영화일 뿐이다. 하지만 좌충우돌 틴에이저 난리굿 이후, 모든 등장인물들은 행복하게 짝을 맺으면서 아카샤의 실연의 아픔을 강화시킨다.

en: Seeing the forlorn expression on her face, her dad pats her on the shoulder.
ko: 그 쓸쓸한 표정을 본 아빠는 아카샤의 어깨를 토닥인다.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: Cheer up.
ko: 힘내.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: If you really don't want to be a doctor, you can become a movie star instead.
ko: 의사 되기가 그렇게 싫으면, 영화배우 하면 되지.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: What are you saying?!
ko: 그건 또 무슨 말이야?!

note: Speaker: Dad
en: I think it will be cool if Akarsha becomes a famous movie star. If she's rich, we can live in the mountains.
ko: 유명한 영화배우도 괜찮지 않아? 딸도 부자겠다, 우리는 산 속에서 살아도 되지.

note: Speaker: Dad
en: We can be like, in the wild.
ko: '나는 자연인이다'처럼.

note: Speaker: Mom
en: Why would we want that???
ko: 굳이 그러고 살고 싶어???

note: Speaker: Dad
en: You can do it, beti. I believe.
ko: 당신도 할 수 있어, 베티. 남편 믿어.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: My parents have such high hopes for me, but all I do is waste the opportunities they worked so hard to give me.
ko: 엄마 아빤 나한테 너무 기대가 커. 둘이 기껏 뼈 빠지게 일해서 마련해주는 기회를 매번 걷어차기만 하는데.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I have literally nothing going for me...I'm legitimately such a waste of time and resources.
ko: 이런 구제불능한테 투자해봤자… 시간 낭비에 자원 낭비라고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: How do people manage to have their first kiss in kindergarten and stuff?
ko: 다른 사람들은 유치원 때 어떻게 뽀뽀같은 것도 해보고 그러지?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Why doesn't anyone wanna kiss {i}me{/i}?? Am I that unlikeable?
ko: 왜 아무도 {b}나랑은{/b} 뽀뽀할 생각을 안 하지?? 내가 매력이 없나?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It feels like such a remote thing that I can't imagine it {i}ever{/i} happening to me.
ko: 너무 낯설고 먼 일이라 상상도 안 되는 느낌이야.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I've never even held someone's hand or been in any kind of relationship.
ko: 누구 손을 잡거나, 사귀는 거 비슷하게 돼본 적도 없고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: At this rate I'm gonna go through my entire life without ever getting kissed.
ko: 이대로라면 난 평생 키스 한 번 못 해보고 살겠지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: What's even the point of me staying alive? There's nothing for me to look forward to.
ko: 살아서 뭐하지? 뭐라도 잘 될거라는 기대도 없고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Everything just feels so unattainable.
ko: 애써봐야 달라질 게 없을 것 같은데.

en: Once the end credits roll, she dejectedly texts Min on her phone.
ko: 엔딩 크레딧이 흐르기 시작하고, 아카샤는 풀 죽은 상태로 민에게 문자를 보낸다.

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i read online that its healthy to wallow in sadness
ko: 인터넷에서 보니까 슬픔에 빠져 있는 게 건강에 좋대

note: Speaker: cSame
en: for up to 1 hour a day
ko: 하루 최대 1시간까지

note: Speaker: cSame
en: and that hour begins nOW YAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko: 1시간 시작 악아강강각아강강가악악악악악
    악아악아강강가앙가아악

note: Speaker: cMin
en: WTF
ko: 왓더뻑

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko: 아아악아가아아아아아아아아아악아아아아아아ㅏ앙

note: Speaker: cMin
en: SHUT UP
ko: 닥쳐

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
ko: 아아아아아아아아아아아앙아ㅏ아아아아아아아아아아아아

note: Speaker: cMin
en: what happened???????
ko: 뭔 일 잇냐???????

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: I CONFESSED AND IT DIDNT GO WELL TT_____TT
ko: 고백 차였어 ㅠㅠ______ㅠㅠ

note: Speaker: cMin
en: o shit
ko: 오 쒯

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: luckily the second i saw things were going south
ko: 다행인 건 망한 거 바로 눈치 까고

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i was able to backtrack n play it off as a joke
ko: 바로 백스텝 밟고 장난이었던 척함

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i said it was my brother pranking me
ko: 남동생이 장난쳤다 했어

[ctx: minChat_c5123885]
note: Speaker: cMin
en: wait
ko: 잠만

note: Speaker: cSame
en: hold on
ko: 기달

note: Speaker: cSame
en: you did it thru TEXT???
ko: 고백을 {b}톡으로{/b} 했다고???

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ya
ko: ㅇㅇ

note: Speaker: cMin
en: why???
ko: 왜???

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: idk it seemed like a good idea at the time :(
ko: 몰러 그땐 괜찮을 거 같았어 ㅇAㅇ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: and that way I could say it wasnt me if i chickened out
ko: 그래야 나 아니었다고 발 빼기도 쉽잖음

note: Speaker: cMin
en: wtf
ko: 머하냐

note: Speaker: cSame
en: DO IT PROPERLY
ko: 제대로 해 새꺄

note: Speaker: cSame
en: IN PERSON
ko: 얼굴 보고

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: and deal with the consequences of my actions??
ko: 그러고 내 행동의 결과를 받아들이라고??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: no thank u
ko: 노 수고

note: Speaker: cMin
en: well if your not sinsere about it, then what you get back isnt going to be real either
ko: 니가 진심으로 안 하면 돌아오는 반응도 마찬가지겠지

note: Speaker: cSame
en: your like someone who went to vegas, spent 1 penny and got spooked and left
ko: 지금 너 라스베가스까지 가서 백원 잃었다고 놀라서 튀는 거야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: You need to take risks if you wanna win anything
ko: 진짜 원하는 게 있으면 위험도 감수해야지

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: too scawwy :(
ko: 무쪄운뎅 ㅠAㅠ

note: Speaker: cMin
en: coward
ko: 겁쟁이새끼

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: whats the point? i know theyre not interested in me anyway
ko: 뭐 어떡해? 어차피 걘 나한테 관심 없는데

note: Speaker: cMin
en: weaksauce move
ko: 약해빠진 새끼

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: and i cant even blame them
ko: 나도 이해 돼

note: Speaker: cSame
en: who'd wanna waste time with a loser like me ;___;
ko: 나같은 루저한테 누가 시간 낭비하고 싶겠냐 TAT

note: Speaker: cMin
en: what am i then motherfuker?? chopped liver?
ko: 그럼 난 뭐냐 색꺄??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: IM wasting time with yuo right now
ko: 지금 니한테 시간 낭비 중인 거 {b}난데{/b}

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: but u like wasting time with diya MORE
ko: 넌 디야랑 낭비하는 시간이 훨씬 많잖아

note: Speaker: cSame
en: see??
ko: 안 그래??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: *is die*
ko: (죽음)

note: Speaker: cMin
en: well its not a contest
ko: 경쟁하는 게 아니잖아

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ok but it kinda is??
ko: 근데 약간 그렇지 않아??

note: Speaker: cSame
en: idk like...having 1 person in the world think im worth loving would be nice
ko: 그냥… 나를 사랑할만한 사람이라고 생각하는 사람이 세상에 단 한 명만 있음 좋겠어

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i feel like i've spent my entire life wanting people and being rejected while nobodys ever felt anything for me
ko: 내 평생 사람을 원해왔는데 계속해서 거절당하는 느낌이야. 아무도 나한테는 그런 감정을 느끼질 않아서

note: Speaker: cSame
en: like am i really that ugly and boring that no one would ever fall in love with me
ko: 너무 못생기고 재미없는 인간이라 아무도 안 좋아하는 건지

note: Speaker: cSame
en: im just a waste of space
ko: 난 핵폐기물이야

note: Speaker: cMin
en: seriosly stop saying shit like that
ko: 그딴 개소리 그만해라 진짜

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i was just kidding XD im so random
ko: 넝담넝담 >< 아카샤는 장난꾸러기

note: Speaker: cMin
en: its not funny
ko: 그게 농담이냐

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: xD
ko: ><

note: Speaker: cMin
en: dont xD me you son of a bitch
ko: 좆같은 임티 그만 써라

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i just wanna do normal high school things
ko: 그냥 평범한 고딩으로 살고 싶어

note: Speaker: cSame
en: like date and go to parties n stuff....
ko: 데이트도 하고 모여서 놀고…

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i feel like im missing out on this whole fun exp everyone else is having
ko: 남들은 다 하는 재밌는 경험을 나만 놓치고 있는 느낌이야

note: Speaker: cMin
en: look dumbass
ko: 야 멍청아

note: Speaker: cSame
en: theres probably like 3 couples in our entire grade including me and diya
ko: 나랑 디야 포함하면 이 학교 통틀어서 커플이 셋이야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: bunch of socially stunted fob nerds
ko: 나머진 사회성 결여된 너드들

note: Speaker: cSame
en: most of us arent even allowed to date until college anyways
ko: 어차피 대부분은 대학 가기 전엔 데이트도 맘대로 못 해

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: great
ko: 아 좋네

note: Speaker: cSame
en: so not only am i an undesirable weirdo but im not even special
ko: 내가 안 팔리는 괴짠 건 알았는데 특별할 것도 없다네

note: Speaker: cMin
en: not special is good sometimes
ko: 특별할 거 없는 게 가끔은 좋은 거임

note: Speaker: cSame
en: if your not special it means your not alone
ko: 혼자 힘든 게 아니란 뜻이니까

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ok yeah yeah i get it
ko: 웅웅 아랏어요

note: Speaker: cSame
en: u right
ko: 니 말이 다 맞아요

note: Speaker: cSame
en: did you wanna play maplestory tonight?
ko: 메이플 할래?

note: Speaker: cSame
en: i need a distraction to stop thinking about my epic fail OTL
ko: 내 장렬한 실패를 잊게 해줄 도피처가 필요함 ㅇ>-<

note: Speaker: cMin
en: sry i cant
ko: 먄 지금은

note: Speaker: cSame
en: juns using the computer right now
ko: 준이 컴퓨터 쓰는 중이라

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: :/
ko: ㅇAㅇ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: how about we play through text then?
ko: 그럼 톡으로 할까?

note: Speaker: cMin
en: what do you mean through text
ko: 톡으로 한다는 게 무슨 말이야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: its a snail
ko: 달팽이 가는 중

[ctx: minChat_99c72437]
note: Speaker: cMin
en: oh ok
ko: 아 ㅇㅋ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: attack
ko: 공격

note: Speaker: cSame
en: ninja star
ko: 수리검

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: it's hitting you!!!!
ko: 이 당신을 찔렀다!!!

note: Speaker: cSame
en: -5 HP
ko: HP -5

note: Speaker: cMin
en: HUH
ko: 엥

note: Speaker: cSame
en: WHY
ko: 먼데

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: use emoticons like me
ko: 나처럼 특수문자를 써야지

note: Speaker: cMin
en: oh
ko: 아

[ctx: minChat_a82300be]
note: Speaker: cSame
en: uh
ko: 음

[ctx: minChat_4dcd8658]
note: Speaker: cSame
en: *
ko: ＊

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: wuts that supposed to be
ko: 그건 뭐야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: your butthole??
ko: 니 똥꼬??

note: Speaker: cMin
en: WHY WOULD IT BE MNY BUTTHOLE?????
ko: 똥꼬겠냐?????

note: Speaker: cSame
en: ITS THE NINJA STAR
ko: 수리검이잖아ㅡㅡ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: SICKO
ko: ㅄ아

[ctx: minChat_dc69304d]
note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: oh ok
ko: 아 ㅇㅋ

note: Speaker: cSame
en: 22 damage
ko: 데미지 22

[ctx: minChat_66dcd7f3]
note: Speaker: cMin
en: *
ko: ＊

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: 25 damage
ko: 데미지 25

note: Speaker: cSame
en: ITS COMIG CLOSER AND CLOSER AGAIN
ko: 다시 점점 더 가까워지는 중!

note: Speaker: cSame
en: thats my fist punching
ko: 펀치 날린 거야

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: 2 damage
ko: 데미지 2

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: 4 damage
ko: 데미지 4

note: Speaker: cSame
en: -3 HP
ko: HP -3

note: Speaker: cMin
en: what the..the snail should be dead by now
ko: 뭐야 달팽이 왜 안 죽어

note: Speaker: cSame
en: they dont have that much hp
ko: 쟤네 원래 흐접인데

note: Speaker: cSame
en: F9
ko: F9
    (*역주 : 메이플 [전투분석] 창 단축키)

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: fine ur not damaged
ko: 알았어 데미지 취소

note: Speaker: cSame
en: ($)
ko: (샤라랑)

note: Speaker: cMin
en: ok great
ko: ㅇㅋ좋아

note: Speaker: cSame
en: im gonna try doing the kerning city pq
ko: 커닝시티 파퀘 하러 간다

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: yee good choice
ko: 가보자고

en: Akarsha feels a bit better after talking to Min, but once she's logged off, the heartache in her chest returns.
ko: 아카샤는 민과 대화하고 기분이 조금 나아지지만, 대화가 끝나자 가슴의 통증이 되돌아온다.

en: That night, Akarsha reads the entirety of Azumanga Daioh for the first time on an illegal manga scanlation site in an effort to forget about everything.
ko: 그날 밤, 아카샤는 불법 만화 사이트에서 처음으로 아즈망가 대왕 전편을 정주행하면서 그날 있었던 일을 잊으려 애쓴다.

en: It doesn't work.
ko: 잘 되진 않는다.

en: The next morning
ko: 다음 날 아침

en: Diya's house
ko: 디야네 집

en: Akarsha cracks a weak smile as Diya answers the door.
ko: 디야가 문을 열자, 아카샤가 맥없는 웃음을 터트린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ayyy...Ready to walk to school together?
ko: 헤이~… 학교 갈 준비 됐어?

en: Diya gives her an odd look as they start heading down the sidewalk.
ko: 둘은 함께 걷기 시작하고, 디야는 아카샤에게 이상한 시선을 보낸다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Are you okay?
ko: 괜찮아?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Y-yeah?? Why do you ask??
ko: 어, 어? 왜??

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You didn't send me a weird message this morning like usual.
ko: 아침에 맨날 보내던 이상한 문자, 오늘은 안 보냈더라.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Also, your eyes are red.
ko: 그리고 너 눈이 빨개.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, that's nothing! I got shampoo in them while showering.
ko: 아, 별 거 아냐! 샤워하다 샴푸 들어갔어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You should get L’Oréal Kids. No tears.
ko: 로레알 샴푸 써야겠네. 넌 소중하니까.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Are you making fun of me??
ko: 놀리는 거야??

[ctx: classNextDay_9cbab985]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah.
ko: 응.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh. All your jokes are so deadpan it's hard to tell sometimes...
ko: 글쿤. 농담할 때도 진지한 표정이라 가끔 헷갈린다구…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It must be nice to be pretty. I wish I didn't have to be funny all the time to get people to like me.
ko: 예쁘면 좋겠다. 맨날 웃기려고 애쓰지 않아도 사람들이 좋아해주겠지.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: It sucks being so pathetic that you fall hopelessly in love with anyone who pays even the slightest bit of attention to you.
ko: 근데 난, 조금이라도 관심 주는 사람 있으면 바로 간절한 사랑에 빠져버리는 인간이고. 한심하게.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Especially unattainable straight girls. God, I'm stupid...
ko: 그것도 멍청하게 헤녀들한테…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I can't believe I was so desperate that I convinced myself she liked me back. Literally delusional...
ko: 걔도 나 좋아한다고 필사적으로 자기합리화 하던 건 또 어떻고. 망상 오졌다…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Sigh...
ko: 하아…

en: At school, Akarsha nervously waits in the first period classroom before Noelle and Diya arrive.
ko: 1교시가 열리는 교실, 아카샤는 아직 오지 않은 노엘과 디야를 초조하게 기다린다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I wonder how facing Noelle again will go...
ko: 노엘 얼굴을 어떻게 봐야 되냐…

en: A water bottle flies through the doorway and ricochets off the floor.
ko: 그때 복도 쪽에서 물병 하나가 날아와 쿵하고 바닥에 떨어진다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Coast is clear.
ko: 이상 없음.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You don't need to keep doing that, y'know. I wouldn't reuse the same set-up twice.
ko: 그런 거 안 해도 돼. 내가 두 번이나 같은 장난을 치겠어?

en: Noelle cautiously sticks a long twig through the doorframe, her eyes narrowed at Akarsha.
ko: 긴 나뭇가지를 조심스레 문틀에 꽂은 노엘이 아카샤를 향해 눈매를 좁힌다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Then what is it this time, you putrid worm?
ko: 그럼 다른 거 뭐 해놨는데, 이 저질아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wouldn't you like to know?
ko: 궁금해?

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Phew...She's acting like nothing happened last night!
ko: 휴… 다행히 아무 일 없었던 것처럼 나오네.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She must've believed what I said about my little brother sending the message.
ko: 동생이 보냈단 말을 믿었나 봐.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Thank god. Sorry, Pratik.
ko: 신이시여 감사합니다. 미안하다, 프라틱.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Now I just gotta ignore my feelings until they eventually die out.
ko: 이제 죽어 없어질 때까지 내 감정들을 억압하기만 하면 되겠어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I have a special present for you, Frenchman. Come closer...
ko: 내가 특별히 준비한 선물이 있어, 프렌치맨. 이리 와 봐…

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What? No, keep it to yourself.
ko: 뭐를? 너나 가져.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Don't be shy! I know you want your very special present!
ko: 부끄러워 하지 말고~. 다 알아. 특별 선물 궁금하잖아!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I DON'T WANT THIS "PRESENT"! DON'T COME NEAR ME!
ko: 그 '선물' 안 받고 싶다고! 가까이 오지 마!

en: As Noelle enters the classroom suspiciously, she tries to give Akarsha a wide berth. Akarsha discreetly pulls her secret weapon out of her pocket...
ko: 노엘이 의심스러워 하면서 아카샤와의 거리를 확보하며 교실에 들어온다. 아카샤는 주머니에서 슬그머니 비밀 무기를 꺼낸다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: HERE YOU GO!!!!
ko: 받아라!!!

en: It's a spinning light toy Akarsha got from Disneyland in elementary school.
ko: 빙글빙글 돌며 빛나는 장난감이다. 아카샤가 초등학교 때 디즈니랜드에서 사온 것이다.

en: Noelle recoils as its rubber arms repeatedly whack her face.
ko: 장난감에 달린 고무 팔에 철썩철썩 얼굴을 맞으면서 노엘은 뒷걸음질친다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: GYAHHHH!!!!!!!
ko: 아악!!!!!!!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: THOUSAND ENERGY BEAMS ATTACK!!!
ko: 사우전드 에너지 빔 어택!!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I used to annoy my brother like this all the time.
ko: 프라틱 짜증나게 할 때 자주 쓰던 무기지.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: AKARSHAAAAAA!!! I HATE YOU!!!!
ko: 아카샤!!! 너 진짜 싫어!!!

en: Akarsha gulps as Diya approaches the crime scene and towers over her.
ko: 이 난장판에 디야가 다가와서 위압적인 모습으로 아카샤를 바라본다. 아카샤는 침을 꿀꺽 삼킨다.

[ctx: classNextDay_1b803a12]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .....
ko: ……

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: C'maaahn, this isn't fair!
ko: 좀 봐줘! 너무하네!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Just look! I'm so small, look how small I am compared to you!
ko: 내가 너보다 한참 작잖아!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Noooo, it's also my birthday, you can't be mean on my birthday!
ko: 아아, 그리고 오늘 내 생일인데. 생일인 사람 괴롭히면 안 되지!

[ctx: classNextDay_6e8840cd]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ............
ko: …………

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Is that true?
ko: 진짜?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: She's lying. Her birthday isn't until April.
ko: 거짓말이야. 쟤 생일 4월 아니야.

en: Akarsha yelps as Diya snatches the spinny toy out of her grasp.
ko: 디야가 빙글빙글 움직이는 장난감을 손에서 낚아채자 아카샤는 비명을 지른다.

en: Seeing that Akarsha's unarmed, Noelle menacingly starts walking toward her.
ko: 그의 무장해제를 확인한 노엘이 위협적으로 다가가기 시작한다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hey, calm down!
ko: 야야, 진정해!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I was doin' you a favor, testing your reflexes for you! Like at the doctor!
ko: 내가 반사신경 테스트 해준 거야! 의사들 하는 것처럼!

[ctx: classNextDay_320efa19]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ........
ko: ……

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: F-free! Free reflex test!
ko: 고, 공짜! 공짜 테스트!

en: Akarsha breaks into a run as Noelle chases after her.
ko: 노엘이 달려든다. 아카샤는 줄행랑친다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: COME BACK HERE!! YOU CRETIN!!!
ko: 이리 와!! 이 천치야!!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh shit, baseball practice actually made her faster!
ko: 망할, 쟤 야구 연습하더니 달리기가 빨라졌잖아!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Oh shit, she's catching up to me. Oh shit!!!
ko: 망할, 따라잡힐 거 같아. 망하아아알!!!

en: When Akarsha comes to baseball practice, she hears whispering in the locker room.
ko: 야구 연습이 있는 날, 아카샤는 누군가 락커룸에서 속닥이는 소리를 듣는다.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: {i}(...So the plan is, we all pitch in?){/i}
ko: {i}(...그럼 다 같이 하자는 거지?){/i}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: {i}(If we split it up eight ways, it's only $1.50 per person.){/i}
ko: {i}(8명이서 나누면, 1인당 1.50 달러만 내면 돼.){/i}

note: Speaker: Min
en: {big=+20}But I don't see why I should have to pay.{/big}
ko: {big=+20}근데 왜 꼭 돈을 내야 되는데?{/big}

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: {i}Shhh!{/i}
ko: {i}쉬이잇!{/i}

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: {i}(You have to pay because it'll be hilarious. She'll never guess who it is.){/i}
ko: {i}(재밌을 테니까. 걘 누구 짓인지 절대 모를걸.){/i}

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: {i}(And here I thought we were trying to do a good deed.){/i}
ko: {i}(난 또 무슨 좋은 일 하자고 모인 줄 알았네.){/i}

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: {i}(Do you ALWAYS have to be engaging in some kind of psychic mind battle with her?){/i}
ko: {i}(걔랑 꼭 그렇게 매일매일 정신력 소모를 해야겠어?){/i}

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: What're they scheming about? I want in.
ko: 무슨 일을 꾸미는 거지? 나도 끼고 싶다.

en: Akarsha walks over to where the others are furtively huddled together. A hush falls over the team...
ko: 모여서 수군대던 팀원들에게 다가가자, 갑자기 침묵이 감돈다.

[ctx: lockerRoom_d11361e6]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .........
ko: ………

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Why, hello there, Akarsha!
ko: 어머, 왔구나, 아카샤!

note: Speaker: Ester
en: We were just talking about...
ko: 그, 무슨 얘기 중이었더라…

note: Speaker: Grace
en: ...how Vampire Knight is getting an anime.
ko: …뱀파이어 나이트가 애니화 된대.

[ctx: lockerRoom_d3d1d5c1]
note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: ..............
ko: …………

note: Speaker: Min
en: We're acting so natural right now.
ko: 우리 진짜 자연스럽다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Okay, clearly they're up to something...
ko: 분명 뭔가 꾸미고 있는데…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: The question is, what?
ko: 대체 뭐지?

en: After jogging around the track and stretching, [teamName!t] runs fielding drills.
ko: [teamName!t] 의 트랙 달리기와 스트레칭, 그리고 수비 훈련이 이어진다.

en: After jogging around the track and stretching, the [teamName!t] run fielding drills.
ko: [teamName!t] 의 트랙 달리기와 스트레칭, 그리고 수비 훈련이 이어진다.

en: While Akarsha takes a breather in the dugout, she watches Noelle haplessly flail about on the field.
ko: 아카샤는 덕아웃에 들어가 한숨 돌리며, 운동장에서 힘겹게 팔랑이는 노엘을 지켜본다.

en: Within moments, the object of her affection misjudges the trajectory of a fly ball and gets bonked on the head.
ko: 잠깐 사이에, 그의 짝사랑 상대는 플라이볼을 잡으려다, 궤도 판단 미스로 머리에 공을 맞는다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Ow!!
ko: 아!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Baseball champion...
ko: 야구 천재네…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I would do anything for you...If only you'd let me...
ko: 허락만 한다면… 뭐든 다 해줄 수 있는데…

en: Akarsha lets out a wistful sigh as Noelle performs her signature move, throwing the ball almost directly into the ground.
ko: 노린 것처럼 거의 직선으로 땅에 공을 꽂는 노엘 시그니처 동작이 펼쳐지는 동안, 아카샤는 쓸쓸한 한숨을 내쉰다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It sucks having a sad hopeless crush...I just want gorlfriend...
ko: 희망도 없고 슬프기만 한 개똥같은 짝사랑… 난 그냥 여치니가 갖고 싶다고…

note: Speaker: Grace
en: So dramatic. Konnichiwhat's up?
ko: 드라마 찍냐? 곤니치왓썹.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm just bummed 'cause I've never experienced love.
ko: 연애해 본 적 없는 게 속상해서 그런다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No one ever likes me back. I feel like I'm missing out on so much...
ko: 짝사랑은 매번 실패하고. 나만 헛살고 있는 것 같아…

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: It's okay, being rejected is a part of life.
ko: 뭐 어때, 까이는 것도 삶의 일분데.

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: You should learn to love yourself. It's a lie that people can only be happy when they're in a relationship.
ko: 자기 자신을 사랑할 줄 알아야 해. 연애를 해야만 행복할 수 있다느니 그런 건 다 거짓말이야.

en: Ester glances up from the drawing she's scribbling on her sketchbook.
ko: 에스터는 스케치북에 끄적이던 그림에서 눈을 떼고 흘긋 이쪽을 본다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Those are surprisingly wise words coming from someone with zero love experience.
ko: 모태솔로한테서 나온 말이라곤 믿기지 않는 명언이네.

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: I learned that life lesson from Card Captor Sakura.
ko: 카드캡터 체리에서 배운 인생의 지혜란다.

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: The main character experiences unrequited love even though she's a great person. That means it can happen to anyone.
ko: 엄청난 능력자인 주인공 체리도 기약 없는 짝사랑을 하잖아. 그러니까 누구나 겪을 수 있는 일이란 거야.

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: Even our sugoi Akarsha-chan.
ko: 우리 스고이한 아카샤 짱이라도 말이지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: That does make me feel less alone. Thanks, senpai...
ko: 그렇다니 좀 덜 외롭네. 고마워, 센빠이…

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Ugh.
ko: 으윽.

en: Ester vigorously erases something on her page, making countless grey eraser shavings rain down on the dirt beneath the bench.
ko: 에스터가 스케치북에 그리던 걸 북북 지워버리자 벤치 아래 흙바닥에 엄청난 양의 지우개 똥이 쏟아진다.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: Ester, what're you drawing?
ko: 에스터, 뭐 그려?

note: Speaker: Ester
en: A chapter title page for a webcomic I'm starting.
ko: 웹툰 준비 중이라, 그 중간에 넣을 타이틀 페이지.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: A webcomic? Like on SmackJeeves?
ko: 웹툰? 네이버 만화 같은 데다?

en: Akarsha peers over at Ester's sketchbook, but she recoils, looking bashful.
ko: 아카샤가 스케치북을 들여다보자, 에스터는 부끄러운 듯 감춘다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Don't look, I'm not done yet!
ko: 보지 마, 아직 미완성이야!

en: Akarsha manages to glimpse a spiky-haired character on the page before Ester angles her sketchbook away from prying eyes.
ko: 에스터가 스케치북을 미처 숨기기 전, 아카샤는 그 위에 그려진 뾰족머리 캐릭터를 언뜻 본다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She's pretty good though...If she posted that on DeviantArt I bet she'd get like, two hundred views.
ko: 잘 그렸네… 픽시브에 올려도 조회수 200뷰는 나오겠다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Is that from an anime?
ko: 애니메이션 캐릭터야?

en: Ester frowns, aghast.
ko: 에스터는 멈칫하더니 얼굴을 구긴다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: No, it's just a regular guy.
ko: 아니, 그냥 남자.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: It's like those iPod ads, see? He's wearing white earbuds, and I colored his silhouette in black.
ko: 아이팟 광고랑 비슷한 거야. 봐봐. 양쪽 귀에 흰색 무선이어폰 낀 거. 실루엣은 검은색으로 칠했고.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Ester is the type of weeaboo who tries to hide the fact that she likes anime because she's embarrassed by it, but it's still super obvious.
ko: 에스터, 오덕인 게 부끄러워서 애니 좋아하는 걸 숨기는 타입이구나. 뻔히 다 보이지만.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: I hate to break it to you, but even from his silhouette you can tell it's an anime guy.
ko: 뭐라 하는 건 아닌데, 실루엣만 봐도 애니 캐릭터 같아.

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: It's probably his hairdo. No real guys have bangs that go down to their chin.
ko: 헤어스타일 때문인 듯. 현실 남자들은 앞머리를 턱까지 기르진 않잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: They should, though. Life would be way less boring.
ko: 근데 좀 기르기도 해야 돼. 인생이 훨씬 덜 지루해질 듯.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Ugh. Guys with short hair are so hard to draw...
ko: 으으. 짧은 머리 남자 그리는 거 너무 어려워…

en: Akarsha turns her attention back to the field, where Diya and Min are passionately kissing.
ko: 아카샤가 다시 필드로 눈길을 돌리고, 그곳에선 디야와 민이 열정적으로 키스 중이다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I think they're trying to keep their relationship a secret, but they keep forgetting.
ko: 쟤네 사귀는 거 비밀로 하려던 것 같았는데, 계속 까먹나 보네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Do you have to do that in front of us?
ko: 그걸 꼭 우리 앞에서 해야겠어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Just you watch. I'm gonna rub my gay hands all over her.
ko: 구경이나 해. 지금부터 이 레즈 핸드를 디야한테 샅샅이 문지를 거니까.

[ctx: sakuraUnrequitedLove_a9db357b]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ..........
ko: ………

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm so jealous...I wanna be in love too...
ko: 부럽다… 나도 하고 싶어 사랑…

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Someday everyone else is gonna get married except me, and I'll be the one sad single friend.
ko: 언젠가 다들 나 빼고 결혼해버리겠지. 난 '외로운 싱글 친구'를 담당하게 될 거고.

[ctx: sakuraUnrequitedLove_142358ac]
note: Speaker: Ester
en: Me too...
ko: 미투…

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: Me three...
ko: 미쓰리…

note: Speaker: Grace
en: If that happens, we should all pitch in to buy a mansion and live as otaku together.
ko: 그렇게 되면, 우리 저택 하나 사서 오타쿠끼리 모여 살자.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: That definitely doesn't sound like the kind of life my parents were envisioning for me when they immigrated here....
ko: 우리 엄마 아빠는 여기 이민 올 때 오타쿠 저택보다 훨씬 더 찬란한 딸의 미래를 꿈꿨었는데. ……

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But that sounds incredible.
ko: 하지만 그런 건 불가능하지.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: Doesn't it? We could put up all our anime prints and display our figurines with no shame.
ko: 그치? 부끄러울 거 없이 애니 굿즈도 잔뜩 걸어놓고 피규어 전시도 해둘 수 있어.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Speak for yourself. I don't have any of that stuff, my room is normal.
ko: 넌 그렇겠지만, 내 방엔 그런 물건 없어. 평범한 방이야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You don't have anything?? You've never been to an anime convention before?
ko: 진짜 없다고?? 만화 페어 같은 거 한 번도 안 가봤어?

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: Fanime is like, right there in San Jose...
ko: *패니메의 고장 산호세가 코앞인데…
    
    (역주 : Fanime는 캘리포니아 산호세의 애니메이션 페어. 매년 5월마다 4일 간 열린다)

note: Speaker: Grace
en: Ooh, we should all go together this year! We can all cosplay the same series!
ko: 아, 우리 올해 패니메 같이 가자! 작품 하나 정해서 다같이 코스프레 하고!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yeah!! Maybe like, Soul Eater or Haruhi Suzumiya!
ko: 좋아!! 소울 이터나 스즈미야 하루히 하자!

note: Speaker: Ester
en: What, at Fanime? Admission is probably too expensive anyway.
ko: 패니메를? 그런 덴 입장료가 너무 비싸겠지.

en: Ester scoffs like she's not interested before furtively writing something tiny on the side of her sketchbook page.
ko: 에스터는 관심 없는 척 비웃으면서 작은 글씨로 스케치북 한쪽에 은근슬쩍 뭔가를 적고 있다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She didn't write small enough...It says "Fanime"...
ko: '패니메'라고 쓴 거 다 보이는데…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: She's probably gonna Google it later.
ko: 나중에 구글링 하려나 보다.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Hey, all you slackers sitting down doing nothing! Get over here and practice!
ko: 아니, 이 게으름뱅이들 아무 것도 안 하고 앉아있네! 이리 나와서 연습해!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ya!!
ko: 이얍!!

en: Upperclassman
ko: 상급생

en: Valentine's Day
ko: 발렌타인 데이

en: Akarsha scoffs as a few upperclassmen come in to deliver the goodies people ordered.
ko: 상급생 몇 명이 부탁받은 선물을 전달하러 들어오자 아카샤가 비웃는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: We should have a reverse Valentine's Day where we give annoying, terrible gifts to our enemies on purpose.
ko: 왜 역 발렌타인 데이 같은 건 없지? 싫어하는 사람한테 개구린 선물 주는 날.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You mean, {i}what you already do to me every single day of my life?{/i}
ko: 넌 그런 데이 없이도 {b}나한테{/b} 잘만 주잖아?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, true...
ko: 아, 그치…

en: A few of their classmates receive ribboned roses, but someone comes in holding an entire bouquet...
ko: 같은 반 아이 몇몇이 리본 달린 장미꽃을 선물받고 있던 그때, 누군가 아예 부케 한 다발을 가지고 들어온다.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: Are you Akarsha? This is yours.
ko: 아카샤 맞지? 이거 네 거야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Huh????
ko: 엥????

en: Bewildered, Akarsha accepts the bouquet and notices there's a note tied to it with a ribbon.
ko: 아카샤는 당황하며 부케를 받아들고, 리본에 묶인 쪽지를 발견한다.

en: It reads:
ko: 쪽지에는 이렇게 써있다.

en: {i}Roses are red
    Violets are blue{/i}
ko: {i}장미는 붉고
    제비꽃은 푸르며{/i}

en: {i}Love never crossed my mind
    Until the day I met you{/i}
ko: {i}사랑은 내 안을 스친 적 없다
    당신을 만나기 전까지는{/i}

en: {i}-Your secret admirer{/i}
ko: {i}-당신의 비밀스런 흠모자가{/i}

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Secret admirer? Who???
ko: 비밀스런 흠모자? 그게 누군데???

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: I can't believe it...Is this some kinda joke??
ko: 에이 설마… 누가 장난치는 건가??

en: Akarsha looks wildly around the room in case her paramour is watching her reaction from afar.
ko: 부케를 받는 자신의 반응을 멀리서 애인 후보가 지켜보고 있지는 않을지 아카샤는 맹렬히 반을 둘러본다.

en: But no one seems to be acting out of the ordinary except Diya and Noelle, who are beside themselves with amusement.
ko: 하지만 두 사람만 빼곤 다들 평소처럼 보인다. 디야랑 노엘은 재밌어 죽으려고 한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Someone sent {i}you{/i} flowers?
ko: 너 지금 장미 받은 거야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I told you I was a hot commodity! I charmed the pants off someone without even knowing it!
ko: 인기 장난 아니라고 했지? 나도 모르게 한 명 또 홀린 거 봐!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: What's the note say? Let me read it.
ko: 그 쪽지는 뭐야? 읽어볼래.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wh-why do you care? You jealous?
ko: 니, 니가 왜? 질투나냐?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: In your dreams.
ko: 꿈 깨라.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I bet she won't show us because they misspelled her name as "Arkasha".
ko: 쪽지 쓴 애가 자기 이름 잘못 써놔서 민망한가 봐. '아캬사' 같은 걸로.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Why're you so mean today?! I'm gonna tell the teacher you're bullying me!
ko: 너 오늘 성격 왜 그래?! 학교폭력으로 쌤한테 이를 거야!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Maybe I can deduce who the sender is like a detective!
ko: 꽃 보낸 애가 누군지 찾아내야겠어. 할머니의 이름을 걸고!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: The poem is one hint. There's gotta be others.
ko: 쪽지에 적힌 시 말고도 힌트가 있을 거야.

en: Akarsha flips the note over. It's blank...except for a small dark smudge on the back.
ko: 아카샤는 쪽지를 뒤집는다. 아무것도 없는… 게 아니라 까맣고 작은 얼룩이 보인다.

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Clue??
ko: 단서인가??

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Maybe it's from food? Like blackberries?
ko: 뭘 먹다가 묻혔나? 블랙베리같은 걸?

en: Akarsha sniffs the note, but it's hard to single out any scent over the fragrance of the roses.
ko: 아카샤는 냄새를 맡아보지만 장미 향기 말고 다른 냄새를 특정하기는 어렵다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What're you doing.
ko: 뭐 하는 거야?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Quiet, meanie!! I'm trying to crack the code!
ko: 쉿, 조용히 해봐! 탐정님 일하시잖아!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're interrupting my mind palace technique!!!
ko: 셜록 못 봤어? 마인드 팰리스 들어가는 중인데!!!

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: There's only two possibilities here. Either someone is secretly in love with me...
ko: 가능성은 두 가지야. 누군가 날 몰래 좋아하고 있었거나…

note: Speaker: AkarshaT
en: Or it's a prank. But it's kinda a lot of money to spend on a prank...?
ko: 아님 장난이겠지. 근데 장난으로 쓰기엔 너무 큰 액수란 말이야…?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's either fake or real.
ko: 장난일 수도 있고, 진짜일 수도 있어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You don't say? Thanks for narrowing it down for us.
ko: 와, 정말? 너무 구체적이다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: B-be quiet!
ko: 시, 시끄러!

en: Flustered, Akarsha scans the room one more time for good measure.
ko: 혼란스러운 아카샤는 확인차 한 번 더 반을 둘러본다.

en: She catches Diya looking away a beat too late, smiling to herself.
ko: 그러다, 한 박자 늦게 시선을 돌리고 혼자 웃는 디야를 발견한다.

[ctx: secretAdmirer_17cf63b0]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...
ko: …

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What're you smiling about?
ko: 왜 웃어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Nothing. Just happy for you.
ko: 아냐. 너 좋아보여서.

en: 3rd grade
ko: 3학년

en: Diya, Min, and Jun wait at the horseshoe for their parents to pick them up from school.
ko: 디야와 민, 그리고 준은 도로변에 서서 각자의 부모님을 기다린다.

note: Speaker: Jun
en: Why does it always take Mom so long to get here?
ko: 엄마는 왜 맨날 이렇게 늦을까?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I'm so hungry I would even eat a pizza with pineapple!
ko: 너무 배고파서 파인애플 피자라도 먹겠다!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Mom should just let us walk home ourselves! It'd be way faster.
ko: 차라리 그냥 걸어오라고 해주지! 그게 훨씬 빠르겠는데.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Especially if she buys us Heelys!
ko: 힐리스 신발 사주면 더 빨라지지!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But if you did that, I'd have to wait for my mom alone. It'd be so boring.
ko: 근데 너 가면 난 혼자서 우리 엄마 기다려야 되잖아. 그럼 너무 심심할 거야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, I thought of that already. We can chat on walkie-talkies while I'm rolling away on my Heelys.
ko: 그것도 이미 생각해 놨지. 힐리스 타는 동안 너랑은 워키토키로 얘기하면 돼.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: That sounds fun...
ko: 재밌겠다…

en: The three of them peer down the horseshoe at the long line of cars, hoping to catch sight of their rides.
ko: 세 사람은 집에 데려다줄 차가 와있는지 보려고 도로에 잔뜩 늘어선 차들을 내려다본다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: My mom's car is tan colored.
ko: 우리 엄마 차는 갈색이야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: They should make cars in better colors like sky blue or pink.
ko: 왜 차는 하늘색이나 분홍색 같이 예쁜 색으로 안 만드는지 모르겠어.

note: Speaker: Jun
en: Yeah...I bet if they did, they'd sell a lot more.
ko: 그러게… 그런 색이 훨씬 잘 팔릴 것 같은데.

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's 'cause adults are boring and have bad taste.
ko: 어른들은 재미없고 취향도 구려서 그래.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: They should sell cars with pictures of dolphins on them. Everyone would want one.
ko: 돌고래 그림 붙여서 팔면 다들 갖고 싶어 할텐데.

en: Diya perks up as a beige Toyota drives into the horseshoe, but it's the wrong model.
ko: 디야는 베이지색 도요타가 보도에 들어서자 번쩍 생기를 찾지만, 다른 차다.

[ctx: diya2_7c22ccaa]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .......
ko: ……

note: Speaker: Min
en: Did you hear about Barry Bonds? He's in trouble because he did steroids!
ko: 배리 본드 얘기 들었어? 스테로이드 맞았다고 난리 났는데!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What're "steroids"?
ko: 스테로이드가 뭐야?

note: Speaker: Jun
en: They're drugs that make you really buff. It's cheating.
ko: 몸 펌핑시키는 약이야. 운동선수들이 쓰는 치트 같은 거.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I don't see why they don't let you use them. If they're so good, everyone should use steroids.
ko: 왜 불법인지 모르겠어. 그렇게 좋은 거면 다같이 쓰면 되잖아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Baseball would be more fun if everyone was super strong and super fast.
ko: 다 개쎄고 개빠르면 야구도 훨씬 재밌을 거 아냐.

en: Suddenly, Min jolts upright and shouts as a silver sedan pulls up to the curb.
ko: 민이 갑자기 벌떡 일어나 소리를 지른다. 은색 세단이 벽돌 도로에 정차했다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I see our car! Bye Diya!
ko: 우리 차 왔다! 잘 가, 디야!

en: Heat rushes to Diya's face as Min hugs her tightly before dashing off.
ko: 민은 차로 달려들기 전 디야를 꼭 껴안는다. 디야의 얼굴에 열기가 오른다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Bye...
ko: 잘 가…

note: Speaker: Jun
en: Wait, that car has a side thingy under the door that ours doesn't have!
ko: 잠깐, 저 차 문 밑에 달린 부품이 우리 차랑 다른데?!

en: Min flings the car's passenger seat door open, revealing a stranger inside.
ko: 민이 냅다 조수석 문을 열어젖히니, 모르는 사람이 앉아 있다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: {big=+20}WHO'RE YOU??!!{/big}
ko: {big=+20}뭐야 너??!!{/big}

en: Min hastily slams the car door shut and stomps back to Diya and Jun, who are both wheezing with laughter.
ko: 민은 차 문을 쾅 닫고는, 웃느라 헐떡이는 디야와 준에게로 발을 쿵쿵 구르며 돌아간다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: THAT WAS THE WRONG CAR!
ko: {b}남의 차였어!{/b}

note: Speaker: Jun
en: I told you!
ko: 그렇다니까!

[ctx: diya2_e629b0d2]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ........
ko: ………

note: Speaker: Jun
en: Diya, I think your car is over there, though.
ko: 근데 디야, 저기 너네 차 온 것 같아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Thanks. Bye for real this time.
ko: 고마워. 이번엔 진짜 잘 가.

note: Speaker: Min
en: See you tomorrow!!!
ko: 내일 봐!!!

en: As Diya buckles up in her mom's sedan, she peers out the window, smiling a little when she sees Min waving frenetically at her outside.
ko: 디야는 엄마 차에 올라타 안전벨트를 맨 뒤 창 밖을 내다본다. 그리고 미친듯이 손을 흔드는 민을 보며 작게 미소짓는다.

[ctx: momFindsOut_c0d265fa]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: How was your day at school?
ko: 학교는 어땠어?

[ctx: momFindsOut_fd841d5d]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay.
ko: 괜찮았어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We had to write about an invention we'd make in class today.
ko: 수업시간에 만들 발명품을 주제로 글쓰기 했어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: What did you invent?
ko: 디야는 발명품으로 뭘 만들었는데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: A better bed that makes it so your stuffed animals can never accidentally roll off it.
ko: 봉제 인형이 굴러떨어지지 않는 침대.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I thought of it because last night while I was sleeping, Horny fell on the floor.
ko: 어젯밤에 나 자는 동안 예쁜이가 바닥에 떨어졌길래 생각해냈어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: H-horny?? Who's that?
ko: 예, 예쁜이? 그게 누군데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: My cow plushie. He's one of Snakey's older brothers.
ko: 내 소 인형. 스네이키 형이야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: He was all cold and alone for hours and I didn't know.
ko: 내가 모르는 사이에 차가운 바닥에 몇시간이나 혼자 널브러져 있었던 거야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Maybe you should give "Horny" a different name, like Moo Moo.
ko: 이름을 예쁜이 말고 메메 같은 걸로 지으면 좋겠다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why? It'll be hard for him to get used to it.
ko: 왜? 이름 바꾸면 적응하기 힘들어 해.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You must have the most loved stuffed animals in the entire world.
ko: 디야가 사랑하는 인형들은 세상에서 가장 사랑받는 인형들이네.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: What else did you do at school?
ko: 학교에서 또 뭐 했어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I tried to take an Accelerated Reader quiz on the Boxcar Children book I read.
ko: 내가 퀴즈를 풀 차례였거든. 그래서 전에 읽었던 '어린이 화물차량 책' 퀴즈를 풀기로 했어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But I accidentally clicked the wrong book. So it made me take the quiz of a book I never read before.
ko: 근데 내가 실수로 다른 책을 클릭해버렸어. 그래서 한 번도 안 읽어본 책의 퀴즈를 풀어야 되는 거야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: It didn't let you quit out? What bad design.
ko: 중단하고 나가는 버튼이 없었어? 설계가 잘못됐네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah. My classmates all tried to help me, though.
ko: 응. 그래도 반 애들이 다들 도와주려고 했어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Hayden read the book a year ago, but he could barely remember anything.
ko: 그 책, 헤이든은 1년 전에 읽긴 했다는데 거의 기억을 못하더라구.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So even with everyone's help I got a 2/10.
ko: 그래서 다들 도와줬는데 10점 만점에 2점밖에 못 받았어.

[ctx: momFindsOut_1c2e11e0]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: Oh no!
ko: 에구, 저런!

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Mr. Armstrong said he wouldn't count it for my grade, though.
ko: 그래도 암스트롱 선생님이 성적에 반영은 안 하겠다고 하셨어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: That's a relief.
ko: 그거 다행이네.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: The boy waving at you earlier — was that Hayden? The classmate who helped you?
ko: 아까 너한테 인사하던 남자애가 헤이든이야? 수업 때 도와줬다던?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You mean Min? She's not a boy.
ko: 아, 민 말이야? 걔 남자애 아니야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Huh? The one wearing a hoodie?
ko: 뭐? 그 후드티 입고 있던 애가?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah. She's a girl.
ko: 응. 여자애야.

en: To Diya's surprise, her mom wrinkles her nose in disgust.
ko: 엄마는 불쾌하다는 듯 콧잔등을 찌푸리고, 디야는 놀란다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: That was a girl?! She's a freak.
ko: 여자애가 그러고 있다고?! 이상한 애네.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You should make friends with more normal girls.
ko: 디야 너 평범한 친구 좀 사귀어야겠다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Huh??
ko: 엥??

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That's not very nice.
ko: 엄마 왜 그래.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: But it's true, she looks like a boy. Stay away from her or you'll catch it, too.
ko: 맞잖아. 순 남자애같던데. 걔랑은 좀 거릴 둬야지 안 그럼 너한테도 옮는다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Catch what? It's not like she has a disease.
ko: 옮다니? 무슨 병도 아니고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You're too young to understand. Only freaks look like that.
ko: 니가 아직 어려서 모르는 거야. 이상한 애들이나 그러고 다니지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's bad to judge people by what they look like.
ko: 사람을 보이는 걸로 평가하는 건 안 좋은 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You don't even know her. She's really nice to me.
ko: 엄만 걔가 어떤 앤지도 모르잖아. 걔가 나한테 얼마나 잘해주는데.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I don't need to know her, there's clearly something wrong with her.
ko: 더 알 필요가 없지. 딱 봐도 문제가 있는 앤데.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: She's only acting nice because she has impure thoughts toward you.
ko: 너한테 흑심이 있으니까 잘해주는 거야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: What's that supposed to mean?
ko: 저게 대체 무슨 소리야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Even if she has problems, I can tell her and she'll fix them.
ko: 무슨 단점이 있더라도 내가 말하면 고칠 애야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We're friends, so she'll listen to me.
ko: 내 말에 귀 기울이는 내 친구라고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You can't change people. Especially not weirdos like that.
ko: 사람은 못 고쳐. 저렇게 별난 애들은 더해.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: If they're bad, they're bad. It's a waste of time to try.
ko: 안 되는 애들은 안 돼. 그런 애들한테 잘해줘봤자 시간낭비다, 너.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: If you can't change people, then how can she change me into looking like a boy?
ko: 사람을 못 고치는 거라면, 민이는 어떻게 날 남자애같이 만든다는 건데?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: You can't have it both ways.
ko: 하나만 하라고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You're normal, so you have to stay away from weirdos like that.
ko: 넌 정상인데 그런 애들하곤 거리를 좀 둬야지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I don't care. She's my friend.
ko: 됐어. 내 친구잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: No, you can't be friends with her anymore.
ko: 안 돼. 이제 걔랑 놀지 마.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: If I see you talking to her again, you're in big trouble.
ko: 걔랑 어울리는 거 한 번만 더 눈에 띄면 진짜 혼날 줄 알아.

en: 6 years later
ko: 6년 후

en: After baseball practice
ko: 야구 연습이 끝난 후

en: Min pushes Diya back against the locker room wall, kissing her again and again.
ko: 민은 락커룸 벽으로 디야를 밀어놓고 몇번이고 키스를 한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: JSFDAKJJJK??!! DFJSKJHFJ!!!!!
ko: ㅁ닝러ㅏㅇ??!! ㅁㄴㅇ리ㅏㅓㅁㄴㅇㄹ!!!!!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Wow!!! This is great!!!!!
ko: 우와!!! 너무 좋아!!!!!

en: They break apart, both panting for air.
ko: 둘은 숨을 헐떡이며 서로 떨어진다.

en: A pleasant shiver runs down Diya's spine as Min grins sharply at her.
ko: 민이 갑작스레 미소 짓는다. 짜릿한 전율이 디야의 등줄기를 타고 흘러내린다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, you like this, don't you?
ko: 이런 거, 좋아하지?

en: Diya is too embarrassed to admit it, so she just nods, her cheeks blazing.
ko: 말로 인정하기엔 너무 부끄러워 디야는 그냥 끄덕인다. 얼굴이 화끈거린다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You don't need to be shy.
ko: 수줍어 할 필요 없어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's just me.
ko: 여기 나밖에 없으니까.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I feel like I absolutely can't say it aloud though.
ko: 나도 아는데 큰 소리로 말하기가 어려워.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Sorry...
ko: 미안…

en: Min presses a kiss to her cheek and whispers in her ear, voice low. Diya can feel her smiling, her breath warm on her cheek.
ko: 민은 디야의 뺨에 꾹 눌러 키스하더니, 귀에 대고 낮게 속삭인다. 민이 미소짓고 있다는 게 느껴진다. 뺨에 닿는 입김이 따뜻하다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's okay, you're so cute when you're like this. I almost can't stand it.
ko: 괜찮아. 넌 그럴 때 너무 귀여워. 참기 힘들만큼.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's so surreal dating a friend you've had a crush on forever.
ko: 평생 짝사랑하던 친구랑 사귀고 있다는 거, 정말 비현실적인 느낌이야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Sometimes I get scared that us getting together was just a dream, and when I wake up we'll just be friends again.
ko: 가끔은 우리가 사귀게 된 게 꿈일 뿐이고, 꿈에서 깨면 그냥 친구 사이일까 봐 무서워.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: But it's real! Somehow a miracle happened and now I'm her girlfriend!
ko: 근데 이게 현실이야! 왠진 몰라도 기적이 일어나서 내가 얘 여자친구야!

en: Min holds Diya's hand as they wait for their rides home.
ko: 민은 디야의 손을 잡고 집으로 데려가줄 차를 함께 기다린다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: No one knows about us except the baseball club. And maybe the workers at the dessert place we had our first date at.
ko: 야구팀 애들을 제외하면 우리가 사귄다는 걸 아는 사람은 없다. 우리가 처음 데이트했던 그 디저트 가게 직원들도 빼고.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: So we end up kissing in the locker room a lot because the lockers block the view, and you can hear if other people walk in.
ko: 그래서 우린 꼭 락커로 시야가 차단되는 락커룸에서 키스를 한다. 누가 들어오면 소리가 들려서 우리가 먼저 알 수 있기도 하니까.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: But it's still fun. I love spending time with Min...
ko: 그래도 즐거워. 민이랑 같이 있는 게 너무 행복해…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She can almost even make me forget I have a presentation tomorrow in Biology.
ko: 내일 생물학 발표 있는 걸 거의 까먹었을 정도로.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Assignments that make you talk in front of the class should be outlawed.
ko: 사람들 앞에서 말하게 시키는 과제는 불법으로 지정해야 돼.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What's wrong? You look worried about something.
ko: 왜 그래? 안 좋아 보이는데.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You can tell?
ko: 어떻게 알았어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Of course I can. What kind of girlfriend would I be if I couldn't even tell if something was bothering you?
ko: 당연히 알지. 너 상태 안 좋은 것도 눈치 못 채면 여친이라고 할 자격도 없잖아?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You're like a mind reader. Psychic.
ko: 내 생각을 읽다니. 초능력자같아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Nah, I just know you. You got all tense and quiet.
ko: 그냥 널 잘 아는 거지. 왠지 긴장도 돼 보이고 조용했으니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: So what's up?
ko: 암튼, 무슨 일 있어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: If someone's bothering you, I'll kill them, no questions asked.
ko: 누가 괴롭혀? 그럼 묻지도 따지지도 않고 내가 죽여버릴게.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You probably should at least ask one or two questions.
ko: 그럴 땐 좀 물어보고 따져줘.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Killing people is wrong.
ko: 사람은 죽이면 안 되니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Okay. Then if someone's bothering you, I'll...be really mean to them.
ko: 알았어. 그럼 누가 너 괴롭히면… 걔한테 진짜 못되게 굴게.

note: Speaker: Min
en: So who is it?
ko: 그래서 그게 누군데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It isn't anyone.
ko: 그런 사람 없어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's just that my group presentation is tomorrow. In Biology.
ko: 그냥 내일 팀 발표를 해야 돼서 그래. 생물학 시간에.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, that PowerPoint you've been working on with Akarsha and Noelle?
ko: 아, 아카샤랑 노엘이랑 만들던 그 파워포인트?

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_5b580689]
en: Diya nods.
ko: 디야가 끄덕거린다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We're supposed to elaborate on what we put on our slides.
ko: 우리가 슬라이드에 넣은 내용을 자세히 설명해야 돼.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But I get so nervous in front of everyone that I blank out.
ko: 근데 난 사람들 앞에 서면 너무 긴장해서 머리가 하얘진단 말이야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What's there to be nervous about? You know all the stuff, don't you?
ko: 긴장할 게 뭐 있어? 너는 발표 내용 전부 다 확실히 알텐데.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Even if I know all the facts in my head, I can't improvise at all.
ko: 머릿속엔 다 들어 있는데 말로 설명하려면 잘 안 돼.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's hard to string words together on the spot.
ko: 즉흥적인 상황에서 단어를 적절하게 엮어내는 게 어려워.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I always have to write out everything I'm going to say word-for-word beforehand, and memorize it.
ko: 그래서 난 발표하기 전에 할 말들을 단어 하나하나 전부 다 적은 다음 외워버려.

en: Their conversation is abruptly cut short when a beige sedan turns the corner into the school.
ko: 베이지색 세단이 모퉁이를 돌아 학교로 들어오는 게 보이자 두 사람의 대화가 끊긴다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: My mom's here!
ko: 엄마다!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She picks me up after the baseball club if it ends late enough for her to be done with work.
ko: 야구팀 연습이 엄마가 일을 끝내는 것보다 늦어지는 날엔, 엄마가 날 데리러 온다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I'll hide!
ko: 난 숨을게!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Bye!!!
ko: 잘 가!!!

en: Min roughly pulls Diya close for one last kiss before dashing out of sight.
ko: 민은 디야를 거칠게 끌어당겨 마지막 키스를 한 뒤 시야 밖으로 달려나간다.

en: Diya tries to slow her shaky breathing to a normal pace.
ko: 디야는 갑작스레 덜컥이는 호흡을 늦추려 애쓴다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm calm...I need to look normal...
ko: 나는 침착하다… 나는 평소랑 똑같다…

en: Diya gets uncharacteristically clumsy after making out with Min, like a dog who's still woozy after surgery.
ko: 민과 키스한 직후의 디야는 평소답지 않게 어리버리해진다. 수술이 끝나고 마취 풀린 직후의 강아지처럼.

en: She staggers over to her mom's car as it pulls up to the curb.
ko: 엄마 차가 벽돌 도로까지 올라오자 디야는 뚝딱거리며 다가간다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm scared of how my mom will react if she finds out I'm talking to Min again. Let alone that I'm dating her...
ko: 나랑 민이 다시 어울리는 걸 엄마가 알면 어떻게 반응할지 무섭다. 그것도 난 얘랑 사귀는데…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: So it's a secret for now.
ko: 그러니 지금은 비밀로 해야지.

en: Pop song
ko: 팝송

en: Diya reaches for the door handle, misses, and slams her hand directly into the side of the car.
ko: 디야가 차 손잡이로 손을 뻗다가 실수로 차 문에 손을 찧는다.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_1fa56419]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: What's the matter with you?
ko: 너 왜 그래?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Nothing.
ko: 뭐가?

en: Diya hastily pulls the door open and gets into the passenger seat, trying to look natural.
ko: 디야는 얼른 다시 문을 열고 조수석에 앉아 평소 같아 보이려고 애쓴다.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_c5df2f04]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: ..........
ko: …………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_a9db357b]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ..........
ko: …………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_c0d265fa]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: How was your day at school?
ko: 학교는 어땠어?

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_fd841d5d]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay.
ko: 괜찮았어.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_c5df2f04_1]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: ..........
ko: ……………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_a9db357b_1]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ..........
ko: …………

en: On the radio, a woman sings to a catchy beat.
ko: 라디오에서는 한 여성 가수가 흥겨운 비트에 맞춰 노래 부른다.

note: Speaker: NPC
en: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I'm curious for you...Caught my attention... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 알고 싶어져... 궁금하게 하는 널... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

note: Speaker: NPC
en: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I kissed a girl and I liked it! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 난 좋았어 여자랑 한 키스! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: What the...?? Did she really just say that?
ko: 뭐야…?? 잘못 들은 거 아니지?

note: Speaker: NPC
en: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} The taste of her cherry chapstick... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 체리 향 립스틱의 맛... {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

note: Speaker: NPC
en: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} I kissed a girl just to try it! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}
ko: {font=times.ttf}♫{/font} 한 번 해봤어 여자랑 키스! {font=times.ttf}♫{/font}

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Is she allowed to say that on the radio? It doesn't break any laws?
ko: 라디오에서 저런 노래 틀어도 돼? 불법 아니야?

en: Diya shifts uncomfortably in her seat as her mom frowns at the lyrics.
ko: 엄마가 가사에 눈살을 찌푸리자 디야는 불편해져 몸을 뒤척인다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: "I kissed a girl...?" What kind of terrible song is this?
ko: "여자랑 한 키스"…? 대체 무슨 헛소리야 이게?

en: Disgusted, Diya's mom changes the station.
ko: 엄마는 불쾌해 하며 라디오 채널을 바꾼다.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_0a338741]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: ............
ko: …………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_136db9e2]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...........
ko: …………

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: You know how in the movies, superheroes have to hide their identity to their families?
ko: 영화에서 슈퍼히어로들이 가족들한테 자기 비밀을 숨기잖아?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm doing that in real life, all the time.
ko: 난 그걸 매순간 현실에서 하고 있어.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_0a338741_1]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: ............
ko: …………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_6e8840cd]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ............
ko: …………

note: Speaker: Amma
en: The other day, I saw Akarsha and her mom at Safeway.
ko: 얼마 전에 보니까 아카샤가 걔네 엄마랑 자전거 가게에 있더라.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: She was so outgoing! She even told me about the Biology project you're working on together.
ko: 걘 참 사회성이 좋다니까! 너랑 같이 하는 생물학 숙제가 어떻게 돼간다고 막 알려주더라.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I didn't even know you were doing a project until Akarsha said so.
ko: 아카샤가 알려주기 전까지 엄만 니가 숙제가 있는 줄도 몰랐잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Why can't you be more like her? I like knowing things about you.
ko: 너는 왜 그렇게 싹싹하질 못할까? 난 우리 딸 얘기 좀 더 듣고 싶은데.

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_0a338741_2]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: ............
ko: ………

[ctx: diyaminMakeout_6e8840cd_1]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ............
ko: …………

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I never really know how to fill the silence when I'm with my mom.
ko: 엄마랑 있을 때 이렇게 정적이 흐르면 뭘 어떡해야 할지 모르겠어.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't know what I can talk about with her.
ko: 엄마랑 할 수 있는 대화가 있기는 한지도.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She really loves me, but she comes from such a different time and culture that talking to her feels kind of unpredictable.
ko: 엄마는 날 정말 사랑해줘. 하지만 나랑은 정말 다른 시대와 문화를 겪어온 사람이라, 대화하다 보면 말이 전혀 예상치 못한 데로 튀기도 해.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Sometimes, she'll surprise me by getting upset over something I didn't expect would cause problems at all.
ko: 가끔은 내가 전혀 문제라고도 생각하지 않았던 부분에 화를 내서 놀라기도 해.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: So my safest bet most of the time is just to stay quiet.
ko: 그러니까 차라리 입 다물고 있는 게 낫지.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's annoying how she's raised me to be afraid of talking, yet expects me to magically turn out like a child who was raised normally.
ko: 짜증나. 말하는 걸 어려워하는 애로 키운 건 엄마잖아. 정상적인 가정에서 자란 딸을 원하면 요술봉이라도 휘둘러 달라고요.

en: That night, Diya tosses and turns in bed, anxious about her presentation the next day.
ko: 그날 밤, 침대에 누운 디야는 내일 있을 발표를 떠올리며 불안감에 몸을 뒤챈다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I wish I could time travel to this time tomorrow, after the Biology presentation is already over.
ko: 내일 이 시간으로 타임워프 하고 싶다. 그럼 생물학 발표도 끝나 있을 텐데….

[ctx: cantSleep_e629b0d2]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ........
ko: ……….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I need to stop thinking about this. It's making my mind race. I can't relax enough to sleep.
ko: 그만 생각해야 돼. 온갖 생각이 다 드니까 긴장돼서 잠을 잘 수가 없잖아.

en: Diya checks her alarm clock.
ko: 디야는 알람 시계를 확인한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's midnight already. And I need to wake up at seven tomorrow!
ko: 벌써 자정이네. 내일 7시에 일어나야 되는데!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I need to fall asleep right now! Or else I'll get less than seven hours of sleep.
ko: 얼른 지금 자야 돼! 안 그럼 7시간도 못 자겠어.

en: Count sheep
ko: 양을 센다

en: Take deep, calming breaths
ko: 침착하게, 숨을 깊이 들이마신다

en: Imagine being hugged by Min
ko: 민이 자신을 안아주는 상상을 한다

en: Diya squeezes her eyes shut and starts counting.
ko: 디야는 눈을 꽉 감고 양을 세기 시작한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: One...two...three...
ko: 양 한 마리… 양 두 마리… 양 세 마리…

[ctx: cantSleep_eb27997a]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Four...five...six...
ko: 네 마리… 다섯 마리… 여섯 마리…

[ctx: cantSleep_7f5f05d9]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Six...Giant pandas have six fingers...
ko: 여섯… 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개입니다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures.
ko: 이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: ...Shoot, I was supposed to be counting sheep.
ko: …아 씨, 양 세고 있었는데.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: What number was I on again?
ko: 어디까지 셌더라?

[ctx: cantSleep_6a15702b]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Let's start over.
ko: 그냥 처음부터 하자.

[ctx: cantSleep_41606471]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: One...two...
ko: 양 한 마리… 양 두 마리…

[ctx: cantSleep_5ebeb388]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko: 두… 새와 박쥐라는 두 개의 그룹은 각각 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…

en: Diya keeps trying to count without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko: 딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 애쓰며 계속 양을 센지 1시간 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I looked up some breathing exercises that're supposed to make you sleepier.
ko: 잠 잘 오는 호흡법 몇개를 찾아놨었지.

en: Diya squeezes her eyes shut, inhaling slowly and steadily...
ko: 디야는 눈을 꾹 감고, 천천히, 일정하게 숨을 들이마시면서…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Now I'll breathe out on a count of one...two...three...
ko: 이제 숨을 참았다가… 하나… 둘… 셋…

[ctx: cantSleep_eb27997a_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Four...five...six...
ko: 넷… 다섯… 여섯…

[ctx: cantSleep_7f5f05d9_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Six...Giant pandas have six fingers...
ko: 여섯… 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개입니다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures...
ko: 이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다….

[ctx: cantSleep_2238904f]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Shoot, I started thinking about the presentation again.
ko: 아, 또 발표 생각해버렸네.

[ctx: cantSleep_6a15702b_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Let's start over.
ko: 다시 해보자.

[ctx: cantSleep_41606471_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: One...two...
ko: 하나… 둘…

[ctx: cantSleep_5ebeb388_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko: 둘… 새와 박쥐는 둘 다 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…

en: Diya keeps trying to breathe without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko: 딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 애쓰며 1시간 동안 호흡한 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Sometimes when I can't sleep, I fantasize that Min is hugging me and saying nice things to me.
ko: 가끔 잠이 안 올 때, 날 안고 따뜻한 말을 해주는 민 상상을 하지.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Usually this works.
ko: 잘 먹히는 방법이지.

en: Diya hugs herself with one arm and squeezes her eyes shut.
ko: 디야는 한 팔로 자신을 껴안고 눈을 질끈 감는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Min is holding me really close, and telling me I'm going to fall asleep in her arms...
ko: 나를 바짝 껴안은 민이 '이제 그만 자자' 고 한다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And she's stroking my side with her hand...
ko: 그러더니 손을 들어 내 옆구리를 쓰다듬는다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Hands...Primates have hands, too...
ko: 손… 영장류도 손이 있어요…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And their thumbs are opposable like pandas' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures...
ko: 이들의 엄지는 판다의 엄지와 유사합니다. 이렇게 비슷한 특징들을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다….

[ctx: cantSleep_2238904f_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Shoot, I started thinking about the presentation again.
ko: 아, 또 발표 생각해버렸네.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Forget the presentation! Just think about Min.
ko: 발표 그만! 민 생각 하자.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Min is holding me really tight and saying nice things to me...
ko: 나를 꽉 껴안은 민이 다정한 말을 한다….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And we're all alone together...It's just the two of us...
ko: 그 곳엔 우리밖에 없다… 우리 둘 뿐이다…

[ctx: cantSleep_5ebeb388_2]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Two...Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...
ko: 둘… 새와 박쥐는 둘 다 비행이 가능하게 진화한 개별적인 그룹입니다…

en: Diya keeps trying to imagine Min comforting her without getting sidetracked, but after an hour, she's more awake and frustrated than ever.
ko: 민의 편안한 품을 상상하면서 딴 생각에 빠지지 않으려고 1시간 동안 애쓴 후, 디야는 정신이 이렇게 또렷하고 답답한 적이 없었다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: There's so much anxious energy pent up in my body, I feel like running a marathon.
ko: 온 몸이 너무 긴장해 있어서 마라톤이라도 뛰고 있는 느낌이야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Maybe if I release all that energy, I can finally doze off.
ko: 밖으로 긴장을 내보내면 잠들 수 있을지도 모르지!

en: Diya frantically starts doing sit-ups in bed.
ko: 디야는 냅다 윗몸일으키기를 시작한다.

en: After a few sets, she switches to doing jumping jacks in the middle of her room.
ko: 몇세트 하고 나서 이번엔 방 한가운데서 점핑 잭을 한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Yeah! Become tired!!
ko: 예! 피곤해져라!!

en: After several minutes of frenzied exercise, Diya lies back down in bed, her heart pounding...
ko: 몇 분 간의 광란의 운동이 끝나고, 침대에 등을 대고 누우니 심장이 쿵쿵거린다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Phew. Hopefully that didn't just make me even more awake.
ko: 후. 방금 한 것 때문에 잠 더 깨면 안 되는데.

en: Diya wearily checks her clock again.
ko: 낡고 지친 디야는 한 번 더 시계를 본다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's two in the morning! I need to fall asleep right now so I can at least get five hours of sleep!!!
ko: 벌써 두 시라고?! 5시간이라도 자야 돼!!!

en: Diya ends up lying awake for a few more hours...
ko: 디야는 결국 뜬 눈으로 몇시간을 더 지새우고…

en: Just as the sun begins coming up, she loses consciousness from sheer exhaustion...
ko: 동이 트기 시작할쯤, 탈진해서 까무룩 정신을 잃는다.

en: After what feels like a few minutes of sleep, Diya's alarms go off.
ko: 겨우 몇분 잔 것 같은데, 알람이 울린다.

[ctx: walkToSchool_b15a9f05]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ....................
ko: ………………

en: Diya hits all her alarms without even bothering to open her eyes.
ko: 디야가 눈을 뜨지도 않은 채로 모든 알람을 끈다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't feel rested at all...Barely got any sleep.
ko: 결국 거의 못 잤어. 에너지가 하나도 안 찬 느낌이야….

en: Her morning routine includes lying in bed for ten minutes thinking about how tired she is.
ko: 왜 이렇게 피곤한지 생각하며 10분 동안 누워있기는 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.

en: {cps=0}Her morning routine includes lying in bed for ten minutes thinking about how tired she is. {/cps}
ko: {cps=0}왜 이렇게 피곤한지 생각하며 10분 동안 누워있기는 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.{/cps}

en: Do it
ko: 루틴을 실행한다

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Nnnnnooooooooo...
ko: 아아아아아아아아악…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm so anxious I feel like I'm gonna explode...
ko: 긴장돼서 터질 것 같다…

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't have Biology till fifth period. So I'm going to be stewing in this dread for hours...
ko: 생물학은 5교시. 그러니까 몇시간 동안 이런 극도의 공포 속에 떨어야 한단 말이지…

[ctx: walkToSchool_f28d8787]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Ugghhhhhghghhhghhh...Ggggggh...
ko: 으으으으으으윽으으윽...으으으으거어아어ㅏ아...

en: Ten minutes pass like this.
ko: 그렇게 10분이 흐른다.

en: Finally, Diya drags herself out of bed and steels herself for the terrifying day ahead.
ko: 결국, 디야는 침대에서 몸을 끌어내면서 닥쳐올 오늘의 사건을 위해 굳게 마음 먹는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Akarsha messaged me. That normally means she's on her way to my house.
ko: 아카샤가 톡 보냈네. 보통은 이리로 오고 있다는 내용이지.

en: Check your computer
ko: 컴퓨터를 확인한다

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: ay diya
ko: 헤이 디야

note: Speaker: cSame
en: What is that
ko: 뭐야 그게

note: Speaker: cAkarsha
en: i googled Diya the Hedgehog and thats what came up
ko: 고슴도치 디야 라고 검색하니까 나옴

note: Speaker: cNarrator
en: Diya has gone offline.
ko: 디야 님이 나갔습니다.

[ctx: ay_a9db357b]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ..........
ko: ………

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: How can she act so normal on a day like this?
ko: 얘는 어떻게 발표 날도 똑같지?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I wish I was all outgoing and good at talking like her...
ko: 나도 얘처럼 외향적이고 말도 잘하면 좋겠다….

en: Diya goes outside.
ko: 디야는 밖으로 나간다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Yo! Ready to blow everyone outta the water with our amazing group presentation?
ko: 요! 우리의 어메이징한 팀 발표로 다 날려버릴 준비 됐나?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: No......
ko: 아니……

en: Diya nervously strides off, forcing Akarsha to jog to keep up with her.
ko: 잔뜩 긴장한 디야가 먼저 성큼성큼 걸어가버리는 통에 아카샤는 따라잡으려고 뛰어야 했다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hey, hold your horses!
ko: 아니, 누가 따라와?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Slow down! Some of us have average-length legs, yanno!
ko: 천천히 좀 가! 여기 다리 길이 평범한 사람도 있거든요!

[ctx: ay_e629b0d2]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ........
ko: ………

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Miss long legs...
ko: 롱다리 아가씨….

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Or should I say Daddy Long Legs...
ko: 아니면 키다리 아저씨….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Don't call me that.
ko: 하지 마.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You're so cold to me, bro. I'm dyin' here...
ko: 왜 이렇게 차가워, 브로. 얼어 죽겠어…

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why would you die if you can't call me Daddy Long Legs. Weirdo.
ko: 키다리 아저씨라고 안 하면 죽을 일도 없잖아. 바보야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: So dark and cloudy today. Think it's gonna rain...
ko: 하늘이 어두운데 구름까지 꼈어. 비 올 것 같네…

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Ay Diya...
ko: 야, 디야…

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What do you think {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko: {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …것 같아?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I wish real life had captions like on TV. No clue what anyone's ever saying to me.
ko: 현실도 TV처럼 자막 좀 달려있음 좋겠다. 누가 뭐라고 할 때마다 알아듣기가 힘들어.

[ctx: ay_f2fff244]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: What?
ko: 뭐라고?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What do {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko: {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …같아?

[ctx: ay_f2fff244_1]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: What?
ko: 뭐?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What do you think happens {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent}
ko: {incoherent}( ? ? ? ){/incoherent} …어떨 것 같냐구.

[ctx: ay_6e8840cd]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ............
ko: ………….

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh wait, sorry. I forgot about your ear...
ko: 아 맞다, 미안. 귀 안 좋았었지….

en: Akarsha switches to Diya's other side so she can hear her over the sound of traffic.
ko: 아카샤는 자기 말소리가 차도 소리에 덮이지 않도록 디야의 반대 방향으로 옮겨 걷는다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What do you think happens to a Teletubby when its screen gets destroyed?
ko: 텔레토비 배에 있는 TV 화면이 부서지면 걔넨 어떻게 될 것 같아?

en: Nothing
ko: 아무 일도 안 일어난다

en: It dies
ko: 죽는다

en: Why...
ko: 왜…

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: {cps=0}What do you think happens to a Teletubby when its screen gets destroyed?{/cps}
ko: {cps=0}TV 화면 부서지면 텔레토비는 어떻게 될 것 같아?{/cps}

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why would anything happen?
ko: 꼭 무슨 일이 일어나야 돼?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's not like it needs the screen to live.
ko: 그 TV가 있어야 사는 것도 아닌데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But the fact that it's called a Teletubby implies the television is part of its body, doesn't it?
ko: 근데 이름부터 텔레토비면, 텔레비전이 걔네 몸의 일부라는 거 아냐?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That doesn't mean it needs it to live.
ko: 그래도 생존에 꼭 필요한지는 모르잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You could dye a bluebird pink and it'd still survive. It'd just be a pinkbird.
ko: 파랑새가 분홍색으로 염색한다고 죽는 건 아니잖아. 그냥 분홍새 되는 거지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: If you get rid of a Teletubby's screen it just becomes a Tubby.
ko: 그러니까 '텔레토비'에서 텔레비전 빼면 '그냥 토비'.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Destroying the screen is a way bigger change than changing something's color, though. It's like, built into its stomach.
ko: 근데 TV 부서지는 건 색깔 바뀌는 수준이 아니잖아. 그것도 뱃속에 내장된 TV인데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So? TV's not a living part with cells and stuff. More like hair or fingernails.
ko: 그래봤자, TV는 세포같은 생물 부분이 아니잖아. 머리카락이나 손톱 같은 거지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's not painful to get haircuts.
ko: 머리 자른다고 아프진 않잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Speak for yourself. I've gotten some extremely catastrophic ones before.
ko: 너어는 그랬나 본데. 난 머리 자르러 갔다가 익스트림 재앙을 겪은 적이 있다고.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay...But you can't die from it.
ko: 그래… 아무튼 그것땜에 죽진 않는다는 거야.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: ...Or can I? Challenge accepted.
ko: …과연 그럴까? 그 도전 받아들이지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That wasn't a challenge.
ko: 도전 아니야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It'd be like punching it in the heart or something.
ko: 논리의 허점을 찌른 것 뿐이지.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Damn, that's dark.
ko: 엥, 너무해.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You asked.
ko: 먼저 물어봤으면서.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I dunno...Screens are so fragile, though.
ko: 몰라… 암튼 TV 화면은 너무 깨지기 쉬운데,

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: If it's that important, you'd think the Teletubbies would've evolved a ribcage over it or something to protect it.
ko: 거기가 중요한 부분이었으면 갈비뼈든 뭐든 어떤 신체부위가 거길 덮어서 보호하는 쪽으로 진화하지 않았을까?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But they can't. They couldn't see what's on the screens if they were covered.
ko: 근데 그럼 안 되잖아. 화면이 덮이면 뭐가 나오는지 볼 수가 없으니까.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Must be like why our eyes don't have bones over them even though they're delicate.
ko: 우리 눈도 예민한 부위인데 보호용 뼈는 없는 거랑 같은 이유겠지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We wouldn't be able to see.
ko: 앞을 볼 수가 없어지니까.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Whoa, you might be onto something.
ko: 와, 너 쫌 한다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: You should become a scientist. A Teletubby scientist.
ko: 연구원 해도 되겠다. 텔레토비 연구원.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I doubt the world really needs Teletubby scientists...
ko: 이 세상에 그런 직업이 필요할지 모르겠는데….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Where is this even coming from.
ko: 근데 대체 그런 질문은 왜 생긴 거야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Have you been watching Teletubbies lately or something?
ko: 요즘 텔레토비 정주행이라도 해?

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What? No!
ko: 엥? 아니!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's called having a healthy curiosity about the world around us, my friend.
ko: 이런 걸 두고 우릴 둘러싼 세계에 대한 건강한 궁금증이라고 한다네, 친구여.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Doesn't sound healthy to me. What kind of person thinks of destroying Teletubbies.
ko: 건강한 궁금증은 아닌 것 같은데. 대체 어떤 사람이 텔레토비 부서지는 상상 같은 걸 해?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: They're so colorful and friendly. Messed up.
ko: 그렇게 귀염뽀짝하고 상냥한 애들을…. 큰일날 사람이네.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wow, geez! I see you're not ready for my cutting-edge Dragon Tales theories, either.
ko: 어랍쇼? *드래곤테일즈에 대한 내 최신 가설도 들려주려고 했는데 자네에겐 너무 이르겠구만.
    
    (*드래곤테일즈 : 영어로 된 어린이용 동화책. 만화로도 제작되었으며 한국에서는 EBS에서 "용용나라로 떠나요"라는 이름으로 방영되기도 했음)

en: As Diya and Akarsha arrive at school, Diya feels something cold and wet drop onto her shoulder.
ko: 학교에 도착하자마자, 디야의 어깨에 뭔가 차갑고 축축한 것이 떨어진다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's raining!
ko: 비 온다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Gah! I'm heading inside.
ko: 악! 나 먼저 간다.

en: Akarsha scurries off as the rain picks up. Soon, torrents of water are pelting the ground.
ko: 빗방울이 떨어지기 시작하자 아카샤는 잰 걸음으로 달려나간다. 곧 있어 비가 억수같이 쏟아지며 땅을 뒤덮는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I still need to get my things from my locker.
ko: 사물함에서 뭐 좀 챙겨가야 돼.

en: Use locker
ko: 사물함을 확인한다

[ctx: cantGoRain_930e7787]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I need to get my stuff from the locker first.
ko: 먼저 사물함에 들러서 챙겨야 할 물건들이 있어.

en: Noelle is hunched over in front of their shared locker and frowning at its contents.
ko: 공용 사물함 앞에 몸을 구부린 노엘이 사물함 안쪽을 향해 눈살을 찌푸리고 있다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Good morning.
ko: 안녕.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: We need to remove our books from the locker or they'll get soaked in the rain.
ko: 우리 책 좀 사물함에서 빼내야겠어. 비에 다 젖겠다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Oh, no.
ko: 윽.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Won't the roof overhang block it?
ko: 지붕에 있는 튀어나온 부분이 막아주지 않을까?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: No, look at it. The wind's blowing the rain inward.
ko: 아냐, 저기 봐. 바람 때문에 비가 안쪽으로 들이치고 있어.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Yeah...We're even getting damp standing here right now.
ko: 그래… 여기 서있는 우리도 벌써 촉촉해지고 있지.

en: Diya takes a mini travel umbrella from her backpack and opens it.
ko: 디야는 책가방에서 여행용 미니 우산을 꺼내 펼친다.

en: As Diya diligently holds it over the two of them, Noelle holds her daily water bottle out to her without looking.
ko: 디야가 그걸 들고 우직하게 두 사람을 막고 있는 동안, 노엘은 디야에게 오늘의 물병을 노룩패스한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Also, can you open this water bottle?
ko: 이것도 좀 따줄래?

en: Take the water bottle
ko: 물병을 받아 든다

en: Diya holds the umbrella with one hand and grabs the water bottle with the other.
ko: 디야는 우산을 들지 않은 손으로 물병을 받는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Don't have enough hands to open it...
ko: 손이 없는데….

en: Diya carefully balances the water bottle on top of Noelle's head as she continues pulling her library books from their locker.
ko: 디야가 조심스럽게 노엘의 머리 꼭대기에 물병을 세운다. 노엘은 계속 사물함에 있던 도서관 책들을 꺼낸다.

[ctx: useLockerRain_d61ce29e]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ......
ko: …….

[ctx: useLockerRain_58f85320]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ......
ko: …….

en: Diya grips the bottle's cap with her index finger and thumb while pressing the bottle down on Noelle's head with the rest of her hand.
ko: 디야가 병을 노엘의 머리 쪽으로 누르면서 다른 손 엄지와 검지로 병뚜껑을 쥔다.

en: She manages to twist it open without spilling any of the water.
ko: 디야는 단 한 방울도 흘리지 않고 물병을 여는 데 성공한다.

[ctx: useLockerRain_57537cff]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ....!
ko: …!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm pretty proud of myself for pulling that off.
ko: 이걸 성공하다니 나 자신이 자랑스럽다.

en: She closes the cap and gives it back to Noelle as she slots the last of her novels into her bookbag.
ko: 노엘은 책가방에 소설책 마지막 한 권을 담고, 디야는 물병 뚜껑을 닫아 노엘에게 돌려준다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Thank you.
ko: 고마워.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I've finished rescuing all my water-sensitive items. It's your turn.
ko: 내 것 중에 물 닿으면 안 되는 건 전부 구조했어. 네 차례야.

en: Diya peers into her and Noelle's shared locker.
ko: 디야는 두 사람의 공유 사물함을 들여다본다.

en: Diya opens her and Noelle's shared locker.
ko: 디야가 두 사람의 공유 사물함을 연다.

en: Get your school stuff
ko: 자기 학용품을 꺼낸다

en: Look in Noelle's lunchbox
ko: 노엘의 점심 도시락을 확인한다

en: Take Valentine's Day card
ko: 발렌타인데이 카드를 가져간다

en: Look at rosin
ko: 송진을 본다

en: Close locker door
ko: 사물함 문을 닫는다

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I'm ready to head to class when you are.
ko: 난 준비 끝났어. 너도 다 챙겼으면 가자.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Wish I could just head home and go to bed...
ko: 이대로 집에 가서 침대에 눕고 싶다….

en: Diya slips her books and binders into her backpack.
ko: 디야는 책과 바인더들을 배낭 속으로 흘려넣는다.

[ctx: rosin_d147eb49]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: This is rosin for string instruments.
ko: 현악기용 송진이다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: The first time Noelle showed it to me,{w=0.10} I tried to eat it.
ko: 노엘이 처음 보여줬을 때 내가 {w=0.10}먹으려고 했었지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why do you have this, anyway?
ko: 근데, 이걸 왜 갖고 있는 거야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You only play piano.
ko: 넌 피아노만 치잖아.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It's the same kind Akarsha uses. She plays the cello in her orchestra class.
ko: 아카샤가 쓰는 거랑 같은 거야. 걔가 오케스트라 클래스에서 첼로를 켜거든.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Whenever she drops and cracks the one she's using, she leaves it in her locker, and I secretly replace it with an identical copy.
ko: 걔는 자기가 쓰던 송진이 떨어져서 깨지면 꼭 자기 사물함에 넣어놓는데, 그럼 내가 몰래 같은 걸로 바꿔놓는 거지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: .....?
ko: ……?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: How do you get it in her locker?
ko: 네가 아카샤 사물함을 어떻게 열어?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I figured out her locker combination.
ko: 걔 비번을 알아냈지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Can't she tell it's just new rosin?
ko: 새 걸로 바뀐 걸 눈치채지 않아?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: No, I always scratch up the top and make it look worn, so it looks identical to the one she dropped.
ko: 아니. 내가 닳은 것처럼 보이게 윗부분을 긁어놓거든. 걔가 떨어트린 거랑 완전 똑같이.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: This is the third one.
ko: 이게 세 번째 송진이야.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: By now, she's convinced her rosin has self-healing abilities.
ko: 걔는 이제 자기 송진에 자가치유 능력이 있다고 생각해.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Noelle goes to such lengths just to mess with Akarsha sometimes...
ko: 노엘은 가끔 아카샤를 놀리기 위해 먼 길을 간다….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't really know what to make of it.
ko: 왜 그렇게까지 하게 되는진 모르겠다.

[ctx: rosin_d147eb49_1]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: This is rosin for string instruments.
ko: 현악기용 송진이다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It looks like you can eat it,{w=0.10} but you can't.
ko: 먹을 수 있을 것처럼 생겼지만, {w=0.10}사실 아니다.

en: Out of curiosity, Diya checks what Noelle has for lunch today.
ko: 디야는 호기심을 참지 못하고, 노엘의 오늘 점심메뉴를 확인한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Rice porridge. Noelle really likes this.
ko: 쌀죽. 노엘이 정말 좋아하는 거다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I shouldn't eat it. I don't have much of an appetite today, anyway.
ko: 먹으면 안 되겠다. 어차피 오늘은 식욕도 그다지 없고.

en: Deeper in the lunchbox, there's also a Ziploc bag of neatly peeled apple slices.
ko: 도시락 더 안쪽에는 깨끗이 깎인 사과 조각들도 지퍼백 안에 담겨 있다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Thoughtful of your mom to do that.
ko: 어머니가 신경 많이 써주셨네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Do what?
ko: 뭘?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Peel the apple and slice it.
ko: 사과껍질 벗겨서 잘라주셨잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Most people just eat them whole.
ko: 보통은 그냥 통째로 먹는데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I guess she has to show me she loves me somehow.
ko: 날 사랑한다는 걸 그렇게라도 보여주려는 것 같아.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Since she lacks the emotional maturity to communicate it through words, she's left to express it through actions.
ko: 말로 소통하기엔 정서적 성숙도가 부족해서 이런 행동으로 표현할 수밖에 없는 거지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Funny, that sounds like someone else I know.
ko: 웃기다. 내가 아는 누구랑도 비슷하네.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Are you insinuating I'm the same as her?
ko: 지금 내가 우리 엄마랑 똑같다는 거야?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Maybe.
ko: 그럴지도.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I wish I could deny it...
ko: 아니라고 하고 싶네….

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Does your mother do the thing too, where after you have an argument, instead of apologizing, she just silently leaves you a plate of fruit to eat?
ko: 너희 엄마도 그래? 말다툼 한 뒤에 사과 대신 말없이 과일 한 접시 먹으라고 놔두고 가고?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I thought it was just my mom who did that.
ko: 우리 엄마만 그러는 줄 알았어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: It must be an immigrant mother thing.
ko: 이민 가족 엄마들은 다 그러나 봐.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: This is waterproof, right?
ko: 이거 방수 되는 거지?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: If not waterproof, at least water-resistant.
ko: 못해도 생활방수 정도는 될걸.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay. Just checking.
ko: 오키. 그냥 물어봤어.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's the Valentine's Day card Min made for me this year.
ko: 올해 발렌타인데이에 민이 만들어준 카드다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Every time I see it, I feel happy.
ko: 볼 때마다 행복해져.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You still haven't taken that home?
ko: 집에 아직 안 가져갔어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'm paranoid my parents will find it if I do.
ko: 그랬다간 우리 모부님이 발견할까봐 걱정돼서 노이로제 올 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Min said a lot of stuff in it...Even if she were a boy, I don't think they'd be okay with it.
ko: 민이 많은 얘길 써놨는데… 걔가 남자애여도 엄마아빠가 가만 안 있을걸.

[ctx: valentinesDayCard_4755412e]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I see...
ko: 그렇겠네….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Guess I have to move it out of the locker or it'll get soaked and wrinkly, though...
ko: 그래도 푹 젖거나 구겨질 수도 있으니까 사물함에서 옮기긴 해야겠어….

en: Diya carefully slips it into her binder's inside pocket.
ko: 디야는 조심스레 카드를 바인더 안쪽 포켓에 밀어넣는다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Speaking of Valentine's Day. How's Akarsha's investigation of her secret admirer going.
ko: 발렌타인데이 얘기가 나와서 말인데. 아카샤의 비밀 애인 조사는 어떻게 돼가?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Awful. And by that, I mean wonderful.
ko: 엉망진창이야. 우리한텐 성공적이란 뜻이지.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: She's utterly lost.
ko: 완전 헤매고 있더라.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Her list of suspects includes a random guy in our History class, a sophomore she's never uttered a word to before...
ko: 우리 역사 수업 때 본 웬 모르는 남자애나, 아카샤랑 대화 한 번 해본 적 없는 2학년생 같은 애들이 용의자 목록에 들어있던데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...And even the lunch lady who once gave her two slices of pizza that were stuck together instead of one.
ko: ...그리고, 피자는 원래 한 조각씩인데 피자 두 조각이 달라붙어 있어서 그냥 두 조각 준 적 있는 급식실 아주머니도.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Wow.
ko: 헤엑.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: We really can keep this up every Valentine's Day without her realizing it's us.
ko: 우리 발렌타인 때마다 진짜 안 들키고 할 수 있겠다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Yes, as long as we don't accidentally let it slip at some point.
ko: 그러니까. 이상한 데서 실수하지만 않으면.

en: Diya loves the sound of rain when she's indoors, especially the drum of water on metal.
ko: 디야는 실내에서 빗소리 듣는 걸 좋아한다. 특히 물이 금속을 두드리며 내는 경쾌한 소리를.

en: Unfortunately, today she's so consumed with dread over her presentation that she's totally unable to enjoy it.
ko: 하지만 안타깝게도 오늘의 디야는 발표를 해야 한다는 두려움에 휩싸여 그 소리를 맘껏 즐기지 못한다.

en: Her next few hours pass in a sleep-deprived haze...
ko: 이후 몇시간은 수면부족으로 인한 몽롱한 상태로 지나간다….

en: Diya's stomach churns with dread as she finally walks into her Biology class.
ko: 마침내 생물학 수업에 들어서자, 디야는 두려움에 속이 뒤집힌다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's here...The period of doom...
ko: 와버렸어… 멸망의 때가….

en: To her surprise, she finds Min leaning against her desk, waiting for her.
ko: 그때 디야는 놀랍게도, 책상에 기댄 채 자신을 기다리는 민을 발견한다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why're you here?
ko: 여기서 뭐해?

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're about to do your presentation, right?
ko: 너 이제 곧 발표하잖아?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I thought I'd swing by and try to pump you up for it.
ko: 들러서 응원 좀 해주려고 했지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Oh. Thanks.
ko: 아. 고마워.

note: Speaker: Min
en: How do you feel?
ko: 기분은 어때?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'm so nervous, my stomach hurts.
ko: 너무 긴장돼. 배까지 아파.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I even forgot to eat my gummy vitamins this morning.
ko: 아침에 비타민 젤리 먹는 것도 깜빡했을 정도야.

en: Each day, Diya looks forward to eating two gummy vitamins.
ko: 디야는 매일매일 비타민 젤리 두 알 먹는 시간을 기다린다.

en: Min gives her hand a reassuring squeeze.
ko: 민이 위안 어린 손길로 디야의 손을 꾹 잡는다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: It'll be okay! You're gonna kill it.
ko: 걱정 마! 니가 다 씹어먹을 테니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're so cute, there's no way the teacher can give you a bad grade.
ko: 니가 이렇게 귀여운데 선생님이 점수를 어떻게 까?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: If the teacher really graded like that he'd be in jail.
ko: 점수 그런 식으로 매기면 선생님 잡혀가.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Well, if I were in charge, I'd give you an A.
ko: 어쨌든, 우리가 선생이면 난 너한테 A 줬을 거야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Anything I can do to help?
ko: 내가 뭐 도와줄 거 있어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Can I have a hug? And a kiss.
ko: 안아줄 수 있어? 키스도 해주라.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah! Of course!!!
ko: 그럼 당연하지!!!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Won't people see, though?
ko: 근데 딴 애들이 보지 않을까?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's an emergency.
ko: 긴급상황이야.

en: Min's face lights up, and she eagerly envelopes Diya in a tight, warm hug.
ko: 민의 얼굴이 환해지고, 온 힘을 다해 강하고 따뜻하게 디야를 감싼다.

[ctx: groupPresentation_dbf4ab57]
note: Speaker: Min
en: ..........
ko: ……….

[ctx: groupPresentation_2d39e9ce]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: ..........
ko: ……….

en: Min pulls her in for a kiss, but Diya rears back when she smells cigarette smoke on her breath.
ko: 민이 키스하려고 디야를 가까이 당기는 순간 민의 숨결에서 담배 냄새를 맡은 디야가 물러난다.

en: Because Diya's so tall, when she doesn't want Min to kiss her, all she has to do is stand up straight.
ko: 본인이 한참 크기 때문에, 민이 키스하길 원치 않으면 자세를 똑바로 펴기만 하면 된다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yuck. Were you smoking again?
ko: 윽. 담배 다시 피는 거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Huh? Yeah...
ko: 응? 어어….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You should stop.
ko: 그만 피워.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's bad for you. Didn't you ever see a D.A.R.E. presentation in elementary school?
ko: 몸에 안 좋아. 초등학교 때 약물 남용 저항 교육 받았던 거 기억 안 나?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: They came to my class, and it was so scary I pledged not to do drugs or peer pressure forever.
ko: 우리 반에도 교육 왔었는데, 난 너무 무서워서 절대 약물 안 하고 안 시키겠다고 서약도 했었어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You don't think it looks badass?
ko: 근데 그런거 하면 멋있는 빌런 같아 보이지 않아?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: No. Dare to resist drugs and violence.
ko: 아니. 약물에 저항하고 폭력에 저항하기로 했어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: How'd you even start doing it?
ko: 대체 어쩌다 하게 된 거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Back in Florida, I mostly hung out with a group of guys who smoked.
ko: 플로리다 있을 때 나랑 노는 애들이 대부분 담배를 피웠거든.

note: Speaker: Min
en: And we'd set things on fire and do other dangerous stuff.
ko: 뭐 갖다놓고 불 피우거나 위험한 짓도 좀 했고.

[ctx: groupPresentation_a9db357b]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ..........
ko: ……….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm really glad she's over here with me now...
ko: 지금은 나랑 여기 있어서 정말 다행이다….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But those guys aren't here anymore. So why keep doing it.
ko: 이젠 걔네도 없잖아. 근데 왜 계속 피우는 거야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: It was a pain to get the cigarettes in the first place, since stores won't sell them to people under 18.
ko: 처음엔 구하는 것부터가 어려워. 18살 미만한테는 가게에서 담배를 안 파니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: So it feels like a waste not to use them.
ko: 그러니까 외않되냐? 싶더라고.

note: Speaker: Min
en: And I thought it'd make me look hot.
ko: 그리고 담배 피면 섹시해보이는 거 같길래.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You look hot when your hair's all messed up from kissing me.
ko: 넌 나랑 키스하고 머리 다 헝클어졌을 때가 섹시해.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Not when your mouth tastes bad and I can't even kiss you.
ko: 입에서 안 좋은 냄새 날 때 말고. 그럼 키스하기도 싫어.

en: Noelle scowls as she sits down at her desk.
ko: 노엘이 자리에 와 앉으며 얼굴을 찌푸린다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: You're seriously still smoking?! You need to get your life in order.
ko: 너 진심 담배를 아직도 펴?! 똑바로 좀 살자.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I don't need to hear it from you, too!
ko: 너나 잘해!

note: Speaker: Min
en: I don't even do it that often!
ko: 자주 피는 것도 아니거든!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Aren't you going to be tardy for your class? The bell's going to ring in about a minute.
ko: 너 수업 지각 안 해? 1분 정도 있으면 벨 울리는데.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, shit! I better run.
ko: 오 쉣! 달려간다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Go, I'll live. Probably.
ko: 가. 난 살아남을 거야. 아마도.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Tell me how it goes later!
ko: 어떻게 됐는지 이따 알려줘!

en: Min sprints off!
ko: 민은 전속력으로 달려나간다!

en: Seconds later, the bell rings.
ko: 그리고 곧, 벨이 울린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: D'you think she made it?
ko: 쟤 제때 도착할 거 같아?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: I couldn't care less.
ko: 노관심.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Min is so cool. But I hope she stops smoking...
ko: 민 너무 멋있어. 그래도 담배는 그만 피웠음 좋겠다….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: They say people don't change, but I hope that's not true.
ko: 사람은 안 변한다는 말도 있지만, 틀린 말이면 좋겠어.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's too sad if it is.
ko: 만약 맞으면 속상할 테니까.

en: As another group starts presenting at the front of the class, Diya wipes her clammy palms on her hoodie.
ko: 다른 조가 교실 앞에 나가 발표를 시작하고, 디야는 식은땀으로 끈적해진 손을 후드티에 닦는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: We're gonna get called up any minute now...
ko: 몇 분 후면 우리 조 발표하라고 부를 텐데….

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Diya, please try not to panic.
ko: 디야, 부탁이니까 패닉은 하지 마.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: When you're not speaking, you can hide behind me if you have to. Just don't bolt off.
ko: 도저히 말이 안 나오면 내 뒤에 숨어도 되니까, 도망치지만 마.

[ctx: groupPresentation_fd841d5d]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay.
ko: 알았어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Can I hide behind you too?
ko: 나도 니 뒤에 숨어도 돼?

[ctx: groupPresentation_6432009a]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: NO.
ko: 아니.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: No fair! How come Diya gets to, but not me?
ko: 너무해! 왜 디야는 되고 나는 안 돼?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: There's no reason for you to! We'll look like we're doing those dances where everyone's standing behind one person and waving their arms!
ko: 넌 그럴 필요 없잖아! 너까지 숨으면 다같이 한 명 뒤에 서서 팔 웨이브하는 춤처럼 될 거 아냐!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: And you'd better not do that horrendous British accent.
ko: 그리고 너, 그 끔찍한 영국 억양 쓰지 마.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Why not? It'll be a hit.
ko: 왜? 팔릴 것 같은데.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: More like a hit on our grade. Accents aren't a proper example of divergent evolution.
ko: 우리 점수를 팔아치우게 되겠지. 억양은 발산 진화의 적절한 예시도 아니잖아.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But we need stuff to spice our presentation up. It's drier than the Sahara Desert.
ko: 근데 우리 발표엔 조미료가 좀 필요하다고. 지금처럼 했다간 너무 건조하고 차가워서 얼어죽겠어.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: So? This is a Biology project, not a circus performance.
ko: 뭐 어때서? 이게 생물학 과제지 서커스 무대는 아니잖아.

en: Before Noelle can press Akarsha any further, the first group finishes their presentation to scattered applause.
ko: 노엘이 아카샤를 더 밀어붙이기도 전에, 첫번째 조가 발표를 마치고 박수가 쏟아진다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Alright, it's our turn.
ko: 됐네. 우리 차례다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Come on, Diya, let's do this.
ko: 이리 와, 디야. 나가자.

en: Diya feels like she's having an out-of-body experience as she follows Noelle and Akarsha to the front of the class.
ko: 노엘과 아카샤 뒤를 따라 반 앞으로 나가는 동안 디야는 혼이 빠져나가는 느낌이다.

en: As Noelle brings up their PowerPoint on the computer, Diya hides behind her and nervously looks out at the class sitting before them...
ko: 노엘이 컴퓨터에 파워포인트를 옮기고, 디야는 그 뒤에 숨어 앞에 앉은 반 아이들을 불안하게 둘러본다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I should've worn clothes that blended in with the classroom better so no one can see me!
ko: 교실 색깔이랑 똑같은 색 옷을 입을걸. 그랬으면 애들이 날 못 봤을 텐데!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Like beige colored! I should've thought of that earlier!
ko: 베이지 색 같은 거! 이런 생각이 왜 이제야 나는 거야!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's over...It's curtains for me...
ko: 끝이야… 종말이다….

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Hello, everyone. We've been tasked with reviewing the patterns of macroevolution.
ko: 안녕하세요, 여러분. 저희 조 과제는 거시적 진화의 패턴을 조사하는 것이었습니다.

en: The audience begins to nod off as soon as Noelle flicks to a slide with an essay crammed onto it in ten point font.
ko: 노엘이 10포인트짜리 글씨로 적힌 에세이가 가득 찬 슬라이드로 장을 넘기자 관객들은 고개를 꾸벅이기 시작한다.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Let's begin with the obvious question...What is macroevolution? To understand this, we must first consider...
ko: 뻔한 질문으로 시작해보겠습니다… 거시적 진화란 뭘까요? 이것을 이해하기 위해 우리는 먼저 이 부분을…

en: By the time Noelle is done droning through her last tome of a slide, half the classroom is asleep.
ko: 노엘이 방대한 발표 슬라이드의 마지막 장을 다 훑었을 때쯤, 교실의 반이 잠들어 있다.

en: Akarsha shakes her head and sighs as she clicks to her first slide. It opens with an illustration of a finch's head.
ko: 아카샤는 고개를 젓고 한숨을 쉬며 자기 차례의 슬라이드 첫장을 클릭한다. 핀치 새의 머리가 그려진 그림이 열린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Aight. So, divergent evolution...
ko: 네. 다음은, 발산 진화…

en: An explosion sound effect plays as five more finches with different beak shapes blast onto the screen, jolting their classmates back awake.
ko: 그때 제각기 다른 부리 모양을 한 핀치 새 다섯 마리가 화면에 튀어나오며 폭발음이 터지고, 반 학생들이 깜짝 놀라 일어난다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: It's when populations from a common ancestor adapt to different pressures and become more different over time.
ko: 공통 조상을 가진 집단들이 서로 다른 압력에 적응하면서, 시간이 지남에 따라 더욱 달라지는 시기입니다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Just like how yer average New Yawker tawks like dis! Different from ova heah!
ko: 당신네 뉴요커들이 이렇게 말하는 것춰뤔요우! 우리랑은 엄췅 달라욜!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She just switched it from a British accent to a New York one...
ko: 영국 대신 뉴욕 억양 쓰고 있네….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Oh, well. Maybe the teacher will think it's funny.
ko: 뭐, 선생님은 재밌다고 생각할지도 모르지.

[ctx: groupPresentation_f14a5a8a]
note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ...................
ko: …………….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: You can let this slide, Noelle. Just hold it in until after the presentation's over.
ko: 참아, 노엘. 발표 끝날 때까지만.

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: ACTUALLY, accents don't count as divergent evolution. New Yorkers aren't another species from us!
ko: 사실, 억양은 발산 진화로 간주되지 않습니다. 뉴요커가 우리와 종이 다른 건 아니지요!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: They're not so different they can't produce fertile offspring with other humans!
ko: 적어도 다른 인간과 함께 가임 자손을 낳을 수 없을 정도로 다르지는 않습니다!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: But if dey keep tings up at dis rate, dat might change.
ko: 하쥐뫈 케속 이런 쉬기묜 또 모르죠우.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Dink about it. Would {i}you{/i} reproduce wit someone who tawks like dis??
ko: 생각해 보세요우. 당신같으미욘 이뤄퀘 말하는 싸뢈과 번쉭을 할 수 있나요우?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Wh...what?! I don't see how that's relevant!
ko: 뭐… 뭔 소리야?! 그거랑 대체 무슨 상관인데!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Just admit your example is invalid already!
ko: 예시가 부적절했다고 인정이나 해!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Oh, yeah?
ko: 오우, 그래요우?

en: Akarsha clicks the mouse. A stock photo of a gravestone appears on the slide with the pinwheel transition.
ko: 아카샤는 마우스를 클릭한다. 바람개비 모양의 화면 전환 효과와 함께, 사진 스톡 사이트에서 구했을 묘비 사진이 슬라이드에 나타난다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: What if dat was your gravestone? What then?
ko: 저게 탕신의 묘비롸면요우? 어뛀 궛 같나요우?

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: DID YOU ADD THIS TO THE POWERPOINT JUST TO USE AS A COMEBACK?!
ko: {b}너 나한테 반박하려고 우리 피피티에다 저걸 넣은 거야?!{/b}

en: The class giggles as Akarsha clowns through her slides, but Diya's stomach churns as they stare at the front of the room with renewed interest...
ko: 아카샤가 슬라이드로 너스레를 떨자 반 학생들은 낄낄거리지만, 아이들이 흥미롭게 앞을 바라보기 시작하자 디야는 속이 좋지 않다….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't wanna be here...I wish I could time travel to 30 minutes from now...
ko: 도망가고 싶다… 타임머신 타고 30분 후로 가버리고 싶어….

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: And wit dat, I pass tings ova to my buddy Diya.
ko: 그뤔 이줴, 내 췬구 디야에게 바통 터치 하겠써요우.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: .........!!!!
ko: ………!!!!

en: When Diya doesn't move from her hiding spot behind Noelle, Noelle steps to the side, exposing her to the audience's view.
ko: 디야가 노엘 뒤에 숨은 채로 나오지 않자, 디야가 보이도록 노엘이 옆으로 한 발 나와 선다.

en: Diya takes a deep shaky breath before quickly rattling off the speech she's mentally rehearsed hundreds of times over the past 24 hours.
ko: 디야는 떨리는 숨을 깊이 들이쉬고는 지난 24시간 동안 머릿속에서 수백 번 반복했던 대사를 우다다 뱉어낸다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: {small}Convergent evolution is the independent evolution of similar traits in species that are only distantly related. For example, giant pandas have six fingers and their thumbs are opposable like primates' thumbs. These similar features are called analogous structures.{/small}
ko: {small}수렴 진화는 서로 관련성이 적은 종들이 각각 비슷한 특성을 보이며 진화하는 것입니다. 예를 들어, 판다는 손가락이 여섯 개이고 이들의 엄지는 영장류의 엄지처럼 다른 손가락과 맞댈 수 있습니다. 이렇게 특징이 비슷한 것을 구조적 유사성이라고 합니다.{/small}

en: After barrelling through the slide in a matter of seconds, Diya quickly flips to the next one, her hands shaking from nerves.
ko: 단 몇 초만에 한 슬라이드의 내용을 전부 주파하고, 디야는 긴장감에 손을 떨며 바로 다음 장으로 넘어간다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: {small}Another example of convergent evolution are birds and bats. Birds and bats are two groups that evolved flight independently...{/small}
ko: {small}수렴 진화의 또 다른 예시는 새와 박쥐입니다. 새와 박쥐라는 두 개의 그룹은 각각 비행이 가능하게 진화한 별개의 그룹입니다…{/small}

en: She manages to zoom through the rest of the presentation in about a minute flat.
ko: 그렇게 PPT의 나머지 페이지도 1분 만에 주파해낸다.

en: After their classmates give them a tepid round of applause, Diya follows Noelle and Akarsha back to her seat in a daze...
ko: 반 친구들이 미지근한 박수갈채를 보내고, 멍한 상태의 디야는 노엘과 아카샤를 따라 자리로 돌아간다….

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: Well, at least that's over with...
ko: 뭐, 어쨌든 끝은 났네….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's over!!! I'm free!!!!
ko: 끝났다!!! 난 자유야!!!!

note: Speaker: Noelle
en: See? That wasn't so bad, was it?
ko: 거봐. 생각보다 별로 안 힘들지?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Actually, it was.
ko: 아니. 힘들었어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Think I'll be quiet for the rest of the day to recover from that...
ko: 회복하려면 남은 하루 동안은 조용히 있어야겠어…

en: After school
ko: 방과 후

en: To Diya's relief, the weather clears up just in time for the baseball club meeting.
ko: 디야에겐 다행스럽게도 야구부 회의 시간에 딱 맞춰 날씨가 개었다.

en: "Sakura" goes up to bat, and Diya readies herself to catch Min's next pitch.
ko: '사쿠라'가 타석에 서고, 디야는 민의 다음 투구를 잡을 준비를 한다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Besides Min's signature knuckler, the only pitch she knows is a fastball.
ko: 시그니처 너클볼 말고 민이 던질 수 있는 건 직구 뿐이야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's pretty mediocre compared to her knuckleball, so she rarely uses it except during practice like this.
ko: 그 너클볼에 비하면 꽤 평범해서 이런 연습 때가 아니면 잘 안 던지지만.

en: Min hurls one of those fastballs to "Sakura"...
ko: 민이 '사쿠라'에게 바로 그 직구를 던진다…

en: "Sakura" flinches as she gets drilled on the shoulder by the baseball.
ko: '사쿠라'가 공에 맞아 몸을 움츠린다.

[ctx: lockerRoomCrisis_ef0da7a0]
note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: Ow!
ko: 으악!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Shit, oops...
ko: 으앗, 씨…

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: You okay over there?
ko: 괜찮아?

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: Yeah, I'm good. I don't think that broke anything.
ko: 어, 괜찮아. 어디 부러진 것 같진 않아.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Walk it off!
ko: 그래. 나아지게 좀 움직이면 돼!

note: Speaker: Liz
en: At least if this were a game, you'd get to head over to first base as a consolation prize.
ko: 진짜 시합에서는, 니가 데드볼을 맞은 거라 1루로 진루할 수 있어.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Wait...So getting hit is like a free pass to first base?
ko: 잠깐… 얻어맞으면 1루까지 공짜 진출이라고?

note: Speaker: Sayeeda
en: It's not free. It hurts!
ko: 공짜라니. 아프거든!

en: "Sakura" walks off, rubbing her shoulder. Akarsha eagerly takes her place at the plate.
ko: '사쿠라' 가 어깨를 문지르며 퇴장하고, 아카샤가 의욕 넘치게 홈플레이트에 자리를 잡는다.

en: Min throws a pitch her way...
ko: 민이 그에게 공을 던진다…

en: But instead of swinging the bat, Akarsha purposefully leans in toward the ball!
ko: 그런데 아카샤는 방망이를 휘두르는 대신, 일부러 공을 향해 몸을 기울인다!

en: It narrowly misses her, and Diya manages to recover from her surprise in time to catch it.
ko: 공은 아슬아슬하게 비껴나가고, 당황하던 디야가 곧 침착함을 되찾고 그 공을 받아낸다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: The fuck's wrong with you?!
ko: 넌 애가 대체 왜 그러냐?!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: I'm becoming a hit-by-pitch specialist.
ko: 공 맞기 스페셜리스트가 되려고.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: If I can master getting beaned as much as possible, it'll guarantee I always make it to first base.
ko: 얻어맞기 마스터하면 1루 출루는 확정이잖아.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Why would you do that instead of just hitting the ball?
ko: 왜 배트로 맞추는 대신 그 길을 택하는 거야?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Hitting the ball is so fun.
ko: 공 때리는 거 재밌는데.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Hit me! I know you wanna!
ko: 나한테 던져보시지! 맞추고 싶을 텐데!

note: Speaker: Min
en: Stop making this weird!
ko: 이상한 짓 좀 그만해!

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Homophobic hate crime...
ko: 동성애 혐오하네….

note: Speaker: Min
en: What???
ko: 뭐라고???

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: The B in LGBT stands for Baseball. Just sayin'...
ko: LGBT에서 B가 베이스볼(야구)이잖아. 그냥 말해봤어~.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah??! WELL I THINK THE B IS FOR BITCH!!!
ko: 아 그러냐??! 이 B친 새끼야!!!

en: Having lost her patience, Min beans Akarsha on purpose.
ko: 이성의 끈이 끊긴 민이 아카샤의 몸 쪽으로 공을 던져버린다.

note: Speaker: Akarsha
en: Owie!!!
ko: 꺄악!!!

[ctx: lockerRoomCrisis_2be40045]
note: Speaker: Liz
en: .........
ko: ……….

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: If you keep this up, the B in LGBT is gonna stand for Broken Bones...
ko: 니네, 계속하면 LGBT의 B는 'B 오는 날 먼지나게 처맞기'가 될 거야….

en: After practice, Diya slings a big equipment bag over each of her shoulders and hauls them to the locker room.
ko: 연습이 끝난 후. 디야가 커다란 장비 가방을 어깨에 걸쳐메고 라커룸으로 나른다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I'm being so helpful.
ko: 나 일 진짜 잘하네.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I hope someone notices how many bags I'm carrying.
ko: 이렇게 많이 옮기는 거 누가 알아보면 좋겠다.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Wow, Diya, you're carrying two bags at once!
ko: 우와, 디야. 한 번에 두 개를 옮겨?!

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Thank you for helping!
ko: 잘해줘서 너무 고맙다!

[ctx: lockerRoomCrisis_d11361e6]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: .........
ko: ……….

en: Diya happily heads up the hill with a spring in her step.
ko: 행복해진 디야는 발걸음도 가볍게 언덕을 오른다.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Say, Diya, do you watch The Bachelor?
ko: 근데 디야, '더 베첼러' 봤어?

en: Bewildered, Diya shakes her head.
ko: 디야는 당황하며 고개를 젓는다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: What is that? A show?
ko: 그게 뭐지? 티비 프로그램인가?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't watch much TV except sports, Animal Planet, and the Discovery Channel.
ko: 난 스포츠랑 '애니멀 플래닛', 그리고 디스커버리 채널 말고는 TV를 잘 안 보니까.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: So when people talk about movies and shows, I usually don't know any of them.
ko: 영화나 티비 프로그램 얘기 나오면 잘 모르는 경우가 대부분이야.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: You should try it, we need more people to talk about it with!
ko: 너도 한 번 봐봐. 같이 보는 사람 좀 많아지게!

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: My mom and I started watching it this season and we're obsessed.
ko: 엄마랑 이번 시즌부터 보기 시작했는데 우리 둘 다 완전 푹 빠졌어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What's it about?
ko: 무슨 내용이길래?

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Basically, thirty women try to date the same guy at the same time.
ko: 주 내용은 여자 30명이 남자 1명이랑 다 같이 데이트를 하는 거야.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Each week, the guy eliminates some of them until finally, he proposes to the last one standing.
ko: 한 주마다 남자가 여자 중에 몇명을 떨어트리고, 마지막에 남은 단 한 사람한테 청혼을 해.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: My mom would definitely never watch that with me. She'd be so scandalized.
ko: 우리 엄만 절대 나랑 같이 안 보겠다. 너무 품위 없어진다고.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Your mom likes watching shows like this?
ko: 너희 어머닌 그런 프로그램 보는 거 좋아하셔?

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Yeah, she's the one who got into it first.
ko: 응. 엄마가 먼저 보기 시작했어.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: She spread it to us like a virus and now we're infected too.
ko: 여기저기 바이러스처럼 전염시키더니 나까지 전염시켰어.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: The way you put that makes it sound like a zombie apocalypse...
ko: 무슨 좀비 아포칼립스물처럼 말하네….

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Wish I had something like that with my parents.
ko: 나도 부모님이랑 그런 거 있음 좋겠다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I feel like I have nothing in common with them.
ko: 엄마아빠랑은 공통점이 하나도 없는 것 같아.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: They don't try to get you into the things they like?
ko: 본인들이 좋아하는 거 같이 하자고 안 하셔?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Not really.
ko: 응, 안 해.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: For instance, I initially got into baseball 'cause my dad is...well...
ko: 나같은 경우에는 부모님 따라 야구를 시작한 거거든. 우리 아빠는… 음…

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Alright, there's no nice way to put this. My dad's really weird.
ko: 에휴, 좋게 말할 방법이 없네. 우리 아빤 너무 괴짜야.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: There definitely could've been a nicer way to put that.
ko: 그것보다 좋게 말할 방법이 없진 않을 텐데….

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Whenever he drives, he makes us listen to radio broadcasts of Mariners games.
ko: 아빠가 운전할 땐 가족들 다 무조건 마리너스 팀 라디오 경기 들어야 돼.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: The Mariners? You're not even from Seattle.
ko: 마리너스? 너넨 원래 시애틀 출신도 아니잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Ichiro is an incredible player, though.
ko: 이치로가 엄청난 선수긴 하지.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: But he's a weirdo...The guy only decided to stay in Seattle because his dog told him to.
ko: 우리 아빠 진짜 이상하다니까… 지금도 우리집 강아지가 시애틀에 더 있자고 해서 그러고 있는 거래.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So? I would stay in Seattle if my dog told me to, too.
ko: 그게 왜? 나도 내 강아지가 그러라면 남아있을 건데.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: He does grow on you. They're all such strange lil' guys.
ko: 세상에 이상한 강아지가 정말 많구나. 우리 아빠가 너 좋아하겠다.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: I think that's just your Stockholm Syndrome speaking.
ko: 너 스톡홀름 증후군 같은데.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Who knows, maybe it is.
ko: 그런 걸지도 모르고.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: As for my mom, her thing is Madonna CDs. I could sing every word of True Blue since kindergarten.
ko: 반면에 엄마가 운전하면 무조건 마돈나 CD. 난 유치원생 때부터 '트루 블루' 수록곡을 한 글자도 빠짐없이 부를 수 있었어.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Isn't the first song about a teenage girl not wanting to get an abortion?!
ko: 그거 첫 곡이 임신중절 하기 싫다는 십대 여자애 얘기 아니었어?!

note: Speaker: Liz
en: I didn't say I {i}understood{/i} every word.
ko: 한 글자도 빠짐없이 '이해했다' 곤 안 했다.

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: Maybe listening to all that Madonna did something to you as a little kid.
ko: 니가 어릴 때 마돈나 노랠 그렇게 들어서 지금 이런가 보다.

note: Speaker: Liz
en: Excuse me? What was that?
ko: 저기요? 무슨 뜻이죠?

note: Speaker: Chryssa
en: I take it back! I take it back!
ko: 취소할게! 취소!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I have no clue what kind of music my mom likes. All I know are which songs she hates on the radio.
ko: 난 우리 엄마가 어떤 노래를 좋아하는지 전혀 몰라. 아는 거라곤 엄마가 라디오에서 들리는 걸 싫어하는 노래 정도지.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And she doesn't know what kind of music I like, either. Or my favorite movie, or favorite color, anything like that.
ko: 엄마도 내가 어떤 노래를 좋아하는지 몰라. 내 최애 영화도, 좋아하는 색깔도, 전부 다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I've known her my whole life and we still don't even know basic facts about each other.
ko: 태어나서 평생 엄마랑 같이 살았는데 우린 서로에 대해서 기본적인 것조차 몰라.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: That's so sad. I wanna have a good relationship with my parents, too...
ko: 속상하다. 나도 부모님이랑 사이 좋았으면 좋겠어…

en: Diya listens to her teammates chat as she changes out of her baseball uniform.
ko: 야구복을 갈아입던 디야는 팀 동료들의 대화를 듣게 된다.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: Kyaaa! Don't look at my hairy legs!
ko: 꺄아악! 내 다리 부숭부숭하니까 보지 마!

note: Speaker: Grace
en: I haven't shaved for like, two days.
ko: 안 민지 이틀 됐어.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: You shave that often? I just do it when it starts looking gnarly.
ko: 그렇게 자주 밀어? 난 좀 심해질 때만 미는데.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: Your hair's not all coarse and gross like mine.
ko: 넌 나처럼 굵고 징그럽게 안 나서 그래.

note: Speaker: Grace
en: I have to do it every other day or I start looking like a gorilla.
ko: 난 이틀에 한 번씩 안 밀면 고릴라 돼.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Girls are supposed to shave...??!
ko: 여자들은 털을 미는 거였어...??!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I've always wondered why no one's leg hair is really obvious except for mine.
ko: 왜 나만 남들이랑 다르게 다리털이 있나 궁금했었는데.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: That must be the secret...
ko: 그런 거였구나….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Good thing I'm wearing long pants that cover up my legs.
ko: 다리 다 덮이는 긴 바지 입고 있어서 다행이다.

en: Suddenly self-conscious, Diya inspects her arm hair...
ko: 갑작스레 자기 모습이 의식되기 시작한 디야는 팔에 있는 털도 관찰한다….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Even my arm hair is pretty obvious. My hair's just all really thick and dark...
ko: 팔 털도 엄청 잘 보이네. 난 털이 굵고 색도 짙어….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: There's even hair on my fingers...Is that normal?!
ko: 손가락에도 털이 있네… 원래 이런가?!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Maybe everyone's secretly judging me when they see it...
ko: 다들 속으로 안 좋게 보고 있었을지도 몰라….

en: After the club meeting, Diya gets into her mom's car with renewed determination.
ko: 팀 회의가 끝나고, 디야는 새로운 결심과 함께 엄마 차에 올라탄다.

[ctx: razorDenial_c0d265fa]
note: Speaker: Amma
en: How was your day at school?
ko: 학교는 어땠어?

[ctx: razorDenial_fd841d5d]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Okay.
ko: 괜찮았어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Did the presentation go well?
ko: 발표는 잘 했어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Think so. Just glad it's over.
ko: 그런 것 같아. 그냥 끝나서 좋아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: When I grow up I'm going to find a job where I never have to talk to people.
ko: 난 나중에 크면 사람들이랑 대화 안 해도 되는 직업 가질 거야.

en: Diya's mom smiles knowingly and shakes her head.
ko: 디야의 엄마는 안다는 듯 미소 지으며 고개를 끄덕인다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I'm the same way. I'm embarrassed of my accent, and it makes phone calls so scary.
ko: 엄마도 그러고 싶어. 어색한 발음이 민망해서 통화하기도 불편하고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Talking to workers in stores makes me so nervous, too.
ko: 가게 점원들이랑 대화할 때도 긴장되지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Me, too. I wish we could write questions on a piece of paper and they have to write their answer back, too.
ko: 나도. 우리가 종이에 궁금한 거 적어서 넘기면 상대방이 답변 적어서 돌려주면 좋겠어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Yes! It'd be the best if you could slip the paper through an opening in the wall, so they don't even know what you look like.
ko: 맞아! 사람들이 우릴 못 보면 제일 좋고. 벽에 난 구멍에 종이를 그냥 밀어넣게 해서.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Wow...I'm enjoying talking to my mom!
ko: 와… 엄마랑 하는 대화가 재밌다니!

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I guess it's only natural that we have some things in common. I forget that sometimes.
ko: 우리한테 공통점이 있는 건 당연한 거겠지. 가끔 그걸 잊어버리지만.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She used to do long-distance running in India, and she always encouraged me to play sports because it was good for my health.
ko: 엄마는 인도에서 장거리 달리기를 했었고, 내가 스포츠 하는 것도 건강에 좋다고 응원해줬었어.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Maybe I can ask her about something else that's been bothering me.
ko: 내가 가진 고민을 좀 더 나눠도 될지도 몰라.

en: Emboldened by her success, Diya speaks up as they sit at a red light.
ko: 엄마와의 성공적인 대화 덕에 디야는 대담해진다. 차가 빨간 불에 멈춰있는 동안 말을 꺼낸다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Can you get razors next time you go shopping?
ko: 다음에 쇼핑 갈 때 면도기 좀 사다줄 수 있어?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Razors?! What for?
ko: 면도기를?! 왜?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: To shave. My leg hair is really long.
ko: 면도하려고. 나 다리털이 너무 길어.

en: Diya's heart sinks as her mom wrinkles her nose with distaste.
ko: 엄마가 불쾌하게 인상을 찌푸리는 모습에 디야의 심장이 가라앉는다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Don't do it. Shaving will make the hair grow back thicker and darker.
ko: 하지마. 털 밀면 더 두껍고 시꺼매져.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That doesn't sound true. Pretty sure that's a myth.
ko: 에이, 그건 미신 같은데.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: No, it's true. Shaving is a terrible idea.
ko: 아니, 진짜야. 면도하면 안 좋다, 너.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But all the other girls at school are doing it.
ko: 우리 학교 애들은 다 하는데.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: That's because it's Christian culture. Our family doesn't follow those rules.
ko: 걔들은 기독교라 그렇지. 우리집은 그런 거 안 한다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Why do you want to shave so bad, anyway?
ko: 왜 그렇게 면도를 하고 싶어 해, 근데?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Are you trying to show yourself off to boys?
ko: 남자애들한테 잘 보이려고 그래?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: ??? No...
ko: 아니…???

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You're too young. Who is it for?
ko: 아직 한참 어린 애가. 대체 누굴 보여주려고?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Do you have a boyfriend?!
ko: 남자친구 생겼어?!

[ctx: razorDenial_a2dbca39]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: No.
ko: 아니야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Are you sure?? Look at me.
ko: 정말이야?? 엄마 봐봐.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Good thing I can actually answer this honestly.
ko: 적어도 이건 솔직하게 대답할 수 있어서 다행이네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'm not lying. I don't have a boyfriend.
ko: 거짓말 아냐. 남자친구 없어.

en: Her mom scrutinizes Diya's face for a moment before turning away, seemingly satisfied.
ko: 잠시 디야의 얼굴을 뜯어본 엄마는 안심한 듯 고개를 돌린다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Good, because you need to focus on school. The right time to date is in college.
ko: 잘됐네. 넌 지금 학업에 집중할 때니까. 연애는 대학 가서 하면 돼.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: That's when you'll be able to find a nice boy who meets all the requirements.
ko: 대학만 가면 조건 딱 맞는 괜찮은 남자애 사귈 수 있어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...Requirements? What requirements.
ko: …조건이라니? 무슨 조건.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You know, just the regular ones.
ko: 알잖아. 그냥 당연한 것들.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Someone who's Hindu like us, doesn't smoke, and has high income.
ko: 우리처럼 힌두교인이고, 담배 안 피고, 돈 잘 버는 사람이어야지.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: ...Yeah, I definitely can't tell her about Min.
ko: …역시 민 얘긴 절대 못하겠네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What if I wanted to date someone different? Like a non-Indian person?
ko: 내가 그 조건에 안 맞는 사람이랑 사귀고 싶다면? 인도인이 아니라든지?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: No, a white person wouldn't understand our culture.
ko: 안 돼. 백인들은 우리 문화 이해 못해.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Plus, whites do drugs and don't know how to save money.
ko: 마약이나 하고, 저금할 줄도 모르는 인간들인데.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Just remember no BMWs. No Blacks, Muslims, or Whites.
ko: 기억해 놔. "흑무백 금지". 흑인 금지, 무슬림 금지, 백인 금지.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: That's so racist...I don't even wanna know what she thinks of Korean people.
ko: 인종차별 엄청나네… 한국인은 어떻게 생각하는지 알고 싶지도 않다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What you want is unrealistic.
ko: 너무 비현실적인 희망이잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: How can you immigrate to a country where we're less than 1%% of the population and then expect me to marry the way you did in India?
ko: 인도인이 인구의 1%도 안 되는 나라로 이민 와놓고서 어떻게 나까지 엄마가 인도에서 했던 식으로 결혼하길 바랄 수 있어?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: It's not unrealistic, my friend Himaja's daughter did it.
ko: 비현실적이긴, 엄마 친구 히마자네 딸도 그렇게 했어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You're not any less pretty or smart than she is! You can find a way too.
ko: 니가 걔에 비해 얼굴이 빠지길 해, 머리가 빠지길 해? 너도 하면 되지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's not that easy. I can't control who I fall in love with.
ko: 그게 그런 게 아니잖아. 사랑할 사람을 어떻게 머리로 택해.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: If I fall in love with someone who doesn't match your criteria, I'm not going to turn them away just for you.
ko: 엄마 기준에 안 맞는 사람이랑 사귀게 돼도 엄마 맘 편하라고 헤어지진 않을 거야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: No, that's not right. If you marry a waste fellow, what will other people think?
ko: 얘가 왜 이래. 변변찮은 놈이랑 결혼하면 사람들이 뭐라고 생각하겠어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Wh...Why does it matter what "other people" think?
ko: 대체… 다른 사람들 생각이 왜 그렇게 중요한데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: My opinion should be the most important one.
ko: 내 의견이 가장 중요해야 하잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: No, this is bigger than just you. You have to consider how it affects everyone, like your parents.
ko: 결혼은 너 혼자 하는 게 아니야. 엄마아빠랑 주변 사람들한테 미칠 영향까지 생각을 해야지.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: If you marry a white man, everyone will think you're a self-hating Indian, and your parents didn't raise you with correct values.
ko: 백인이랑 결혼하잖아, 사람들 다 니가 인도인인 걸 자기혐오한다고 생각해. 부모가 잘못 키워서 가치 판단도 못한다고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: It already looks bad enough that we let you quit Carnatic music because you wanted to play baseball.
ko: *카르나틱 음악 관두고 야구 하게 뒀다고 벌써 네 부모 나쁘게들 볼텐데.
    
    
    {small}*카르나틱 음악 : 인도 고전 음악 장르 중 하나.{/small}

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So you're asking me to give up my whole life in exchange for ten seconds of approval from some aunties??
ko: 그럼 이모들이 해줄 그 잠깐의 인정을 위해 내 평생을 포기하라는 거야?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I had to marry within my parents' requirements too.
ko: 엄마도 할머니 할아버지가 말씀하시는 조건에 맞춰서 결혼했어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Just because you put up with mistreatment from them doesn't mean I should put up with the same thing from you.
ko: 엄마가 두 분한테 부당한 일을 당했다고 나까지 같은 일을 당해야 하는 건 아니잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: {i}Mistreatment?{/i} I turned out perfectly fine, how can it be mistreatment?
ko: {b}부당해?{/b} 엄만 지금 이렇게 잘 지내는데, 그게 어떻게 부당해?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: I don't think you turned out fine at all...
ko: 어딜 봐서 잘 지낸다는 거야…

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Your way of thinking about this, that's the way of thinking from Christian countries.
ko: 너 지금 하는 얘기, 기독교 나라에서나 하는 생각이야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Indians aren't like that. They're not so selfish.
ko: 인도 사람들은 그렇게 이기적이지 않아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Well, this isn't India. I'm American.
ko: 근데 여긴 인도가 아니잖아. 난 미국 사람이고.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: What, you think you're white?
ko: 그럼 니가 백인이라는 거야?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: It doesn't matter where you are, you're still Indian. You have to honor your culture.
ko: 어딨든 간에 넌 인도 사람이야. 인도 문화를 존중해야지.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Why do I have to follow the rules of a country I've never lived in before?
ko: 살아본 적도 없는 나라 규칙을 어떻게 따르라는 거야?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: As long as you're under our roof, you will. This is an Indian household.
ko: 엄마 집에 사는 한은 따라야지. 우리 집안은 인도 집안이니까.

[ctx: razorDenial_1612cdcc]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...............
ko: ………….

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Could it be that my mom thinks people don't change...because SHE doesn't change?
ko: ‘사람 안 변한다’는 말… 엄마 얘기였어?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: It's like her opinions are frozen in time, from twenty years ago when she left India.
ko: 20년 전 인도 떠날 때 그대로 생각이 딱딱하게 굳어버렸는데.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: And they never shifted to match the world around her. They're just stuck.
ko: 환경이 변해도 바뀌질 않았어. 자기 세계에 갇혀서.

en: They spend the rest of the drive home in stony silence.
ko: 두 사람은 집으로 가는 남은 길을 굳은 침묵 속에 보냈다.

en: The next day
ko: 다음 날

en: Diya hits her alarms and flops back in bed.
ko: 디야는 알람시계를 끄고 다시 침대로 쓰러진다.

en: Her morning routine includes lying in bed for 10 minutes thinking about how tired she is.
ko: 침대에 10분 정도 누운 채 너무너무 피곤하다고 생각하는 게 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다.

en: {cps=0}Her morning routine includes lying in bed for 10 minutes thinking about how tired she is. {/cps}
ko: {cps=0}침대에 10분 정도 누운 채 너무너무 피곤하다고 생각하는 게 디야의 아침 루틴 중 하나다. {/cps}

[ctx: morning2_f28d8787]
note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: Ugghhhhhghghhhghhh...Ggggggh...
ko: 으어엉허어ㅓㅎ어어어어...으으으으...

en: Suddenly, her bedroom door squeaks open.
ko: 그때 갑자기 침실 문이 삐걱 하고 열린다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I need to head out early today.
ko: 엄마 오늘 일찍 나가야 돼.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Here, I'll put your lunch into your backpack.
ko: 자, 네 점심. 책가방에 넣어둘게.

en: Diya's blood runs cold as her mom unzips her backpack.
ko: 엄마가 책가방을 여는 순간 디야는 피가 식는 느낌이다.

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: She'll see the Valentine's Day card!
ko: 발렌타인 카드를 들키겠어!

en: Diya bolts upright and snatches the backpack from her mom's grasp.
ko: 디야는 번개처럼 튀어올라 엄마 손에서 책가방을 낚아챈다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'll put it in myself.
ko: 내가 넣을게.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Why are you being so secretive?
ko: 왜 그렇게 숨기는 게 많아?

note: Speaker: Amma
en: I can't even look in my own child's backpack anymore?
ko: 이젠 내 자식 책가방도 못 보게 해?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I'm not a baby. I should get to have privacy, too.
ko: 어린애도 아니고. 나도 사생활이 있어.

en: Diya's mom sighs as Diya puts her bagged lunch into her backpack.
ko: 디야가 자기 책가방에 점심거리를 넣자 엄마가 한숨을 쉰다.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You know, it's really hurtful that you hide everything from me.
ko: 너 그거 알아? 뭐든 그렇게 숨기려고 하는 거 나한테는 상처야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: You're so quiet. I wish you would talk to me like my friends’ kids talk to them.
ko: 이런저런 얘기도 좀 해 봐. 엄마 친구네 애들은 엄마랑 잘만 대화한다는데 부럽더라.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: My friend’s son even tells them about the girls he likes. He tells them everything!
ko: 한 친구네 아들은 좋아하는 여자애들 얘기도 하고 그런다더라. 안 하는 얘기가 없어.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: It makes me sad. I wish we had that kind of relationship.
ko: 자꾸 그러면 속상해. 엄마도 디야 너랑 그렇게 좀 지내고 싶어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You think I wanted it to be like this?
ko: 나는 이러고 싶었을 것 같아?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I didn't just decide not to talk to you all on my own.
ko: 엄마랑 얘기하지 말자고 나 혼자 결정한 게 아니야.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: What're you going on about?
ko: 그게 무슨 말이야?

note: Speaker: DiyaT
en: How are you not able to put two and two together??
ko: 무슨 말인지 정말 모르겠다고?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I want to be able to talk to you, too.
ko: 나도 엄마랑 대화할 수 있으면 좋겠어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But I don’t feel like I can. Every time I open up to you, I regret it.
ko: 근데 할 수가 없어. 내가 엄마한테 뭘 털어놓을 때마다 후회할 일이 생겨.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You always have some bad reaction to something I say.
ko: 엄만 내가 무슨 말만 하면 부정적으로 반응하잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: Huh? Like what?
ko: 뭘 어떤 식으로?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Like...like the time I told you about my friend, and you said I wasn't allowed to talk to her anymore.
ko: 예를 들면... 내가 친구 얘길 하면 엄마는 걔랑 놀지 말라고 했다고 하잖아.

note: Speaker: Amma
en: What are you talking about? That never happened.
ko: 무슨 소리야? 그런 적이 없는데.

[ctx: falseSpring_64f35087]
note: Speaker: Min
en: Huh?
ko: 왜?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Look.
ko: 이것 좀 봐.

en: Diya points to a malformed looking butterfly clinging to the tent fabric.
ko: 디야가 텐트 천 부분에 붙어있는 괴상하게 생긴 나비를 가리킨다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh, ew.
ko: 우웩.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What's wrong with its wing? It's all crinkled.
ko: 날개가 왜 저래? 쭈글쭈글하네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Think it's stuck like that...That's so sad.
ko: 상태가 안 좋은가 봐... 불쌍해.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Maybe it's because of the false spring.
ko: 가짜 봄 때문에 그럴지도 몰라.

note: Speaker: Min
en: False spring?
ko: 가짜 봄?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's when it's super warm, but it's still winter.
ko: 지금은 겨울인데 봄처럼 느껴질 정도로 따뜻하잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It messes up a lot of animals because they think it's spring when it's not.
ko: 사실은 봄이 아닌데 그렇게 느껴지니까 많은 동물들이 이상해지는 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Maybe the weird environment messed it up while it was forming.
ko: 이런 이상기후 때문에 나비가 변태 과정에서 망가진 걸 수도 있어.

en: Diya tries to get the deformed butterfly to crawl onto a twig. It's hard to watch.
ko: 디야는 변형된 나비가 나뭇가지를 오르게 하려고 한다. 보고 있기 힘들다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Is that what I'm like? Because I grew up with racists and got taught the worst lessons ever?
ko: 나랑 닮은 것 같지 않아? 얘도 그저 타고난 걸로 차별하는 놈들 때문에 온갖 험한 꼴은 다 봤을 것 같은데.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I feel like I went through hell and came out the other side in the most monumentally fucked shape.
ko: 나는 그 지옥을 겪는 바람에 내가 될 수 있는 가장 궁극적으로 좆같은 형태가 된 느낌이야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What do you mean?
ko: 무슨 뜻이야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Diya...You wouldn't ever break up with me, right?
ko: 디야... 넌 나랑 절대 안 헤어질 거지?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: ? No.
ko: ? 그럼.

note: Speaker: Min
en: What if I did something bad?
ko: 혹시 내가 나쁜 짓을 했다면?

note: Speaker: Min
en: I mean like, really bad.
ko: 그니까, 엄청 나쁜 짓.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What did you do?
ko: 무슨 짓을 한 거야?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Are you SURE you wouldn't break up with me, though?
ko: 진ㅡ짜 나랑 안 헤어질 거지?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What. Did. You. Do.
ko: 무슨. 짓. 했냐구.

en: Min tells Diya what happened, bracing herself for the worst...
ko: 민은 디야에게 있었던 일을 사실대로 말합니다. 벌어질지도 모르는 최악의 사태에 대비해 마음을 다잡으며...

note: Speaker: Min
en: ...And that's why Ester is mad at me...
ko: ...그래서 에스터가 나한테 화 난 거야...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: That wasn't very nice of you.
ko: 잘했다고 하긴 힘드네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Sounds like something racist my mom would say.
ko: 우리 엄마나 할 법한 인종차별 발언이야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah, I know...
ko: 응, 나도 알아...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Poor Ester. Her comic sounds cool, too.
ko: 에스터가 불쌍해. 걔 만화 얘기도 난 멋진데.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Do you hate me now?
ko: 이제 내가 싫어졌어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I mean...It was bad. But at least you realize it.
ko: 음... 넌 나쁜 짓을 했어. 그래도 그랬다는 걸 스스로 깨닫고 있고.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Everyone makes mistakes.
ko: 누구든 실수는 해.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Not everyone makes RACIST mistakes.
ko: 인종차별 발언을 하는 실수를 모두가 하는 건 아니잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But it's not like people are born knowing things, either?
ko: 그래도 옳은 행동이 어떤 건지 모두가 날 때부터 아는 건 아니잖아?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Everyone has blind spots.
ko: 누구라도 미처 생각지 못하는 지점이 있지.

note: Speaker: Min
en: How come you've never offended someone like I did, then?
ko: 너는 나처럼 다른 사람한테 상처 준 적 없잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I don't talk to people very much...
ko: 난 남한테 말을 많이 하는 편이 아니라서 그래...

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So most of the mistakes just happen in my mind.
ko: 대부분의 실수가 내 머릿속에서 일어났던 거지.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Well...then how come Noelle doesn't offend people??
ko: 그럼... 노엘은 어떻게 다른 사람들한테 상처를 안 주는 건데?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: I mean...she was pretty ignorant about gay people before we started dating.
ko: 음... 노엘은 우리가 사귀기 전엔 동성애자들한테 거의 무관심했어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: When people said the narrator of {i}The Great Gatsby{/i} was gay in our English class, she got all scandalized and argued against it.
ko: 영어 시간에 '위대한 개츠비'의 화자가 동성애자라는 얘기가 나왔는데, 노엘은 절대 아니라면서 그 얘길 꺼내는 애들한테 전부 반박하고 다녔어.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: She kept insisting there had to be another explanation. But I think she just was grossed out by the thought of it.
ko: 반드시 다른 해석이 있을 거라면서. 근데 내 생각에, 노엘은 그냥 그 나레이터가 동성애자라고 생각하기가 불편했던 것 같아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: That's not as bad as insulting someone's entire race, though.
ko: 그래도, 남의 인종 자체를 비난한 나보단 낫네.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Not trying to say she messed up worse.
ko: 누구 잘못이 더 크거나 작다는 말은 아냐.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: My point is she got better about it. She wouldn't do that anymore.
ko: 내 말은, 노엘이 그 이후로 더 나아졌다는 거지. 더 이상 그런 말은 하지 않는다는 거.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: So I don't hold it against her. Just because you were ignorant about something doesn't mean you're bad forever.
ko: 그러니까 노엘이 그랬던 때가 있어도 난 괜찮은 거야. 네가 어떤 대상을 대할 때 무지했다고 해서 네가 영원히 나쁜 사람인 건 아니니까.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I dunno...It doesn't undo the fact that I was racist to Ester already, and now she hates me.
ko: 모르겠어... 내가 에스터한테 인종차별을 했다는 건 바꿀 수 없는 사실이고, 이제 에스터는 날 싫어하잖아.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Did you say sorry?
ko: 사과는 했어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: .........No.....
ko: .........아니.....

note: Speaker: Diya
en: She might not forgive you. But you should at least tell her.
ko: 받아주지 않을지도 몰라. 그렇지만 적어도 사과는 해야 돼.

en: Min feels such anguish upon hearing Diya's suggestion that it takes her a moment to sputter something out.
ko: 민은 디야의 말에 너무 고통스러워 다음 말을 내뱉기까지 오랜 시간이 걸린다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: But...But...No one ever apologized to ME!
ko: 근데... 그치만... 아무도 나한텐 사과 안 했다고!

en: To Min's horror, her eyes fill up with tears.
ko: 상처 어린 외침과 동시에 민의 눈에는 눈물이 차오른다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: So many people did way worse things to me, and THEY never said sorry!
ko: 나한테 그렇게 심한 소리 한 새끼들, 아무도 나한테 사과한 적 없어!

note: Speaker: Min
en: None of my racist bullies ever said sorry. My dad never said sorry.
ko: 인종차별한 쓰레기들 그 누구도 사과한 적 없어. 내 아빠도 나한테 사과한 적 없어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why is it only ME who has to say sorry, when what I did wasn't even as bad?
ko: 왜 나만 사과해야 되는 거야? 내가 그 놈들만큼 나쁜 짓을 한 것도 아닌데?

note: Speaker: Min
en: It's not fair!
ko: 불공평하잖아!

en: Diya pulls her into her arms and hugs her very tightly, as if trying to squeeze all the grief out of her body.
ko: 디야는 민을 품 속으로 당겨 꽉 끌어안는다. 민의 몸 속에 들어찬 모든 슬픔을 밖으로 밀어내려는 듯이.

en: Min leans into her warmth, letting her familiar touch and the steady rhythm of her heartbeat calm her down.
ko: 민은 그 따뜻함에 기댄 채, 디야의 편안한 손길과 심장 박동을 느끼며 진정을 되찾는다.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: What happened to you wasn't fair.
ko: 맞아. 너한테 일어난 일은 불공평해.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But that doesn't mean you should be unfair, too. Or you'll just continue the cycle.
ko: 그렇다고 너까지 불공평해지진 마. 안 그럼 같은 악순환을 반복하게 되는 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: You can apologize even if they don't.
ko: 그 사람들은 사과하지 않았지만, 너는 할 수 있어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: But it's not fair...
ko: 그래도 불공평하다구...

note: Speaker: Min
en: I want them to suffer. I want them to die.
ko: 그 놈들이 고통받았으면 좋겠어. 죽었으면 좋겠어.

note: Speaker: Min
en: If I just forget about them, that means they got away with everything.
ko: 내가 그 자식들이 한 짓을 잊어버리면, 그 놈들은 아무 일도 없는 채로 잘 살 거 아니야.

note: Speaker: Min
en: That means they won, and I lost.
ko: 걔네가 이기고, 나는 지는 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: But isn't it losing {i}worse{/i} to let people you hate keep controlling your life?
ko: 네가 싫어하는 사람들이 네 인생을 좌우하는 것보다, 지는 게 {b}더{/b} 싫어?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: It's like that saying. If you seek revenge, dig two graves.
ko: 이런 말이 있어. '복수하고자 한다면, 두 개의 무덤을 준비하라'.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Is it worth it? To hurt yourself in the name of fairness.
ko: '공평함'에 너 자신마저 다치게 할만한 가치가 있을까?

note: Speaker: MinT
en: Is that what I'm doing?
ko: 그런 건가?

note: Speaker: MinT
en: Crashing the car just to get back at them?
ko: 복수하려는 마음 때문에 내가 양날의 검을 휘두르고 있는 건가?

note: Speaker: Diya
en: ...The two graves are you and the person you got revenge on, by the way.
ko: ...참고로, '무덤 두 개'는 너랑 네가 복수하려는 사람 거 하나씩을 말하는 거야.

note: Speaker: Diya
en: Not two different people you killed.
ko: 네가 각각 다른 두 명을 죽인단 뜻이 아니라.

note: Speaker: Min
en: No, I got that.
ko: 그건 알아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're right...
ko: 네 말이 맞아…

note: Speaker: Min
en: Why should I let those pieces of shit keep controlling me even years later?!
ko: 왜 그 개새끼들이 날 몇년이고 휘두르게 놔뒀지?!

note: Speaker: Min
en: If nothing they did mattered, that'll show them!!
ko: 아무 의미도 없는데. 이렇게 뻔한데!!!

[ctx: falseSpring_9cbab985]
note: Speaker: Diya
en: Yeah.
ko: 맞아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Yeah!!!!!
ko: 맞아!!!!!

note: Speaker: Ester
en: What took you so long?
ko: 왜 이렇게 오래 걸렸어?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Can we talk first?
ko: 그 전에 얘기 좀 할 수 있냐?

en: Ester gives her a guarded look.
ko: 에스터는 경계하는 시선을 보낸다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: That depends...
ko: 들을만한 내용이라면…

note: Speaker: Min
en: Sorry I was an asshole earlier.
ko: 내가 좆같았어. 미안하다.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I shouldn't have said that racist stuff about Black people, and the weird stuff about your hair.
ko: 그렇게 인종차별적인 소릴 하면 안 되는 거였어. 흑인 얘기도, 네 머리 얘기도.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Yeah, you shouldn't have.
ko: 그래. 안 됐지.

note: Speaker: Min
en: You're right, I should've known better.
ko: 맞아. 잘 알지도 못하면서.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I know how much it sucks looking different from everyone else.
ko: 남들이랑 달라 보이는 게 얼마나 개똥같은진 나도 알아.

en: Ester lets out a sigh, looking exhausted.
ko: 에스터는 지친 표정으로 한숨을 내쉰다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: You'd think people would know, but they don't...
ko: 그렇게들 말해. 자기도 안다고. 근데 사실 남들은 몰라…

note: Speaker: Ester
en: It's like being kicked on both sides. I go through all the same stuff as everyone else at this school, but no one sees me as one of them.
ko: 양쪽에서 채이는 기분이야. 이쪽 일도 겪고 저쪽 일도 겪는데, 이 학교에 내가 속할 곳은 없는 거야.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Everyone thinks because I'm not "pure" Asian, I'm not as smart or I don't study as much.
ko: 난 다른 애들처럼 똑똑하지도, 그렇다고 남들처럼 공부를 열심히 하는 것도 아니니까. 쟤는 '진짜' 아시아인이 아니라고들 생각하지.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Don't worry, I don't think that.
ko: 걱정 마. 난 안 그래.

note: Speaker: Min
en: I learned my lesson. I'm not racist anymore.
ko: 이번에 배웠으니까. 이제 인종차별주의자 아니야.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Uh...Yeah, you are?
ko: 어... 아니, 맞는데?

note: Speaker: Min
en: Huh......??????
ko: 뭐……??????

note: Speaker: Ester
en: You're literally still racist, all you did was apologize for one specific thing.
ko: 아직 인종차별주의자 맞다고. 방금은 잘못한 거 딱 하나 사과한 거잖아.

note: Speaker: Min
en: But...What else am I supposed to do then?!
ko: 그럼… 뭘 어떡해야 되는데?!

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Try to educate yourself and not say random crap about other ethnicities?
ko: 많이 좀 배우고, 다른 인종들에 대해선 함부로 잡소리 지껄이지 않기?

note: Speaker: Ester
en: And say sorry the next time you're racist instead of being all rude and defensive.
ko: 그리고 다음에 또 인종차별적인 소릴 했을 땐 무례하게 굴거나 방어적으로 굴지 않기.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Next time?! That makes it sound like this is gonna happen again.
ko: 다음에 또? 내가 또 그럴 거란 소리야?!

note: Speaker: Ester
en: Honestly, it probably will.
ko: 응. 솔직히 그럴걸.

note: Speaker: Min
en: So...you're saying I'll ALWAYS be racist no matter what I do?!
ko: 그럼… 어떻게 노력하든 결국 난 계속 인종차별주의자일 거란 말이야?!

en: Min looks so horrified that Ester gives her a pitying look.
ko: 공포에 질린 민의 얼굴에 에스터는 딱한 눈길을 보낸다.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: I mean, literally everyone on earth is ignorant to some degree about SOMETHING.
ko: 그게 아니라, 말 그대로 지구상의 모든 인간들은 무언가에 대해선 반드시 어느 정도는 무지하다는 거야.

note: Speaker: Ester
en: For my webcomic, I tried to research albinos and double amputees the best I could, but I'm still not sure I portrayed everything right.
ko: 나도 웹툰에 알비노나 양다리가 절단된 사람에 대한 내용을 그리면서 최선을 다해 관련 정보를 찾아봤지만, 묘사가 얼마나 적절히 됐는지는 확신할 수가 없단 말이야.

note: Speaker: MinT
en: Double amputee...? What the fuck is going on in her comic?
ko: 양다리 절단…? 대체 만화에서 뭔 일이 일어나는 거야?

note: Speaker: Ester
en: No one's perfect. You just gotta do your best and learn from your mistakes.
ko: 완벽한 사람은 없어. 매번 최선을 다하는 거고, 실수로부터 교훈을 얻는 거지.

note: Speaker: Min
en: Oh...okay...
ko: 그… 그래….
